DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a platform” including “at least one pipe support member” wherein the platform is “configured to rest on a flat bottom surface of a utility box containment pit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, it is unclear if the utility box containment pit is positively recited as part of the claimed invention or not. For example, in the preamble of claim 1, it is clear that the utility box containment pit is not part of the claimed invention. However, in line 5, the limitation “an upper surface at a height above the containment pit bottom surface” appears that the utility box containment pit is part of the claimed invention because positively requires the upper surface of the platform being above the containment pit bottom surface. Also, it is unclear what structure from the figures is the utility box containment pit. It is unclear if the utility box and the utility box containment pit are the same or different features. Further, it is unclear how the upper surface of the platform could be at a height above the containment pit bottom surface, and at same time the platform lower surface could be configured to contact the containment pit bottom surface. In addition, it is unclear how the “outer support member could be configured to reversibly mount a bottom end of the utility box at a height above the containment pit bottom surface. Regarding claim 13, “the boundary” lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear to which boundary applicant is referring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burke (US 8,249,411).
Claim 1
Burke discloses an apparatus for supporting a utility box comprising a platform (defined by combined sections 26 and/or 28) (see figure 1) configured to rest on a substantially flat bottom surface of a utility box containment pit under said utility box, said platform comprising an upper surface at a height above the containment pit bottom surface, a lower surface configured to contact said containment pit bottom surface, a central portion, at least one pipe support member (defined by 72 and/or as shown in the figure above), and an outer support member (defined by area of the platform pointed by reference numeral 26 in the figure above) capable to support a reversibly mount a bottom end of said utility box at said height above said containment pit bottom surface (see figure above). Structures referred for section 26 are also applied to section 28.
Claim 2
Burke further discloses the platform upper surface is substantially flat and wherein said platform upper surface encompasses and is substantially co-planar with a central portion upper surface and an outer support member upper surface (see figure above).
Claims 3 and 4
Burke further discloses the central portion comprises at least two removable panels (32) (see column 2 lines 57-60 and column 3 lines 5-16).
Claim 10
Burke further discloses the outer support member comprises a trench (defined by opening where panel 42 is received) capable to receive the bottom end of said utility box (see figure 10).
Claim 11
Burke further discloses the platform upper surface comprises further comprising at least one utility box locking tab (48) mounted thereto, and wherein said at least one utility box locking tab is configured to hold said utility box in position on the upper surface of said platform utility box base (see figure 10 and column 3 lines 39-42).
Claim 12
Burke further discloses the outer support member comprises an inner flange and an outer flange (see figure above).
Claim 13
Burke further discloses the trench defines the boundary between said inner flange and said outer flange (see figure above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke (US 8,249,411) as applied to claims 1 or 13 above.
Claims 14 and 16
Burke does not explicitly disclose measurement and/or dimensions for the inner flange and the outer support member. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the required measurements and/or dimensions of each of the inner flange and outer support member, as required, depending on the structural strength and/or rigidity of the platform. Please note that applicant's specification does not disclose any criticality for the required width and/or thickness of the recited structure of the platform.
Conclusion
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736