DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-20 as filed 05/05/2026 are pending. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn-amended. Claims 1-17 are addressed on the merits. Claims 18-20 are not addressed, see Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103 and Response to Argument section(s).
Claim Objections
5. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 references the coupler system as “coupler system” in lieu of “the coupler system” which has been deemed inconsistent terminology. Examiner is assuming “The coupler system” was intended to be recited as is recited in the other claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claims 1-5, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin Yan-Liang (CN-111851865-A)(Herein Yin) in view of Lancelot III (US 5383740 A)
In regards to Claim 1, Yin discloses a coupler system [Abstract] for rebar (11,21), the coupler system [Abstract] comprising:
a rebar coupler [Fig 3] that includes a coupler body (3) [Fig 3], the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] including a hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion], and a first end (41) and a second end (51) that are open [Fig 3] to the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] to receive rebar (11,21) into opposing ends (41,51) [Fig 3] of the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] along a longitudinal axis (of 3);
the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] defining one or more grout ports (45,55) [Fig 3] that open [Fig 3] into the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion], including a first grout port (45) [Fig 3] on the first end (41) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3];
the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] including internal ribs (47,57) [Fig 4] that define cells (48,58 (sets)) [Fig 4] to engage grout [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 10] received within the coupler body (3) [Fig 3], the cells (48,58) [Fig 4] including:
a first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] adjacent to the first grout port (45) [Fig 3] on the first end (41) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] and defining a first volume to receive grout [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 10]; and
a second cell (48, remaining cells in set) [Fig 4] adjacent [Fig 4, see examiners comment] to the first cell (48) [Fig 4], located between the first cell (48) [Fig 4] and the second end (51) [Fig 4].
However, fails to disclose defining a second volume to receive grout, the first cell being radially wider than the second cell so that the first volume is larger than the second volume.
Furthermore, Lancelot III discloses
a second cell (48, remaining cells in set, Yin) [Fig 4] adjacent [Fig 4, see examiners comment, Yin] to the first cell (48, Yin) [Fig 4] and defining a second volume [Fig 3] to receive grout [Abstract], the first cell (48, Yin) [Fig 4] being radially wider [Fig 3] [Col 2, Lines 58-63, disclosing a taper] from the first end to the second end] than the second cell (48, remaining cells in set, Yin) [Fig 4] so that the first volume is larger than the second volume [Col 2, Lines 58-63, disclosing a taper, Interpreting meaning to be larger at the first end compared to the second end].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler system by Yin to further include a second cell adjacent to the first cell and defining a second volume to receive grout , the first cell being radially wider than the second cell so that the first volume is larger than the second volume as disclosed by Lancelot III. When modified, the first cell being radially wider with all limitations allow for a secured attachment between the first cell to the second cell, additionally, allowing for an extra load placement towards to the bottom (first cell).
In regards to Claim 2, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 1, wherein a first outer diameter [Fig 3, elements 43 and 53 showing wall] of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] along the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] is substantially equal [Shown, Fig 3] to a second outer diameter [Fig 3, elements 43 and 53 showing wall] along the second end (51) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3].
In regards to Claim 3, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 2, wherein a third outer diameter [Fig 3, elements 43 and 53 showing wall] of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] along the second cell (48, remaining cells in set) [Fig 4] is smaller than the second outer diameter [Fig 3, elements 43 and 53 showing wall].
In regards to Claim 4 as understood, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 1, wherein a first outer diameter [Fig 3, elements 43 and 53 showing wall] of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] along the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] is no wider [Figs 3-4, shown] than a second outer diameter [Fig 3, elements 43 and 53 showing wall] along the second end (51) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3].
In regards to Claim 5, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 1, wherein a first rib separates (47) [Fig 4] the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] from the second cell (48, remaining cells in set) [Fig 4]; and wherein the first grout port (45) [Fig 3] is on an opposite side of the first rib (47) [Fig 4] from the second cell (48, remaining cells in set) [Fig 4].
In regards to Claim 14, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 1, wherein the first grout port (45) [Fig 3] supports an outlet tube (44) that extends beyond the first end (41) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3].
In regards to Claim 15, Yin discloses a coupler system [Abstract] for rebar (11,21), the coupler system [Abstract] comprising:
a rebar (11,21) connection that includes a coupler body (3) [Fig 3] with a hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] and one or more grout ports (45,55) [Fig 3] that open [Fig 3] into the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion], including a first grout port (45) [Fig 3];
the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] defining cells (48,58 (sets)) to engage grout received within the coupler body (3) [Fig 3],
the cells (48,58 (sets)) [Fig 4] including a first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] at a first end (41) [Fig 4] of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] that defines a first volume to receive grout [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 10] and a second cell (48, remaining cells in set) [Fig 4] that is adjacent to the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] between the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] and a second end (51) [Fig 4] of the coupler [Abstract], and defines a second volume to receive grout [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 10]
the first grout port (45) [Fig 3] opening [Fig 3] into the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4]; and
However, Yin fails to disclose
the first cell being radially wider than the second cell so that the first volume is larger than the second volume.
Furthermore, Lancelot III discloses
the first cell (48, secondary cell in set only) [Fig 4] being radially wider [Fig 3] [Col 2, Lines 58-63, disclosing a taper]than the second cell (48, remaining cells in set) so that the first volume is larger than the second volume [Col 2, Lines 58-63, disclosing a taper, Interpreting meaning to be larger at the first end compared to the second end].
In regards to Claim 16, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 15. However, fails to disclose wherein the first volume is between 50% and 200% larger than the second volume, inclusive.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify coupler system of Yin to have a larger volume accessibility in order to have 50% to 200% more volume in the first volume comparatively to the second volume to provide additional surface area to better grip grout. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
20. Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Yin Yan-Liang (CN-111851865-A)(Herein Yin) in view of Lancelot III (US 5383740 A) and Albrigo et al. (US 5468524)(Herein Albrigo).
In regards to Claim 6, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 1, the second end (51) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3], the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3] and rebar (11,21) inserted into the first end (41) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose a stop assembly for prefabricated concrete construction, the stop assembly including: an anchor; and a stop body supported by the anchor, the anchor being secured to a concrete form and engaging the second end of the coupler body to secure the stop assembly to the coupler body, with the stop body supported within the hollow interior of the coupler body to provide a stop for a first length of rebar inserted into the first end of the coupler body.
Additionally, Albrigo discloses a stop assembly [Unnumbered, Figs 7-9] (see examiners comments) for prefabricated concrete construction [Fig 13] , the stop assembly including [Unnumbered, Figs 9]: an anchor (117) ; and a stop body (123) supported by the anchor (117), the anchor (117) being secured to a concrete form [Fig 7] and engaging the second end (51, Yin) of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] to secure the stop assembly to the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3], with the stop body (123) supported within the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion, Yin] of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] to provide a stop for a first length of rebar (11,21, Yin) inserted into the first end (41, Yin) of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler system as disclosed by Yin to further include a stop assembly wherein the stop assembly including: an anchor; and a stop body supported by the anchor, the anchor being secured to a concrete form and engaging the second end of the coupler body to secure the stop assembly to the coupler body, with the stop body supported within the hollow interior of the coupler body to provide a stop for a first length of rebar inserted into the first end of the coupler body. Once modified the stop assembly securely fastens the rod involved as well as sealing outside concrete from entering the sleeve requiring subsequent time consuming clean out and, since it may not be cleaned out perfectly, lessening the effectiveness of the splice as well as the rod and sleeve can easily sag or become misaligned so that two precast elements won't properly fit together and in any event making any joint formed less effective [See Albrigo Cols 1, Lines 61-67 and Col 2, Lines 1-6].
In regards to Claim 7, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system of Claim 6, Albrigo discloses wherein the anchor (117) includes a compressible grommet [123, stop body is a rubber grommet, see Col. 5, Lines 49-51] that engages the second end (51, Yin) of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] within the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion, Yin].
In regards to Claim 8, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 6, Albrigo discloses wherein the stop body (123) includes an enlarged diameter [Fig 7] at a free end that provides the stop [Fig 7] for the first length of rebar (11,21, Yin).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Yin Yan-Liang (CN-111851865-A)(Herein Yin) in view of Lancelot III (US 5383740 A) and Albrigo et al. (US 5468524)(Herein Albrigo).
In regards to Claim 17, Yin discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 15, coupler body (3) [Fig 3], the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion] of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3], a first length of rebar (11,21) inserted axially into the coupler body (3) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose a stop assembly for prefabricated concrete construction, the stop assembly including: an anchor; and a stop body supported by the anchor; the anchor being temporarily secured to a concrete form and removably engaging an interior diameter of an end of the coupler body to secure the stop assembly to the coupler body; and the stop body being supported within the hollow interior of the coupler body to provide a temporary stop for a first length of rebar inserted axially into the coupler body.
Additionally, Albrigo discloses a stop assembly [Unnumbered, Figs 7-9] (see examiners comments) for prefabricated concrete construction, the stop assembly [Unnumbered, Figs 9] including: an anchor (117); and a stop body (123) supported by the anchor (117); the anchor (117) being temporarily [Hand Knob (117), as understood is releasable] secured [Fig 7] to a concrete form and removably [Hand Knob (117), as understood is releasable] engaging an interior diameter [Fig 7] of an end of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] to secure the stop assembly [Unnumbered, Figs 9] to the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3]; and the stop body (123) being supported within the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion, Yin] of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] to provide a temporary stop [Col. 5, Lines 57-62] for a first length of rebar (11,21, Yin) inserted axially into the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler system as disclosed by Yin to further include a stop assembly for prefabricated concrete construction, the stop assembly including: an anchor; and a stop body supported by the anchor; the anchor being temporarily secured to a concrete form and removably engaging an interior diameter of an end of the coupler body to secure the stop assembly to the coupler body; and the stop body being supported within the hollow interior of the coupler body to provide a temporary stop for a first length of rebar inserted axially into the coupler body. Once modified the stop assembly securely fastens the rod involved as well as sealing outside concrete from entering the sleeve requiring subsequent time consuming clean out and, since it may not be cleaned out perfectly, lessening the effectiveness of the splice as well as the rod and sleeve can easily sag or become misaligned so that two precast elements won't properly fit together and in any event making any joint formed less effective [See Albrigo Cols 1, Lines 61-67 and Col 2, Lines 1-6].
21. Claim 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Yin Yan-Liang (CN-111851865-A)(Herein Yin) in view of Lancelot III (US 5383740 A) and Hope (US 4666326).
In regards to Claim 9, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system [Abstract] of claim 1, wherein the coupler body (3) [Fig 3], first length of rebar (11,21), a hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion], first end (41) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3], the hole toward the second end (51) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose a hole that receives a locking member into the coupler body to secure a first length of rebar within the hollow interior; and a set of pads arranged within the hollow interior to collectively align and support rebar engaged by the locking member, the set of pads including: a first pad spaced longitudinally apart from the hole toward the first end of the coupler body; and a second pad spaced longitudinally apart from the hole toward the second end of the coupler body.
Additionally, Hope discloses a hole (12) [Fig 3] [Col. 3 Lines 29-31] that receives a locking member (11) [Figs 2-3] into the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] to secure a first length of rebar (11,21, Yin) within the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion, Yin]; and a set of pads (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] arranged within the hollow interior [Fig 3, Shown Hollow for Bar Insertion, Yin] to collectively align and support rebar (11,21, Yin) engaged by the locking member (11) [Figs 2-3] , the set of pads (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] including: a first pad (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] spaced longitudinally apart from the hole toward the first end (41, Yin) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3]; and a second pad (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] spaced longitudinally apart from the hole toward the second end (51, Yin) of the coupler body (3) [Fig 3].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler system as disclosed by Yin to further include a hole that receives a locking member into the coupler body to secure a first length of rebar within the hollow interior; and a set of pads arranged within the hollow interior to collectively align and support rebar engaged by the locking member, the set of pads including: a first pad spaced longitudinally apart from the hole toward the first end of the coupler body; and a second pad spaced longitudinally apart from the hole toward the second end of the coupler body as disclosed by Hope. Once modified, the locking member is jammed against the rod securing the rod from any movement and furthermore, adding the element of the set of pads introduced an additional element of securing the rod within the coupler system [See Hope, Col 2, Lines 33-44].
In regards to Claim 10, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system of Claim 9, Hope discloses wherein the first pad (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] and the second pad (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] are formed as protruding ribs [Col 4, Lines 7-9].
In regards to Claim 11, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system of Claim 10, Hope discloses wherein the protruding ribs (15) [Fig 3] [Col 4, Lines 1-9] are elongate [Col 2, Lines 37-38] along a longitudinal direction [Fig 3] substantially parallel with the longitudinal axis [Fig 3].
In regards to Claim 12, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system of Claim 9, Hope discloses wherein top support surfaces [Fig 3] (see examiners comments) of the first (15) [Fig 3] and second pads (15) [Fig 3] extend non-radially [Fig 3, showing non radially] (see examiners comments) from an inner surface [Fig 3] of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3].
In regards to Claim 13, Yin as modified discloses the coupler system of Claim 9, Hope discloses wherein the hole is on the first end (41, Yin) of the coupler body (3, Yin) [Fig 3] and the first pad (15) [Fig 3] extends within the second cell (48, remaining cells in set) [Fig 4].
Examiners Comments
Albrigo, Figure 7
Yin, Figure 4
Hope, Figure 3
Response to Arguments
22. Objections to the Claims: Objection to claim 4 is maintained.
23. Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
In regards to Claim 1, Applicant Iterates Yin fails to teach the coupler system of Claim 1, including at least a first cell that is radially wider than a second cell as claimed. Applicant further iterates Yin teaches the opposite and teaches adjacent cells at both ends of the coupler 3a narrow in diameter. Further iterating the “first cell” is narrower than the “second cell” rather than wider.
In regards to arguments set by the applicant in regards to Claim 1, examiner response is as follows. Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are all addressed to the first cell being radially wider than the second cell of Yin, Yin is no longer relied upon and instead, this feature is being taught by Lancelot III (US 5383740 A) as outlined in the above. The additional limitation of a first cell adjacent to the first grout port on the first end of the coupler body and a second cell adjacent to the first cell, located between the first cell and the second end has necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Furthermore, in regards to Claim 15, Applicant Iterates recites limitations similar to those in the above (of independent claim 1) including to specify a first cell that is radially wider than a second cell, so that the first volume of the first cell is larger than a second volume of the second cell. Applicant further iterates claim 15 is patentable over Yin for similar reasons as listed in claim 1.
In regards to arguments set by the applicant in regards to Claim 1, examiner response is as follows. Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are all addressed to the first cell being radially wider than the second cell of Yin, Yin is no longer relied upon and instead, this feature is being taught by Lancelot III (US 5383740 A) as outlined in the above. The additional limitation of the cells including a first cell at a first end of the coupler body that defines a first volume, and a second cell that is adjacent to the first cell, between the first cell and a second end of the coupler, and defines a second volume to receive grout, and the first cell being radially wider than the second cell has necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Furthermore, in regards to Claims 18-20, applicant iterates claims 18-20 are currently withdrawn, but independent claim 18 is amended to include all limitations of claim 1, which is allowable as set forth above. Thus Claim 18 is believed to be in condition for rejoinder and allowance.
In regards to arguments set by the applicant in regards to Claim 18-20, examiner response is as follows. Applicant’s arguments have been considered however are moot. Independent Claims 1 and 15 are rejected as set forth in the above (see 103 rejections). Amended claims 18-20 as previously withdrawn are not in condition for rejoinder.
Conclusion
22. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635