This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 10/30/2025. Claims 21-40 are pending. As necessitated by the amendments, 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) rejections to amended claim 21 have been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 was amended to recite, “a head including one or more walls forming a single, continuous opening” which is not supported by applicant’s disclosure. In the Remarks, the applicant does not recite a specific area (col., page, and/or paragraph) of the disclosure that supports the amendments and the instant disclosure does not recite and/or describe the opening to be a “single, continuous opening.” However, the Examiner refers to figs. 2C-2D for the following explanation. As best understood from the figs., the head includes one or more walls defining an opening, the opening includes an inlet defined at an end of the head, and the one or more walls are continuous along the head. The opening is not recited to be a single, continuous opening within the instant disclosure. Therefore, the recitation introduces New Matter, and it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claims 22-28 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(a) since they are dependent on claim 21.
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 was amended to recite, “a head including one or more walls forming a single, continuous opening” which renders the claim indefinite. From the 35 USC 112(a) rejection above, “a single, continuous opening” is not introduced in the instant disclosure and it is unclear to the Examiner the structure of a “single, continuous opening.” According to The Free Dictionary, “opening” is defined as an aperture or gap, i.e. not shut or closed; therefore, by definition, an opening is a continuous gap or aperture to allow suctioned airflow to pass through. It is not clear the applicant’s intent of “continuous” to further define the opening. As best understood and for examination purposes, the head includes a single, continuous opening in order for airflow to be suctioned through and the opening defines an inlet at an end of the head, which directly leads into the single, continuous opening.
Claims 22-28 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22 and 25-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903).
The embodiment of figs. 1-5 is utilized in the following rejection. Please refer to those figures for details.
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903) discloses a vacuum tool (figs. 1-5) configured to be removably coupled to a hose or wand of a vacuum (col. 1, ll. 56-63), the vacuum tool comprising:
a head (item 10; figs. 1-4) including one or more walls (defined as outer walls of item 10 and inner walls 16; figs. 1-3) forming a single, continuous opening (col. 1, ll. 64-67; defined as interior of head 10, wherein the one or more walls form a continuous opening, i.e. passageway, from the inlet into a single opening, i.e. passageway, into item 11 and further into vacuum source; figs. 1-4) defined therein, the opening including an inlet (item 14; fig. 1) defined at an end of the head (col. 1, ll. 66-67 and col. 2, ll. 1-4; inlet 14 is defined at end of head by lips/walls, i.e. items 15; figs. 1-2); and
a brush (item 20; figs. 1 and 5) removably and selectively coupled to the head (col. 2, ll. 36-44; brush 20 is removable from head 10 between ribs and capable of being coupled to different positions in head, i.e. different openings 17 between ribs) at a first mounting location (defined as leftmost passage 17 in view of figs. 3-4) in which a portion of the brush extends through the inlet at a first exit location (portion of brush extends through inlet at a first exit location, which is defined as portion of brush extending from head 10 and beyond item 15, in which inlet 14 is defined, when brush is mounted in leftmost passage 17, i.e. first mounting location, in view of figs. 3-4) and at a second mounting location (defined as middle passage 17 in view of figs. 3-4), different from the first mounting location (figs. 3-4; first and second mounting locations are offset, i.e. different, from one another), in which the portion of the brush extends through the inlet at a second exit location (the portion of brush extends through inlet at a second exit location, defined as portion of brush extending from head 10 and beyond item 15, in which inlet 14 is defined on, when brush is mounted in rightmost passage 17, i.e. second mounting location, in view of figs. 3-4) different from the first exit location (both locations are offset, i.e. different, from one another in left-right direction in view of figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 22, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 21, wherein the portion of the brush is off-center in the inlet in the first exit location (when brush 20 is mounted in leftmost passage 17, in view of figs. 3-4, and extends from head and inlet in the first exit location, the brush is off-center in left-right direction of inlet in view of figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 25, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 21, wherein a longitudinal axis (designated in annotated fig. 3 below; defined by dashed double-arrowed line) extends through a center of the inlet (defined as center of inlet along left-right direction in view of figs. 3-4), and wherein a plane (designated in annotated fig. 3 below; defined by bolded double-arrowed line extending into the page) defined by the head at the inlet extends in a non-perpendicular direction relative to the longitudinal axis (plane extends longitudinal axis at a transverse angle, which is not perpendicular to the longitudinal axis).
Annotated Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 26, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 25, wherein the brush includes an elongated support (includes items 21, 23, 25, 26; fig. 5) that extends along a first lateral axis with the brush coupled to the head in the first mounting location (defined as axis extending into the page in view of figs. 3-4 along elongate support when brush 20 is mounted in leftmost passage 17, i.e. first mounting location) and that extends along a second lateral axis with the brush coupled to the head in the second mounting location (defined as axis extending into the page in view of figs. 3-4 along elongate support when brush 20 is mounted to middle passage 17, i.e. second mounting location), and wherein the first lateral axis and second lateral axis extend perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis (both axes extending into the page in view of figs. 3-4 and therefore, extend perpendicularly to longitudinal axis of head 10; designated in annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 27, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 25, wherein the portion of the brush extends through the inlet along a direction that is non-perpendicular to the plane (the portion of brush extends through inlet 14 in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis and thereby, transverse to the plane but not perpendicular to the plane; annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 28, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 21, wherein the brush is manually toollessly movable between the first mounting location and the second mounting location (col. 3, ll. 32-37; the brush 20 is removable from first mounting location and inserted into second mounting location, i.e. movable between the mounting locations, without the use of tools).
Regarding claim 29, Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903) discloses a vacuum tool (figs. 1-5) configured to be removably coupled to a hose or wand of a vacuum (col. 1, ll. 56-63), the vacuum tool comprising:
a head (item 10; figs. 1-4) including an opening (col. 1, ll. 64-67; defined as interior of head 10; figs. 1-4) defined therein, the opening including an inlet (item 14; fig. 1) defined at an end of the head (col. 1, ll. 66-67 and col. 2, ll. 1-4; inlet 14 is defined at end of head by lips, i.e. items 15;figs. 1-2), the head including a sidewall (according to the Free Dictionary, “sidewall” is defined as a wall that forms a side of something; therefore, the integral wall defined by gray-highlighted in annotated fig. 2 below is a sidewall forming a bottom side of head; col. 1, ll. 76-81) having a first aperture (includes leftmost opening 17, in view of figs. 3-4, and item 19) and second aperture (includes middle opening 17, in view of figs. 3-4, and item 18) that is offset from the first aperture along a first direction (designated in annotated fig. 4 below; second aperture is to the right of the first aperture in the first direction, i.e. offset), the first aperture positioned between the inlet and the second aperture along a second direction (designated in annotated fig. 4 below) transverse to the first direction (second direction is transverse, i.e. perpendicular, to first direction; and first aperture is positioned between inlet and second aperture, which extends further from the inlet than the first aperture; annotated fig. 4 below); and
Annotated Fig. 2.
a brush (item 20; figs. 1 and 5) removably and selectively coupled to the head (col. 2, ll. 36-44; brush 20 is removable from head 10 and capable of being coupled to different positions in head through first and/or second apertures), the brush including
a coupling portion (includes items 23, 25, 26; fig. 5) including a projection (item 26; fig. 5) receivable in the first aperture to place the brush in a first position (first position defined as position when brush 20 is mounted within leftmost opening 17, in view of figs. 3-4, and projection 26 snaps into item 19 of first aperture; col. 2, ll. 75-81) and receivable in the second aperture to alternatively place the brush in a second position (once brush 20 is removed from first position, brush 20 is alternatively placed in second position which is defined as position when brush 20 is mounted within middle passage 17, in view of figs. 3-4, and projection snaps into item 18 of second aperture), and
an elongate support (item 21; fig. 5) extending along a first lateral axis (defined as axis extending into the page in view of figs. 3-4 when brush 20 is mounted in first position with projection 26 in first aperture, i.e. mounted within leftmost opening 17) with the coupling portion received in the first aperture and extending along a second lateral axis (defined as axis extending into the page in view of figs. 3-4 when brush 20 is mounted in second position with projection 26 in second aperture, i.e. mounted within middle opening 17) with the coupling portion received in the second aperture, the first lateral axis and the second lateral axis being offset in both the first direction and the second direction (second lateral axis to the right of first lateral axis in view of figs. 3-4 and thereby, offset in a first direction; further, the first lateral axis is disposed closer to the inlet than the second lateral axis as the projection 26 extends further into the interior of the body via middle passage 17, i.e. second aperture, and therefore, the first lateral axis is offset from the second lateral axis in the second direction).
Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 30, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 29, wherein the first lateral axis extends perpendicularly to the first direction and second direction (first lateral axis, which extends into the page in view of fig. 4, is perpendicular to both first and second directions; as designated in annotated fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 31, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 29, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (annotated fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 32, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 29, wherein the brush is manually toollessly movable between the first position and the second position (col. 3, ll. 32-37; the brush 20 is removable from first position and inserted into second position, i.e. movable between the positions, without the use of tools).
Regarding claim 33, Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903) discloses a vacuum tool (figs. 1-5) configured to be removably coupled to a hose or wand of a vacuum (col. 1, ll. 56-63), the vacuum tool comprising:
a head (item 10; figs. 1-4) including an opening (col. 1, ll. 64-67; defined as interior of head 10; figs. 1-4) defined therein, the opening including an inlet (item 14; fig. 1) defined at an end surface of the head (col. 1, ll. 66-67 and col. 2, ll. 1-4; inlet 14 is defined at end surface of head, i.e. lips 15; figs. 1-2), the inlet providing an entrance for dust and debris to flow into the head (col. 2, ll. 22-35; dust is loosened and suctioned through inlet, passages, and conduit 11), the head including a first groove (leftmost passage, i.e. groove, 17 in view of figs. 3-4) defined in (according to the Free Dictionary, “in” is defined as within the limits, bounds, or area of; therefore, the first groove 17 is defined with the within the outer walls of the head and within the internal area of head as groove extends in vertical direction in view of fig. 3 along an internal surface 16) and extending along an internal surface of the head (internal surface of head defined as item 16, which is integrally formed with item 10; col. 1, ll. 72-82) from the inlet at the end surface of the head (first groove extends from inlet 14, defined at end surface 15 of head, into interior body of head 10; figs. 1 and 3-4), the head further including a second groove (defined as middle passage, i.e. groove, 17 in view of figs. 3-4) defined in (according to the Free Dictionary, “in” is defined as within the limits, bounds, or area of; therefore, the second groove 17 is defined with the within the outer walls of the head and within the internal area of head as groove extends in vertical direction in view of fig. 3 along the internal surface 16) and extending along the internal surface of the head from the inlet at the end surface of the head (second groove extends along internal surface 16 of head from the inlet 14, defined at end surface 15 of head; figs. 1 and 3-4); and
a brush (item 20; figs. 1 and 5) removably and selectively coupled to the head (col. 2, ll. 36-44; brush 20 is removable from head 10 and capable of being coupled to different positions in head through first and/or second grooves) at a first position (defined as position of brush 20 when inserted through first groove, i.e. leftmost passage 17 in view of figs. 3-4) corresponding to the first groove and a second position (defined as position of brush 20 when inserted through second groove, i.e. middle passage 17 in view of figs. 3-4) corresponding to the second groove.
Regarding claim 34, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 33, wherein the brush is manually toollessly movable between the first position and the second position (col. 3, ll. 32-37; the brush 20 is removable from first position and inserted into second position, i.e. movable between the positions, without the use of tools).
Regarding claim 35, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 33, wherein the first groove and the second groove are offset from one another (first and second grooves are offset in left-right direction in view of figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 36, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 33, wherein the brush is slidable along each of the first groove and the second groove (brush 20 slides along first and second grooves to insert and snap into place once item 26 on brush reaches end of the respective groove(s); col. 2, ll. 75-81).
Regarding claim 37, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 33, wherein the brush is off-center in the inlet in the first position (brush 20 is off-center, i.e. to the left in view of figs. 3-4, in the inlet 14 when mounted in the first position).
Regarding claim 38, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 33, wherein the head includes a first aperture (item 19; col. 1, ll. 5; figs. 1 and 3) defined therein and positioned at least partially within the first groove (first aperture 19 defined partially within, i.e. at end of, first groove, in order for brush to snap into place once inserted; fig. 3) and a second aperture (item 18; col. 2, ll. 5; figs. 1 and 3) defined therein and positioned at least partially within the second groove (second aperture 19 defined partially within, i.e. at end of, second groove, in order for brush 20 to snap into place once inserted along second groove; fig. 3), wherein a portion of the brush (item 26; fig. 5) is receivable in the first aperture to inhibit the brush from sliding along the first groove in the first position (portion of brush, i.e. item 26, is capable of snapping into place at first aperture 19 to inhibit brush 20 from sliding out from first groove when mounted into first position; col. 2, ll. 75-82), and wherein the portion of the brush is receivable in the second aperture to inhibit the brush from sliding along the second groove in the second position (the portion of the brush, i.e. item 26, is capable of snapping into place at second aperture 18 to inhibit the brush 20 from sliding out of the second groove when mounted in second position).
Regarding claim 39, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 38, wherein the portion of the brush is rotatable within the first aperture with the brush disposed in the first position (the portion of the brush, i.e. item 26, is capable of rotating within the first aperture 19 due to the resiliency of the ribs 16 defining the aperture; col. 2, ll. 67-82) and rotatable within the second aperture with the brush disposed in the second position (similarly, the portion of the brush, i.e. item 26, is capable of rotating within the second aperture 18 due to the resiliency of the ribs 16 defining the aperture; col. 2, ll. 67-82).
Regarding claim 40, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 38, wherein the first aperture is positioned at an end of the first groove opposite from the inlet (first aperture 19 is positioned at end of first groove on opposing end from inlet, which is positioned at end surface 15 of head; fig. 3), and wherein the second aperture is positioned at an end of the second groove opposite from the inlet (second aperture 18 is positioned at end of second groove on opposing end from inlet, which is positioned at end surface 15 of head; fig. 3).
The following rejection of claim 21 (to further support a rejection of claims 23-24) reinterprets Faith-Ell by applying the embodiment of fig. 6. Specific corresponding reference numbers and structure of the vacuum tool have been provided in previous figures; please refer to those earlier figures for details.
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903) discloses a vacuum tool (fig. 6) configured to be removably coupled to a hose or wand of a vacuum (col. 1, ll. 56-63), the vacuum tool comprising:
a head (item 10; figs. 1-4) including one or more walls (defined as outer walls of item 10 and inner walls 16; figs. 1-3) forming a single, continuous opening (col. 1, ll. 64-67; defined as interior of head 10, wherein the one or more walls form a continuous opening, i.e. passageway, from the inlet into a single opening, i.e. passageway, into item 11 and further into vacuum source; figs. 1-4) defined therein, the opening including an inlet (item 14; fig. 1) defined at an end of the head (col. 1, ll. 66-67 and col. 2, ll. 1-4; inlet 14 is defined at end of head by lips/walls, i.e. items 15; figs. 1-2); and
a brush (item 20a; fig. 6) removably and selectively coupled to the head (col. 2, ll. 36-44; brush 20 is removable from head 10 between ribs and capable of being coupled to different positions in head, i.e. different openings between ribs) at a first mounting location (defined as middle passage 17 in view of fig. 6) in which a portion of the brush extends through the inlet at a first exit location (portion of brush extends through inlet at a first exit location, defined as portion of brush extending from head 10 and beyond item 15, in which inlet 14 is defined when brush 20a is mounted in middle passage 17, i.e. first mounting location, in fig. 6) and at a second mounting location (defined as leftmost passage 17 in view of fig. 6), different from the first mounting location (fig. 6; first and second mounting locations are offset, i.e. different, from one another), in which the portion of the brush extends through the inlet at a second exit location (the portion of brush extends through inlet at a second exit location, defined as portion of brush extending from head 10 and beyond item 15, in which inlet 14 is defined on, when brush is mounted in leftmost passage 17, i.e. second mounting location, in view of fig. 6) different from the first exit location (both locations are offset, i.e. different, from one another in left-right direction in view of fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903), as evidenced by Abrams et al. (US Patent No. 2,674,001).
The interpretation of Faith-Ell in view of embodiment of fig. 6 is utilized for the following rejection. Please refer to the second rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claim 23, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 21 in the second rejection of 35 USC 102 above, wherein the brush includes bristles (item 22a; fig. 6), and wherein, with the brush coupled to the head in the first mounting location (defined as position in view of fig. 6), each of the bristles has a first end (defined as end of bristles directly attached to item 21a of elongate support; fig. 6) positioned within the head (first end of bristles extend into interior volume of head 10 portion; similar to applicant’s disclosure) and a second end (defined as end of bristles at outermost end that contacts the floor; fig. 6) positioned outside of the head (second end of bristles 22a extend outside of head to contact the floor and clean the surface).
Faith-Ell discloses the passage for the second mounting location (leftmost passage 17 in view of fig. 6) extends further into the head from the inlet than the first mounting location passage (middle passage 17 in view of fig. 6); therefore, when the brush is coupled to the head in the second mounting location, the first end of the bristles would inherently be positioned within the head (at a position further from the inlet than the explicitly shown first end of bristles in view of fig. 6) and the second end of the bristles would appear to be positioned outside of the head (at a position closer to the inlet than the explicitly shown second end of bristles in view of fig. 6).
However, as evidenced by Abrams et al, a tool comprising a head (item 10) and selectively coupled brush (item 12) within the head, wherein the brush comprises an elongate support (item 12b; fig. 4) and bristles (item 12) having a first end (item 12c; fig. 4) directly attached to the elongate support (corresponding to first end of bristles mounting directly to elongate support in embodiment of fig. 6 in Faith-Ell) and a second end (bottommost end of bristles 12a that contact the surface; corresponding to second end of bristles in Faith-Ell), wherein the brush is mounted in the head at a first mounting location (when brush 12 is mounted to item 11h on head; figs. 1 and 4) and a second mounting location (when brush is mounted to item 11j on head; figs. 1 and 7), and with the brush coupled to the head in both the first mounting location and the second mounting location, the first end of the bristles are positioned within the head and the second end of the bristles are positioned outside of the head (figs. 1, 4, and 7; in both positions, the first end of bristles are within head 12 and second end of bristles extend outward from head 10 to contact surface). The first mounting location in Abrams which teaches the brush mounted to the lowest mounting hole (closest to the inlet) is equivalent to the first mounting location in Faith-Ell with the shallower, i.e. shorter, passage (middle passage 17 in view of fig. 6) that is closest to the inlet; while the second mounting location in Abrams which teaches the brush mounted to the middle mounting hole is equivalent to the second mounting location in Faith-Ell with the passage that is deeper from the inlet (leftmost passage 17 in view of fig. 6). Therefore, the first end of the bristles are necessarily going to extend into the head and the second end of the bristles are necessarily going to extend outward from the head in both mounting positions, as evidenced by Abrams; therefore, the limitations are met.
Regarding claim 24, Faith-Ell discloses the vacuum tool as claimed in 23, wherein the brush includes an elongate support (includes items 21a, 27. 28, 29; fig. 6), and wherein each of the bristles is connected to the elongate support at the first end (first end of bristles is connected to item 21a, which is a portion of the elongate support).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 21, 29, and 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 29, and 33 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the same primary reference, Faith-Ell (US Patent No. 2,703,903). Further, the same teaching reference, Abrams et al. (US Patent No. 2,674,001), from previous Office action is utilized in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723