DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because as previously noted in the requirement for restriction, the different groupings are provided for within different search areas, requiring multiple and different search strategies. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the movable mechanism of claims 1 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: movable mechanism in claims 1 and 11, and guide mechanism of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “a screw for losing and tightening the table” is unclear. It is unclear as to the purpose of the screw. As currently claimed, there appears to be a single screw for loosing and tightening the entirety of the table, which does not appear to be supported. What portion of the table does the screw interact with to allow for a connection to be made to the table? For the purposes of examination, the screw will be treated as loosing and tightening the connection of the link support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmes (US 8,250,957).
Regarding claim 1, Holmes teaches a table saw (100) comprising:
a table (104) for placing a workpiece;
a main body (102) disposed below the table having a motor (116)(Figure 1; Col. 5, Lines 5-25);
a cutting blade (108) connected to the motor (Col. 7, Lines 8-14), the cutting blade penetrating the table in an up-down direction (Figures 1 and 7; Col. 8, Lines 60-63); and a movable mechanism (120) for the cutting blade to be movable along with the main body with respect to the table, wherein the movable mechanism is configured to adjust a height of the main body with respect to the table, and an angle of the main body with respect to the table (Figures 1-2; Col. 5, Lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 2, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 1, wherein the movable mechanism has a guide mechanism (120,112, 142,500) configured to tilt the cutting blade along with the main body with respect to the table, and to move a center of the cutting blade downward and away from the table when an upper end of the cutting blade is movably closer to the table so that the upper end of the cutting blade moves to a first side and the center of the cutting blade moves to a second side opposite to the first side (Figure 1; Col. 5, Lines 5-63).
Regarding claim 3, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 2, wherein the guide mechanism (120,143) further includes a first link (506) configured to connect the table to the main body, and a second link (504) disposed on the first side with respect to the first link, and wherein the second link is configured to connect the table and the main body (Figures 3B and 3C; Col. 5, Lines 40-63).
Regarding claim 4, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3 further comprising: a first body-side shaft (516) configured to rotatably connect the first link to the main body, a first table-side shaft (518) configured to rotatably connect the first link to the table, a second body-side shaft (514) configured to rotatably connect the second link to the main body, and a second table-side shaft (510) configured to connect the second link to the table, wherein the first body-side shaft is located farther away from an intersection area of the cutting blade and the table than the first table-side shaft, and wherein the second body-side shaft is located farther away from the intersection area than the second table-side shaft (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 5, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3 further comprising: a first body-side shaft (152) configured to rotatably connect the first link to the main body, a first table-side shaft (516) configured to rotatably connect the first link to the table, a second body-side shaft (510) configured to rotatably connect the second link to the main body, and a second table-side shaft (514) configured to connect the second link to the table, wherein a distance between the first body-side shaft and the second body-side shaft is greater than a distance between the first table-side shaft and the second table-side shaft (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 6, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3, wherein the second link is configured to be longer than the first link for decreasing a length of blade protrusion when a tilt angle of the cutting blade increases (Figures 3B and 3D).
Regarding claim 7, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3, wherein at least a part of the first link or the second link is disposed between the cutting blade and the motor for enhancing a stability of the main body (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 8, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3 further comprising a lifting shaft (126,128) supported by the table for guiding the main body in a direction parallel to the cutting blade, wherein at least a part of the first link or the second link is disposed between the cutting blade and the lifting shaft for maintaining a rigidity of the main body when an external force applies on the cutting blade (Figure 2 and 3B).
Regarding claim 9, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3, wherein: the guide mechanism further includes a guide member (170) supported by the table for guiding the main body in a direction that is movable by the first link and the second link, and the motor is disposed between the first link and the guide member in the front-back direction along which the cutting blade is extendable (Figures 6-7; Col. 6, Lines 31-42; Noting the latch hold to guide the blade below the table once the link members are moved and rotated).
Regarding claim 10, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 3 further comprising a lifting shaft (126,128) supported by the table for guiding the main body in a direction parallel to the cutting blade (Figures 2 and 3B), wherein the guide mechanism further includes a guide member (170) supported by the table for guiding the main body in a direction that is movable by the first link and the second link (Figures 6-7; Col. 6, Lines 31-42; Noting the latch hold to guide the blade below the table once the link members are moved and rotated), and wherein the lifting shaft is disposed between the first link and the guide member in a front-rear direction along which the cutting blade is extendable (Figures 2, 3B and 3D).
Regarding claim 12, Holmes teaches the table saw according to claim 2, wherein a length of protrusion of the cutting blade in a direction parallel to the cutting blade decreases when a tilt angle of the cutting blade with respect to a plane perpendicular to the table increases, wherein the length of protrusion decreases more when the tilt angle decreases, and wherein the length of decrease reduces less when the tilt angle increases (Figures 1, 3B and 3D;Col. 7, Lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, Holmes teaches the table saw (100)(Figure 1) comprising:
a table (104) for placing a workpiece (Figure 1);
a main body (102) disposed below the table having a motor (116)( (Figure 1; Col. 5, Lines 5-25);
a cutting blade (108) connected to the motor, the cutting blade penetrating the table in an up-down direction (Figures 1 and 7; Col. 8, Lines 60-63);
a movable mechanism (120) for the cutting blade to be movable along with the main body with respect to the table, wherein the movable mechanism is configured to adjust a height of the main body with respect to the table, and an angle of the main body with respect to the table (Figures 1-2; Col. 5, Lines 5-25);
a link (504) configured to connect the table to the main body; a screw for loosing and tightening the table (Figure 3A); and a link support (142) releasably fixed to the table and connected to the link, wherein the link support is formed with an elongated hole penetrating in the up-down direction for the screw to be fitted in (Figures 1, 3A and 4).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references A-M on page 1 and A-I on Page 2 establish the state of the art with a variety of saws and adjustment mechanisms.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 06/24/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724