DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawaby et al (US 20120223459 A1) in view of Yoshioka (JP 2015000963A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Regarding Claims 1-4: Nawaby teaches a foam sheet (abstract) comprising a polylactic acid (PLA) resin (para 10) that has an about 2 mol% D-Lactic acid/ 98 mol% L-lactic acid content (para 15, table 1) wherein the foam contains 98% PLA by weight (para 15). Nawaby further teaches PLA foam sheets with a density from about 0.032-0.08 g/cm3 (para 26). However, Nawaby is silent on a surface roughness Sq of 6 µm and Svk of 8 µm.
Yoshioka teaches a polylactic acid foam sheet with a surface roughness of 0.5-10 µm (para 38). Nawaby and Yoshioka are analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely PLA foam sheets. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PLA foam sheet of Nawaby with the surface roughness of the foam sheet of Yoshioka. Yoshioka discloses that when the surface roughness is in the range of 0.5 μm to 20 μm, for example, when used in a printing application, it has an effect such as excellent print sharpness. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the surface roughness within the range of 0.5-6 µm to obtain a preferred surface morphology.
Regarding Claims 5-6: Modified Nawaby teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Nawaby further teaches the foam sheet further comprising of an epoxy-based chain extender (para 31)
Regarding Claim 7: Modified Nawaby teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Nawaby further teaches the foam sheet further comprising of inorganic nucleating agents/particles (para 28)
Regarding Claim 8: Modified Nawaby teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Nawaby further teaches a foam sheet that has cells/pores (Table 2). Nawaby teaches a foam sheet prepared from a foam precursor mixture comprising a blowing agent comprising carbon dioxide (para 31).
Regarding Claims 10-11: Modified Nawaby teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Nawaby further teaches thermoformed PLA articles including cutlery and food packaging articles.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawaby et al (US 20120223459 A1) in view of Yoshioka (JP 2015000963 A) in further view of Peter et al (Improving the heat deflection temperature of poly(lactic acid) foams by annealing, Polymer Degradation and Stability, Volume 190, August 2021, 109646).
Regarding Claim 9: Modified Nawaby teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Nawaby is silent on a foam sheet that has cold crystallization enthalpy of 20 J/g or greater.
Peter teaches a PLA foam sheet that has cold crystallization enthalpy of 23.7 J/g (Table 3). Nawaby and Peter are analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely PLA foam sheets.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PLA foam sheet of Nawaby with the cold crystallization enthalpy of Peter. The cold crystallization enthalpy effects that crystallinity of the PLA. Peter discloses that A higher degree of crystallinity generally improves mechanical properties and increases the heat deflection temperature (pg.1 para 2 line 7-9). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cold crystallization enthalpy in order to obtain the desired mechanical properties for a PLA foam sheet.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12403717 B2 in view of Yoshioka (JP 2015000963A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Claim 1 of the reference patent teaches a foam sheet comprising a polylactic acid composition wherein the polylactic acid includes D-Lactic Acid or L-Lactic Acid in an amount of 98 mol% or greater and the amount of PLA is 98% or greater by mass of the total organic matter in the foam sheet. Claim 1 of the reference patent further teaches that the bulk density of the foam sheet is 0.063 to 0.125 g/cm3. However, claim 1 of the reference patent does not teach the surface roughness Sq of 6µm or less or the surface roughness Svk of 8µm or less.
Yoshioka teaches a polylactic acid foam sheet with a surface roughness of 0.5-10 µm (para 38). The reference patent and Yoshioka are analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely PLA foam sheets. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PLA foam sheet the reference patent with the surface roughness of the foam sheet of Yoshioka. Yoshioka discloses that when the surface roughness is in the range of 0.5 μm to 20 μm, for example, when used in a printing application, it has an effect such as excellent print sharpness. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the surface roughness within the range of 0.5-6 µm to obtain a preferred surface morphology.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokozuka et al (JP 2108048320) teaches a polystyrene food packaging container with a surface roughness Sq of 0.01 to 0.5 µm.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/T.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1767