DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto (JP 2019-42192).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamoto disclose a club head having a striking face 1-2, topline 6, sole 5, heel, toe, hosel 7, back wall 1-1, weight member 10, and fastener 11. The back wall extends in a heel-toe direction and includes an elongated channel in the same direction as the back wall. The weight member is located in the elongated channel wherein, in an unlock configuration, the weight is permitted to move within the elongated channel, and, in a locked configuration, the fastener prevents movement of the weight member within the elongated channel (See Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Sakamoto discloses an opening 2-1 in communication with the elongated channel wherein the opening is configured to allow a tool to engage the fastener.
Regarding claim 5, Sakamoto discloses a plurality of the openings set forth above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Sakamoto discloses the back wall having slots on the toe and heels ends wherein the weight member is removeable through (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claim 1. In addition, Sakamoto discloses the weight being positioned at various locations within the elongated channel (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 10, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto (JP ) in view of Ye (CN 109126070).
Regarding claim 2, Sakamoto does not disclose the if the weight member has a threaded interior. Ye discloses a club head having a weight member in the back wall secured by a fastener. Figure 5 of Ye shows the fastener having a threaded exterior and the weight member having a threaded interior. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the fastener and the interior of the weight member threaded, as taught by Ye, in order to secure the weight member to the club head.
Regarding claim 9, Sakamoto does not disclose the elongated channel in the rearmost portion of the back wall. Ye discloses a club head having an elongated channel within the rearmost portion of the back wall (See Figures 2 and 3). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the elongated channel in the rearmost portion of the back wall, as taught by Ye, in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head.
Regarding claim 10, Sakamoto discloses a plurality of the discrete openings in an elongated channel, however, the elongated channel is not on the rearmost portion of the back wall. Ye discloses a club head having an elongated channel within the rearmost portion of the back wall (See Figures 2 and 3). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the elongated channel in the rearmost portion of the back wall, as taught by Ye, in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head. Based on the combination, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the openings in the elongated channel in order to secure the weight member to the elongated channel.
Regarding claim 14, see the above regarding claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12527997 in view of Sakamoto (JP 2019-42192). US Patent 12527997 claims a striking face, elongate channel, weight member, and fastener but does not claim a topline, heel, toe, hosel and the elongate channel in a back wall. Sakamoto discloses an iron-type club head having a striking face, topline, toe, heel, hosel, and back wall wherein an elongate channel is within the back wall in which a weight member is inserted. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the above configuration, as taught by Sakamoto, in order to make an adjustable weighted iron-type club head.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 11, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 18 of U.S. Application. 18/422621 in view of Sakamoto (JP 2019-42192). US Application 18/422621 claims a striking face, elongate channel, weight member, and fastener but does not claim a topline, heel, toe, hosel and the elongate channel in a back wall. Sakamoto discloses an iron-type club head having a striking face, topline, toe, heel, hosel, and back wall wherein an elongate channel is within the back wall in which a weight member is inserted. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the above configuration, as taught by Sakamoto, in order to make an adjustable weighted iron-type club head.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 11, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11925841 in view of Sakamoto (JP 2019-42192). US Patent 11925841 claims a striking face, elongate channel, weight member, and fastener but does not claim a topline, heel, toe, hosel and the elongate channel in a back wall. Sakamoto discloses an iron-type club head having a striking face, topline, toe, heel, hosel, and back wall wherein an elongate channel is within the back wall in which a weight member is inserted. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the above configuration, as taught by Sakamoto, in order to make an adjustable weighted iron-type club head.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 8, and 16-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711