CTNF 18/582,761 CTNF 91219 DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/21/2024 has been considered. Specification 06-13 AIA The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains implied phrases. For example, the phrase “An electrical machine is presented” is implied by the title at least . Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter, which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites, “a first fluid chamber”, previously recited in claim 1. It is unclear if a further first fluid chamber is being recited. Claim 18 recites, “the vehicle is a heavy-duty vehicle, such as a truck, a bus, or a construction equipment. This limitation constitutes a broad limitation (i.e. “heavy-duty vehicle”) followed by a narrow limitation (i.e. “construction equipment” or “bus” or “truck”) within the same claim. It is unclear if the narrow limitations are merely exemplary of the claim and therefore not required, or if they are necessary limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(c-d) Claim 19 recites, “an electrical machine”, “a fluid chamber at a first axial side”, “a rotor”, “a fluid chamber at a second opposite axial side”, “at least one fluid passage”, and “a braking torque”. Each of these limitations was previously recited in claim 1. Accordingly, it is unclear if a further instance of each of these limitations is attempting to be recited. Dependent claims not specifically mentioned are rejected due to dependency on a rejected base claim for failing to cure the deficiencies of the base claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schidlowski (U.S. 2022/0135007) . Regarding claim 1 , Schidlowski discloses (figs. 2 or 4) An electrical machine (1) comprising a rotor (R), a stator (S), a housing (hatched region surrounding “S”) and a first (e.g. 9a) and a second (area around 8b or area to the right of 6) fluid chamber in fluid communication via at least one fluid passage (6) of the rotor and at least one fluid return passage (via 13) provided between the first fluid chamber and the second fluid chamber, wherein the rotor upon rotation is adapted to provide a difference in pressure between the first fluid chamber and the second fluid chamber by transfer of fluid there between (via opening valve 12 at least, pressure in 9a decreases while pressure around 8b increases), whereby a braking torque is exerted on the rotor (pgh. 0082 at least), wherein the first and second fluid chambers are provided at, along a rotational axis of the electrical machine, respective opposite sides of the rotor (as shown, area near 8b is to the right of the rotor while 9a is to the left of the rotor). Regarding claim 2 , Schidlowski discloses (figs. 2 or 4) the first and second fluid chambers are provided between an interior of the housing and the rotor (each are between the housing and the rotor, as shown). Regarding claim 3 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) at least one internal fluid return passage is provided between the stator and the rotor (e.g. passage via valve 14 in fig. 4, which is provided between the stator and the rotor in that it is provided axially between the axial leftmost and rightmost extents thereof). Regarding claim 4 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) the first fluid chamber is provided with a first chamber fluid port (port of passage that includes valve 12) for fluidly filling and/or draining the first fluid chamber and the second fluid chamber is provided with a second chamber fluid port (port via return passage including valve 13) for fluidly filling and/or draining the second fluid chamber. Regarding claim 5 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) the first chamber fluid port is in fluid communication with the second chamber fluid port by a fluid port return passage (e.g. passage via valve 15). Regarding claim 6 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) the fluid port return passage between the first and second chamber fluid ports is provided with at least one controllable valve device (15) configurable to control a flow of fluid in the fluid port return passage (see pgh. 0099 and 0101). Regarding claim 7 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) the first fluid chamber comprises a first chamber fluid inlet (via 15) for receiving fluid and a first chamber fluid outlet (via 12) for draining fluid, and the second fluid chamber comprises a second chamber fluid inlet (via the right end of 6) for receiving fluid and a second chamber fluid outlet (via 13) for draining fluid. Regarding claim 8 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 2) the rotor is provided with at least one impeller (8b) arranged at the first or the second fluid chamber of the electrical machine (arranged at the second chamber, as shown). Regarding claims 9, 11 and 12 , Schidlowski discloses the electrical machine is a propulsion motor of a vehicle (abstract at least). Regarding claim 10 , Schidlowski discloses the first and second fluid chambers are provided at, along a rotational axis of the electrical machine, respective opposite sides of the rotor (as shown, area near 8b is to the right of the rotor while 9a is to the left of the rotor)); the first and second fluid chambers are provided between an interior of the housing and the rotor (each are between the housing and the rotor, as shown); the electrical machine further comprising at least one fluid return passage (via 13) provided between the first fluid chamber and the second fluid chamber (as shown), at least one internal fluid return passage is provided between the stator and the rotor(e.g. passage via valve 14 in fig. 4, which is provided between the stator and the rotor in that it is provided axially between the axial leftmost and rightmost extents thereof); the first fluid chamber is provided with a first chamber fluid port (port of passage that includes valve 12) for fluidly filling and/or draining the first fluid chamber and the second fluid chamber is provide with a second chamber fluid port (port via return passage including valve 13) for fluidly filling and/or draining the second fluid chamber, the first chamber fluid port is in fluid communication with the second chamber fluid port by a fluid port return passage(e.g. passage via valve 15), wherein the fluid port return passage between the first and second chamber fluid ports is provided with at least one controllable valve device (15) configurable to control a flow of fluid in the fluid port return passage (see pgh. 0099 and 0101); the first fluid chamber comprises a first chamber fluid inlet (via 15) for receiving fluid and a first chamber fluid outlet (via 12) for draining fluid, and the second fluid chamber comprises a second chamber fluid inlet (via the right end of 6) for receiving fluid and a second chamber fluid outlet (via 13) for draining fluid; the at least one fluid passage of the rotor is provided by an impeller (8b, at least in part) of the rotor (note the impeller is provided in combination with the other features, see pgh. 0019), wherein the electrical machine is a propulsion motor for a vehicle (see abstract at least). Regarding claim 13 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) A vehicle (abstract at least) comprising the electrical machine of claim 4, and the vehicle further comprises a fluid circuit connected between the first chamber fluid port and the second chamber fluid port (including path through 8d, 14, 16, 15, etc.). Regarding claim 14 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) the fluid circuit comprises at least one pump device (7a) configurable to pump fluid into a first fluid chamber or the second fluid chamber and at least one drain valve device (e.g. 13) configurable to prevent fluid from draining from the other of the first fluid chamber or the second fluid chamber (as shown). Regarding claim 15 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) an inlet valve device (12) is provided between the pump device and the fluid receiving one of the first chamber fluid port and the second chamber fluid port (as shown). Regarding claim 16 , Schidlowski discloses (fig. 4) the fluid circuit further comprises a fluid reservoir (bottom portion of 9a constitutes a reservoir). Regarding claim 19 , Schidlowski discloses (figs. 2 or 4) 19. A method for braking an electrical machine of claim 1, the method comprises: providing fluid to a fluid chamber at a first axial side of the electrical machine (fluid is provided to chamber 9a), pumping (via 7a at least), responsive to rotation of a rotor of the electrical machine, the fluid from the fluid chamber at the first axial side of the electrical machine to a fluid chamber (area near right side of rotor and stator or near 8b) at a second opposite axial side of the electrical machine through at least one fluid passage (6) extending along the rotor of the electrical machine, and controlling a reverse flow of fluid from the second axial side to the first axial side such that the flow through the at least one fluid passage exceeds the reverse flow (pgh. 0096 at least, valve 12 blocks return flow), whereby a braking torque is exerted on the rotor by the fluid at the second axial side of the electrical machine (abstract at least, area is flooded to achieve a braking effect, which is experienced as a torque to brake the motor) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103, which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schidlowski (U.S. 2022/0135007) in view of Folkesson (U.S. 2022/0190678) . Regarding claim 17 , Schidlowski does not appear to disclose a vehicle temperature system. In the same field of endeavor of electric drive machines for vehicles, Folkesson teaches an electric motor (3/4) and fluid circuit (20) passing fluid through the electric motor, where the fluid circuit is operatively connected to a temperature system of the vehicle (e.g. pgh. 0067, data on brake fluid temperature and motor temperature are sent to the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have operatively connected a temperature system to the fluid circuit as suggested by Folkesson to maintain the vehicle components within proper operating temperatures, thereby improving safety. Regarding claim 18 , Schidlowski does not appear to disclose a heavy-duty vehicle. In the same field of endeavor of electric drive machines for vehicles, Folkesson teaches an electric motor (3/4) used in a heavy-duty vehicle, such as a truck (see pgh. 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the invention of Schidlowski within a heavy duty vehicle as suggested by Folkesson in order to provide a safety feature to aid in braking on long slopes or at high speeds (see pgh. 0005). Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose related electric machines to the instant application . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID MORRIS whose telephone number is (571)270-3595. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday; 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Siconolfi can be reached at (571) 272-7124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID MORRIS/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 3616 /DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 2 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 3 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 4 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 5 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 6 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 7 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 8 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 9 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/582,761 Page 10 Art Unit: 3616