DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16 and 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for membrane filtration , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor.
(Fig.8, Wictor)
(Fig.2, Wictor)
Regarding Claim 1 , Wictor is directed to the field of water purification, and in particular to a method and an apparatus for evaluating a condition of a water purification system comprising a water purification apparatus and at least one sterilizing grade filter. The disclosure also relates to a data processing device, a computer program product and a computer-readable data carrier [0001].
Wictor discloses a membrane filter system (water purification apparatus 110) comprising: a storage tank (350); a ring line for connecting consumers (40) ; at least one stage comprising: a membrane module ( RO-membrane 324 ) connected to a concentrate line for delivering a concentrate volume flow and a permeate line for delivering a permeate volume flow; a feed line to the membrane module; at least one booster pump (RO-pump 450 ) for pumping liquid into the membrane module ( RO-membrane 324 ); and at least one circulation pump (auxiliary constant flow device, which provides a steady flow of rejected water) for returning concentrate from the membrane module to the feed line; at least two sensors (empty level switch in tank 350 detect air or a critically low water level, the flow rate of the product water is monitored by a flow rate sensor 309), each sensor configured to measure a process variable; and at least one control and regulating unit (control unit 112 ), each of the at least two sensors being connected on an signal input side to the at least one control and regulating unit (control unit 112), and the at least one control and regulating unit configured to regulate the at least one booster pump (RO-pump 450 ) and at least one circulation pump based on sensor signals of the at least two sensors (Abstract; Fig.8; [0089]; [0094], (the RO-device 301 filters water using a RO-membrane 324 to provide purified water at its permeate outlet); [0092], (the RO module 170 comprises the tank 350, the RO-pump 450 and the RO-device 301. The filtered (or unfiltered) feed water enters the tank 350); [0096], (A concentrate fluid path 377c is arranged to pass concentrate water and electrode fluid from the EDI-device 306 back to the tank 350); [0062], (Thereby the stream of pre-treated water is divided into a reject stream of water and a stream of permeate water; The pre-treated water is pressurized by a pump and forced through an RO-membrane of the RO-module to overcome the osmotic pressure); [0091], (The inlet valve 332 controls the feed water inflow by control of the control unit 112 ); [0101], (in operation, a portion of the rejected water leaving the RO-device 301 via a fluid path 385a passes an auxiliary constant flow device (not shown), which provides a steady flow of rejected water to a three-way valve 305b under control of control unit 112. A remaining portion of the rejected water returns to RO-pump 450)); [0094], (The control unit 112 is configured to cause RO-pump 450 to stop pumping, if empty level switch in tank 350 detects air or a critically low water level. RO-pump 450 is configured to provide the water flow and pressure requisite for the reverse osmosis process taking place at RO-device 301); [0102], (All meters and sensors described in connection with water purification apparatus 110 in FIG. 8 are configured to communicate their corresponding signals, e.g. measured quantities, to control unit 112)); [0099], (the flow control device 305a is for example a motorized flow control valve that is configured to finely regulate the flow rate in the recirculation path 375).
Regarding Claim 12, Wictor discloses the membrane filter system wherein the at least one stage consists of one stage (Fig.2; [0061], (The water purification apparatus 110 comprises one or several purification modules 160, 170, 180)).
Regarding Claim 13, Wictor discloses the membrane filter system wherein the at least one stage comprises a multi-stage system with a first stage and at least one further stage, wherein the at least one further stage is hydraulically connected downstream to the first stage. (Fig.2; [0061], (The water purification apparatus 110 comprises one or several purification modules 160, 170, 180)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor, as applied to the claim 1 above, in view of Sendelius et al. (US 20220241728 A1 ) herein known as Sendelius.
Regarding Claim 2 and 4, Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However, Wictor is silent to the membrane filter system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one control and regulating unit is configured to adapt a permeate volume flow and a concentrate volume flow to a current consumer withdrawal by regulating the at least one booster pump and the at least one circulation pump (Claim 2), and the membrane filter system wherein the at least one pressure sensor is arranged at one end of the ring line (Claim 4).
Sendelius is directed to the field of water purification, and in particular to water purification by means of reverse osmosis. In detail, the present disclosure relates to a water purification apparatus and a method for controlling a water purification apparatus [0001] .
Sendelius discloses the membrane filter system wherein the at least one control and regulating unit is configured to adapt a permeate volume flow and a concentrate volume flow to a current consumer withdrawal by regulating the at least one booster pump (feed pump 23) and the at least one circulation pump (recirculation pump 33) (Claim 2). (Fig. 3; [0020]; [0036]; [0015]; [0013], (The method comprising measuring a permeate flow rate downstream a recirculation point, and controlling recirculation of permeate water from the recirculation point to the inlet water at a point upstream the feed pump, to obtain a predetermined permeate flow rate downstream the recirculation point. Thereby a predetermined permeate flow rate may be achieved to meet a consumer need); [0036], (A recirculation mechanism 33 is arranged to recirculate a portion of the reject water to the feed water. The recirculation mechanism 33 is arranged to the recirculation line 44. The recirculation mechanism 33 is for example a recirculation pump, by having a recirculation pump (in addition to the feed pump), the net driving pressure, NDP, across the membrane 26a and the reject flow rate may be independently controlled).
Sendelius also discloses the membrane filter system wherein the at least one pressure sensor (36) is arranged at one end of the ring line (Claim 4) (Fig.3; [0044], (the apparatus 1 comprises a permeate pressure sensor device 36 arranged to measure the pressure in the permeate line 42 downstream the recirculation point 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Sendelius, wherein the at least one control and regulating unit is configured to adapt a permeate volume flow and a concentrate volume flow to a current consumer withdrawal by regulating the at least one booster pump and the at least one circulation pump (Claim 2), the membrane filter system wherein the at least one pressure sensor is arranged at one end of the ring line (Claim 4), in order to the permeate flow rate may be achieved to meet a consumer need (See Sendelius, [0013]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, Wictor discloses the membrane filter system further comprising at least one pressure sensor (pressure sensor 308 ), wherein the at least one control and regulating (control unit 112) unit is configured, when a measured pressure by the at least one pressure sensor (pressure sensor 308 ) increases a speed of the at least one booster pump (RO-pump 450 ) in such a way that a pressure setpoint value is reached by an actual pressure value, and when the pressure setpoint value is exceeded by the measured pressure, reduces the speed of the at least one booster pump in such a way that the pressure setpoint value is reached by the actual pressure value ([0064]; [0068], (The monitoring comprises receiving sensor data from the pressure sensor 308. Thus, the apparatus 110 is arranged to measure a plurality of pressure values of the purified water, by means of the pressure sensor 308. The measured values are continually or repetitively received by the control unit 112 as signals); [0094], (RO-pump 450 is configured to provide the water flow and pressure requisite for the reverse osmosis process taking place at RO-device 301).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor in view of Sendelius et al. (US 20220241728 A1 ) herein known as Sendelius, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Robbins et al. (US 20190309873 A1) herein known as Robbins and in view of Völker et al. (US 20210362093 A1) herein known as Völker.
(Fig.2, Robbins)
Regarding Claim 5, Wictor is silent to the membrane filter system further comprising a first flow sensor arranged at a beginning of the ring line for measuring liquid flow leaving the membrane module on a permeate side and a second flow sensor for measuring liquid flow leaving the membrane module on a concentrate side, wherein the at least one control and regulating unit is configured to control a speed of the at least one circulation pump as a function of flow rate measured by the first flow sensor and the second flow sensor and formation of the membrane module and an overflow factor such that a desired flow rate setpoint value is realized.
Sendelius discloses the membrane filter system further comprising a first flow sensor (35) arranged at a beginning of the ring line for measuring liquid flow leaving the membrane module on a permeate side ([0044], [The second flow rate sensor device 35 is arranged to measure a permeate flow rate downstream the recirculation point 48]).
Robbins is directed to a mechanism which provides the ability to precisely control fluid flow through a metering valve by means of signals received from an electronic controller. More particularly, the invention relates to a unique combination of metering valve, drive motor, gear train between valve and motor, position sensing device(s) and electronic circuits that together function to allow precise and remotely controlled fluid flow control in a variety of applications notably in the area of membrane separation systems where precise and automatically variable control of fluid flows would be of great value [0001].
Robbins discloses a second flow sensor for measuring liquid flow leaving the membrane module on a concentrate side, wherein the at least one control and regulating unit is configured to control a speed of the at least one circulation pump as a function of flow rate measured by the first flow sensor and the second flow sensor and formation of the membrane module such that a desired flow rate setpoint value is realized ([0015]; Fig.2).
Robbins also discloses the concentrate actuated valve mechanism and the recirculation actuated valve mechanism in a coordinated manner so that the desired product, concentrate and recirculation flow rates are achieved and maintained by reference to the respective flow sensor devices [0015].
Völker is directed to an apparatus for the treatment of water on the reverse osmosis principle. Apparatus of this type, reverse osmosis or RO systems, are used in particular in connection with haemodialysis devices in order to obtain sufficiently pure, sterile water from tap water for the preparation of dialysis liquid [0001].
Völker discloses the overflow factor ([0028], (the remaining volume in the tank (19) is diluted by the supply of fresh permeate and conveyed via valve (34) to the discharge. In addition to electrical actuation, valve (34) also has a mechanical overflow in order to protect the line (42) from an overpressure, for instance when providing an emergency supply)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Robbins and Sendelius wherein the membrane filter system further comprising a first flow sensor arranged at a beginning of the ring line for measuring liquid flow leaving the membrane module on a permeate side and a second flow sensor for measuring liquid flow leaving the membrane module on a concentrate side, wherein the at least one control and regulating unit is configured to control a speed of the at least one circulation pump as a function of flow rate measured by the first flow sensor and the second flow sensor and formation of the membrane module and an overflow factor such that a desired flow rate setpoint value is realized, such that that the desired product, concentrate and recirculation flow rates are achieved and maintained by reference to the respective flow sensor devices (see Robbins, [0015]), and in order to protect the line from an overpressure (See Völker, [0028]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 6-7, 11 and 14 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor, as applied to the claims above, in view of Völker et al. (US 20210362093 A1) herein known as Völker.
(Fig.1, Völker)
Regarding Claims 6-7 and 11, Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
Wictor discloses the membrane filter system further comprising at least one flow sensor arranged in the ring line (40), which is connected on the signal input side to the at least one control and regulating unit (control unit 112), which regulates the at least one booster pump (RO-pump 450 ) according to a flow setpoint value (Abstract; Fig.8; [0062], [0089], [0091]-[0094]; [0101]- [0102]).
However, Wictor is silent to the membrane filter system, further comprising an attenuator (Claim 6), the membrane filter system wherein the attenuator comprises an overflow valve that opens as soon as pressure applied to the overflow valve is greater than a set holding pressure (Claim 7), the membrane filter system further comprising an overflow valve (Claim 11).
Völker is directed to an apparatus for the treatment of water on the reverse osmosis principle. Apparatus of this type, reverse osmosis or RO systems, are used in particular in connection with haemodialysis devices in order to obtain sufficiently pure, sterile water from tap water for the preparation of dialysis liquid [0001].
Völker discloses the membrane filter system, further comprising an attenuator (Claim 6), the membrane filter system wherein the attenuator comprises an overflow valve (34) that opens as soon as pressure applied to the overflow valve is greater than a set holding pressure (Claim 7), the membrane filter system further comprising an overflow valve (Claim 11). ([0028], (the remaining volume in the tank (19) is diluted by the supply of fresh permeate and conveyed via valve (34) to the discharge. In addition to electrical actuation, valve (34) also has a mechanical overflow in order to protect the line (42) from an overpressure, for instance when providing an emergency supply)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Völker, wherein the membrane filter system, further comprising an attenuator (Claim 6), the membrane filter system wherein the attenuator comprises an overflow valve that opens as soon as pressure applied to the overflow valve is greater than a set holding pressure (Claim 7), the membrane filter system further comprising an overflow valve (Claim 11) in order to protect the line from an overpressure (See Völker, [0028]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claim 14, Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
Wictor discloses wherein the at least one further stage comprises a second stage (Fig.2; [0061], (The water purification apparatus 110 comprises one or several purification modules 160, 170, 180)), the first stage (170) comprising a first membrane module (RO module 170) [0064] , a first booster pump (RO-pump 450) and a first circulation pump (auxiliary constant flow device, which provides a steady flow of rejected water) [0092], the second stage, which is arranged downstream of the first membrane module. The at least one control and regulating unit (control unit 112) configured to perform a pressure setpoint control of the first booster pump (RO-pump 450 ) based on a pressure value measured by the first pressure sensor (pressure sensor 308) ([0064]; [0068], (The monitoring comprises receiving sensor data from the pressure sensor 308. Thus, the apparatus 110 is arranged to measure a plurality of pressure values of the purified water, by means of the pressure sensor 308. The measured values are continually or repetitively received by the control unit 112 as signals); [0094], (RO-pump 450 is configured to provide the water flow and pressure requisite for the reverse osmosis process taking place at RO-device 301).
However, Wictor is silent to the second stage comprising a second membrane module, a second booster pump downstream of the first membrane module and a second circulation pump. a first pressure sensor being arranged on a suction side of the second booster pump,
a second pressure sensor being arranged downstream of the second membrane module, and the at least one control and regulating unit configured to perform a pressure setpoint control of the second booster pump based on a pressure value measured by the second pressure sensor.
Völker discloses to the second stage comprising a second membrane module (membranes (13/15)), a second booster pump (pumps (12/14)) downstream of the first membrane module and a second circulation pump ,a first pressure sensor being arranged on a suction side of the second booster pump (P2) a second pressure sensor being arranged downstream of the second membrane module (P3), and the at least one control and regulating unit configured to perform a pressure setpoint control of the second booster pump based on a pressure value measured by the second pressure sensor ( Fig.1; [0018]- [0022]; [0026]).
Völker also discloses the illustrated reverse osmosis system is of two stage type. On the one hand to achieve as high as possible a quality of the ultrapure water and on the other hand to maintain the security of supply to the treatment units in the event of failure of one stage [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Völker, wherein the second stage comprising a second membrane module, a second booster pump downstream of the first membrane module and a second circulation pump. a first pressure sensor being arranged on a suction side of the second booster pump, a second pressure sensor being arranged downstream of the second membrane module, and the at least one control and regulating unit configured to perform a pressure setpoint control of the second booster pump based on a pressure value measured by the second pressure sensor, in order to achieve as high as possible a quality of the ultrapure water and on the other hand to maintain the security of supply to the treatment units in the event of failure of one stage (See Völker, [0016]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor, in view of Völker et al. (US 20210362093 A1) herein known as Völker, as applied to the claim above, and further in view of Wanger (JP 2009542988 A) herein known as Wanger.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However, modified Wictor is silent to the membrane filter system, wherein the attenuator comprises an overflow valve and a flow limiter.
Wanger is directed to a high-pressure cylinder unit used to supply highly toxic and / or flammable compounds to semiconductor manufacturing tools (Page2, Description, Technical-field).
Wanger discloses the attenuator comprises an overflow valve and a flow limiter (Page 6, 4th paragraph, Lines 3-12, (this overflow valve allows for the supply of fluid flow from zero to 5,000 sccm, but in the unlikely event that the flow rate through the device is for some reason (such as a component failure or a leak downstream from the device) If over 1,000 sccm, this overflow valve can be closed and set to prevent any further fluid discharge. In the event of a component failure or leak, this device will prevent further gas escape, thereby retaining the remaining fluid in the cylinder or storage container. This mechanism, alone or in combination with a capillary flow restrictor, greatly enhances the safety, environment and health functions of the cylinder unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Wanger wherein the attenuator comprises an overflow valve and a flow limiter such that overflow valve allows for the supply of fluid flow within a specified range and in the event of a component failure or leak, this device will prevent further fluid escape, thereby retaining the remaining fluid in the cylinder or storage container ,this mechanism, alone or in combination with a capillary flow restrictor, greatly enhances the safety (See Wanger, [Page 6, 4th paragraph, Lines 3-12]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor, in view of Völker et al. (US 20210362093 A1) herein known as Völker, as applied to the claim above, and further in view of Ostwald (US-4389076-A) herein known as Ostwald.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However, modified Wictor is silent to the membrane filter system, wherein the attenuator is a membrane expansion vessel or a solenoid valve in conjunction with a pressure switch or pressure sensor.
Ostwald is directed to an arrangement for the supply of pressure to brake slip (antiskid) control apparatus during braking operations in automotive vehicles including a source of pressure to supply the necessary control pressure in the wheel brake cylinders (Col.1, Lines 7-11).
Ostwald discloses wherein the attenuator is a membrane expansion vessel or a solenoid valve (44) in conjunction with a pressure switch (45) or pressure sensor (Col.4, Lines 30-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Ostwald wherein
the attenuator is a membrane expansion vessel or a solenoid valve in conjunction with a pressure switch or pressure sensor, in order to supply the necessary control pressure (See Ostwald, [(Col.1, Lines 7-11)]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor, as applied to the claim 1 above, in view of Shu (CN 105854606 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Shu.
Regarding Claim 10, Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However, Wictor is silent the membrane filter system wherein the membrane module comprises a plurality of sub-membrane modules connected in series or in parallel, wherein each sub-membrane module comprises one or more membranes.
Shu is directed to the field of water purification, and particularly to membrane modules in reverse osmosis devices used for water purification [0002].
Shu discloses the membrane filter system wherein the membrane module comprises a plurality of sub-membrane modules connected in series or in parallel, wherein each sub-membrane module comprises one or more membranes (Abstract).
Shu also discloses the invention aims to provide a membrane module in a reverse osmosis device that enables uniform liquid distribution and high membrane housing utilization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Shu, wherein the membrane module comprises a plurality of sub-membrane modules connected in series or in parallel, wherein each sub-membrane module comprises one or more membranes in order to enables uniform liquid distribution and high membrane housing utilization (See Shu, [0007]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wictor et al. (US 20210363030 A1) herein known as Wictor, as applied to the claims above, in view of Völker et al. (US 20210362093 A1) herein known as Völker and further in view of Sendelius et al. (US 20220241728 A1 ) herein known as Sendelius.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Wictor teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
Wictor discloses the membrane filter system according to the membrane filter system according to wherein the at least one further stage comprises a second stage, the first stage (170) comprising a first membrane module (RO module 170), a first booster pump (RO-pump 450) and a first circulation pump (auxiliary constant flow device, which provides a steady flow of rejected water), the second stage being arranged downstream of the first membrane module (Fig.2; [0061], (The water purification apparatus 110 comprises one or several purification modules 160, 170, 180); [0092]), the at least one control and regulating unit (control unit 112) configured to perform a pressure setpoint regulation of the first booster pump based on a first pressure value measured by the first pressure sensor (pressure sensor 308 ) ([0064]; [0068], (The monitoring comprises receiving sensor data from the pressure sensor 308. Thus, the apparatus 110 is arranged to measure a plurality of pressure values of the purified water, by means of the pressure sensor 308. The measured values are continually or repetitively received by the control unit 112 as signals); [0094], (RO-pump 450 is configured to provide the water flow and pressure requisite for the reverse osmosis process taking place at RO-device 301).
Sendelius is directed to the field of water purification, and in particular to water purification by means of reverse osmosis. In detail, the present disclosure relates to a water purification apparatus and a method for controlling a water purification apparatus [0001] .
Sendelius discloses , a first pressure sensor being arranged at an end in the ring line upstream of the storage tank. (Fig.3; [0044], (the apparatus 1 comprises a permeate pressure sensor device 36 arranged to measure the pressure in the permeate line 42 downstream the recirculation point 48).
Völker is directed to an apparatus for the treatment of water on the reverse osmosis principle. Apparatus of this type, reverse osmosis or RO systems, are used in particular in connection with haemodialysis devices in order to obtain sufficiently pure, sterile water from tap water for the preparation of dialysis liquid [0001].
Völker discloses the membrane filter system comprising a second membrane module (membranes (13/15), a second booster pump (pumps (12/14)) downstream of the first membrane module and a second circulation pump , a second pressure sensor being arranged on a permeate side downstream of the first membrane module, and the at least one control and regulating unit configured to perform a pressure setpoint regulation of the second booster pump based on a second pressure value measured by the second pressure sensor ( Fig.1; [0018]- [0022]; [0026]).
Völker also discloses the illustrated reverse osmosis system is of two stage type. On the one hand to achieve as high as possible a quality of the ultrapure water and on the other hand to maintain the security of supply to the treatment units in the event of failure of one stage [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Wictor ‘s membrane filter system, as taught by Völker and Sendelius wherein the membrane filter system comprising a second membrane module, a second booster pump downstream of the first membrane module and a second circulation pump, a first pressure sensor being arranged at an end in the ring line upstream of the storage tank, the at least one control and regulating unit configured to perform a pressure setpoint regulation of the first booster pump based on a first pressure value measured by the first pressure sensor, a second pressure sensor being arranged on a permeate side downstream of the first membrane module, and the at least one control and regulating unit configured to perform a pressure setpoint regulation of the second booster pump based on a second pressure value measured by the second pressure sensor in order to achieve as high as possible a quality of the ultrapure water and on the other hand to maintain the security of supply to the treatment units in the event of failure of one stage (See Völker, [0016]), and in order to the permeate flow rate to meet a consumer need (See Sendelius, [0013]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773