DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 12/05/2024 has been fully considered, except where struck through for lack of provided translations, and entered into record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu et al (US 2023/0254803).
Regarding Claim 1, Lu teaches a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) ([0062], Fig. 2, MS 210 (comprising a UE 220 and a USIM 230), [0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met) comprising:
activating, by a processor of the UE, an unavailability period ([0062], Fig. 2, HPLMN network entity sends an instruction 205 to update the Multiplier for Higher Priority PLMN search period parameter. This instruction 205 is received at the UE 220. The UE 220 then communicates 225 this instruction to the USIM 230. This may be termed dynamic (over the air) configuration Subsequently, the UE 220 interrogates 235 the USIM 230 to identify the parameter for use in determining a period for idle mode PLMN searches); and
postponing, by the processor, a periodic Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search when the unavailability period is activated ([0064-0065], multiple scenarios may be specified, each scenario defined by a corresponding condition. A different multiplier M may be defined for each scenario),
wherein the periodic PLMN search is controlled by a periodic attempt timer ([0065], If any of the scenarios identified are determined by the MS to apply, the MS uses the multiplier associated with that scenario when determining a period for idle mode PLMN searches. Specifically, the MS applies the multiplier to the stored Higher Priority PLMN search period parameter, to result in a time period that is longer).
Regarding Claim 2, Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a value of the periodic attempt timer is stored in the UE ([0045], each of the one or more factors may indicate a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met, which is preferably an integer and more preferably at least two. One or more (and typically all) of the: the prioritization; the primary search period parameter; and the secondary search period parameter are configured in a Subscriber Identity (or Identification) Module ((U)SIM) associated with the MS).
Regarding Claim 6, Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the postponing of the periodic PLMN search comprises: interpreting a value of the periodic attempt timer in a way to extend a duration between two adjacent periodic PLMN searches when the unavailability period is activated ([0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met).
Regarding Claim 7, Lu teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the interpreting of the value of the periodic attempt timer comprises: multiplying the value of the periodic attempt timer by a factor in the unavailability period, wherein the factor is in units of hours ([0014-0020], range is from n hours to a maximum value. The encoding is: ‘00’: No higher priority PLMN search attempts; ‘01’: n hours (2 hours); ‘02’ to ‘28’: 2 n hours (i.e. range from 4 hours to 80 hours with step of 2 hours); ‘29’ to ‘50’: 4n-80 hours (i.e. range from 84 hours to 240 hours with step of 4 hours). All other values shall be interpreted by the ME as a default period).
Regarding Claim 8, Lu teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the factor is preconfigured and stored in the UE ([0045], each of the one or more factors may indicate a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met, which is preferably an integer and more preferably at least two. One or more (and typically all) of the: the prioritization; the primary search period parameter; and the secondary search period parameter are configured in a Subscriber Identity (or Identification) Module ((U)SIM) associated with the MS).
Regarding Claim 9, Lu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the postponing of the periodic PLMN search comprises: utilizing a separate timer in the unavailability period, wherein the separate timer is different from the periodic attempt timer, and the periodic PLMN search is controlled by the separate timer and not by the periodic attempt timer when the unavailability period is activated ([0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met).
Regarding Claim 10, Lu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication ([0062], Fig. 2, MS 210 (comprising a UE 220 and a USIM 230), [0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met), the apparatus being a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory ([0072]), the processor being configured to:
activate an unavailability period ([0062], Fig. 2, HPLMN network entity sends an instruction 205 to update the Multiplier for Higher Priority PLMN search period parameter. This instruction 205 is received at the UE 220. The UE 220 then communicates 225 this instruction to the USIM 230. This may be termed dynamic (over the air) configuration Subsequently, the UE 220 interrogates 235 the USIM 230 to identify the parameter for use in determining a period for idle mode PLMN searches); and
postpone a periodic Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search when the unavailability period is activated ([0064-0065], multiple scenarios may be specified, each scenario defined by a corresponding condition. A different multiplier M may be defined for each scenario),
wherein the periodic PLMN search is controlled by a periodic attempt timer ([0065], If any of the scenarios identified are determined by the MS to apply, the MS uses the multiplier associated with that scenario when determining a period for idle mode PLMN searches. Specifically, the MS applies the multiplier to the stored Higher Priority PLMN search period parameter, to result in a time period that is longer).
Regarding Claim 11, Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein a value of the periodic attempt timer is stored in the UE ([0045], each of the one or more factors may indicate a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met, which is preferably an integer and more preferably at least two. One or more (and typically all) of the: the prioritization; the primary search period parameter; and the secondary search period parameter are configured in a Subscriber Identity (or Identification) Module ((U)SIM) associated with the MS).
Regarding Claim 15, Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to postpone the periodic PLMN search by: interpreting a value of the periodic attempt timer in a way to extend a duration between two adjacent periodic PLMN searches when the unavailability period is activated ([0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met).
Regarding Claim 16, Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the interpreting of the value of the periodic attempt timer comprises: multiplying the value of the periodic attempt timer by a factor in the unavailability period, wherein the factor is in units of hours ([0014-0020], range is from n hours to a maximum value. The encoding is: ‘00’: No higher priority PLMN search attempts; ‘01’: n hours (2 hours); ‘02’ to ‘28’: 2 n hours (i.e. range from 4 hours to 80 hours with step of 2 hours); ‘29’ to ‘50’: 4n-80 hours (i.e. range from 84 hours to 240 hours with step of 4 hours). All other values shall be interpreted by the ME as a default period).
Regarding Claim 17, Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the factor is preconfigured and stored in the UE ([0045], each of the one or more factors may indicate a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met, which is preferably an integer and more preferably at least two. One or more (and typically all) of the: the prioritization; the primary search period parameter; and the secondary search period parameter are configured in a Subscriber Identity (or Identification) Module ((U)SIM) associated with the MS).
Regarding Claim 18, Lu teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to postpone the periodic PLMN search by: utilizing a separate timer in the unavailability period, wherein the separate timer is different from the periodic attempt timer, and the periodic PLMN search is controlled by the separate timer and not by the periodic attempt timer when the unavailability period is activated ([0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met).
Regarding Claim 19, Lu teaches a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code ([0072]) for performing wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) ([0062], Fig. 2, MS 210 (comprising a UE 220 and a USIM 230), [0025-0026], In addition to a primary search period parameter stored at the MS or (U)SIM (for example, the Higher Priority PLMN search period discussed above), a further, “secondary” search period parameter is stored. This defines a factor (or multiple factors) to be applied to the primary search period parameter in certain scenarios. Such scenarios may each be defined by a respective condition that indicates a number of PLMNs (or combinations of PLMN and access technology) available for the MS to access, for instance that the number is smaller than a threshold or an expected situation. This allows the MS to reduce the frequency (increase the period) of idle mode PLMN searches in scenarios where the normal frequency defined by the primary search period parameter would be undesirable or detrimental. The secondary search period parameter is beneficially stored at the MS (in the (U)SIM), each factor indicates a multiplier to be applied to the primary search period parameter if the respective condition is met), comprising code to:
activate, by a processor of the UE, an unavailability period ([0062], Fig. 2, HPLMN network entity sends an instruction 205 to update the Multiplier for Higher Priority PLMN search period parameter. This instruction 205 is received at the UE 220. The UE 220 then communicates 225 this instruction to the USIM 230. This may be termed dynamic (over the air) configuration Subsequently, the UE 220 interrogates 235 the USIM 230 to identify the parameter for use in determining a period for idle mode PLMN searches); and
postpone, by the processor, a periodic Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search when the unavailability period is activated ([0064-0065], multiple scenarios may be specified, each scenario defined by a corresponding condition. A different multiplier M may be defined for each scenario),
wherein the periodic PLMN search is controlled by a periodic attempt timer ([0065], If any of the scenarios identified are determined by the MS to apply, the MS uses the multiplier associated with that scenario when determining a period for idle mode PLMN searches. Specifically, the MS applies the multiplier to the stored Higher Priority PLMN search period parameter, to result in a time period that is longer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 12-14, are and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US 2023/0254803), in view of Agarwal et al (US 2024/0056959).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Lu teaches the inventions of claims 1 and 10 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches wherein the periodic attempt timer has a default value of 60 minutes ([0036], If the UE is registered for disaster roaming services, timer T is either in the range 30 minutes to 40 hours in 30 minute steps, or it indicates that no periodic attempts shall be made. If no value for T is stored in the SIM, a default value of 60 minutes is used for T. If the UE is configured with the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer, the UE shall not use a value for T that is less than the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer. If the value stored in the SIM, or the default value for T (when no value is stored in the SIM), is less than the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer, then T shall be set to the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer. The UE does not stop timer T when it activates power saving mode (PSM) or mobile initiated connection only mode (MICO)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate continuation of the timer through the unavailability period and postponing the search until the unavailability period is done, as taught in Agarwal, in the system of Lu, in order to conserve device power and prevent unnecessary PLMN searches.
Regarding Claims 4, 13, and 20, Lu teaches the inventions of claims 1, 10, and 19 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches deactivating, by the processor, the unavailability period; and performing, by the processor, the periodic PLMN search when the unavailability period is deactivated ([0163-0164], if the UE 501 is configured with the T duration, the UE 501 shall use a value for T1 that is less than the T duration. If the value configured in the UE 501, or the default value for T1 is more than T, then T1 shall be set to T. The UE 501 does not stop timer T1, when a power saving mode (PSM) or a mobile initiated connection only mode (MICO) or unavailability period or DRX/eDRX has been activated. The UE 501 can periodically attempt to obtain service on an allowable PLMN 502B, while in idle mode or 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication. [0165] The UE 501 can postpone attempting to obtain service on an allowable PLMN 502B: [0166] while the UE 501 is in power saving mode (PSM); [0167] while the UE 501 is receiving eMBMS transport service in idle mode; [0168] till the next eDRX occasion while the UE 501 is configured with eDRX; [0169] while the UE 501 is in relaxed monitoring; [0170] while the UE 501 is in Mobile Initiated Connection Only mode (MICO); or [0171] while the unavailability period is activated in the UE 501).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate continuation of the timer through the unavailability period and postponing the search until the unavailability period is done, as taught in Agarwal, in the system of Lu, in order to conserve device power and prevent unnecessary PLMN searches.
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Lu teaches the inventions of claims 1 and 10 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches wherein the postponing of the periodic PLMN search comprises: allowing the periodic attempt timer to keep running in the unavailability period ([0036], If the UE is registered for disaster roaming services, timer T is either in the range 30 minutes to 40 hours in 30 minute steps, or it indicates that no periodic attempts shall be made. If no value for T is stored in the SIM, a default value of 60 minutes is used for T. If the UE is configured with the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer, the UE shall not use a value for T that is less than the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer. If the value stored in the SIM, or the default value for T (when no value is stored in the SIM), is less than the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer, then T shall be set to the MinimumPeriodicSearchTimer. The UE does not stop timer T when it activates power saving mode (PSM) or mobile initiated connection only mode (MICO)); and postponing the periodic PLMN search upon expiry of the periodic attempt timer when the unavailability period is activated ([0163-0164], if the UE 501 is configured with the T duration, the UE 501 shall use a value for T1 that is less than the T duration. If the value configured in the UE 501, or the default value for T1 is more than T, then T1 shall be set to T. The UE 501 does not stop timer T1, when a power saving mode (PSM) or a mobile initiated connection only mode (MICO) or unavailability period or DRX/eDRX has been activated. The UE 501 can periodically attempt to obtain service on an allowable PLMN 502B, while in idle mode or 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication. [0165] The UE 501 can postpone attempting to obtain service on an allowable PLMN 502B: [0166] while the UE 501 is in power saving mode (PSM); [0167] while the UE 501 is receiving eMBMS transport service in idle mode; [0168] till the next eDRX occasion while the UE 501 is configured with eDRX; [0169] while the UE 501 is in relaxed monitoring; [0170] while the UE 501 is in Mobile Initiated Connection Only mode (MICO); or [0171] while the unavailability period is activated in the UE 501).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate continuation of the timer through the unavailability period and postponing the search until the unavailability period is done, as taught in Agarwal, in the system of Lu, in order to conserve device power and prevent unnecessary PLMN searches.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Park et al (US 2023/0269689) discloses if the UE is in a VPLMN, the MS may periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the Equivalent HPLMN (EHPLMN) list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combinations listed in “user controlled PLMN selector” or “operator controlled PLMN selector” by scanning in accordance with the requirements that are applicable as defined in the automatic network selection mode. In the case that the UE has a stored “Equivalent PLMNs” list, the UE may only select a PLMN if it is of a higher priority than those of the same country as the current serving PLMN which are stored in the equivalent PLMNs list. For this purpose, a value of timer T may be stored in the SIM. The interpretation of the stored value of time T depends on the radio capabilities supported by the UE ([0082]).
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641