DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saertrom (WO 2015/075557, May 2015) and in further view of Gryaznov et al (WO 2019/053661, March 2019).
Saertrom teaches siRNA targeting C/EBPβ of SEQ ID NO: 29 (see Table 3 on page 26), which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 46 and can be used for treatment of hepatocellular carcinoma (see paragraph [00266]). Saertrom teaches that siRNA can comprise 2' ribose modifications (see paragraph [00134]) and can be delivered with the help of GalNAc (see paragraph [00203]). Saertrom teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising the siRNA and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see paragraphs [00152, 0096]).
Saertrom does not teach siRNA of SEQ ID NO: 29 comprising 3 GalNAc residues conjugated via aminohexyl linker.
Gryaznov teach GalNAc moieties for targeting oligonucleotides to hepatocytes (see paragraph [0007]). Such moieties can be conjugated using aminohexyl (C6-NH2) linker (see paragraph [0008]) and can comprise 3 GalNAc residues (see structures on page 6 and page 64).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conjugate siRNA taught by Saertrom to GalNAc moieties as taught by Gryaznov, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because the siRNA of Saertrom is intended for treatment of liver cancer, therefore it is helpful to conjugate it with GalNAc moieties targeting such siRNA to liver cells as taught by Gryaznov, improving such siRNA delivery and activity.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637