DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/21/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A (Fig.1-2) in the reply filed on 7/02/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2, 4, 8-14, and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 6, 7, 16, and 19 are further withdrawn as depending from a non-elected claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/02/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “energy storage” (Claim 1 – energy storage device is given numeral 2 however these are claimed as separate elements), “metal hollow profile elements” (Claim 1), and “distinct fastening positions” (Claim 1, see below 35 USC 112 rejection) and “a motor vehicle” (Claim 15), must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “An energy storage device, comprising an energy storage with a housing and at least one storage module accommodated therein as well as a frame to which the housing is fastened” is unclear and should be rewritten as:
“An energy storage device, wherein the device comprises:
a housing;
at least one storage module wherein the at least one storage module is accommodated within the housing; and
a frame to which the housing is fastened”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “wherein each hollow profile element” is unclear and should be rewritten as “wherein each metal hollow profile element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “the chamber portion” (line 8 & 10) is unclear and should be rewritten as “the at least one chamber portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “a lower” is unclear and should be rewritten as “a lower wall”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “the chamber portion delimited” is unclear and should be rewritten. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “weakening device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: “fastened by means of screw elements” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The limitation has not been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as the disclosure only provides for a screw, therefore the limitation should most likely be rewritten as “fastened by at least one screw”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: “in the event a force with a horizontal force component is applied” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear where the “force” is from or to what the force is “applied”. The limitation appears to be missing to where the force is applied. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: “distinct fastening positions” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 5, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation: “preferably…in particular” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation: “wherein the chamber wall has a lower and an upper wall as well as a front wall connecting the two” which is unclear since it is not clear from the limitation which “two” elements are connected, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The limitation should ost Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation: “one or more each opening only passes through one wall or multiple walls” which is both unclear (i.e., translation error possible) and also of unclear antecedent basis (i.e., unclear which openings and which walls are being referenced) and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation: “a chamber wall” which is of unclear antecedent basis and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The limitation should most likely be rewritten as “the chamber wall”. However, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 20, the claim recites the limitation: “the one or more opening” which is of unclear antecedent basis and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The limitation should most likely be rewritten as “the one or more weakening device openings”, and for purposes of prosecution herein Claim 20 will be assumed to depend from Claim 18 where this limitation originally occurred. However, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sagerer (US 12,311,747 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Sagerer discloses: An energy storage device (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 1), comprising
an energy storage with a housing (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 2) and at least one storage module accommodated therein (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 3),
as well as a frame (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 4+5) to which the housing is fastened by means of screw elements (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, unlabeled) screwed at distinct fastening positions (See, e.g. Fig.1-5),
wherein the frame has at least two longitudinal beams which are formed by metal hollow profile elements (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 4+5), wherein each hollow profile element has a main portion and at least one chamber portion which projects laterally from the housing and into which the screw elements are screwed (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 4+5+8),
wherein the chamber portion is provided with one or more weakening devices (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 9) to facilitate collapse of the chamber portion in the event that a force with a horizontal force component is applied (See, e.g. Fig.1-5).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Sagerer discloses: wherein the chamber portion delimited by a chamber wall preferably has a square, in particular a trapezoidal, cross-section, wherein the chamber wall has a lower and an upper wall as well as a front wall connecting the two (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 8+10+12).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Sagerer discloses: wherein one or more each opening only passes through one wall or multiple walls of the chamber portion. (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 8+10+12)
[Claim 15] Regarding Claim 15, Sagerer discloses: A motor vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-5), comprising at least one energy storage device according to claim 1 (See, e.g. Fig.1-5).
[Claim 18] Regarding Claim 18, Sagerer discloses: wherein the one or more weakening device is formed by an opening (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 8+9) passing through a chamber wall defining the chamber portion (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 8+9+10+12+13).
[Claim 20] Regarding Claim 20, Sagerer discloses: wherein the one or more opening is a bore or a slot (See, e.g. Fig.1-5, 8+9+10+12+13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613