DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment/Request for Reconsideration, received on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-11 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-14 are pending and have been considered. The examiner would like to note that all terms previously invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except for “sensor module” have been removed from the claims; therefore, interpretations of all terms other than “sensor module” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been removed. Further, with regard to the “sensor module”, the claims have been amended in a way which introduces sufficient structure for performing the claimed actions; therefore, this term’s interpretation under 112(f) has also been removed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 09/18/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-8, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to “Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-10, 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-10, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to “Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103”, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-12, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bevirt et al. (US-20080044002-A1), hereinafter Bevirt. Bevirt discloses a headset with extendable microphone, wherein the distance of the microphone with respect to the remainder of the headset is monitored for performing actions ([0063]). See updated rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the amended claim language reads, “…the processor is configured to obtain the position information of the first radio device determine a corresponding noise reduction…” (emphasis added to underlined portion). Applicant is recommended to add a comma (or “and”) between “device” and “determine” to clarify that the ‘obtain’ and ‘determine’ are steps in sequence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant has amended claim 11 to be containing a method applied to a process, i.e. a Product and Process claim. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See MPEP Section 2173.05(p). Claims 12-14 are rejected as being indefinite due to their dependence upon an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al. (US-12140819-B1), hereinafter Howell in view of Bevirt et al. (US-20080044002-A1), hereinafter Bevirt.
Regarding claim 1, Howell discloses: a speech noise reduction apparatus ([Col. 7, Lines 17-20] noise cancellation functionalities, such as through two directional microphones, one pointing at the user's mouth, and the other pointing away, [Noise cancellation in the context of a user’s mouth indicates the noise is in speech]), the apparatus comprising:
a first radio device ([Fig. 14C, microphone 1428]), disposed near a speech output source to receive first sound signals ([Fig. 14C, Speaker 1426], [Also, as the context is wearable glasses, the microphone will be near a mouth, i.e. speech output source, when worn correctly]),
wherein the first sound signals comprise speech signals and noise signals ([Col. 51, Lines 55-60] One microphone is for capturing the voice of the user. But the microphone captures ambient noise also. It can be embedded in a protrusion extending from the end of the temple), and a position of the first radio device changes within a certain range ([Col. 34, Lines 5-10] The extension 1446 (e.g., a boom arm) can move the microphone 1428 to an end 1448 of the extension 1446, thereby closer to the mouth of the user [Wherein the microphone 2110 of Fig. 21 (used as the reference mic in Col. 51 mapping) is in the same position as that of 1428, i.e. extending below the glasses arm, indicating them to be the same microphone]);
a second radio device ([Col. 51, Lines 60-65] Another microphone can be located at the top of one of the lens holders pointing away from the mouth of the user), disposed at a fixed distance from the speech output source to receive the noise signals ([Col. 51, Lines 60-65] This microphone is for capturing ambient noise [Wherein there is no disclosure as to differing lens holder configurations, indicating this microphone to be fixed compared to the speaker/mouth of the glasses/user]);
a sensor module ([Col. 37, Lines 55-57] the sensor can be a position sensor that provides position information), configured to determine a sensing signal to determine position information of the first radio device ([Col. 37, Lines 57-65] The position sensor can, for example, be a GPS receiver that is able to fully or partially determine the position of the eyeglasses… the position sensor can be provided within the frame (e.g., arm) of the eyeglasses, [Wherein the eyeglasses contain the first radio device, indicating tracking position of the first radio device, i.e. that also located on the arm of the eyeglasses. Further, GPS information is representative of a signal]);
a processor ([Fig. 29, Processor 2506]), configured to reduce noise from the first sound signals according to the position information of the first radio device and the noise signals to generate second sound signals, wherein the second sound signals are noise-reduced speech signals ([Col. 73, Lines 60-67], [Col. 74, Lines 1-2] There can also be a tube from the first microphone to or towards the mouth of the user, to guide the sound from the mouth to the microphone. The second microphone can be in the vicinity of the other hinge, whose directionality favors sound arriving in front of or outside of the user. Signals received from the second microphone are subtracted from signals received from the first microphone before the audio signals are further processed for transmission [Subtracting signals received by a second microphone, i.e. noise signals, from signals received by a first microphone, i.e. first sound + noise signals, tracks to a generation of second sound signals which are noise-reduced speech signals. Further, wherein the first microphone will inherently have a locational dependency on noise, i.e. if the first microphone is closer to the mouth then there will be less noise to subtract, e.g. less ambient noise received, therefore, tracking to a noise reduction dependent upon the first radio device position and noise signals]); and,
a sensing end, comprising an optical sensor and connected to the first radio device ([Fig. 14C, LED 1442], [Col. 72, Lines 34-36] There can be one LED coupling to more than one optical fiber, with each optical fiber guiding the light from the LED to different areas of the frame, [Wherein the LED 1442 being coupled with optical fiber indicates a required optical sensor for receiving the information sent through the optical fiber by the LED (see photodetectors/photodiodes of Howell, [Col. 90, Lines 1-15]). Further, the LED and microphone 1428 being on the same side frame indicates a sensing end comprising an optical sensor, i.e. photodetector, connected to the first radio device, i.e. microphone, through the bridge or other adjoining element of the physical structure of the glasses]),
wherein the sensor module comprises at least one light source emitter ([Col. 90, Lines 4-5] Normally, the photodiode receives light from the LED, [A LED tracks to a light source emitter]).
Howell does not disclose:
the optical sensor is configured to generate a corresponding sensing signal according to a time difference of receiving an optical signal emitted by the light source emitter, and the sensor module is configured to determine the position information of the first radio device according to the corresponding sensing signal.
Bevirt discloses:
the optical sensor is configured to generate a corresponding sensing signal according to a time difference of receiving an optical signal emitted by the light source emitter, and the sensor module is configured to determine the position information of the first radio device according to the corresponding sensing signal ([0063] The microphone 954 is attached to the microphone boom 953, which in turn is attached to a slider 950. A microswitch 951 is mounted within the headset. The microswitch 951 has a switch lever 952. As the microphone boom begins to deploy, the slider 950 moves away from the fully stowed position and allows the switch lever 952 to swing out, toggling the microswitch 951. FIG. 22C illustrates the slider 950 in the fully stowed position, wherein the switch lever 952 is pressed and provides an electrical signal via the microswitch 951 that the microphone is stowed. The microswitch may be used to indicate to the headset electronics whether the microphone is stowed or deployed. In some embodiments, the electronics are adapted to utilize a binary signal from the microswitch to vary between two preset gain levels. The gain levels may be embedded within the electronics or may be programmable into the electronics. In some embodiments, the boom deployment sensor system may utilize an optical sensor, [Consider the microswitch to be utilizing an optical sensor as disclosed in Bevirt for tracking microphone location (in view of Howell’s previously disclosed optical fibers within glasses). Based on this, the switch will be switched on/off corresponding to a time difference as is necessarily how optical sensors function (based on length of optical fiber transmitting light with respect to the receiver), wherein the associated microphone positions have associated electrical signals and/or gain levels, indicating generating sensing signals based on location of microphone which will necessarily be dependent on a time difference for an optical sensor. Further, determining the microphone position based upon the electrical signal via microswitch indicates determining position information based on a sensing signal, i.e. the provided electrical signal]).
Howell and Bevirt are considered analogous art within noise cancellation on head-mounted wearables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell to incorporate the teachings of Bevirt, because of the novel way to place the microphone of a small headset near the user’s mouth to reduce introduced noise into the communication system in an adjustable way, improving flexible noise cancellation approaches on head-mounted wearables (Bevirt, [0005]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 1.
Howell further discloses: wherein the apparatus further comprises a pull rod ([Fig. 14C, Extension 1446]), the first radio device is connected to the sensing end through the pull rod ([Col. 37, Lines 63-65] the position sensor can be provided within the frame (e.g., arm) of the eyeglasses, [Disclosing the sensor to be within the frame of the glasses; wherein the microphone is at the end of the frame of the glasses (see Fig. 14C) indicates the frame connects the radio device, i.e. microphone, to the sensing end, i.e. optical sensor, through a pull rod, i.e. extension]); and,
a position of the pull rod changes within a certain range to change positions of the sensing end and the first radio device ([Fig. 14C, microphone 1428 moves to 1448 along extension 1446], [Col. 33, Lines 55-60] The arm 1441 is generally similar to the arm 1421 shown in FIG. 14B, but further includes additional eyeglass electrical components, [Col. 34, Lines 8-10] the same extension 1444 or 1446 can include the light from the light source 1442 and the microphone 1428, [Col. 20, Lines 50-51] the electrical component can be a sensor, [Indicating the light, i.e. an electrical component which can be replaced with a sensor, e.g. the position sensor of above claim element (other electrical component), can be replaced without extending beyond the scope of the present disclosure and having the microphone to be on the same extending arm indicates that a position change of the extension will change the positions of both the sensing end and the first radio device]).
Regarding claim 8, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 1.
Howell further discloses: wherein the apparatus further comprises a filter for filtering high-frequency signals from the second sound signals to obtain fourth sound signals ([Col. 50, Lines 45-60] audio analog signals from a microphone 2614 can be fed to an A-to-D converter 2616 to generate digital low frequency signals for the processor 2608 and then to the RF transceiver circuits 2604… high frequency filters are used at the front end of the RF transceiver circuits 2604, [In view of the previously disclosed second microphone of Howell responsible for receiving noise-exclusive signals, indicating this could be the microphone used for high-pass filtering without leaving the disclosure of Howell]).
Regarding claim 11, Howell (in view of Bevirt) discloses: a speech noise reduction method (Howell, [Col. 7, Lines 17-20] noise cancellation functionalities, such as through two directional microphones, one pointing at the user's mouth, and the other pointing away, [Noise cancellation in the context of a user’s mouth indicates the noise is in speech]), applied to the apparatus of claim 1.
Howell further discloses:
the method comprising:
receiving, by a first radio device ([Fig. 14C, microphone 1428]), first sound signals ([Fig. 14C, Speaker 1426], [Also, as the context is wearable glasses, the microphone will be near a mouth, i.e. speech signals, when worn correctly]),
wherein the first sound signals comprise speech signals and noise signals ([Col. 51, Lines 55-60] One microphone is for capturing the voice of the user. But the microphone captures ambient noise also. It can be embedded in a protrusion extending from the end of the temple), and a position of the first radio device changes within a certain range ([Col. 34, Lines 5-10] The extension 1446 (e.g., a boom arm) can move the microphone 1428 to an end 1448 of the extension 1446, thereby closer to the mouth of the user [Wherein the microphone 2110 of Fig. 21 (used as the reference mic in Col. 51 mapping) is in the same position as that of 1428, i.e. extending below the glasses arm, indicating them to be the same microphone]);
receiving, by a second radio device ([Col. 51, Lines 60-65] Another microphone can be located at the top of one of the lens holders pointing away from the mouth of the user), the noise signals ([Col. 51, Lines 60-65] This microphone is for capturing ambient noise);
determining position information of the first radio device by a sensing signal ([Col. 37, Lines 57-65] The position sensor can, for example, be a GPS receiver that is able to fully or partially determine the position of the eyeglasses… the position sensor can be provided within the frame (e.g., arm) of the eyeglasses, [Wherein the eyeglasses contain the first radio device, indicating tracking position of the first radio device, i.e. that also located on the arm of the eyeglasses. Further, GPS information is representative of a signal]); and,
reducing noise from the first sound signals according to the position information of the first radio device and the noise signals to generate second sound signals, wherein the second sound signals are noise-reduced speech signals ([Col. 73, Lines 60-67], [Col. 74, Lines 1-2] There can also be a tube from the first microphone to or towards the mouth of the user, to guide the sound from the mouth to the microphone. The second microphone can be in the vicinity of the other hinge, whose directionality favors sound arriving in front of or outside of the user. Signals received from the second microphone are subtracted from signals received from the first microphone before the audio signals are further processed for transmission [Subtracting signals received by a second microphone, i.e. noise signals, from signals received by a first microphone, i.e. first sound + noise signals, tracks to a generation of second sound signals which are noise-reduced speech signals. Further, wherein the first microphone will inherently have a locational dependency on noise, i.e. if the first microphone is closer to the mouth then there will be less noise to subtract, e.g. less ambient noise received, therefore, tracking to a noise reduction dependent upon the first radio device position and noise signals]).
Regarding claim 12, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the method according to claim 11.
Howell further discloses: wherein the determining the position information of the first radio device comprises:
obtaining, by a sensor module ([Col. 37, Lines 55-57] the sensor can be a position sensor that provides position information), the sensing signal to determine position information of the first radio device ([Col. 37, Lines 57-65] The position sensor can, for example, be a GPS receiver that is able to fully or partially determine the position of the eyeglasses… the position sensor can be provided within the frame (e.g., arm) of the eyeglasses, [Wherein the eyeglasses contain the first radio device, indicating tracking position of the first radio device, i.e. that also located on the arm of the eyeglasses. Further, GPS information is representative of a signal]).
Regarding claim 14, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the method according to claim 11.
Howell further discloses: wherein the method further comprises:
filtering high-frequency signals from the second sound signals to obtain fourth sound signals ([Col. 50, Lines 45-60] audio analog signals from a microphone 2614 can be fed to an A-to-D converter 2616 to generate digital low frequency signals for the processor 2608 and then to the RF transceiver circuits 2604… high frequency filters are used at the front end of the RF transceiver circuits 2604, [In view of the previously disclosed second microphone of Howell responsible for receiving noise-exclusive signals, indicating this could be the microphone used for high-pass filtering without leaving the disclosure of Howell]).
Claim(s) 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell in view of Bevirt, further in view of Kim et al. (US-20160072936-A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 2.
Howell in view of Bevirt does not disclose:
wherein the sensing end is a touch element, the sensor module comprises at least one touch sensor; and,
the sensor module is configured to determine the position information of the first radio device according to the sensing signal generated by a contact point between the touch element and the touch sensor.
Kim discloses:
wherein the sensing end is a touch element ([0058] The proximity sensor 141 may sense the proximity touch and a proximity touch pattern), the sensor module comprises at least one touch sensor ([0141] The elastic spring 44 positioned at a valley of the pattern 54 can touch the position sensor SE corresponding to the valley. The controller can recognize that the elastic spring 44 is located at the position corresponding to the touched position sensor SE [Indicating the position sensor to also be containing a touch element]); and,
the sensor module is configured to determine the position information of the first radio device according to the sensing signal generated by a contact point between the touch element and the touch sensor ([Fig. 14], [0141] the controller can sense that the second support 24 is located at the corresponding position and thus can detect the distance between the first and second microphones M1 and M2, [Wherein the moving, second support (containing a microphone, see Fig. 13) tracks to the first radio device]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Kim are considered analogous art within speech noise reduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt to incorporate the teachings of Kim, because of the novel way to perform predetermined operations on a wearable user device without direct manipulation by the user, improving user convenience in using wearables (Kim, [0174]).
Regarding claim 6, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 1.
Howell in view of Bevirt does not disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to determine the corresponding noise reduction parameter according to a pre-determined matching relationship and the position information of the first radio device; and,
wherein the matching relationship is used for representing a corresponding relationship between the position information and the noise reduction parameter.
Kim discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to determine the corresponding noise reduction parameter according to a pre-determined matching relationship and the position information of the first radio device ([0143] When the position of the second microphone is changed, a sound determined as noise can be changed. For example, the second sound, which is regarded as noise in the first state (S1 of FIG. 13), can be changed to a third sound S03 in the third state (S3 of FIG. 13), [Determining whether or not signals are noise based on the position of a microphone, i.e. first radio device, indicates a pre-determined, i.e. in view of the pre-determined reference length (see below), matching relationship between noise reduction parameter and position information, i.e. reference length]); and,
wherein the matching relationship is used for representing a corresponding relationship between the position information and the noise reduction parameter ([0145] the gain value applied to the noise cancellation circuit may be changed on the basis of a reference length SL. For example, the gain value can be reduced when the distance between the first and second microphones M1 and M2 is shorter than the reference length SL, whereas the gain value can be increased when the gain value can be reduced when the distance between the first and second microphones M1 and M2 is greater than the reference length SL [The reference length is used to determine matching relationships between noise reduction, i.e. gain, and position, i.e. distance]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Kim are considered analogous art within speech noise reduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt to incorporate the teachings of Kim, because of the novel way to perform predetermined operations on a wearable user device without direct manipulation by the user, improving user convenience in using wearables (Kim, [0174]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell in view of Bevirt, further in view of Sheaffer et al. (US-20220053281-A1), hereinafter Sheaffer.
Regarding claim 5, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 1.
Howell in view of Bevirt does not disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to obtain the position information of the first radio device determine a corresponding noise reduction parameter according to the position information of the first radio device and reduce noise from the first sound signals according to the noise signals and the corresponding noise reduction parameter.
Sheaffer discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to obtain the position information of the first radio device ([0070] The microphone array calibrator 430 is configured to determine how to adjust far-field transfer functions and/or position-dependent audio settings based on a determination of a physical arrangement of a microphone array 419 using the optical and/or mechanical sensing method, [Wherein any of the microphones within the array can represent a first radio device.])
determine a corresponding noise reduction parameter according to the position information of the first radio device (([0065] The calibrator 430 is further configured to supply the newly computed beamforming weight vectors to the microphone beamformer 420 in order for the beamformer 420 to adjust the directional beam patterns according to the change in the physical arrangement of the microphone array 419, [Beamforming weight vectors track to “noise reduction parameters”. Further, in the context of a microphone array for the purposes of reducing noise (as disclosed in Sheaffer), this indicates the beam is aimed to reduce noise signals, i.e. removing ambient noise from sound signals ([0043]), in view of the noise reduction of Howell wherein one signal is determined to be pure noise. A signal received by any microphone on the array of Sheaffer could be a “noise signal”, i.e. that without beamforming performed. Using the weight vectors to adjust the beam shape, wherein the weight vectors are dependent upon the microphone array positioning (receiving noise signals) indicating that the vector representing the noise reduction parameter is generated according to the position information of the devices (including at least a first radio device)])) and
reduce noise from the first sound signals according to the noise signals and the corresponding noise reduction parameter ([0066] The audio rendering processor 405 may apply each of the input audio signals with a corresponding new weight in order to produce an expected beam pattern [An expected beam pattern tracks to that without unexpected noise]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Sheaffer are considered analogous art within speech noise cancellation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt to incorporate the teachings of Sheaffer, because of the novel way to disclose wearable devices with microphone arrays which perform beamforming operations to spatially select sound sources within an environment in which the wearable device is located, improving the quality of audio signals from particular sources while reducing noise and interference (Sheaffer, [0032]).
Claim(s) 7, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell in view of Bevirt, further in view of Lee et al. (US-9202456-B2), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 1.
Howell further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to configure the corresponding noise reduction parameter for the noise signals to determine third sound signals ([Col. 17, Lines 50-60] if the average power level of the environment or the ambient noise level is higher than a preset threshold value, signal amplification is reduced… if the average power level of the environment is more than 75 dB, hearing enhancement amplification is reduced, such as to 0 dB, [In view of the previously disclosed microphone of Howell responsible for ambient noise-exclusive signals indicating that the determined amplification adjustment could be a corresponding noise reduction parameter for noise signals. Further, “configuring” a noise reduction parameter for determining sound signals does not require the applying of that parameter in view of the current construction of the claim. Therefore, the third sound signals can be equivalent to the noise signals])
Howell does not disclose: wherein the processor is further configured reverse phases of the third sound signals and then add the third sound signals to the first sound signals to determine the noise-reduced second sound signals.
Lee discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to reverse phases of the third sound signals and then add the third sound signals to the first sound signals to determine the noise-reduced second sound signals ([Col. 15, Lines 5-20] An ANC filter in a feedback ANC system is typically configured to reverse the phase of the error feedback signal and may also be configured to integrate the error feedback signal, equalize the frequency response, and/or to match or minimize the delay… it may be desirable for the error feedback microphone to be disposed within the acoustic field generated by the loudspeaker, [Wherein the error feedback tracks to noise remaining after an original reduction, indicating the error feedback signal to be representative of a noise, i.e. third, signal. Further, disposing the third signal within the loudspeaker, wherein the loudspeaker receives audio signal output comprising a multichannel signal, noise signal, and reproduced audio (see Fig. 1B), indicates an addition of these signals (at least a noise and mixed signal) into one output]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Lee are considered analogous art within speech noise reduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt to incorporate the teachings of Lee, because of the novel way to apply an automatic noise cancellation (ANC) filter to received audio signals, attenuating environmental sound to equalize or enhance one or more components of a sensed ambient sound signal (Lee, [Col. 19, Lines 5-20]).
Regarding claim 10, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 1.
Howell further discloses:
wherein the apparatus further comprises a D/A converter ([Fig. 31B, “D to A” 2610]); and,
the D/A converted is connected to an output end of the processor to convert the second sound signals from a digital quantity to an analog quantity ([Fig. 31B, “D to A” 2610 to Speaker 2612], [Col. 50, Lines 44-45] Outputs from the processor 2608 are fed to a D-to-A converter 2610 to generate audio signals for a speaker 2612, [Sending the converted audio to a speaker indicates that the d/a is connected to the output end of the processor, i.e. to be presented auditorily to the user through the speaker]).
Howell does not disclose:
wherein the apparatus comprises a plurality of A/D converters; and,
the A/D converters are disposed between the first radio device and the processor and between the second radio device and the processor to convert the received first sound signals and noise signals from an analog quantity to a digital quantity respectively.
Lee discloses:
wherein the apparatus comprises a plurality of A/D converters ([Fig. 3B, “ADC” C10a, C10b]); and,
the A/D converters are disposed between the first radio device and the processor and between the second radio device and the processor to convert the received first sound signals and noise signals from an analog quantity to a digital quantity respectively ([Fig. 3B, “Audio Preprocessing Stage AP20”], [In view of the audio preprocessing stage defined in Fig. 3B, it is clear that the A/D converters are disposed between the first and second radio devices, i.e. microphones MC10/MC20, and a processor, i.e. digital preprocessing stage P20a/P20b, in view of the previously disclosed radio devices and processor of Howell which could be substituted into Lee without a change in functionality to Lee as Howell also discloses ADC conversion before processing, see [Col. 66, Lines 25-35]]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Lee are considered analogous art within speech noise reduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt, to incorporate the teachings of Lee, because of the novel way to apply an automatic noise cancellation (ANC) filter to received audio signals, attenuating environmental sound to equalize or enhance one or more components of a sensed ambient sound signal (Lee, [Col. 19, Lines 5-20]).
Regarding claim 13, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the method according to claim 11.
Howell further discloses:
wherein the reducing noise from the first sound signals according to the position information of the first radio device and the noise signals to generate second sound signals is specifically:
configuring a corresponding noise reduction parameter for the noise signals to determine third sound signals ([Col. 17, Lines 50-60] if the average power level of the environment or the ambient noise level is higher than a preset threshold value, signal amplification is reduced… if the average power level of the environment is more than 75 dB, hearing enhancement amplification is reduced, such as to 0 dB, [In view of the previously disclosed microphone of Howell responsible for ambient noise-exclusive signals indicating that the determined amplification adjustment could be a corresponding noise reduction parameter for noise signals. Further, “configuring” a noise reduction parameter for determining sound signals does not require the applying of that parameter in view of the current construction of the claim. Therefore, the third sound signals can be equivalent to the noise signals])
Howell in view of Bevirt does not disclose:
wherein the reducing noise from the first sound signals according to the position information of the first radio device and the noise signals to generate second sound signals is specifically: reversing phases of the third sound signals and then adding the third sound signals to the first sound signals to determine the noise-reduced second sound signals.
Lee discloses:
wherein the reducing noise from the first sound signals according to the position information of the first radio device and the noise signals to generate second sound signals is specifically: reversing phases of the third sound signals and then adding the third sound signals to the first sound signals to determine the noise-reduced second sound signals ([Col. 15, Lines 5-20] An ANC filter in a feedback ANC system is typically configured to reverse the phase of the error feedback signal and may also be configured to integrate the error feedback signal, equalize the frequency response, and/or to match or minimize the delay… it may be desirable for the error feedback microphone to be disposed within the acoustic field generated by the loudspeaker, [Wherein the error feedback tracks to noise remaining after an original reduction, indicating the error feedback signal to be representative of a noise, i.e. third, signal. Further, disposing the third signal within the loudspeaker, wherein the loudspeaker receives audio signal output comprising a multichannel signal, noise signal, and reproduced audio (see Fig. 1B), indicates an addition of these signals (at least a noise and mixed signal) into one output]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Lee are considered analogous art within speech noise reduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt to incorporate the teachings of Lee, because of the novel way to apply an automatic noise cancellation (ANC) filter to received audio signals, attenuating environmental sound to equalize or enhance one or more components of a sensed ambient sound signal (Lee, [Col. 19, Lines 5-20]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell in view of Bevirt, further in view of Lau et al. (US-8942384-B2), hereinafter Lau.
Regarding claim 9, Howell in view of Bevirt discloses: the apparatus according to claim 8.
Howell in view of Bevirt does not disclose: wherein the apparatus further comprises an electro-acoustic transducer connected to an output end of the filter to output the fourth sound signals in a form of sound.
Lau discloses:
wherein the apparatus further comprises an electro-acoustic transducer connected to an output end of the filter to output the fourth sound signals in a form of sound ([Fig. 4, Input 141 to Processor 170, sent through noise gate 171, resulting in output 131/151], [Col. 3, Lines 25-40] The speaker 150 comprises a transducer for converting an audio signal to audible output… The processor 170 comprises traditional electrical circuitry known in the art such as ADCs, DACs, amplifiers, filters and other signal processing circuits for transmitting and receiving audio signals, [Converting audio signals into audible output indicates the transducer to be electro-acoustic. Further, sending audio into a processor containing filters (noise gate 171), in view of the low-pass filter of Howell (reasonably understood to be contained within a noise gate), to then be passed into speakers containing transducers indicates the transducer is connected to the output end of the filter. Further still, sending audio through a noise gate indicates that the audio has noise before being processed through the gate, indicating the signals output from the gate to be representative of fourth sound signals, i.e. those with filtered/reduced noise]).
Howell, Bevirt, and Lau are considered analogous art within speech noise reduction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Howell in view of Bevirt to incorporate the teachings of Lau, because of the novel way to automatically switch between different operating conditions based on the position of a headset arm, improving user convenience when switching from a headset to other device for speaking (Lau, [Col. 1, Lines 5-15]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US-20230388700-A1) discloses “A loudspeaker device includes a speaker component, a first microphone element, and a second microphone element. The speaker component includes an earphone core and a core housing. The first microphone element is disposed on a first branch circuit board of a circuit board. The second microphone element is disposed on a second branch circuit board of the circuit board. The circuit board is configured to electrically connect to an audio signal wire, a first auxiliary signal wire, and a second auxiliary signal wire of an external control circuit. The audio signal wire, the first auxiliary signal wire, and the second auxiliary signal wire are electrically and respectively connected to the earphone core, the first microphone element, and the second microphone element through the circuit board. A board surface of the second branch circuit board is tilt with respect to a board surface of the first branch circuit board” (abstract). See entire document.
Christiansen et al. (US-10368152-B2) discloses “The disclosure relates to a microphone arrangement comprising at least three groups of microphones that are mounted on a head-wearable support structure. The at least three groups of microphones comprising a first group of microphones with one or more microphones, a second group of microphones with one or more microphones, and a third group of microphones with one or more microphones, wherein the first group is mounted to a casing that accommodates signal transmission circuitry, the second group is mounted to slide with respect to the casing and the first group is mounted in a direction of a first axis. Furthermore, the third group comprises either at least one microphone that is arranged on the support structure so as to exhibit less sensitivity for sound coming from a user's mouth than for sound coming from a user's environment when the microphone arrangement is head-worn; or at least two microphones that are arranged symmetrically with respect to a user's head when the microphone arrangement is head-worn and that provide for a directionality that is orientated to the direction of a user's vision; or both” (abstract). See entire document.
Chang et al. (US-12439196-B2) discloses “An information handling system headset has an earcup that rotationally couples a microphone boom at one end of a cavity to rotate between an extended position with a member of the microphone boom in straight form and a retracted position with the member bent to fit in the cavity and substantially conform with the earcup periphery. The microphone boom member rotates between first and second stops disposed proximate the hinge and bend when pushed against the first stop to fit in the cavity. The microphone boom can fully insert into the cavity to have a flush outer periphery at the earcup or can partially extend out of the cavity at the terminating end where the microphone couples to the member” (abstract). See entire document.
Johnston et al. (US-7190797-B1) discloses “A telephone headset utilizing a foldable microphone boom that is operable in both noise canceling and omnidirectional modes is disclosed. The headset generally comprises a main body, a boom extending between a pivoting end and a microphone housing for housing a two-port microphone, and a pivoting hinge coupling the pivoting end of the boom to the main body and enabling the boom to rotate about the pivoting hinge relative to the main body. The boom is adapted to be positioned in a first extended position in which the microphone is located away from the main body and both ports are open and a second folded position in which the microphone housing is at least partially in contact with the main body to generally close one of the ports” (abstract). See entire document.
Van Der Beek et al. (US-8467563-B2) discloses “A headset (1; 101; 102) comprising a housing (2; 102; 103) and a microphone arm (3; 103; 203). The microphone arm (3; 103; 203) is connected to a hinge member (4; 104; 204), which is pivotally connected to the housing (2; 102; 103) such that the microphone arm (3; 103; 203) can be rotated about a first pivot axis (P1; P101; P201) between a first position, in which it lies along a first surface (9; 109; 209) of the housing (2; 102; 202) and a second, extended position in which it extends away from the housing (3; 103; 203). The microphone arm (3; 103; 203) is movably connected to the hinge member (4; 104; 204) so that the microphone arm (3; 103; 203) can be moved into a third position, in which it lies along a second surface (10; 110; 210) of the housing (2; 102; 202)” (abstract). See entire document.
/THEODORE WITHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2655
/ANDREW C FLANDERS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655