Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 20240137372 to Leung in view of US 20190098037 to Shenoy in view of US 20210352077 to Benedetti.
Regarding claim 1, Leung teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
obtaining data pertaining to one or more activities performed by at least one user acting in connection with at least one granted set of local administrator rights (LAR) (abstract, ¶ 57, obtaining data pertaining to activity of user associated with admin rights);
classifying the one or more activities into one or more security risk-based categories by processing at least a portion of the obtained data (abstract, ¶ 2-6, ¶ 55-57, classification of security risk);
Leung fails to teach but Shenoy teaches:
determining one or more security-related recommendations based at least in part on the classifying of the one or more activities into the one or more security risk-based categories; and performing at least one automated action based at least in part on at least a portion of the one or more security-related recommendations; wherein the method is performed by at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory (¶ 48, determination of security recommendation and automated remediation actions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Shenoy. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Shenoy would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating network threat detection and remediation (Shenoy, ¶ 47-48).
Leung fails to teach but Benedetti teaches:
wherein performing at least one automated action comprises automatically revoking one or more LAR access privileges from the at least one set of LAR granted to the at least one user (¶ 29-36, revocation of local admin rights granted to user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Benedetti. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Benedetti would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating access management and governance processes (Benedetti, ¶ 29).
Regarding claim 2, 11, 17,
Leung teaches:
wherein classifying the one or more activities into one or more security risk-based categories comprises processing at least a portion of the obtained data using at least one machine learning-based outlier detection model (¶ 60-61).
Regarding claim 5, 13, 19,
Leung teaches:
wherein determining one or more security-related recommendations comprises processing the at least a portion of the obtained data (¶ 57, processing data such as signature, timestamp, classification) in conjunction with historical data associated with actions performed in response to one or more activities classified into the one or more security risk-based categories (¶ 57, processing data such as signature, timestamp, classification in conjunction with historical data regarding actions such as the generation of alerts issued in response to activities classified as security risks).
Regarding claim 6,
Leung fails to teach but Shenoy teaches:
wherein determining one or more security-related recommendations comprises ranking the one or more security-related recommendations based at least in part on a predicted security-related benefit corresponding with each of the one or more security-related recommendations (¶ 168, ranking security recommendations by risk level, priority, etc.). Motivation to include Shenoy is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 7, 14, 20,
Leung teaches:
wherein obtaining data pertaining to one or more activities performed by the at least one user acting in connection with at least one granted set of LAR comprises obtaining one or more of application usage information, operating system logs, user activity logs, and system configuration data (¶ 57, 60, logging of user activity).
Regarding claim 8,
Leung teaches:
wherein obtaining data pertaining to one or more activities performed by the at least one user acting in connection with at least one granted set of LAR comprises querying one or more event logs for data associated with one or more particular events (¶ 38, 46-47; ¶ 57, retrieval of data pertaining to activities of user associated with local admin rights).
Regarding claim 9, 15,
Leung teaches:
wherein performing at least one automated action comprises automatically initiating at least one of blocking one or more predefined user actions, blocking one or more device transmission packets, adjusting one or more LAR access privileges within the at least one set of LAR granted to the at least one user, and implementing one or more additional security measures, separate from the at least one granted set of LAR, with respect to the at least one user (¶ 40).
Claims 10 and 16 are addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Claims 3, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Leung, Shenoy, and Benedetti in view of US 20250086095 to Miranda.
Regarding claim 3, 12, 18,
Leung fails to teach but Miranda teaches:
training the at least one machine learning-based outlier detection model using data pertaining to one or more functional security-related requirements, data pertaining to one or more non-functional security-related requirements, and historical data associated with activities performed by one or more additional users relevant to the at least one user (¶ 18-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of . The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Miranda would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating anomaly detection (Miranda, ¶ 31, 38-41).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Leung, Shenoy, Benedetti, and Miranda, in view of US 11,314,576 to Baldassarre.
Regarding claim 4,
Leung fails to teach but Baldassarre teaches:
wherein performing at least one automated action comprises re-training the at least one machine learning-based outlier detection model based at least in part on feedback related to the at least a portion of the one or more security-related recommendations (col. 16:26-67, claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Baldassarre. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Baldassarre would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating the identification of fault events (col. 16:25-67).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445