DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Clossner et al. (US 20180086564 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Clossner discloses:
A transport system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) comprising:
a plurality of linear motors (43) [0003 & 0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0007 & 0008 & 0069 & 0071 & 0072 & 0074 & 0075] that are arranged in a row and that define a first path (23) and a second path (61) that differs at least partly from the first path (23) (Fig.10);
at least one transport unit (19) that has a transport element (27), which can be moved by the linear motors in a direction of movement along the first path [0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081], and a pickup element (29) for picking up a transport item to be transported [0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081], which pick-up element is configured to be moved along with the transport element in the direction of movement and to be moved relative to the transport element in order to set a distance between the transport element and the pick-up element in a transverse direction that extends transversely to the direction of movement [0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081]; and
a distance unit (31 & 53) for setting the distance in the transverse direction between the transport element and the pick-up element during the movement of the transport element so that the pick-up element is moved along and/or in accordance with the second path (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0097 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0101 & 0102 & 0107 & 0108 & 0109].
Regarding Claim 2, Clossner discloses:
the first path has straight path sections and curved path sections and the second path at least has curved path sections (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Clossner discloses:
straight path sections of the first path extend in
parallel with straight path sections of the second path (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Clossner discloses:
the first path and the second path are offset from one another (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Clossner discloses:
the pick-up element is movably supported at the transport element transversely to the direction of movement (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0107 & 0108 & 0109].
Regarding Claim 7, Clossner discloses:
the distance unit has a spacer (53) that has a first contact section [sides of distance unit spacer (53) that contacts the distance unit support frame (31)] and a second contact section [bottom of distance unit spacer (53) that contacts the second path (61)], with the first contact section being fastened to the pick-up element and the second contact section contacting the second path in order to set the distance (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 8, Clossner discloses:
the pick-up element is preloaded in the direction of the second path [0107].
Regarding Claim 10, Clossner discloses:
the pick-up element is preloaded in the direction of the second path [0107].
Regarding Claim 11, Clossner discloses:
A method for operating the transport system comprising:
controlling the linear motors to move the transport element in the direction of movement along the first path [0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081],
setting the distance in the transverse direction between the transport element and the pick-up element during the movement of the transport element by means of the distance unit so that the pick-up element is moved along and/or in accordance with the second path (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0107 & 0108 & 0109].
Regarding Claim 12, Clossner discloses:
the transport system is a multi-carrier system (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 13, Clossner discloses:
the first path and the second path are vertically offset from one another (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Clossner discloses:
the pick-up element is movably supported at the transport element by means of a plain bearing (67) [0100 & 0101 & 0102 & 0103 & 0104 & 0105 & 0106 & 0107 & 0108 & 0109 & 0110 & 0111 & 0112 & 0113].
Regarding Claim 16, Clossner discloses:
the second contact section is immovably guided at the second path in the transverse direction [0100 & 0101 & 0102 & 0103 & 0104 & 0105 & 0106 & 0107 & 0108 & 0109 & 0110 & 0111 & 0112 & 0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clossner et al. (US 20180086564 A1) in view of Achterberg et al. (US 20150008768 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Clossner teaches:
the second path has at least one curve section (Fig. 10).
Clossner does not teach:
the at least one curve section that follows a clothoid.
Achterberg teaches:
a track system (811 & 831) for a traveling vehicle (829) with at least one straight section and at least one curve section that follows a clothoid in order to facilitate jerk-free travel into and along the curve section [0057 & 0156].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article transport system having a track comprising straight sections, curved sections, and linear motors for driving a transport vehicle along the track taught by Clossner with the track system (811 & 831) for a traveling vehicle (829) with at least one straight section and at least one curve section that follows a clothoid in order to facilitate jerk-free travel into and along the curve section taught by Achterberg in order to provide a transfer means which transfers an article in a smooth manner with jerk-free transitions between positions and paths in order to prevent damage or dislodging of the supported article.
Claim(s) 9, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clossner et al. (US 20180086564 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Clossner teaches:
the distance unit interacts with a cammed surface that is configured to set the distance in the transverse direction between the transport element and the pick-up element in accordance with the position of the transport element along the first path (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0097 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0101 & 0102 & 0107 & 0108 & 0109].
Clossner does not teach:
the distance unit has a motor to set the distance in the transverse direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a motor to set the distance in the transverse direction in order to provide an adjustment system capable of being modified without making structural modifications to the system increase the utility of the system by allowing adjustments to more easily be made since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that motors for use in effecting motion and adjusting position were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Clossner teaches:
the pick-up element is preloaded by means of gravity [0036 & 0107].
Clossner does not teach:
the pick-up element is preloaded by means of a spring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a spring for preloading the pick-up element in order to ensure the pick-up element reliably biased towards its home position in order to prevent errors in the system due to the pick-up element’s failure to return to its home position since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that spring-bias return elements were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 17, Clossner teaches:
the pick-up element is preloaded by means of gravity [0036 & 0107].
Clossner does not teach:
the pick-up element is preloaded by means of a spring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a spring for preloading the pick-up element in order to ensure the pick-up element reliably biased towards its home position in order to prevent errors in the system due to the pick-up element’s failure to return to its home position since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that spring-bias return elements were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20150048693 A1, US 20140331888 A1, US 20150349618 A1, and US 6922606 B1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: track systems for vehicles having curve sections following a clothoid.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652