DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Drawings
Figure 10 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamasa et al.
For claim 1, Yamasa et al. (2005/0003158) disclose a glass run (FIG.2) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass,
the glass run comprising: a sealing member (14) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass (3),
wherein the bottom wall (21) has a door glass lip (253) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the bottom wall, and
the door glass lip (253) is harder than the bottom wall ([0021-0022], [0110-0111]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Murree et al.
For claim 1, Murree et al. (9027284) disclose a glass run (FIG.2) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass (14),
the glass run comprising: a sealing member (26) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass (14),
wherein the bottom wall has a door glass lip (62) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the bottom wall, and
the door glass lip (62) includes a coating of “flocking material 60” thereon which is polyethylene or another low friction material and is harder than the bottom wall (where a PHOSITA understands that polyethylene is harder than EPDM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasa et al.
For claim 2, Yamasa et al. (2005/0003158) disclose a glass run (FIG.2) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising: a sealing member (14) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass (3).
Yamasa et al. further provide a door glass lip (253) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the bottom wall.
Yamasa et al. fail to disclose a door glass bulge interposed between the bottom wall and the door glass lip.
However, Yamasa et al. teach a door glass bulge (255) which is interposed between a side wall and a door glass lip (252), with the door glass bulge (255) is harder than the side wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a door glass bulge as taught by Yamasa et al. between the bottom wall and the door glass lip (253) in order to prevent these components from sticking and creating a noise when separated.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006-93053 in view of JP 2018-192933 (JP 933).
For claim 3, JP 2006-193053 (JP 053) discloses a glass run (FIG.3) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising:
a sealing member (as seen below, left) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass, wherein the bottom wall has a door glass lip (21) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the bottom wall.
JP 053 lacks the bottom wall have a hard portion, a feature taught by JP 933 (below, right).
JP ‘933 teaches a glass run with a hard portion (26) at a portion in contact with the door glass lip, the hard portion being harder than the side wall.
JP 2018-192933 (JP 933) discloses a glass run (FIG.1) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising:
a sealing member (FIG.1) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass, wherein the side wall has a door glass lip (21a) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the side wall, and the side wall has a hard portion (26) at a portion in contact with the door glass lip, the hard portion being harder than the side wall except for the portion in contact with the door glass lip.
The hard portion (hard part 26) is made of hard synthetic rubber or olefin-based synthetic resin such as polypropylene or polyethylene. The hard part acts such that no collision noise is made even when a door glass is elevated or lowered and such that air resistance and wind noise are reduced.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the bottom wall of JP 053 with a hard part as taught by JP 933 in order to reduce collision noise when a door glass is elevated or lowered as well as reduce wind noise.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murree et al. in view of Yamasa et al. (2005/0003158).
For claim 2, Murree et al. ‘284 disclose a glass run (FIG.2) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass (14), the glass run comprising: a sealing member (26) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass; and a door glass lip (62) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the bottom wall (FIG.2).
Murree et al. fail to disclose a door glass bulge or hard portion at the bottom wall and interposed between the bottom wall and the door glass lip.
Yamasa et al. ‘158 teach a door glass bulge (255) which is at a side wall and interposed between the side wall and a door glass lip (252), with the door glass bulge (255) is harder than the side wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a door glass bulge as taught by Yamasa et al. at the bottom wall of Murree et al. and positioned between the bottom wall and the door glass lip (62) of Murree et al. in order to prevent the lip from sticking to the bottom wall thereby reducing noise created when the lip and wall is separated.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al.
For claim 1, Shimizu et al. (2024/0208310) disclose a glass run (FIG.6) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising:
a sealing member that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass, wherein the side wall has a door glass lip (31) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the side wall, and the side wall has a hard portion (35) at a portion in contact with the door glass lip, the hard portion being harder than the side wall except for the portion in contact with the door glass lip.
Shimizu et al. further disclose a door glass lip (22) extending from the bottom wall.
Shimizu et al. lack only that the hard portion being located with the bottom wall for engagement with the bottom wall door glass lip.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the hard portion of Shimizu et al. repositioned along the bottom wall to cooperate with the bottom wall door glass lip (22) instead of the side wall as an obvious expedient and simple substitution which would perform equally well and not change the use of the device or produce an unexpected result.
The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR, 550 US at 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR) supports this rationale of a simple substitution.
Courts have recognized that it would have been obvious to substitute one known element for another that performs the same function, where the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See, e.g., Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 1344 (Fed. Circ. 2008) (concluding that the claims were obvious, noting that “[t]he asserted claims simply substitute a resistive electrical switch for the mechanical pressure switch").
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006-93053 in view of JP 2018-192933 (JP 933) and JP 2002-240649 (JP 649).
For claim 4, JP 2006-193053 (JP 053) discloses a glass run (FIG.3) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising:
a sealing member (as seen below, left) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass, wherein the bottom wall has a door frame lip (27) which protrudes from a door frame surface of the bottom wall.
JP 053 lacks a door frame bulge which bulges out from the door frame surface of the bottom wall interposed between the bottom wall and the door frame lip, the bulge being harder than the bottom wall. JP 933 (below, right) teaches this feature.
JP ‘933 teaches the use and desirability of a glass run with a hard portion (26) at a portion in contact with a lip, the hard portion being harder than the side wall.
JP 2018-192933 (JP 933) discloses a glass run (FIG.1) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising:
a sealing member (FIG.1) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass, wherein the side wall has a door glass lip (21a) which protrudes from a door glass surface of the side wall, and the side wall has a hard portion (26) at a portion in contact with the door glass lip, the hard portion being harder than the side wall except for the portion in contact with the door glass lip.
The hard portion (hard part 26) is made of hard synthetic rubber or olefin-based synthetic resin such as polypropylene or polyethylene. The hard part acts such that no collision noise is made even when a door glass is elevated or lowered and such that air resistance and wind noise are reduced.
JP 649 teaches a hard portion (rigid projection 8) which bulges outward to stiffen the structure and provide rigidity thereto to prevent deformation due to bending of the sealing unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a hard portion (26) of JP 933 bulging as taught by JP 649 for use at the door frame surface and interposed between the lip and bottom wall of JP 053 in order to provide the glass run thereof with stiffness (JP 649) and noise reduction from wind (JP 933) at that location. Substituting the hard portion at the door frame surface of the bottom wall would provide the same features of the glass run at that location and constitutes a simple substitution because it would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR, 550 US at 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR) supports this rationale of a simple substitution. Courts have recognized that it would have been obvious to substitute one known element for another that performs the same function, where the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See, e.g., Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 1344 (Fed. Circ. 2008) (concluding that the claims were obvious, noting that “[t]he asserted claims simply substitute a resistive electrical switch for the mechanical pressure switch").
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mine in view of Yamasa et al. ‘158.
For claim 1, Mine (2012/0079772) discloses a glass run (FIG.5) having a basic framework with a bottom wall, a vehicle outer side wall, and a vehicle inner side wall, the basic framework being attached to a door frame and having an opening which receives a door glass, the glass run comprising:
a sealing member (62) that seals between a vehicle inner side and a vehicle outer side of the door glass, wherein the bottom wall has a door frame lip (100) which protrudes from a door frame surface of the bottom wall.
Mine lacks a door frame bulge which bulges out from the door frame surface of the bottom wall to the door frame, and the door frame bulge is harder than the bottom wall and interposed between the bottom wall and the door frame lip.
Yamasa et al. ‘158 teach a door glass bulge (255) which is at a side wall and interposed between the side wall and a door glass lip (252), with the door glass bulge (255) being harder than the side wall. Providing the bulge between the lip and wall allows for a reduction in noise when the lip and wall are separated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a door glass bulge as taught by Yamasa et al. at the bottom wall of Murree et al. and positioned between the bottom wall and the door frame lip (100) of Murree et al. in order to prevent the lip from sticking to the bottom wall thereby reducing noise created when the lip and wall is separated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2012-153278 discloses a glass run having hard parts (21,22, as seen below, left).
JP 4548458 discloses a glass run with a hard part (35) as a base portion (below, right).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B