DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the paper filed 29 October 2025. Claims 57-66 and 68-72 have been amended. Claim 73 is newly added. The non-elected species in claims 61 and 62, and claim 63, remain withdrawn. Claims 57-62 and 64-73 are currently pending and under examination.
This Application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/686783, now issued Patent No. 11,930,822, filed March 4, 2022, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/467384, now issued Patent No. 11,284,622, filed June 6, 2019, which is the 371 National Phase of International Patent Application PCT/US2017/065081, filed December 7, 2017, which claims benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/431927, filed December 9, 2016.
Withdrawal of Rejections:
The rejection of claims 57-62 and 64-72 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, is withdrawn.
The rejection of Claims 57-62 and 64-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more, is withdrawn.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 58-64 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 73 recites that the composition further comprises “one or more biological, biopesticidal, or additional beneficial microorganism.” This claim is indefinite, because it is unclear what a “biological” microorganism is, and how it is intended to differ from an “additional beneficial microorganism.”
Claims 58-64 are included in this rejection, as these claims depend from above rejected claim 73, and fail to remedy the noted deficiencies.
Maintenance/Modification of Rejections Necessitated by Amendment:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 57-62 and 64-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Didonato-Tinsley et al. (IDS; WO 2015/085063; Published June 11, 2015).
With regard to claims 57 and 68, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach a composition for application to a plant or plant part, including to a seed, the composition comprising a Methylobacterium strain (Abs.; Para. 56, 70), the Methylobacterium strain present at a concentration of at least about 5x108, 1x109, 3x1010, or 6x1010 CFU per milliliter (Para. 74), which are fully encompassed within at least 5x107 CFU per milliliter. The Methylobacterium strain present in the composition includes Methylobacterium NLS0109, wherein the composition further includes water as a carrier (Ex. 7, Table 6; Para. 119). As evidenced by Applicant’s specification, Methylobacterium NLS0109 includes the sequence encompassed by SEQ ID NO: 9 (see Specification, Para. 8). As such, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach Methylobacterium NLS0109, and/or a derivative of Methylobacterium NLS0109 which has a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9.
Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach the composition as claimed, including all components as claimed. As the composition cannot be separated from its function, application of the composition of Didonato-Tinsley et al. to a plant or plant part would necessarily provide the result of increasing plant yield.
With regard to claim 73, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition can further comprise a beneficial or biopesticidal microorganism other than the Methylobacterium strain (Para. 49).
With regard to claim 58, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition can further comprise a beneficial or biopesticidal microorganism including a bacterium, fungus, virus, or protozoan (Para. 49).
With regard to claim 59, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition can further comprise a beneficial or biopesticidal microorganism including Bacillus sp., Pseudomonas sp., Coniothyrium sp., Pantoea sp., Streptomyces sp., and Trichoderma sp. (Para. 49).
With regard to claim 60, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition can further comprise a beneficial or biopesticidal microorganism including Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus thuringiensis, Bacillus pumilis, Pseudomonas syringae, Trichoderma harzianum, Trichoderma virens, and Streptomyces lydicus strains (Para. 49).
With regard to claims 61 and 62, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition can further comprise a beneficial or biopesticidal microorganism including a second Methylobacterium strain, including Methylobacterium NLS0017 (Para. 74). As evidenced by Applicant’s specification, Methylobacterium NLS0017 includes the sequence encompassed by SEQ ID NO: 21 (see Specification, Para. 8). As such, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach Methylobacterium NLS0017 and/or a derivative or relation of Methylobacterium NLS0017 which has a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 21.
With regard to claim 64, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition can further comprise a microbial biopesticide, which includes a fungicide (Para. 49, 65).
With regard to claims 65-67, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition further comprises one or more agriculturally acceptable carriers, adjuvants, and/or excipients, including:
woodflours, clays, activated carbon, diatomaceous earth, fine-grain inorganic solids, calcium carbonate, calcium bentonite, kaolin, china clay, talc, perlite, mica, vermiculite, silicas, quartz powder, montmorillonite and mixtures thereof; and
polyvinyl acetates, polyvinyl acetate copolymers, hydrolyzed polyvinyl acetates,
polyvinylpyrrolidone-vinyl acetate copolymer, polyvinyl alcohols, polyvinyl alcohol
copolymers, polyvinyl methyl ether, polyvinyl methyl ether-maleic anhydride copolymer,
waxes, latex polymers, celluloses including ethylcelluloses and methylcelluloses, hydroxy
methylcelluloses, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydroxymethylpropylcelluloses, polyvinyl
pyrrolidones, alginates, dextrins, malto-dextrins, polysaccharides, fats, oils, proteins, karaya
gum, jaguar gum, tragacanth gum, polysaccharide gums, mucilage, gum arabics, shellacs,
vinylidene chloride polymers and copolymers, soybean-based protein polymers and
copolymers, lignosulfonates, acrylic copolymers, starches, polyvinylacrylates, zeins, gelatin,
carboxymethylcellulose, chitosan, polyethylene oxide, acrylamide polymers and copolymers,
polyhydroxyethyl acrylate, methylacrylamide monomers, alginate, ethylcellulose,
polychloroprene and syrups or mixtures thereof (Para. 16, 42, 69).
With regard to claims 69-72, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach that the composition is applied to plant parts including a seed, a leaf, a fruit, a stem, a root, a tuber, and a coleoptile, and to plant parts of lettuce (Para. 45, 58, 67). It is noted that the composition as taught by Didonato-Tinsley et al. includes all components as claimed. As the composition of Didonato-Tinsley et al. cannot be separated from its functions, the composition would necessarily be capable of coating plant parts to provide a coated plant part including:
corn, a Brassica sp., alfalfa, rice, rye, sorghum, millet, sunflower, safflower, soybean, tobacco, potato, peanuts, cotton, sweet potato, cassava, coffee, coconut, pineapple, citrus trees, cocoa, tea, banana, avocado, fig, guava, mango, olive, papaya, cashew, macadamia, almond, sugar beets, sugarcane, oats, barley, tomatoes, green beans, lima beans, peas, cucurbits, ornamentals, and conifers;
rice, wheat, corn, barley, millet, sorghum, oat, and rye;
a turfgrass plant including annual bluegrass, annual ryegrass, Canada bluegrass, fescue, bentgrass, wheatgrass, Kentucky bluegrass, orchard grass, ryegrass, redtop, Bermuda grass, St. Augustine grass, and zoysia grass; and
a cucurbit plant including cucumber, cantaloupe, and musk melon.
Response to Arguments
With regard to Didonato-Tinsley et al., Applicant urges that this reference does not appear to teach NLS109 as increasing yield in any plant.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but have not been found persuasive.
As noted in the above rejection, Didonato-Tinsley et al. teach the composition as claimed, including all components as claimed. As the composition cannot be separated from its function, application of the composition of Didonato-Tinsley et al. to a plant or plant part would necessarily provide the result of increasing plant yield.
Double Patenting
Claims 57, 58, 61, 62, and 64-73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,284,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both encompass a composition for treating a plant or plant part to increase plant yield, including a seed, by applying a composition comprising Methylobacterium NLS0109, or a derivative of Methylobacterium NLS0109 having SEQ ID NO: 9; another beneficial microorganism including a second Methylobacterium strain including NLS0017 (NRRL B-50931), or a Methylobacterium strain derived therefrom having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 21; the composition further comprising an agriculturally acceptable carrier, excipient, and/or adjuvant as recited in the claims, and the Methylobacterium NLS0109 present in the composition at a concentration of at least 5x107 CFU per gram or 5 x 107 CFU per milliliter; the composition capable of treating a plant including: corn, a Brassica sp., alfalfa, rice, rye, sorghum, millet, sunflower, safflower, soybean, tobacco, potato, peanuts, cotton, sweet potato, cassava, coffee, coconut, pineapple, citrus trees, cocoa, tea, banana, avocado, fig, guava, mango, olive, papaya, cashew, macadamia, almond, sugar beets, sugarcane, oats, barley, tomatoes, lettuce, green beans, lima beans, peas, cucurbits, ornamentals, and conifers; rice, wheat, corn, barley, millet, sorghum, oat, and rye; and a turfgrass plant including annual bluegrass, annual ryegrass, Canada bluegrass, fescue, bentgrass, wheatgrass, Kentucky bluegrass, orchard grass, ryegrass, redtop, Bermuda grass, St. Augustine grass, and zoysia grass; and a cucurbit plant including cucumber, cantaloupe, and musk melon (Present claim: 57, 58, 61, 62, and 64-73; Cited Patent claim: 1-20).
Claims 57, 58, 61, 62, and 64-73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,822. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both encompass a composition for treating a plant or plant part to increase plant yield, including a seed, by applying a composition comprising Methylobacterium NLS0109, or a derivative of Methylobacterium NLS0109 having SEQ ID NO: 9; another beneficial microorganism including
Bacillus sp., Pseudomonas sp., Coniothyrium sp., Pantoea sp., Streptomyces sp., and Trichoderma sp., including Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus thuringiensis, Bacillus pumilis, Pseudomonas syringae, Trichoderma harzianum, Trichoderma virens, and Streptomyces lydicus strains; a second Methylobacterium strain NLS0017 (NRRL B-50931) or a Methylobacterium strain derived therefrom having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 21; the composition further comprising an agriculturally acceptable carrier, excipient, and/or adjuvant as recited in the claims; the Methylobacterium NLS0109 present in the composition at a concentration of at least 5x107 CFU per gram or 5 x 107 CFU per milliliter; the composition capable of treating a plant including: corn, a Brassica sp., alfalfa, rice, rye, sorghum, millet, sunflower, safflower, soybean, tobacco, potato, peanuts, cotton, sweet potato, cassava, coffee, coconut, pineapple, citrus trees, cocoa, tea, banana, avocado, fig, guava, mango, olive, papaya, cashew, macadamia, almond, sugar beets, sugarcane, oats, barley, tomatoes, lettuce, green beans, lima beans, peas, cucurbits, ornamentals, and conifers; rice, wheat, corn, barley, millet, sorghum, oat, and rye; and a turfgrass plant including annual bluegrass, annual ryegrass, Canada bluegrass, fescue, bentgrass, wheatgrass, Kentucky bluegrass, orchard grass, ryegrass, redtop, Bermuda grass, St. Augustine grass, and zoysia grass; and a cucurbit plant including cucumber, cantaloupe, and musk melon. (Present claim: 57, 58, 61, 62, and 64-73; Cited Patent claim: 1-15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant indicates that a terminal disclaimer may be filed after a finding of allowable claims.
The non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Previously Presented Art or Record:
Bogosian, IDS, US 2013/0324407; Published 2013 (composition for treating a plant or plant part with a composition comprising a Methylobacterium strain and an additional beneficial microorganism).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653