DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “interface portion is configured in an application-specific manner by selecting at least one of the outer interface contact, the interface insulator and the elongated inner interface contact from a plurality of available respective components such that the interface portion has an application-specific interface geometry in terms of at least one of shape and dimensions so as to enter into a mechanical and electrical connection with an application-specific mating plug connector from a plurality of possible mating plug connectors”, as claimed in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7, and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4 line 1, the phrase “claim 1” should read --claim 3--, since claim 4 modifies the locking frame that is first introduced in claim 3. In claim 7 lines 2-3, the phrase “as first projection” should read -as the first projection--. In claim 13 line 1, the phrase “claim 1” should read --claim 10--, since claim 14, which depends on claim 13, modifies both the method of claim 13 and the third opening which is first introduced in claim 10. Claims 14-15 include the limitations of claim 13 and are objected to for the same reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aboulkassem et al. (2023/0155326).
With regard to claim 1, Aboulkassem teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “A coaxial plug connector 1, comprising: a cable portion (right end of 1 in figure 3) and an interface portion (left end of 1 in figure 3), wherein the cable portion 23 has an outer cable contact (right end of 13 in figure 3), a cable insulator (right end of 7 in figure 4) and an elongated inner cable contact (right end of 5 in figure 3), the cable insulator 7 is arranged in the outer cable contact, the inner cable contact is spaced apart from the outer cable contact 13 by the cable insulator 7, and the inner cable contact is to be electrically connected to a cable 4; wherein the interface portion comprises an outer interface contact (left end of 13 in figure 3), an interface insulator (left end of 7 in figure 4) and an elongated inner interface contact (left end of 7 in figure 3), the interface insulator is arranged in the outer interface contact and the inner interface contact is spaced apart from the outer interface contact by the interface insulator, wherein the inner interface contact is accommodated in a central recess (where the inner interface contact is disposed in figure 4) in the interface insulator, wherein the inner interface contact has at least one radially outwardly projecting latching tab 65, and wherein the inner interface contact is supported in a latching manner by the latching tab 65 on an outer surface of the cable insulator facing the interface portion”.
With regard to claim 2, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the latching tab 65 is arranged at a distance from the interface insulator”.
With regard to claim 5, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein at least one of the following conditions applies: - at least one radially outwardly projecting first projection (shown below) is formed on the inner interface contact which bears against an inner surface of the interface insulator under mechanical prestress, - at least one radially inwardly projecting second projection is formed on the interface insulator which bears against an outer surface of the inner interface contact under mechanical prestress”.
With regard to claim 7, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein a radially outwardly projecting embossing is formed on the inner interface contact as first projection”.
With regard to claim 8, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein a radially outwardly projecting fold is formed on the inner interface contact as first projection”.
With regard to claim 13, Aboulkassem teaches: “A method of manufacturing a coaxial plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the method comprises: providing the outer cable contact, the cable insulator, the elongated inner cable contact, the outer interface contact, the interface insulator and the elongated inner interface contact; inserting and latching the inner interface contact on the cable insulator; attaching the outer interface contact to the outer cable contact; inserting the interface insulator into the outer interface contact; inserting the inner interface contact, optionally together with the cable insulator attached thereto, into an inner volume in the outer cable contact; inserting the inner cable contact together with a cable 4 connected thereto into the cable insulator accommodated in the outer cable contact and bringing the inner cable contact into contact with the inner interface contact”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboulkassem et al. (2023/0155326) in view of ‘02423 (DE202022102423U1).
With regard to claim 3, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cable insulator has, on the outer surface facing the interface portion in an area laterally adjacent to the latching tab 65”.
Aboulkassem does not teach: “at least one locking frame projecting towards the interface portion which adjoins the latching tab on at least two opposite sides, so that the latching tab is locked on three sides”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, ‘02423 teaches, as shown in figures 1-5: “at least one locking frame 14 and 13 projecting towards the interface portion 6 which adjoins the latching tab 12 on at least two opposite sides, so that the latching tab 12 is locked on three sides (left, right, and upward directions in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of ‘02423 with the invention of Aboulkassem in order to hold the cable portion in place (‘02423 page 5 lines 7-14).
With regard to claim 4, Aboulkassem as modified by ‘02423 teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘02423 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-5: “wherein the locking frame also adjoins the latching tab 12 from radially outside, so that the latching tab 12 is locked on four sides (left, right, upward, and out of the figure directions in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of ‘02423 with the invention of Aboulkassem as modified by ‘02423 in order to hold the cable portion in place (‘02423 page 5 lines 7-14).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboulkassem et al. (2023/0155326).
With regard to claim 6, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: wherein an… connection is established by a least one of elastic and plastic material displacement at least one of between the first projection and the inner surface of the interface insulator”.
Aboulkassem does not teach forming an inseparable connection or the connection also “between the second projection and the outer surface of the inner interface contact”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the projection so there is a projection on the interface insulator bearing against the inner interface contact in order to better hold the contact. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connection between the inner interface contact and the interface insulator permanent in order to solidly hold the interface insulator and inner interface contact in place.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboulkassem et al. (2023/0155326) in view of Kirschner et al. (2022/0006235).
With regard to claim 9, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem does not teach the projection radially inwardly projecting from the interface insulator. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the projection to be on the interface insulator in order to hold the inner interface contact in position.
Aboulkassem also does not teach the projection being a crush rib. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a crush rib as the projection in order to effectively retain the inner interface contact (Kirschner, paragraph 36).
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboulkassem et al. (2023/0155326) in view of Wendling et al. (6,893,291).
With regard to claim 10, Aboulkassem teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the outer cable contact has a first opening (right end of the outer cable contact in figure 3), a second opening (left end of the outer cable contact in figure 3)… wherein the first opening is arranged on an end face of the outer cable contact, wherein the second opening is arranged on the outer cable contact at a distance from the first opening”.
Aboulkassem does not teach: “and a third opening… and wherein the third opening is formed and arranged on a circumferential surface of the outer cable contact in such a way that, during the assembly process, the cable insulator may be inserted through the third opening into an inner volume in the outer cable contact”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Wendling teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “and a third opening 140… and wherein the third opening 140 is formed and arranged on a circumferential surface of the outer cable contact 102 in such a way that, during the assembly process, the cable insulator 124 may be inserted through the third opening 140 into an inner volume in the outer cable contact 102”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wendling with the invention of Aboulkassem in order to more easily assembly the outer conductor (Wendling, column 4 lines 21-29).
With regard to claim 11, Aboulkassem as modified by Wendling teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 10”, as shown above.
Wendling also teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “wherein the third opening 140 is closed by a cover 114”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wendling with the invention of Aboulkassem as modified by Wendling in order to more easily assembly the outer conductor (Wendling, column 4 lines 21-29).
With regard to claim 12, Aboulkassem as modified by Wendling teaches: “The coaxial plug connector according to claim 10”, as shown above.
Wendling also teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “wherein the second opening (where 104 extends through 112 in figure 1) and the third opening 140 lie opposite one another”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wendling with the invention of Aboulkassem as modified by Wendling in order to more easily assembly the outer conductor (Wendling, column 4 lines 21-29).
With regard to claim 14, Aboulkassem teaches: “The method according to claim 13”, as shown above.
Aboulkassem does not teach: “wherein the method comprises: inserting the inner interface contact together with the cable insulator attached thereto through the third opening of the outer cable contact into the inner volume in the outer cable contact”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Wendling teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “wherein the method comprises: inserting the inner interface contact 104 together with the cable insulator 124 attached thereto through the third opening 140 of the outer cable contact 102 into the inner volume in the outer cable contact 102”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wendling with the invention of Aboulkassem in order to more easily assembly the outer conductor (Wendling, column 4 lines 21-29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831