DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/20236 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As an initial matter, the recitation of relevant figures and passages in the prior art is sufficient evidence to establish a prima facie case of anticipation where the claimed structural relationships are evident from the drawings and text, as in this case. HOSSAIN discloses the claimed relationships, as set forth in the previous office action and as discussed in further detail below, with respect to applicant’s arguments.
Regarding the claimed annular channel of rejected claim 25, HOSSAIN discloses in para [0014] that the plenum 90 is connected to multiple annular arrays of individual stator nozzles 104/106/108. Plenum 90 is also connected to single cooling fluid inlet 94, as shown in Fig. 3 (see also para [0013]) and, thus, part of plenum 90 is annular in order to enable those respective connections.
Regarding the claimed first and second end plates of rejected claim 32, elements 84 and 61 of HOSSAIN are end plates as broadly claimed, i.e. planar surfaces on opposite axial ends of the end cover, exhibiting the claimed axial relationships, and between which the plenum 90, which comprises the annular channel, is shown in Fig. 3. (see annotated Fig. 3, below, for clarity)
Regarding the claimed radial channel and its relationship to the annular channel of original claim 25, these relationships are evident from Fig. 3 of HOSSAIN (see annotated Fig. 3, below, for clarity)
Regarding the claimed width relationships of rejected claim 26, the claimed relationships are evident from Fig. 3 of HOSSAIN (see annotated Fig. 3, below, for clarity, as well as annotated Fig. 3, above, to identify the axial channels which are evidently narrower than the annular channel in the radial direction)
Regarding the claimed spacing difference between the annular protrusion and the stator winding vis-à-vis the axis of the motor of rejected claim 27, this relationship is evident from the Figures of HOSSAIN. Specifically, the protrusion 84 is between the axis 48 and, at least, outlet 108 (plainly visible in Fig. 2; see also Fig. 3) while the outlet 108 is between the axis 48 and winding 30, as is plainly visible in Fig. 1.
Regarding the claimed connection of the radial channel to the axial channel through the annular channel of claim 32, this relationship is evident from the figures of HOSSAIN, specifically with respect to the axial channel connecting to outlets 106 and 108 (for clarity: identified in annotated Fig. 3 on page 4, above).
Regarding the claimed relative widths of rejected claim 38, the axial channels of HOSSAIN are narrower in the radial direction than any other channel shown (for clarity: identified in annotated Fig. 3 on page 4, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-27 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HOSSAIN (US 20140009015).
Regarding claim 21, HOSSAIN discloses a motor comprising:
a stator (24);
an end cover (61) comprising:
an outer circumferential surface that comprises at least one liquid inlet (94),
a side surface that faces the stator (24) and comprises a plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108),
a first end plate (84) and a second end plate (61) along the axial direction (48) of the motor, and
an internal channel (90) that comprises an annular channel between the first end plate (84) and a second end plate (61) (see Fig. 3),
wherein the stator (24) and the end cover (61) are adjacently arranged along an axial direction (48) of the motor (see Fig. 1); and
a housing (6), wherein:
the housing (6) is configured to install the stator (24) and the end cover (61),
the outer circumferential surface is configured to receive coolant through the housing (6)(see para [0013]), and
the internal channel (90) is configured to connect to the at least one liquid inlet (94) and the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108) (see Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 22, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 21, wherein the internal channel (90) further comprises:
a radial channel (see Fig. 3), configured to connect to the at least one liquid inlet (94); and,
an axial channel is that is configured to connect to the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108), wherein the radial channel is connected to the axial channel (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 22, wherein a width of the radial channel along the axial direction (48) of the motor is greater than a width of the axial channel along a radial direction of the motor (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 22, wherein the axial channel passes through the side surface along the axial direction (48) of the motor (see Fig. 3), the stator (24) comprises a stator core (28) and a stator winding (30) wound around the stator core (28), and a projection of the radial channel or the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108) along the axial direction (48) of the motor falls within a range of a projection of the stator winding (30) along the axial direction (48) of the motor (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 22, wherein the internal channel (90) further comprises at least one radial channel, and a plurality of axial channels, and the at least one radial channel is connected to the plurality of axial channels through the annular channel (see para [0014] and Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 26, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 25, wherein a width of the annular channel along the axial direction (48) of the motor is greater than a width of the radial channel along the radial direction of the motor, and a width of the annular channel along the radial direction of the motor is greater than a width of each axial channel along the radial direction of the motor (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 27, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 24, wherein the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108) comprises an annular protrusion (84), the annular protrusion (84) faces the stator (24), the stator (24) comprises the stator core (28) and the stator winding (30), an inner diameter of the annular protrusion (84) is less than a diameter of the axial channel, and, along the radial direction of the motor, a spacing between the annular protrusion (84) and an axis of the motor is less than a spacing between an outer circumferential surface of the stator winding (30) and the axis of the motor (see Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 32, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 22, wherein:
the first end plate (84) is away from the second end plate (61),
the first end plate (84) is closer to the stator (24) than the second end plate (61) (Fig. 1),
the radial channel is connected to the axial channel through the annular channel (see Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 33, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 32, wherein the axial channel passes through the first end plate (84) along the axial direction (48) of the motor (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSSAIN in view of FUKUSHIMA (US 20100052441).
Regarding claim 35, HOSSAIN discloses the motor according to claim 32, wherein the housing (6) further comprises: a bottom wall that faces the stator (24), wherein the bottom wall is used as the second end plate (61); and
a peripheral side wall (14) that surrounds the bottom wall
However, HOSSAIN does not disclose the peripheral side wall comprises a liquid injection opening, wherein the liquid injection opening passes through the peripheral side wall along a radial direction of the motor and the liquid injection opening is configured to transmit coolant to the at least one liquid inlet.
FUKUSHIMA discloses cooling system for a motor wherein a peripheral side wall 2 that comprises a liquid injection opening 7a, wherein the liquid injection opening passes through the peripheral side wall along a radial direction of the motor and the liquid injection opening is configured to transmit coolant to at least one liquid inlet 5 (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of HOSSAIN with the peripheral side wall comprises a liquid injection opening, wherein the liquid injection opening passes through the peripheral side wall along a radial direction of the motor and the liquid injection opening is configured to transmit coolant to the at least one liquid inlet, similar to FUKUSHIMA.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide the oil supply with a common, predetermined pressure to be distributed throughout the system, as taught by FUKUSHIMA (see para [0021])
FUKUSHIMA
Claims 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSSAIN in view of JUNG (WO 2020130200).
Regarding claim 36, HOSSAIN discloses a powertrain comprising; a motor, wherein the motor comprises:
a stator (24),
an end cover (61) comprising:
an outer circumferential surface that comprises at least one liquid inlet (94),
a side surface that faces the stator (24) and comprises a plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108),
a first end plate (84) and a second end plate (61) along the axial direction (48) of the motor, and
an internal channel (90) that comprises an annular channel between the first end plate (84) and a second end plate (61) (see Fig. 3), and
a housing (6), wherein:
the housing (6) is configured to install the stator (24) and the end cover (61),
the stator (24) and the end cover (61) are adjacently arranged along an axial direction (48) of the motor (see Fig. 1),
the at least one liquid inlet (94) is configured to receive coolant through the housing (6)(see para [0013]),
the internal channel (90) is configured to connect to the at least one liquid inlet (94) and the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108) and an output shaft (44) of the motor (see Fig. 1 and 3).
However, HOSSAIN does not disclose the output shaft is in a transmission connection to an input shaft of a speed reducer or a gearbox.
JUNG discloses a similar powertrain with a motor attached to a gearbox (see BACKGROUND).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of HOSSAIN attached a gearbox, similar to JUNG.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to convert the disclosed torque output of HOSSAIN to provide motive force to a vehicle, as is well known in the art (see HOSSAIN para [0002])
Regarding claim 37, HOSSAIN in view of JUNG teaches the powertrain according to claim 36, wherein the internal channel (90) further comprises:
a radial channel configured to connect to the at least one liquid inlet (94) (see Fig. 3), and
an axial channel, configured to connect to the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108), and
the radial channel is connected to the axial channel (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 38, HOSSAIN in view of JUNG teaches the powertrain according to claim 37, wherein a width of the radial channel along the axial direction (48) of the motor is greater than a width of the axial channel along a radial direction of the motor (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 39, HOSSAIN in view of JUNG teaches the powertrain according to claim 37, wherein the axial channel passes through the side surface along the axial direction (48) of the motor, the stator (24) comprises a stator core (28) and a stator winding (30), the stator winding (30) is wound around the stator core (28), and a projection of the radial channel or the plurality of liquid outlets (104,106,108) along the axial direction (48) of the motor falls within a range of a projection of the stator winding (30) along the axial direction (48) of the motor (see Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 40, HOSSAIN discloses the powertrain according to claim 37, wherein the internal channel (90) further comprises;
at least one radial channel, and
a plurality of axial channels, and
the at least one radial channel is connected to the plurality of axial channels through the annular channel (see para [0014] and Fig. 2 and 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20020130565-A1 Tilton discloses an end cover with annular channel and liquid outlets; US-9825509-B2 Nagumo discloses an end cover with annular channel and liquid outlets; US-20240388168-A1 LEDIEU disclose an end cover with annular channel and liquid outlets; Japanese document JP-6695098-B2 discloses an end cover with annular channel and liquid outlets.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834