CTFR 18/582,964 CTFR 88064 DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the Amendments and Remarks received 02/17/2026 in which no claims are cancelled, claims 1–3 and 10 are amended, and no claims are added as new claims. Response to Arguments On page 13 of the Remarks, Applicant contends that Shelton’s teachings do not adequately teach or suggest the claimed features because, “Shelton’s distal pushing forces and proximal pulling forces apparently have no role in causing disengagement of the lock sleeve 402 if either force is too strong.” Examiner disagrees. First, the argument is treating the references individually when it is the combination of references that teaches or suggests the claimed feature. As the rejection, infra , explains, Kishi teaches an engaging protrusion used to engage and disengage the driving force from the transmission members based on the engaging concave section and the engaging protrusion being spaced apart in the axial direction upon axial force sufficient to overcome the latching force of the mechanism . By definition, the skilled artisan knows that the mere teaching of an axial force raises in the mind of one skilled in the art that axial forces can manifest as either a pulling force (tension) or a pushing force (compression). Axial force limiters are well-known in the art to protect tools and equipment from damage from excessive tension or compression forces. Merely explaining the function of one of these devices without having invented a particular physical component means the claim covers all axial force limiters or release mechanisms. When combining Kishi’s teachings with those of Shelton, one skilled in the art is put in possession of mechanisms for endoscopes capable of engagement and disengagement according to excessive axial forces. Accordingly, Examiner is unpersuaded of patentability. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnkrant (EP 2,721,992 A1), Kishi (EP 2,739,235 B1), and Shelton (US 2021/0275053 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests a medical apparatus comprising: a drive source; a bending portion capable of bending; a linear body configured to bend the bending portion by a driving force of the drive source (Examiner finds these first three components common in prior art endoscopes; Birnkrant, ¶¶ 0020–0021: teaches an articulation unit bending tension wires to steer a surgical endoscope; Birnkrant, ¶ 0047: teaches a motor as an actuator, like Applicant does in Applicant’s Specification) ; and a connecting portion which includes a first member connected to the drive source, a second member connected to the linear body, a protrusion portion provided in one of the first member and the second member and protruding in a direction intersecting with an extending direction of the linear body, and a recess portion provided in another of the first member and the second member, wherein the connecting portion is configurable into a connected state in which the first member and the second member are connected in a state in which the protrusion portion is fitted in the recess portion so that transmission of the driving force from the first member to the second member is allowed, wherein the connecting portion is configured such that: in a case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and a tensile force equal to or smaller than a first threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the state in which the protrusion portion is fitted in the recess portion is maintained to transmit the driving force from the drive source to the linear body, in a case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and a tensile force exceeding the first threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the protrusion portion is disengaged from the recess portion to cut off transmission of the driving force from the drive source to the linear body, in a case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and a compressive force equal to or smaller than a second threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the state in which the protrusion portion is fitted in the recess portion is maintained to transmit the driving force from the drive source to the linear body, and in a case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and a compressive force exceeding the second threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the protrusion portion is disengaged from the recess portion to cut off transmission of the driving force from the drive source to the linear body (Examiner interprets this “connecting portion” feature consistent with paragraph [0286] and Fig. 19A of Applicant’s published Specification wherein a protruding portion c13 is engaged or disengaged from a recess portion c23; Likewise, Kishi, e.g. Figs. 13 and 16, ¶¶ 0251 and 0300–0307: teach an engaging protrusion used to engage and disengage the driving force from the transmission members based on the engaging concave section and the engaging protrusion being spaced apart in the axial direction upon axial force sufficient to overcome the latching force of the mechanism; Shelton, ¶ 0185: teaches engaged and disengaged positions from distal pushing force or proximal pulling force to lock protrusions into drive notches for transmitting power from a driving member). One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Birnkrandt, with those of Kishi, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice in the art of endoscopes and similar medical devices would have been led to their relevant teachings and because Shelton evidences that, just like Applicant’s claims, the skilled artisan had in his possession the knowledge to configure engagement and disengagement of mechanisms within a surgical endoscopic instrument according to tensile and compressive forces utilizing locking protrusions and notches such that combining the teachings of Birnkrandt and Kishi amounts to a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Birnkrandt, Kishi, and Shelton used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted. Regarding claim 2 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the connecting portion includes an elastic element capable of elastic deformation, and is configured such that: in the case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and the tensile force exceeding the first threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the protrusion portion is allowed to be disengaged from the recess portion by the elastic deformation of the elastic element, and in the case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and the compressive force exceeding the second threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the protrusion portion is allowed to be disengaged from the recess portion by the elastic deformation of the elastic element (Kishi, ¶ 0375: teaches the force for engaging and disengaging the protrustion portion is an elastic force). Regarding claim 3 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the connecting portion is configured such that: in the case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and the tensile force exceeding the first threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the protrusion portion is allowed to be disengaged from the recess portion by plastic deformation of the protrusion portion or the recess portion, and in the case where the connecting portion is in the connected state and the compressive force exceeding the second threshold value acts between the first member and the second member, the protrusion portion is allowed to be disengaged from the recess portion by plastic deformation of the protrusion portion or the recess portion (Kishi, ¶ 0375: teaches the force for engaging and disengaging the protrustion portion is an elastic force; Examiner notes elastic forces for latching means are often achieved using plastic deformation; see also Barenboym, cited under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action; Barenboym explains in paragraph [0080] that slots and tines can utilize plastic deformation for a spring release mechanism; see, then, Birnkrandt, Figs. 4A and 4B, showing elements 118 and 608 interacting as a plastic latching mechanism; see also Kishi, e.g. ¶¶ 0248 and 0250: teach the hook can be biased using an elastic material). Regarding claim 4 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a space into which the second member is insertable from one side in the extending direction of the linear body is provided in the first member, and wherein the protrusion portion is fitted in the recess portion in a state in which the second member is inserted in the space of the first member (Kishi, e.g. Figs. 16A-16D: illustrate the protrusion portion fitted into the recess portion). Regarding claim 5 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first member includes a tubular portion extending in the extending direction of the linear body and defining the space, wherein the second member includes an insertion portion to be inserted into the space in the tubular portion, wherein the protrusion portion is provided on one of an inner surface of the tubular portion and an outer surface of the insertion portion, and wherein the recess portion is provided on another of the inner surface of the tubular portion and the outer surface of the insertion portion (Examiner notes Kishi’s figures are cross-sections such that the protruding portion and recess portions are circumferential as explained in at least ¶¶ 0248 and 0250 of Kishi). Regarding claim 6 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first member includes a body portion having a groove shape extending in the extending direction of the linear body and opening in a direction intersecting with the extending direction, and a plate spring disposed to cover the groove shape, and the space is defined between the body portion and the plate spring, wherein the second member includes an insertion portion to be inserted into the space, wherein the protrusion portion is provided on one of a surface of the plate spring facing the space and a surface of the insertion portion facing the plate spring, and wherein the recess portion is provided on another of the surface of the plate spring facing the space and the surface of the insertion portion facing the plate spring (Kishi, e.g. Figs. 16A-16D: illustrate the protrusion portion fitted into the recess portion wherein the protrusion portion is depicted as a plate spring; Kishi, e.g. ¶¶ 0248 and 0250: teach the hook can be biased using an elastic material, which the skilled artisan would immediately consider a plate spring). Regarding claim 7 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests s the medical apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first member includes a body portion having a groove shape extending in the extending direction of the linear body and opening in a direction intersecting with the extending direction, and a torsion spring disposed at an opening portion of the groove shape, and the space is defined between the body portion and the torsion spring, wherein the second member includes an insertion portion to be inserted into the space, wherein the protrusion portion is provided on one of a surface of the torsion spring facing the space and a surface of the insertion portion facing the torsion spring, and wherein the recess portion is provided on another of the surface of the torsion spring facing the space and the surface of the insertion portion facing the torsion spring (Kishi, e.g. Figs. 16A-16D: illustrate the protrusion portion fitted into the recess portion wherein the protrusion portion is depicted as a plate spring; Kishi, e.g. ¶¶ 0248 and 0250: teach the hook can be biased using an elastic material or a spring, which the skilled artisan would immediately consider a torsion spring to be such a spring for biasing the protrusion portion to the surface (think of: mouse trap spring)). Regarding claim 8 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first member includes a body portion having a groove shape extending in the extending direction of the linear body and opening in a direction intersecting with the extending direction, a rotary member that is rotatable and disposed at an opening portion of the groove shape, and a torsion coil spring configured to urge the rotary member, and the space is defined between the body portion and the rotary member, wherein the second member includes an insertion portion to be inserted into the space, wherein the protrusion portion is provided on one of a surface of the rotary member facing the space and a surface of the insertion portion facing the rotary member, and wherein the recess portion is provided on another of the surface of the rotary member facing the space and the surface of the insertion portion facing the rotary member (Kishi, e.g. Figs. 16A-16D: illustrate the protrusion portion fitted into the recess portion wherein the protrusion portion is depicted as a plate spring; Kishi, e.g. ¶¶ 0248 and 0250: teach the hook can be biased using an elastic material or a spring, which the skilled artisan would immediately consider a torsion spring to be such a spring for biasing the protrusion portion to the surface (think of: mouse trap spring); Examiner notes the groove shape and rotary member are achieved through the circumferential orientation of the protrusion and recess; Kishi, e.g. ¶¶ 0015 and 0045: teaches the intermediate member (the drive transmission member) may be rotated). Regarding claim 9 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the state in which the protrusion portion is fitted in the recess portion, no clearance in the extending direction of the linear body is provided between the protrusion portion and the recess portion, and relative movement of the first member and the second member is restricted (Kishi, e.g. Figs. 16A-16D: illustrate the protrusion portion fitted into the recess portion during engagement has no clearance for the protrusion portion to come undone). Claim 10 lists essentially the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim. Claim 11 lists essentially the same elements as claim 3, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim. Claim 12 lists essentially the same elements as claim 2, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim. Claim 13 lists essentially the same elements as claim 4, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim. Claim 14 lists essentially the same elements as claim 5, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim. Claim 15 lists essentially the same elements as claim 6, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim. Claim 16 lists essentially the same elements as claim 7, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 7 applies to the instant claim. Claim 17 lists essentially the same elements as claim 8, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 8 applies to the instant claim. Claim 18 lists essentially the same elements as claim 9, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 9 applies to the instant claim. Regarding claim 19 , the combination of Birnkrant, Kishi, and Shelton teaches or suggests the medical apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of drive sources including the drive source; a plurality of linear bodies including the linear body and configured to bend the bending portion by being driven respectively by the plurality of drive sources; and a plurality of connecting portions including the connecting portion and provided in correspondence with respective pairs of a drive source and a linear body each constituted by one drive source among the plurality of drive sources and one linear body among the plurality of linear bodies driven by that drive source, wherein the plurality of connecting portions each have a same configuration as the connecting portion (Birnkrant, ¶¶ 0020–0021: teaches an articulation unit bending tension wires to steer a surgical endoscope; Birnkrant, ¶ 0047: teaches a motor as an actuator, like Applicant does in Applicant’s Specification). Claim 20 lists essentially the same elements as claim 19, but is drawn to an apparatus that has a second set of protrusion portions rather than a protrusion setting within a recess. Because Examiner finds the mechanisms obvious variants within the field of endeavor, the rationale for the rejection of claim 19 applies to the instant claim . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barenboym (US 2023/0380843 A1) ¶¶ 0081, 0078, 0083 Figs. 15, 16, 19, 20, and 22 for v-protrusion and tensile force disengagement. Kuhn (US 2022/0160366 A1) teaches endoscopic element engagement due to elastic deformation and elastic restoring forces (¶ 0004) and teaches bulged sections for tensile and compressive force engagement (e.g. ¶ 0034 and 0038 and 0040). See also plastic deformation (¶ 0116). Charafeddine (US 2021/0260361 A1) teaches force of engagement for moving a mechanical protrusion in a locking groove, forming a “snap element.” (¶ 0075). Devich (US 2022/0152382 A1) teaches engagement and disengagement under tensile force of a positive-locking member that slides up a slanted face and out of a recess (¶ 0105). Shelton (US 2021/0275053 A1) teaches engaged and disengaged positions from distal pushing force or proximal pulling force to lock protrusions into drive notches for transmitting power from a driving member (¶ 0185) . 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael J Hess whose telephone number is (571)270-7933. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 9:00am-5:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571)272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8933. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 2 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 3 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 4 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 5 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 6 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 7 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 8 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 9 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 10 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 11 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 12 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 13 Art Unit: 2481 Application/Control Number: 18/582,964 Page 14 Art Unit: 2481