DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 7/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spijkerman et al (US 2020/0299522).
Spijkerman teaches a solid composition comprising 60wt% of aluminum trihydroxide, 30 wt% of di(4-methylbenzoyl)peroxide and 10 wt% of water [0049]. Aluminum trihydroxide is capable of absorbing or adsorbing water and therefore reads on the claimed water retaining agent. Spijkerman further teaches the solid inorganic flame retardant can be aluminum trihydroxide or hydrotalcite [0026]. Hydrotalcite reads on the claimed anionic clay.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spijkerman et al (US 2020/0299522).
Spijkerman teaches the composition comprises 20-80 wt% of a substituted dibenzoyl peroxide, 20-80wt% of a filler material, and 0-20 wt% of water [0017-0019, 0036, 0025-0026]. Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spijkerman et al (US 2020/0299522) in view of Beek (US 10,626,263).
Spijkerman teaches the limitation of claim 1, as discussed above.
Spijkerman does not teach an antioxidant.
However, Beek discloses a peroxide masterbatch and teaches an antioxidant can be included in the masterbatch (3:60-63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include antioxidant in the peroxide composition of Spijkerman because it is recognized in the art that including antioxidant is suitable for a peroxide composition.
Additionally, the content of the antioxidant is a result effective variable where insufficient amount may result in suboptimal performance, whereas excessive amounts lead to unnecessary cost, surface blooming, and reduce mechanical strength. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the content of antioxidant in the peroxide composition depending on the final application and through routine experimentation. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-4, 7-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 12-16 of U.S. Patent No.11,220,608. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘608 claims a powder mixture comprising di(4-methylbenzoyl)peroxide, aluminum trihydroxide and water.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763