DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/583246 filed on 02/21/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for priority based on application filed on UNITED KINGDOM GB2112044.9 (08/23/2021) and UNITED KINGDOM GB2211217.1 (08/01/2022). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1).
As per claim 1, URIE discloses “A method performed by a near real time (near-RT)-radio access network (RAN) intelligence controller (RIC), the method comprising:” as [(fig. 9), NEAR-RT RIC. (par. 0053), FIG. 9 illustrates an example of RIC services corresponding to a POLICY service.] “generating a control message for E2 service model (SM) providing one or more RAN functions associated with cell configuration and control;” [(par. 0053), FIG. 9 illustrates an example of RIC services corresponding to a POLICY service. The E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the policy defined by the near-RT RIC in the RIC subscription procedure. (par. 0053), the E2 node may detect an RIC event trigger, after which at 4, the E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the received Policy. (par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group)] “and transmitting, to a E2 node through E2 interface, the control message, wherein the control message is used to configure at least one of cell level parameters or slice level parameters” [(par. 0053), FIG. 9 illustrates an example of RIC services corresponding to a POLICY service. The E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the policy defined by the near-RT RIC in the RIC subscription procedure. (par. 0053), the E2 node may detect an RIC event trigger, after which at 4, the E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the received Policy. (par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group).]
As per claim 5, URIE discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the one or more RAN functions provides a support of control services including at least one of a mobility management, service level agreement (SLA) assurance, or cell barring” [(par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group).]
As per claim 6, URIE discloses “A method performed by an E2 node, the method comprising:” as [(fig. 9), E2 Node. (par. 0053), FIG. 9 illustrates an example of RIC services corresponding to a POLICY service.] “receiving, from a near real time (near-RT)-radio access network (RAN) intelligence controller (RIC) through E2 interface, a control message for E2 service model (SM) providing one or more RAN functions associated with cell configuration and control,” [(par. 0053), FIG. 9 illustrates an example of RIC services corresponding to a POLICY service. The E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the policy defined by the near-RT RIC in the RIC subscription procedure. (par. 0053), the E2 node may detect an RIC event trigger, after which at 4, the E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the received Policy. (par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group)] “wherein the control message is used to configure at least one of cell level parameters or slice level parameters” [(par. 0053), FIG. 9 illustrates an example of RIC services corresponding to a POLICY service. The E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the policy defined by the near-RT RIC in the RIC subscription procedure. (par. 0053), the E2 node may detect an RIC event trigger, after which at 4, the E2 node may modify an ongoing associated process according to the received Policy. (par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group).]
As per claim 10, URIE discloses “The method of claim 6,” as [see rejection of claim 6.] “wherein the one or more RAN functions provides a support of control services including at least one of a mobility management, service level agreement (SLA) assurance, or cell barring” [(par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group).]
As per claims 11, 15, as [see rejection of claims 1, 5.]
As per claims 16, 20, as [see rejection of claims 6, 10.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) in view of Nam et al. (US 2017/0257860 A1).
As per claim 2, URIE discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the control message is used for a slice resource allocation control, and wherein the control message includes single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) indicating a network slice” [(par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group).]
URIE does not explicitly disclose “the control message also includes physical resource block (PRB) allocation information associated with the network slice”.
However, Nam discloses “the control message also includes physical resource block (PRB) allocation information associated with the network slice” as [(par. 0172), a slice configuration may comprise at least some of: 1) time-frequency resource of a DL control region 610, wherein the configuration may include a set of subframe indices (e.g., in terms of period and subframe offsets), allocated frequency resources (e.g., in terms of PRBs).]
URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) and Nam et al. (US 2017/0257860 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nam’s teaching into URIE’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control and assign transmission resource.
As per claim 7, URIE discloses “The method of claim 6,” as [see rejection of claim 6.] “wherein the control message is used for a slice resource allocation control, and wherein the control message includes single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) indicating a network slice” [(par. 0056), the E2 policy service may be used to modify RAN behavior so that a parametric defined RAN user equipment (UE) group may be subjected to a specific variation to a baseline OAM defined behavior. For example, a RAN UE Group defined in terms of any UE with a specific single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI), and allocation and retention policy (ARP) may have a different call admission threshold applied compared to a default behavior (i.e., admit if cell load is less than a baseline of 70% plus additional 5%=75% for this RAN UE Group).]
URIE does not explicitly disclose “the control message also includes physical resource block (PRB) allocation information associated with the network slice”.
However, Nam discloses “the control message also includes physical resource block (PRB) allocation information associated with the network slice” as [(par. 0172), a slice configuration may comprise at least some of: 1) time-frequency resource of a DL control region 610, wherein the configuration may include a set of subframe indices (e.g., in terms of period and subframe offsets), allocated frequency resources (e.g., in terms of PRBs).]
URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) and Nam et al. (US 2017/0257860 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nam’s teaching into URIE’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control and assign transmission resource.
As per claim 12, as [see rejection of claim 2.]
As per claim 17, as [see rejection of claim 7.]
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) in view of Van Phan et al. (US 2013/0172000 A1).
As per claim 3, URIE discloses “The method of claim 1,’ as [see rejection of claim 1.]
URIE does not explicitly disclose “wherein the control message includes information on a global cell identity (ID) and related parameters associated with the global cell ID”.
However, Van Phan discloses “wherein the control message includes information on a global cell identity (ID) and related parameters associated with the global cell ID” as [(par. 0058), The configuration profile may comprise different parameters such as spectrum allocation of at least a primary carrier, global cell ID, layer 1 cell ID, and cell-selection control parameters for each individual cell in the cooperative relay system. It may also comprise PLMN ID and/or TA ID for identification purposes or to make all the parameters be gathered in a same list.]
URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) and Van Phan et al. (US 2013/0172000 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Van Phan’s teaching into URIE’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control and assign transmission resource.
As per claim 4, URIE discloses “The method of claim 1,’ as [see rejection of claim 1.]
URIE does not explicitly disclose “wherein the control message includes information on a public land mobile network (PLMN) and related parameters associated with the PLMN” [(par. 0058), The configuration profile may comprise different parameters such as spectrum allocation of at least a primary carrier, global cell ID, layer 1 cell ID, and cell-selection control parameters for each individual cell in the cooperative relay system. It may also comprise PLMN ID and/or TA ID for identification purposes or to make all the parameters be gathered in a same list.]
URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) and Van Phan et al. (US 2013/0172000 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Van Phan’s teaching into URIE’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control and assign transmission resource.
As per claim 8, URIE discloses “The method of claim 6,” as [see rejection of claim 6.]
URIE does not explicitly disclose “wherein the control message includes information on a global cell identity (ID) and related parameters associated with the global cell ID”.
However, Van Phan discloses “wherein the control message includes information on a global cell identity (ID) and related parameters associated with the global cell ID” as [(par. 0058), The configuration profile may comprise different parameters such as spectrum allocation of at least a primary carrier, global cell ID, layer 1 cell ID, and cell-selection control parameters for each individual cell in the cooperative relay system. It may also comprise PLMN ID and/or TA ID for identification purposes or to make all the parameters be gathered in a same list.]
URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) and Van Phan et al. (US 2013/0172000 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Van Phan’s teaching into URIE’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control and assign transmission resource.
As per claim 9, URIE discloses “The method of claim 6,” as [see rejection of claim 6.]
URIE does not explicitly disclose “wherein the control message includes information on a public land mobile network (PLMN) and related parameters associated with the PLMN”.
However, Van Phan discloses “wherein the control message includes information on a public land mobile network (PLMN) and related parameters associated with the PLMN” [(par. 0058), The configuration profile may comprise different parameters such as spectrum allocation of at least a primary carrier, global cell ID, layer 1 cell ID, and cell-selection control parameters for each individual cell in the cooperative relay system. It may also comprise PLMN ID and/or TA ID for identification purposes or to make all the parameters be gathered in a same list.]
URIE (US 2023/0110387 A1) and Van Phan et al. (US 2013/0172000 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Van Phan’s teaching into URIE’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control and assign transmission resource.
As per claims 13, 14, as [see rejection of claims 3, 4.]
As per claims 18, 19, as [see rejection of claims 8, 9.]
Conclusion
/MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417