Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 13, 15, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0016860.
Fan teaches:
[Claim 1] An information processing apparatus comprising: processing circuitry:
to predict as a prediction parameter value, a future parameter value of each of a plurality of types of time synchronization parameters each of which is used for time synchronization calculation which is calculation for synchronizing times of two devices (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]);
when a measured parameter value which is a measured value corresponding to the prediction parameter value is generated with elapse of time, to calculate as a prediction error, a difference between the measured parameter value and the prediction parameter value, for each of the time synchronization parameters (obtaining a delay prediction value of the target link, [0006]);
to calculate an abnormality degree indicating possibility that an abnormality is included in the measured parameter value, using the prediction error, for each of the time synchronization parameters (the second timestamp difference is compensated for based on the timestamp difference and time synchronization is performed based on these values, [0006]); and
to present the plurality of types of time synchronization parameters in descending order of the abnormality degree (multiple delay prediction values are computed, [0020], the order of presentation is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
[Claim 5] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is connected to the two devices through a network (see Fig. 1), and
each of the time synchronization parameters is either a time in a selection device which is one device selected from the two devices, a propagation delay between the selection device and the information processing apparatus, a clock ratio between the selection device and the information processing apparatus, or a retention time of a communication frame in the selection device (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]).
[Claim 7] An information processing apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry:
to predict as a prediction parameter value, a future parameter value of each of a plurality of types of time synchronization parameters each of which is used for time synchronization calculation which is calculation for synchronizing times of two devices (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]);
when a measured parameter value which is a measured value corresponding to the prediction parameter value is generated with elapse of time, to calculate as a prediction error, a difference between the measured parameter value and the prediction parameter value, for each of the time synchronization parameters (obtaining a delay prediction value of the target link, [0006], Fan);
to calculate an abnormality degree indicating possibility that an abnormality is included in the measured parameter value, using the prediction error, for each of the time synchronization parameters (the second timestamp difference is compensated for based on the timestamp difference and time synchronization is performed based on these values, [0006]); and
to specify a time synchronization parameter having the maximum abnormality degree as an abnormality inclusion time synchronization parameter, based on an assumption that an abnormality is included in a measured parameter value of a time synchronization parameter having the maximum abnormality degree among the plurality of types of time synchronization parameters, and to estimate a cause of the abnormality assumed to be included in the measured parameter value of the abnormality inclusion time synchronization parameter (multiple delay prediction values are computed, [0020], the order of presentation is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
[Claim 13] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the information processing apparatus is a monitoring apparatus that monitors communication between the two devices (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]).
[Claim 15] The information processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the information processing apparatus is a monitoring apparatus that monitors communication between the two devices (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]).
[Claim 16] An information processing method comprising:
predicting as a prediction parameter value, a future parameter value of each of a plurality of types of time synchronization parameters each of which is used for time synchronization calculation which is calculation for synchronizing times of two devices (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]);
when a measured parameter value which is a measured value corresponding to the prediction parameter value is generated with elapse of time, calculating as a prediction error, a difference between the measured parameter value and the prediction parameter value, for each of the time synchronization parameters (obtaining a delay prediction value of the target link, [0006]);
calculating an abnormality degree indicating possibility that an abnormality is included in the measured parameter value, using the prediction error, for each of the time synchronization parameters (the second timestamp difference is compensated for based on the timestamp difference and time synchronization is performed based on these values); and
presenting the plurality of types of time synchronization parameters in descending order of the abnormality degree (multiple delay prediction values are computed, [0020], the order of presentation is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
[Claim 17] A non-transitory computer readable medium storing an information processing program causing a computer to execute:
a parameter value prediction process to predict as a prediction parameter value, a future parameter value of each of a plurality of types of time synchronization parameters each of which is used for time synchronization calculation which is calculation for synchronizing times of two devices (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006]);
a prediction error calculation process, when a measured parameter value which is a measured value corresponding to the prediction parameter value is generated with elapse of time, to calculate as a prediction error, a difference between the measured parameter value and the prediction parameter value, for each of the time synchronization parameters (obtaining a delay prediction value of the target link, [0006]);
an abnormality degree calculation process to calculate an abnormality degree indicating possibility that an abnormality is included in the measured parameter value, using the prediction error, for each of the time synchronization parameters (the second timestamp difference is compensated for based on the timestamp difference and time synchronization is performed based on these values, [0006]); and
a presentation process to present the plurality of types of time synchronization parameters in descending order of the abnormality degree (multiple delay prediction values are computed, [0020], the order of presentation is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huawei, European Patent Application EP 4,109,788.
Huawei teaches:
[Claim 3] An information processing apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry:
to predict as a prediction parameter value, a future parameter value of each of a plurality of types of time synchronization parameters each of which is used for time synchronization calculation which is calculation for synchronizing times of two devices (delay prediction value of the target link is obtained and the second timestamp difference obtained through packet selection is compensated for based on the delay prediction value, [0008]); and
when a measured parameter value which is a measured value corresponding to the prediction parameter value is generated with elapse of time, to calculate as a prediction error, a difference between the measured parameter value and the prediction parameter value, for each of the time synchronization parameters (delay prediction value of the target link is obtained and the second timestamp difference obtained through packet selection is compensated for based on the delay prediction value, [0008]);
wherein the measured parameter value of each of the time synchronization parameters is generated at a generation timing that repeatedly arrives (synchronization module performs loop filtering on the compensated timestamp difference by using the loop filter to obtain a second frequency of phase adjustment value, [0020]), and the processing circuitry predicts for each of time synchronization parameters, n (n≥1) prediction parameter values of n future generation timings, based on m (m≥1) measured parameter values of m past generation timings, using a learning model obtained by machine learning (online learning is used to determine a timestamp difference sequence and delay-related network parameter data, delays at moments t, t+1, t+2, . . ., are learned based on delays at moments t-n, t-n+1, . . ., [0067] – [0069]).
[Claim 6] The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the information processing apparatus is connected to the two devices through a network (see Fig. 1, Huawei), and
each of the time synchronization parameters is either a time in a selection device which is one device selected from the two devices, a propagation delay between the selection device and the information processing apparatus, a clock ratio between the selection device and the information processing apparatus, or a retention time of a communication frame in the selection device (delay prediction value of the target link is obtained and the second timestamp difference obtained through packet selection is compensated for based on the delay prediction value, [0008]).
[Claim 14] The information processing apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the information processing apparatus is a monitoring apparatus that monitors communication between the two devices (delay prediction value of the target link is obtained and the second timestamp difference obtained through packet selection is compensated for based on the delay prediction value, [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grantcharov, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0076966.
Fan teaches a method of synchronizing transmission timings in a communications network. Fan does not teach utilizing a threshold to determine an abnormality. However, Grantcharov teaches utilizing a threshold for determining abnormalities. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Fan to incorporate the known technique of utilizing thresholds as taught by Grantcharov in order to obtain the predictable result of avoiding insignificant data changes.
The combination teaches:
[Claim 2] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry emphatically presents a time synchronization parameter whose abnormality degree is equal to or greater than a threshold value, among the plurality of types of time synchronization parameters (abnormally-related durations of time during which the data values are greater or lower than a pre-defined threshold, [0007], Grantcharov).
[Claim 8] The information processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
the information processing apparatus is connected to the two devices through a network (see Fig. 1, Fan),
the plurality of types of time synchronization parameters includes a time in a selection device which is one device selected from the two devices, a propagation delay between the selection device and the information processing apparatus, a clock ratio between the selection device and the information processing apparatus, and a retention time of a communication frame in the selection device (multiple delay prediction values are computed, [0020], Fan),
when the time in the selection device is specified as the abnormality inclusion time synchronization parameter, the processing circuitry estimates that the selection device is the cause of the abnormality (obtain a first timestamp difference where the first timestamp difference is a difference between a sending timestamp and a receiving timestamp, [0006], Fan),
when the propagation delay between the selection device and the information processing apparatus is specified as the abnormality inclusion time synchronization parameter, the processing circuitry estimates that either a transmission path from the selection device to the information processing apparatus or the information processing apparatus itself is the cause of the abnormality (abnormally-related durations of time during which the data values are greater or lower than a pre-defined threshold, [0007], Grantcharov), when the clock ratio between the selection device and the information processing apparatus is specified as the abnormality inclusion time synchronization parameter, the processing circuitry estimates that either an oscillator in the selection device, an oscillator in the information processing apparatus, or an oscillator in a communication device included in the transmission path from the selection device to the information processing apparatus is the cause of the abnormality (noise is related to crystal oscillator, [0008], Fan), and
when the retention time of the communication frame in the selection device is specified as the abnormality inclusion time synchronization parameter, the processing circuitry estimates that the selection device is the cause of the abnormality (abnormally-related durations of time during which the data values are greater or lower than a pre-defined threshold, [0007], Grantcharov).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Grantcharov, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0076966.
Huawei teaches a method of synchronizing transmission timings in a communications network. Huawei does not teach utilizing a threshold to determine an abnormality. However, Grantcharov teaches utilizing a threshold for determining abnormalities. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Huawei to incorporate the known technique of utilizing thresholds as taught by Grantcharov in order to obtain the predictable result of avoiding insignificant data changes.
The combination teaches:
[Claim 4] The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the processing circuitry calculates as the prediction error, a mean absolute error between the n prediction parameter values and n measured parameter values obtained with elapse of time and corresponding to the n prediction parameter values, for each of time synchronization parameters (different statistical data was calculated, [0155], Grantcharov), and
the processing circuitry calculates for each of time synchronization parameters, an abnormality degree indicating possibility that at least one measured parameter value among the n measured parameter values is an abnormality value, using the prediction error (abnormally-related durations of time during which the data values are greater or lower than a pre-defined threshold, [0007], Grantcharov).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan in view of Grantcharov as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Chapman, U.S. Patent No. 7,394,830.
Fan in view of Grantcharov teaches a time synchronization method in a communications system utilizing threshold values to avoid trivial changes. The combination does not teach selecting a new device for a time reading. Chapman teaches utilizing a new device for a time reading. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the combination of Fan in view of Grantcharov incorporate the known technique of selecting a new timing source as taught by Chapman in order to obtain the predictable result of error reduction.
The combination teaches:
[Claim 9] The information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein
when the selection device is estimated to be the cause of the abnormality, the processing circuitry selects as a new selection device, another device which has not been selected as the selection device among the two devices (when a timestamp is not within a predetermined range, a new device is selected, claim 9, Chapman).
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Shibata, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0134387.
Fan teaches a time-synchronization method in a communications system. Fan does not teach utilizing a transmission frame. However, Shibata teaches utilizing a transmission frame. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Fan to incorporate the known technique of utilizing a transmission frame as taught by Shibata in order to comply with networking standards.
The combination teaches:
[Claim 10] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the information processing apparatus is a relay apparatus that relays between the two devices, a communication frame to be communicated between the two devices for the time synchronization calculation (transmission frame contains time synchronization packet, claim 17, Shibata).
[Claim 12] The information processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the information processing apparatus is a relay apparatus that relays between the two devices, a communication frame to be communicated between the two devices for the time synchronization calculation (transmission frame contains time synchronization packet, claim 17, Shibata).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shibata, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0134387.
Huawei teaches a time-synchronization method in a communications system. Huawei does not teach utilizing a transmission frame. However, Shibata teaches utilizing a transmission frame. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Huawei to incorporate the known technique of utilizing a transmission frame as taught by Shibata in order to comply with networking standards.
The combination teaches:
[Claim 11] The information processing apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the information processing apparatus is a relay apparatus that relays between the two devices, a communication frame to be communicated between the two devices for the time synchronization calculation (transmission frame contains time synchronization packet, claim 17, Shibata).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463