DETAILED ACTION
Summary of the Claims
The present application (18/582,916) was filed on February 21, 2024 and claims priority to provisional application 63/447,440 filed on February 22, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13, and 20 are the independent claims.
References and Documents Cited in this Action
Huang (US 2023/0168563 A1)
Reano (US 2016/0011438 A1)
Shi (US 2022/0345220 A1)
Summary of Rejections and Objections in this Action
Examiner objects to claim 16 for minor informalities.
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claims 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Reano.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Reano and Shi.
Claims 13, 14, and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,259,635 B2 in view of Reano.
Claims 1, 4, 6-12, and 20 are allowed. Claims 2, 3, 5, and 15-17 may contain allowable subject matter.
Claim Objections
Examiner objects to claim 16 for minor informalities. The claim should end with a period (“.”) instead of a comma (“,”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because including the limitations of parent claim 1, claim 2 recites first, second, and third color light, i.e., three colors of light, but claim 4 further recites “the coherent second color light and the coherent third color light is a different color than the first color light.” Assuming that claim 4 is further limiting, it is unclear whether the scope of claim 2 would somehow include three colors that are not different. Claims 3 and 5 depend on claim 2 and are indefinite for the same reason as claim 2.
Claim 13 is indefinite because the claim recites “A device configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light” but does not recite a “first” color light in the claim. It is unclear whether the scope of claim 13 includes two colors of light, or three (i.e., a “third” color light). Claims 14-19 depend on claim 13 and are indefinite for the same reason as claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Reano.
Regarding independent claim 13, as well as the claim may be understood with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as discussed above, Huang discloses a device configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light (Figure 1), the device comprising:
a waveguide 12 configured to couple to a light source (i.e., pump light from a laser; paragraphs [0031] and [0037]); and
a microring resonator 10 coupled to the light source via the waveguide, the microring resonator configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light (i.e., Huang discloses “new color of light” and “new frequencies of light”; paragraphs [0031] ad [0053]).
Further regarding claim 13, Huang does not specifically disclose that the microring resonator 10 includes unit cells. However, Reano teaches a device that is related to the one disclosed by Huang, including a microring resonator 1006 (Figure 10A). Reano further teaches that the microring resonator 1006 includes unit cells 1006A (paragraphs [0070-[0072]). Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include unit cells as taught by Reano in the device disclosed by Huang in order to advantageously control polarization of the light (Reano, paragraphs [0003]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 14, in the device taught by Huang in view of Reano, Huang discloses that the generation of the coherent second color light and the coherent third color light is based on optical parametric oscillation (paragraphs [0031] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, in the device taught by Huang in view of Reano, Huang discloses that the microring resonator 10 and the waveguide 12 are on a common substrate (Figure 1; paragraphs [0031] and [0055]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Reano as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shi.
Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Reano teaches a device as discussed above with regard to claim 13 including a microring resonator that includes a photonic crystal structure (i.e., crystalline lithium niobate; Huang, paragraph [0031]) but does not specifically disclose a grating.
However, Shi teaches a device that is related to the one taught by Huang in view of Reano including a microring resonator 910 (Figures 9A and 9B). Shi further teaches that the microring resonator includes a grating (paragraph [0114]). Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a grating as taught by Shi in the device taught by Huang in view of Reano in order to advantageously couple light out of the resonator (Shi, paragraph [0114]).
Double Patenting
Claims 13, 14, and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,259,635 B2 in view of Reano.
Claim 13 essentially recites a subset of the limitations recited in claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2 as shown in the table below. Claim 14 recites further limitations that are also further recited in claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2.
Claims 1 and 6 of US 12,259,635 B2
Claims 13, 14, and 18
1. A system for generating a coherent laser light, comprising:
a light source configured to pump a first color laser light; and
a device configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light, the device including:
13. A device configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light, the device comprising:
a waveguide configured to couple to the light source; and
a waveguide configured to couple to a light source; and
a microring resonator coupled to the light source via the waveguide, the microring resonator configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light,
a microring resonator coupled to the light source via the waveguide, the microring resonator configured to generate a coherent second color light and a coherent third color light,
wherein the generation of the coherent second color light and the coherent third color light is based on hybrid-mode optical parametric oscillation.
(Not in claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2 but obvious in view of Reano; see discussion below.)
the microring resonator including unit cells.
(See corresponding limitation in claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2 above.)
14. The device of claim 13, wherein the generation of the coherent second color light and the coherent third color light is based on optical parametric oscillation.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the microring resonator and the waveguide are on a common substrate.
18. The device of claim 13, wherein the microring resonator and the waveguide are on a common substrate.
Claims 13 and 14 differ from claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2 in that claim 13 further recites “the microring resonator including unit cells,” which is not recited in claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2. However, Reano teaches a related device including a microring resonator 1006 (Figure 10A). Reano further teaches that the microring resonator 1006 includes unit cells 1006A (paragraphs [0070]-[0072]). Given claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to create claims 13 and 14 simply by removing limitations and including unit cells as taught by Reano in order to advantageously control polarization of the light (Reano, paragraphs [0003]-[0006]).
Claim 18, which depends on claim 13, recites limitations that correspond to claim 6 of US 12,259,635 B2, which depends on claim 1 of US 12,259,635 B2. Therefore, claim 18 is patentably indistinct from claim 6 of US 12,259,635 B2 for the same reason given for parent claim 13 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4, 6-12, and 20 are allowed. Claims 2, 3, and 5 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claims 15-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not specifically disclose or fairly suggest a device including the combination of all of the elements, steps, and limitations recited in claims 1-12, 15-17, and 20 (including all of the limitations of any respective parent claims and as well as some of these claims may be understood with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b)), particularly including:
a microring resonator wherein the microring resonator is a photonic crystal ring configured to enable injection locking, and wherein the microring resonator is configured to operate at a bandgap closing point, where reflection at a single frequency occurs (e.g., claim 1);
a microring resonator wherein the microring resonator is configured for injection locking and to operate at a bandgap closing point, where reflection at a single frequency occurs (e.g., claim 15);
a microring resonator wherein the microring resonator includes: a substrate comprised of silicon dioxide disposed on a second side of the unit cells; and a cladding comprised of air disposed on a first side of the unit cells (e.g., claim 16); or
a photonic crystal ring configured to enable injection locking, the photonic crystal ring coupled to a light source via the waveguide, wherein the photonic crystal ring is configured to operate at a bandgap closing point, where reflection at a single frequency occurs (e.g., claim 20).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA Y. LEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3991