DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to communication filed on 03/10/2026. Claims 1-9 remain pending, with claims 1, 4, and 8 currently amended. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous objection to drawings, objection to claims, and 112(b) rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the scope is unclear because claim 1 requires the covering to be walkable, but claim 9 which depends from claim 1 requires the covering to be not walkable. Accordingly, which one is it? For the purpose of examination, it is being treated as not walkable due to the claimed shape of claim 9. Correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 recites the covering is NOT walkable (emphasis added). This fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends as claim 1 requires the covering to be walkable. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 9,422,737 (hereinafter Black et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Black et al. discloses a covering (1) comprising at least one planar support structure (11) provided with a cover on a top part thereof, wherein the cover (1) is walkable (col. 5, ln. 50-54)wherein the support structure is provided with at least one folding beam (10, 10A) on its underside (fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 2, Black et al. discloses wherein the at least one folding beam (10, 10A) is connected to the support structure (11) by joints (along first end 21) that enable rotational movement of the at least one folding beam (10, 10A) (col. 4, ln. 4-30).
Regarding claim 3, Black et al. discloses the at least one folding beam (10, 10A) is arranged in a width direction of the covering (1) (fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Black et al. discloses wherein the at least one folding beam is a plurality of folding beams (10, 10A), wherein the beams (10, 10A) are positioned partially over one another in a folded position (col. 6, ln. 20-31).
Regarding claim 5, Black et al. discloses wherein the at least one folding beam (10, 10A) has a structure of solid, and a shape of rectangular (fig. 2A, 2B).
Regarding claim 6, Black et al. discloses wherein the at least one folding beam (10, 10A) is provided with a lifting mechanism (40) which folds the at least one beam horizontally (along a horizontal plane; fig. 1A) before moving the covering to an opened position.
Regarding claim 7, Black et al. discloses wherein the top part of the covering is at a level of a surrounding area (fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Black et al. discloses wherein the covering (1) contains at least two planar support structures (11) located above one another in an opened position (fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. in view of US Patent 6,430,879 (hereinafter Nuiry).
Regarding claim 9, Black et al. fails to show wherein the cover is not walkable, with the top part having a shape selected from the group of arched, beveled, and combinations thereof, to increase the static load capacity and/or to drain water from the top part. Attention is turned to Nuiry which shows a cover having an arched shape (fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include an arched shape top part with the cover of Black et al. to assist with water drain off as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings of Nuiry mentioned above. Regarding the limitation that the “cover is not walkable,” matters pertaining to intended use are deemed to be met by the prior art so long as the structure is present. In the instant case, there is nothing to preclude a user from not walking on the cover if so desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that Black does not show a cover being walkable in both position, above the pool and next to the pool is not commensurate in scope with the claim language as such a feature is not recited The claim merely states the cover is walkable.
Applicant’s argument that Black does not show a beam that folds by pivoting rotationally under the support structure is not commensurate in scope with the claim language as such a feature is not recited. The claim merely states the support structure is provided with at least one folding beam on its underside. The beams (10, 10A) fold the cover and are located under the support structure (11).
Applicant’s argument that the claimed invention does not require pantograph units or wheels is not persuasive since “comprising” claims do not preclude additional structures being present in the prior art.
The rejection is deemed proper and maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754