DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed November 26, 2025.
Status of Claims
Applicant amended the claims in the filed amendment, and canceled claims 5,7,12,14,19,21. Claims 1-4,6,8-11,13,15-18,20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/26/25, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Akella does not teach “wherein a subset of the devices within the group at the first hierarchical level are dynamically grouped into a first subgroup at the second hierarchical level based on one or more first ones of the parameters for the communication behavior corresponding to learned behaviors of the subset of the devices”.
In reply, Firstly, Applicant is reminded that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In this case the claim only requires that a device subgroup is based on communication behavior. Secondly, Akella teaches that devices are grouped based on communication attributes. Akella further teaches that the devices within a group are further clustered into subsets of devices, where the clustering is also based on their communication attributes. Anomalous communication behavior is detected when the communication behavior of a device is determined to be different from the learned normal communication behavior of normal devices. Since all devices in the group and cluster are categorized based on their communication behavior, then this is seen to satisfy the claim. (See Akella, at least ¶s 55,70,121,122,124)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4,6,8-11,13,15-18,20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, for example
line 11 recites “communication behaviors”, and line 12 recites “the communication behavior”. However, it is unclear if these are the same or different from each other. Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the communication behavior” limitation in the claim;
lines 12 & 14 recite “parameters”. However, it is unclear if these are the same or different from each other. The claim appears to say that parameters include parameters, and does not make proper distinction between the different instances of each recited “parameters”.
line 22 recites “the learned behaviors”. However there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8,15 are slight variations of claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6,8-11,13,15-18,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella et al (US Publication 20210385238) in view of Srinivas et al (US Publication 20210392171).
In reference to claim 1, Akella teaches a computer-implemented method for hierarchical grouping of devices in a Software as a Service (SaaS) platform for one or more devices (see at least ¶ 24) comprises:
receiving device information for the one or more devices; (see at least ¶ 76, which teaches collecting device data from the devices)
receiving metadata related to network traffic flow for the one or more devices; (see at least ¶s 37,69, which teaches receiving and analyzing communication meta/data for the devices)
grouping the devices into a first hierarchical level based on any one or more of: the received device information, the received network traffic flow metadata, or a combination thereof; (see at least ¶ 70,76-83,101, which teaches grouping devices based on the communication data that is received and collected)
dynamically grouping the one or more devices within the group at the first hierarchical level into subgroups at a second hierarchical level based on learning communication behaviors of the devices within the said group using learning algorithm (see at least ¶s 40,55,99-101,121,122 which teaches dynamically grouping the devices into groups which includes devices in a group being further grouped into a subgroup of clusters based on behavior attributes of the devices, and see at least ¶s 40,54, which teaches using learning algorithms)
wherein parameters for the communication behavior include any one or more of: destination IP, destination port, protocol, data usage, time of the day, day of the week, device model, ratio of mobile originated (MO) traffic to mobile terminated (MT) traffic, and parameters derived from any one or more of the any one or more of the said parameters destination IP, the destination port, the protocol, the data usage, the time of the day, the day of the week, the device model, or the ratio of mobile originated (MO) traffic to mobile terminated (MT) traffic, (see at least ¶s 57,124, which teaches behavior attributes including device properties, data usage in bytes sent/received, destination IP, or destination port)
wherein a subset of the devices within the group at the first hierarchical level are dynamically grouped into a first subgroup at the second hierarchical level based on one or more first ones of the parameters for the communication behavior corresponding to learned behaviors of the subset of the devices; (see at least ¶s 121-124, which teaches dynamically grouping a subset of devices into a cluster/second hierarchical level based on the behavior attributes) and
detecting a device-level network anomaly based on comparing network traffic by the subset of the devices to the learned behaviors used to dynamically group the subset of the devices into the first subgroup (see at least ¶s 37,55,72,122,133, which teaches anomaly detection based on comparing observed communication values to learned behavior).
Akella teaches anomaly detection utilizing learning algorithms, but fails to explicitly teach using machine learning algorithm. However, Srinivas teaches performing network security anomaly detection on packet flows to and from sets of IoT devices (see Srinivas, at least Abstract and ¶ 6), and discloses parameters of communication behavior include any one of traffic type, time of usage, protocol data, and destination address, utilizing a machine trained learning engine (see Srinivas, at least ¶s 32-34,41-43). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akella based on the teachings of Srinivas for the purpose of ensuring secure and safe communications to and from IoT/client devices.
In reference to claim 2, this is taught by Akella, see at least ¶s 24,27,76, which teaches anomaly detection of groups of IoT devices via a SaaS service platform.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Srinivas, see at least ¶s 32-34,54, which teaches destination address and protocol data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Akella based on the teachings of Srinivas in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1 above
In reference to claim 4, this is taught by Akella, see at least ¶s 76-79, which teaches device grouping based on identified applications and services on the device.
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Akella, see at least ¶s 131-132, which teaches device profiling to identify anomalies.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Akella, see at least ¶s 131-133, which teaches applying an analysis technique to the groups which includes extracting and updating group values.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Akella, see at least ¶ 24,27,29, which teaches anomaly detection of groups of IoT devices via a SaaS service platform.
Claims 8-21 are slight variations of the rejected claims 1-7 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
February 5, 2026