DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US PG Pub. No. 20200346317).
In regards to claim 1, Han discloses
a pad conditioner comprising:
a disk holder (structure at base of rotation shaft 144, see fig. 1/3/4 - ann. 1) that is rotatable ([0038]);
a frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) on the disk holder;
a lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) that is between the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and the disk holder;
a posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) that is between the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) and the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and has a thickness (see fig. 1-5 and 11-13),
wherein the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) is capable of varying the thickness ([0054]: air bags made of flexible material, such as silicon or rubber);
a posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]) that is configured to detect a height (by measuring the tilt, it measures the vertical displacement of the pad assembly, including the support member) of the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8); and
a controller (controller 116, fig. 1-2, 11-13) that is configured to vary the thickness (increase and decreases the pressure inside, resulting in expansion or compression) of the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) according to a signal received from the posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]).
In regards to claim 3, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 1, wherein the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) comprises an air bag structure (at least air bag 161 and 163, fig. 3-5).
In regards to claim 4, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 3, further comprising a gas control member (controller 190, fig. 1-2, 11-13; [0053-0066]) connected to the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13), wherein the gas control member (controller 190, fig. 1-2, 11-13; [0053-0066]) is configured to adjust an amount of a gas contained within the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13), wherein the controller (controller 116, fig. 1-2, 11-13) is configured to control the thickness of the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) through the gas control member (controller 190, fig. 1-2, 11-13; [0053-0066]).
In regards to claim 5, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 4, further comprising:
a connecting hub (see fig. 11 - ann. 1); and
an arm (arm 112, fig. 1-2 and 11-13) that is connected to the connecting hub (see fig. 11 - ann. 1),
wherein the gas control member (controller 190, fig. 1-2, 11-13; [0053-0066]) is adjacent to the arm (arm 112, fig. 1-2 and 11-13), and the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) is connected to the arm (arm 112, fig. 1-2 and 11-13).
In regards to claim 6, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 5, further comprising a lifting and lowering driving member (lifting module 120, fig. 1-4, 11-13) between the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and the arm (arm 112, fig. 1-2 and 11-13), wherein the lifting and lowering driving member (lifting module 120, fig. 1-4, 11-13) is configured to move the frame up and down with respect to the arm (arm 112, fig. 1-2 and 11-13).
[0040] The lifting module 120 may be configured to vertically move the driving module 130.
[0046] …the lifting module 120 may be fixed to the upper surface of the outer ring 152 using a bracket 122 (frame), as illustrated in FIG. 9. The bracket 122 may have a lower surface configured to make contact with the, e.g., right portion of the, upper surface of the outer ring 152, and an upper surface fixed to the lifting module 120.
In regards to claim 7, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 6, further comprising a load sensor (load cell 170, fig. 2; [0061], [0065], [0101]) between the lifting and lowering driving member (lifting module 120, fig. 1-4, 11-13) and the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1).
In regards to claim 12, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 1, further comprising an outer side rotation auxiliary member (spherical bearing of connection module 150; fig. 5-9; [0044])) between the disk holder (structure at base of rotation shaft 144, see fig. 1/3/4 - ann. 1) and the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8),
wherein the outer side rotation auxiliary member (spherical bearing of connection module 150; fig. 5-9; [0044])) is configured to allow the disk holder (structure at base of rotation shaft 144, see fig. 1/3/4 - ann. 1) to rotate with respect to the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8).
[0038] The disk module 140 may be arranged over a polishing pad configured to polish a layer on a substrate. The disk module 140 may include a conditioning disk 142 and a rotation shaft 144. The conditioning disk 142 may be arranged over the polishing pad. The conditioning disk 142 may be rotated and contacted with an upper surface of the polishing pad. The rotation shaft 144 may connect the conditioning disk 142 with the driving module 130.
[0039] The driving module 130 may be connected to an upper surface of the conditioning disk 142 via the rotation shaft 144. The driving module 130 may transfer a rotary force to the conditioning disk 142
In regards to claim 13, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 1, wherein the posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]) is configured to detect the signal, and wherein the controller (controller 116, fig. 1-2, 11-13) is configured to monitor a size of the signal according to a frequency to determine whether an abnormal state occurs (as the sensor indicates a tilt, the controller adjusts pressure in the air bags to compensate for the tilt).
[0062] Further, the conditioner 100 may further include an angle sensor module 180. The angle sensor module 180 may measure a tilted angle of the driving module 130 with respect to the lifting module 120.
[0065]… The load cell 170 (FIG. 2) may measure a pressure difference between the pressure applied to the polishing pad P by the right and left portions of the disk module 140, and the angle sensor module 180 may measure the tilted angle of the disk module 140. The pressure difference measured by the load cell 170 and the tilted angle of the disk module 140 measured by the angle sensor module 180 may be transmitted to the controller 190.
In regards to claim 14, Han discloses
a pad conditioner comprising: a disk holder (structure at base of rotation shaft 144, see fig. 1/3/4 - ann. 1) that is rotatable ([0038]),
a frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) on the disk holder;
a lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) that is between the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and the disk holder; and
a posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) that is between the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) and the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and has a thickness, wherein the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) is capable of varying the thickness ([0054]).
In regards to claim 15, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 14, wherein the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13) comprises an air bag structure (at least air bag 161 and 163, fig. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Ravkin (US Patent No. 6123607).
In regards to claim 2, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 1, wherein the controller (controller 116, fig. 1-2, 11-13) is configured to control based on the signal and the thickness of the posture adjusting member (air bag module 160, fig. 1-5 and 11-13).
Han fails to explicitly disclose that this is a “closed loop” control module.
However, Ravkin, which also discloses a pad conditioning system employing pressurized chambers and controllers, teaches employing a closed-loop system and its advantages.
Col. 8 lines 55-64: The sensor 178 coupled with an automatic air pressure regulator provides closed loop load control of the end effector 150 onto the polishing pad 148. Such closed loop load control allows software selectable loads, compensation for regulator calibration errors, and allows controlled pressure profiling of the polishing pad 148. With controlled pressure profiling, the end effector 150 may remove more or less pad material by applying higher or lower pressure to the face 152 as a function of distance from the edge of the polishing pad 148.
Han and Ravkin are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing apparatuses including means for conditioning the polishing pad by controlling air pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to incorporate the closed loop programming of Ravkin, in order to provide an efficient conditioning process that accounts for calibration errors and ensures controlled pressure profiling of the pad, resulting in effective conditioning of the polishing pad (Ravkin col. 8 lines 55-64).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Franca et al. (US Patent No. 6343974).
In regards to claim 8, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 3, but fails to explicitly disclose the posture adjusting member is provided “in plurality”, nor the posture sensor is provided “in plurality”, and wherein a number of a plurality of posture sensors corresponds to a number of a plurality of posture adjusting members.
However, in another embodiment of Han, a plurality of adjusting members as airbag blocks (at least 262, 264, 266 and 268; [0078-0090]) are provided in radial manner (see fig. 18).
[0090] In example embodiments, the airbag module 260 may include the four airbag blocks 262, 264, 266 and 268. Alternatively, the airbag module 260 may include two, three or at least five airbag blocks.
Therefore pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to provide a plurality of posture adjusting members as four airbag blocks, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. With regards to a plurality of posture sensors, Franca discloses a method and apparatus for conditioning polishing pads, employing a plurality of sensors that detect changes height from the reference follower 26.
Col. 4 lines 19-29: a plurality of proximity sensors 40 detect the change in the distance "d" (shown in FIG. 3) between each sensor and follower 26…Although two proximity sensors spaced 180.degree. apart are shown, a single proximity sensor or more than two proximity sensors may be used. Three proximity sensors may be provided to establish the coordinates of the plane in which follower 26 lies.
Therefore pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to provide four posture sensors corresponding to the four airbag blocks, evenly spaced apart, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In regards to claim 9, Han as modified discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 8, wherein the plurality of posture adjusting members are circumferentially spaced apart from each other (see Han fig. 18), and wherein the plurality of the posture sensors are configured to detect heights of regions of the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8), and wherein the plurality of posture adjusting members are on the regions (Franca teaches arranging the sensors with corresponding followers, see col. 4 lines 19-29; the regions being areas underneath the sensors) of the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8).
In regards to claim 10, Han as modified discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 9, wherein at least two of the plurality of posture adjusting members are diametrically opposed to each other (see Han fig. 18 – ann. 1).
In regards to claim 11, Han as modified discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 10, wherein the plurality of posture adjusting members include a first posture adjustment member, a second posture adjustment member, a third posture adjustment member, and a fourth posture adjustment member, the first posture adjusting member and the third posture adjusting member are diametrically opposed to each other, and the second posture adjusting member and the fourth posture adjusting member are diametrically opposed to each other (see Han fig. 18 – ann. 1).
In regards to claim 16, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 14, further comprising a posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]) that is configured to detect a height of the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8).
However, Han fails to disclose the posture adjusting member is provided “in plurality”, wherein the posture sensor is provided “in plurality”, wherein a number of a plurality of posture sensors corresponds to a number of a plurality of posture adjusting members, and wherein the plurality of the posture sensors are configured to detect heights of the lifting and lowering support member at regions below the plurality of posture adjusting members.
However, in another embodiment of Han, a plurality of adjusting members as airbag blocks (at least 262, 264, 266 and 268; [0078-0090]) are provided in radial manner (see fig. 18).
[0090] In example embodiments, the airbag module 260 may include the four airbag blocks 262, 264, 266 and 268. Alternatively, the airbag module 260 may include two, three or at least five airbag blocks.
Therefore pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to provide a plurality of posture adjusting members as four airbag blocks, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. With regards to a plurality of posture sensors, Franca discloses a method and apparatus for conditioning polishing pads, employing a plurality of sensors that detect changes height from the reference follower 26.
Col. 4 lines 19-29: a plurality of proximity sensors 40 detect the change in the distance "d" (shown in FIG. 3) between each sensor and follower 26…Although two proximity sensors spaced 180.degree. apart are shown, a single proximity sensor or more than two proximity sensors may be used. Three proximity sensors may be provided to establish the coordinates of the plane in which follower 26 lies.
Therefore pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to provide four posture sensors corresponding to the four airbag blocks, evenly spaced apart, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Franca teaches arranging the sensors with corresponding follower (see col. 4 lines 19-29), to measure distance changes below the followers. The sensors of Han measure the tilt/height of the pad, which is underneath the sensor. Therein, the sensors as modified measure regions beneath below the adjusting members (air bags).
In regards to claim 17, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 16, wherein the plurality of posture adjusting members are spaced apart from each other along a circumferential direction (see Han fig. 18).
In regards to claim 18, Han discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 16, further comprising a controller (controller 116, fig. 1-2, 11-13; [0059], [0081], [0089]) that is configured to change the thickness of each of the plurality of posture adjusting members according to a signal received from at least one of the plurality of posture sensors (plurality of sensor 190 as modified by Ravkin).
[0081] … The first air line 292 may be connected to the first airbag 261 to supply a first pneumatic pressure P1 to the first airbag 261. The first pneumatic pressure P1 transferred to the first airbag 261 through the first air line 292 may be controlled by the controller 290.
[0089] The controller 290 may control the first to fourth pneumatic pressures P1, P2, P3 and P4 … may be substantially equal to or different from each other. Thus, the controller 290 may provide the first to fourth airbags 261, 263, 265 and 267 with substantially equal stiffness or different stiffnesses. The pneumatic pressure controls of the controller 290 to the first to fourth airbags 261, 263, 265 and 267 may be determined in accordance with the tilting of the disk module 240. Further, the controller 290 may receive control signals from a main controller 216 for controlling operations of a CMP apparatus including the conditioner 200.
In regards to claim 19, Han discloses
a pad conditioner comprising: a disk holder (structure at base of rotation shaft 144, see fig. 1/3/4 - ann. 1) that is rotatable ([0038])
a frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) on the disk holder;
a lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) between the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and the disk holder; a posture adjusting member between the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) and the frame (structure below lifting module 120, see fig. 3/4/9 - ann. 1) and have thicknesses, wherein the posture adjusting member is capable of varying the thicknesses ([0054]); a posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]) that is configured to detect a height of the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8); and a controller (controller 116, fig. 1-2, 11-13) that is configured to change the thicknesses according to a signal received from the posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]).
However, Han fails to disclose the posture adjusting member is provided “in plurality” and arranged cirucmferentially.
However, in another embodiment of Han, a plurality of adjusting members as airbag blocks (at least 262, 264, 266 and 268; [0078-0090]) are provided in radial manner (see fig. 18).
[0090] In example embodiments, the airbag module 260 may include the four airbag blocks 262, 264, 266 and 268. Alternatively, the airbag module 260 may include two, three or at least five airbag blocks.
Therefore pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to provide a plurality of posture adjusting members as four airbag blocks, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In regards to claim 20, Han as modified discloses
the pad conditioner of claim 19, but fails to disclose the posture sensor (angle sensor module 180, fig. 9; [0062], [0065], [0101-0102], [0110-0111]) “is provided in a plural number corresponding to a number of the plurality of posture adjusting members”, and wherein a plurality of posture sensors are configured to detect heights of the lifting and lowering support member (driving module 130, fig. 1-4, 8) at regions below the plurality of posture adjusting members.
With regards to a plurality of posture sensors, Franca discloses a method and apparatus for conditioning polishing pads, employing a plurality of sensors that detect changes height from the reference follower 26.
Col. 4 lines 19-29: a plurality of proximity sensors 40 detect the change in the distance "d" (shown in FIG. 3) between each sensor and follower 26…Although two proximity sensors spaced 180.degree. apart are shown, a single proximity sensor or more than two proximity sensors may be used. Three proximity sensors may be provided to establish the coordinates of the plane in which follower 26 lies.
Therefore pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to provide four posture sensors corresponding to the four airbag blocks, evenly spaced apart, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Franca teaches arranging the sensors with corresponding follower (see col. 4 lines 19-29), to measure distance changes below the followers. The sensors of Han measure the tilt/height of the pad, which is underneath the sensor. Therein, the sensors as modified measure regions beneath below the adjusting members (air bags).
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723