DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. On 10/27/2025, a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicants’ 10/27/2025 response has been entered.
Summary of Response
3. The 10/27/2025 response includes: (i) claims 1, 5-7, 10, 14-16 and 19 are currently amended; (ii) clams 8-9 and 17 are previously presented; (iii) claims 2, 11, 18 and 20 are original; (iv) claims 3-4 and 12-13 are canceled; and (v) the grounds for rejection set forth in the 07/29/2025 office action are traversed. Claims 1-2, 5-11 and 14-20 are currently pending and an office action follows:
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Cheong fails to disclose claim 1’s following limitations: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: identify a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, and based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image (10/27/2025 Response, p 9), because Cheng is silent as to these features (10/27/2025 Response, p 11).
Examiner disagrees. Cheng discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to: carry out the operations of the electronic device (p 11, ¶3). Thus, the operations of the electronic device are automated, i.e., carried out by the electronic device itself.
One of these operation is to identify a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area (1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5).
Moreover, inherently the at least one sensor identifies the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside such as in FIGs. 9(a) and 9(b), given that the electronic device cuts an image taken by a camera to match a determined aspect ratio of area of the flexible display that is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 7, 9(a), 9(b): 121, 140, 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513: p 3, ¶including – “the control unit cuts…”; p 3, ¶beginning – “when the size of the screen is changed”; p 3, ¶including – “cropping the image acquired by the camera according to the aspect ratio”, p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 9, last ¶ to p 10, ¶3; FIGs. 1, 4(b), 9(a), 9(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, last two ¶s; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claim 4, especially – “When the size of the screen is changed, the center of the image acquired by the camera is kept fixed, and the image acquired by the camera is cropped according to the changed aspect ratio” and claim 5, especially – “changed aspect ratio”).
Cheong further discloses and based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶including – “when the size of the screen is changed, the control unit converts the image acquired from the camera to the ratio of the screen with changed size so that the center of the image acquired from the camera does not move”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claim 4, especially – “When the size of the screen is changed, the center of the image acquired by the camera is kept fixed, and the image acquired by the camera is cropped according to the changed aspect ratio” – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display (151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6; ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5).
Also, note that while examiner found another reference listed below under “Other Relevant Prior Art” as U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0261519 A1 to Park et al. which discloses similar limitations to those being contested above, examiner did not need to combine these teachings because Cheong already discloses them.
In summary, all of applicant’s outstanding claims remain rejected based on Cheong as well as based on double patenting.
Claim Rejections – Nonstatutory Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected based on nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 in view of International Patent Pub. No. 2021049675 A1 to Cheong et al. (“Cheong”).
See the below juxtaposition of applicant’s claims to those of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2.
Claim 1 of the present application
Claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2
An electronic device comprising:
a flexible display, an area of the flexible display exposed to an outside of the electronic device being reduced as the flexible display is inserted into an inside of the electronic device, the area being expanded as the flexible display is drawn to the outside of the electronic device;
a camera including an image sensor; at least one sensor; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, by when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
obtain, based on a user input, an image through an entire area of the image sensor,
identify the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside through the at least one sensor,
determine, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area of the flexible display,
and display, through the flexible display, the determined portion of the image,
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
identify a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, and
based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image.
Claim 1: An electronic device comprising:
Claim 1: a flexible display in which a region exposed to an outside
is reduced as the flexible display is drawn into the electronic device and the region exposed to the outside
is expanded as the flexible display is drawn out of the electronic device;
Claim 1: a camera module comprising an image sensor; at least one sensor; and at least one processor electrically connected to the flexible display, the camera module, and the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
Claim 1: acquire an image through the image sensor,
Claim 2: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to acquire the image through an entire region of the image sensor, based on a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
Claim 1: identify the region of the flexible display exposed to the outside, through the at least one sensor,
Claim 1: determine, within the image, an image part corresponding
to the identified region of the flexible display,
determine, within the determined image part, a region for performing at least one function related to the
image, and perform the at least one function, based on the determined region.
Claim 1: wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
Claim 2 of the present application
Claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the user input includes a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
Claim 2: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to acquire the image through an entire region of the image sensor, based on a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
Claim 10 of the present application
Claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2
A method for providing an image in an electronic device, the method comprising:
obtaining, based on a user input, an image through an entire area of an image sensor in a camera included in the electronic device;
identifying, through at least one sensor of the electronic device, an area of a flexible display of the electronic device exposed to an outside of the electronic device;
determining, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area of the flexible display; and displaying, through the flexible display, the determined portion of the image,
wherein determining the portion of the image comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, and based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image.
Claim 11: A method for providing an image in an electronic device, the method comprising:
Claim 11: acquiring an image through an image sensor included in a camera module of the electronic device;
Claim 12: The method of claim 11, wherein the acquiring of the image comprises: acquiring the image through an entire region of the image sensor, based on a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
Claim 11: identifying, through at least one sensor of the electronic
device, a region of a flexible display exposed to an outside in the flexible display of the electronic device, the region exposed to the outside being reduced as the flexible display is drawn into the electronic device, and the region exposed to the outside being expanded as the flexible display is drawn out of the electronic device;
Claim 11: determining, within the image, an image part corresponding
to the identified region of the flexible display;
determining, within the determined image part, a region for performing at least one function related to the
image; and performing the at least one function, based on the determined region.
Claim 11 of the present application
Claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2
The method of claim 10, wherein the user input includes a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
The method of claim 11, wherein the acquiring of the image comprises: acquiring the image through an entire region of the image sensor, based on a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
Claim 19 of the present application
Claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
obtaining, based on a user input, an image through an entire area of an image sensor in a camera included in the electronic device;
identifying, through at least one sensor of the electronic device, an area of a flexible display of the electronic device exposed to an outside of the electronic device;
determining, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area of the flexible display; and
displaying, through the flexible display, the determined portion of the image,
wherein determining the portion of the image comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image.
Claim 11: acquiring an image through an image sensor included in a camera module of the electronic device;
Claim 12: The method of claim 11, wherein the acquiring of the image comprises: acquiring the image through an entire region of the image sensor, based on a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
Claim 11: identifying, through at least one sensor of the electronic
device, a region of a flexible display exposed to an outside in the flexible display of the electronic device, the region exposed to the outside being reduced as the flexible display is drawn into the electronic device, and the region exposed to the outside being expanded as the flexible display is drawn out of the electronic device
Claim 20 of the present application
Claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2
As to claim 20, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 19, wherein the user input includes a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
The method of claim 11, wherein the acquiring of the image comprises: acquiring the image through an entire region of the image sensor, based on a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio.
As to claim 1, claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 does not expressly disclose and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display, through the flexible display, the determined portion of the image; wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: identify a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, and based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image.
Cheong discloses and memory(170)(FIG. 1; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) storing instructions (170)(FIG. 1; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) that, when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to: display, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”), the determined portion of the image (portion corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
identify a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5), and
based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display (151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6; ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 with Cheong to provide an electronic device: (i) that is able to display an image having a size that changes as a user changes the amount of the flexible display that is exposed to the outside; and (ii) the operation of which may be readily changed/updated as software is able to be readily changed/updated.
As to claim 5, claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method according to claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the area in the image including a boundary line in a direction in which the flexible display is expanded or reduced based on the center of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)) or in a direction opposite to the direction among boundary lines of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)), the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 - portion of camera image is cropped to have the same aspect ratio of the exposed area of the flexible display) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong with Cheong’s further teachings to provide an electronic device that maximizes the available display area by displaying the image having an aspect ratio that matches the aspect ratio of the exposed portion of the flexible display.
As to claim 6, claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method according to claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to display, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image aspect ratio corresponding to the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513: p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 5.
As to claim 8, claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to crop the determined portion of the image from the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1), and display the cropped portion of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 5.
As to claim 10, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 does not expressly disclose and displaying, through the flexible display, the determined portion of the image, wherein determining the portion of the image comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, and based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image.
Cheong discloses and displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the determined portion of the image(portion corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), wherein determining the portion of the image(portion corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5), and
based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display (151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 with Cheong to provide a method for providing an image in an electronic device that is able to display an image having a size that changes as a user changes the amount of the flexible display that is exposed to the outside.
As to claim 14, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the determining of the portion of the image comprises determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the area in the image including a boundary line in a direction in which the flexible display is expanded or reduced based on the center of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)) or in a direction opposite to the direction among boundary lines of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)), the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 - portion of camera image is cropped to have the same aspect ratio of the exposed area of the flexible display) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong with Cheong’s further teachings to provide a method for providing an image in an electronic device that maximizes the available display area by displaying the image having an aspect ratio that matches the aspect ratio of the exposed portion of the flexible display.
As to claim 15, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses further comprising: displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image aspect ratio corresponding to the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 14.
As to claim 17, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the determining of the portion of the image(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprises: cropping the determined portion of the image from the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1); and displaying the cropped portion of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 14.
As to claim 18, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses further comprising: receiving a user input for selecting one image aspect ratio from among a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3); and controlling such that the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3) is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 14.
As to claim 19, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 does not expressly disclose one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising: determining, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area of the flexible display; and displaying, through the flexible display, the determined portion of the image; wherein determining the portion of the image comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside, and based on the area of the flexible display being changed, determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area of the flexible display exposed to the outside based on a center of the image.
Cheong discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media(170)(FIG. 1; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) storing computer-executable instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) that, when executed by at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) of an electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”), cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to perform operations comprising: determining, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6); and
displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the determined portion of the image(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
wherein determining the portion of the image(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5), and based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5).
7. Claims 7 and 16 are rejected based on nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 in view of International Patent Pub. No. 2021049675 A1 to Cheong et al. (“Cheong”) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Korea Patent Pub. No. 20170062121 A to Yoon et al. (“Yoon”).
As to claim 7, claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method according to claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), by when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
identify whether the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(portion of 151 shown as 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is same as an aspect ratio of one of a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3 – if the image of exposed portion of the flexible area corresponds to one of two or three cameras then it is displayed without cropping it otherwise the image is cropped so that the image and exposed area coincide with each other), and
if the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside is the same as the aspect ratio of the one of the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b), 11; p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”, p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶5; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3), and
wherein the aspect ratio of the one is different from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (p 12, ¶1; p 20, ¶3).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 5.
Claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong do not expressly disclose and display, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio, and wherein the aspect ratio of the one is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios.
Yoon discloses and display, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio (FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6), and wherein the aspect ratio of the one(620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios(620a-620c)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios(620a-620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong with Yoon to provide an electronic device that allows a user to visually recognize the aspect ratio of the content according to the expansion or contraction of the display area (p 22, ¶6).
As to claim 16, claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses further comprising: identifying whether the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(portion of 151 shown as 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is same as an aspect ratio of one of a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3 – if the image of exposed portion of the flexible area corresponds to one of two or three cameras then it is displayed without cropping it otherwise the image is cropped so that the image and exposed area coincide with each other); and
displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6), information if the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is the same as the aspect ratio of the one of the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3 – if the image of exposed portion of the flexible area corresponds to one of two or three cameras then it is displayed without cropping it otherwise the image is cropped so that the image and exposed area coincide with each other),
wherein the image aspect ratio of the one is different from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (p 12, ¶1; p 20, ¶3).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is set forth above for claim 14.
Claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong do not expressly disclose and displaying, through the flexible
display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio,
wherein the image aspect ratio of the one is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios.
Yoon discloses and displaying, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio (FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6),
wherein the image aspect ratio of the one(620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios(620a-620c)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios(620a-620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 12 (depends upon claim 11) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong with Yoon to provide a method for providing an image in an electronic device that allows a user to visually recognize the aspect ratio of the content according to the expansion or contraction of the display area (p 22, ¶6).
8. Claim 9 is rejected based on nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 in view of International Patent Pub. No. 2021049675 A1 to Cheong et al. (“Cheong”) as applied to claim 1, in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0112667 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 9, claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong teach the method according to claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
receive a user input for selecting one image aspect ratio from among a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3), and
the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3) is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Cheong is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 5.
Claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong do not expressly disclose and control such that the area of the flexible display corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio is exposed to the outside.
Park discloses wherein the instructions, by when executed by the processor(270)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0059, 0067, 0250), further cause the electronic device(100)(FIGs. 1a, 1b; ¶¶0052-0056, 0067, 0250) to: receive a user input for selecting one image aspect ratio from among a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 1a, 1b, 6, 8, 10; ¶¶0052, 0053-0056, 0069, 0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0095, 0097, 0167-0173, 0181, 0250 – a user may select, e.g., via a remote controller {FIGs. 6, 10: 300, 615, 1020}, an aspect ratio directly to be applied to displayed content {Fig 10} or indirectly by selecting displayed content having metadata that sets its default aspect ratio and the exposed area is controlled to correspond to this aspect ratio {Fig. 1b; 9}); control such that the area of the flexible display corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1a, 1b, 6, 8, 10; ¶¶0052, 0053-0056, 0069, 0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0095, 0097, 0167-0173, 0181, 0250 – a user may select, e.g., via a remote controller {FIGs. 6, 10: 300, 615, 1020}, an aspect ratio directly to be applied to displayed content {Fig 10} or indirectly by selecting displayed content having metadata that sets its default aspect ratio and the exposed area is controlled to correspond to this aspect ratio {Fig. 1b; 9}).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 2 (depends upon claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,079 B2 and Cheong with Park to provide an electronic device that allows a user to more conveniently control select displayed content and its aspect ratio (i.e., by a remote controller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Patent Pub. No. 2021049675 A1 to Cheong et al. (“Cheong”).
As to claim 1, Cheong discloses an electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) comprising:
a flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”), an area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to an outside of the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being reduced as the flexible display(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 3(a), 4(a), 5(a), 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is inserted into an inside of the electronic device(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 and part or all of 1513 is inserted/not exposed to the outside; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 12, ¶2, p 16, ¶3; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being expanded as the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 3(b), 4(b), 5(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is drawn to the outside of the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 and part or all of 1513 is exposed to the outside; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 13, ¶beginning – “Due to this positional relationship”; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
a camera(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 11, last two ¶s) including an image sensor(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 11, last two ¶s);
at least one sensor1 (FIGs. 1, 7: 121, 140; p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; FIGs. 1, 4(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 9, ¶beginning – “Meanwhile, the mobile terminal 100”, p 11, last two ¶s);
at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 11, ¶3); and
memory(170)(FIG. 1; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) storing instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) that, when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
obtain, based on a user input (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image through an entire area of the image sensor(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b), 11; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”, p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2, p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1),
identify the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) through the at least one sensor(121, 140)(FIGs. 1, 7: p 3, ¶including – “the control unit cuts…”; p 3, ¶beginning – “when the size of the screen is changed”; p 3, ¶including – “cropping the image acquired by the camera according to the aspect ratio”, p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 9, last ¶ to p 10, ¶3; FIGs. 1, 4(b), 9(a), 9(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, last two ¶s; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5 – inherently the at least one sensor identifies the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside such as in FIGs. 9(a) and 9(b), given that the electronic device cuts an image taken by a camera to match a determined aspect ratio of area of the flexible display that is exposed to the outside),
determine, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”, p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9, p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6), and
display, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the determined portion of the image(portion corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6),
wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
identify a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5), and
based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display (151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6; ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5).
As to claim 2, Cheong discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the user input (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) includes a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶beginning – “for example, if the image acquired”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 21, ¶2).
As to claim 5, Cheong discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to determine, as the portion of the image, an area in the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the area in the image including a boundary line in a direction in which the flexible display is expanded or reduced based on the center of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)) or in a direction opposite to the direction among boundary lines of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)), the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 - portion of camera image is cropped to have the same aspect ratio of the exposed area of the flexible display) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 6, Cheong discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to display, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image aspect ratio corresponding to the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513: p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 8, Cheong discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to crop the determined portion of the image from the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1), and display the cropped portion of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 10, Cheong discloses a method for providing an image in an electronic device (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the method (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprising:
obtaining, based on a user input (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image through an entire area of an image sensor(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b), 11; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) in a camera(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 11, last two ¶s) included in the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 12, ¶2, p 16, ¶3; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
identifying, through at least one sensor(121, 140)(FIGs. 1, 7: p 3, ¶beginning – “when the size of the screen is changed”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 9, last ¶ to p 10, ¶3; FIGs. 1, 4(b), 9(a), 9(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, last two ¶s; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5 - inherently the at least one sensor identifies the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside such as in FIGs. 9(a) and 9(b), given that the electronic device cuts an image taken by a camera to match the current aspect ratio of area of the flexible display that is exposed to the outside) of the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 12, ¶2, p 16, ¶3; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of a flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the electronic device(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 12, ¶2, p 16, ¶3; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to an outside of the electronic device(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of 151 shown as 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
determining, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6); and
displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the determined portion of the image(portion corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6),
wherein determining the portion of the image(portion corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprises: identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5), and
based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determining, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 11, Cheong discloses the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the user input (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) includes a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶beginning – “for example, if the image acquired”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 21, ¶2).
As to claim 14, Cheong discloses the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the determining of the portion of the image comprises determining as the portion of the image, an area in the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the area in the image including a boundary line in a direction in which the flexible display is expanded or reduced based on the center of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)) or in a direction opposite to the direction among boundary lines of the image (FIG. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the control unit cuts the image acquired from the camera”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – the boundary line at the top of the image or the bottom of the image in FIG. 9(a) or in FIG. 9(b)), the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 - portion of camera image is cropped to have the same aspect ratio of the exposed area of the flexible display) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 15, Cheong discloses the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses further comprising: displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image aspect ratio corresponding to the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 17, Cheong discloses the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the determining of the portion of the image(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprises: cropping the determined portion of the image from the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1); and displaying the cropped portion of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 18, Cheong discloses the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses further comprising: receiving a user input for selecting one image aspect ratio from among a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3); and controlling such that the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3) is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
As to claim 19, Cheong discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media(170)(FIG. 1; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) storing computer-executable instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”) that, when executed by at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) of an electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”), cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to perform operations comprising:
obtaining, based on a user input (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an image through an entire area of an image sensor(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b), 11; p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”, p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, ¶4 to p 18, ¶2, p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶1) in a camera(121)(FIGs. 1, 4(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 11, last two ¶s; p 17, ¶5 to p 18, ¶2) included in the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
identifying, through at least one sensor(121, 140)(FIGs. 1, 7: p 3, ¶beginning – “when the size of the screen is changed”; p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 9, last ¶ to p 10, ¶3; FIGs. 1, 4(b), 9(a), 9(b); p 7, ¶beginning – “The input unit 120”; p 17, last two ¶s; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – inherently the at least one sensor identifies the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside such as in FIGs. 9(a) and 9(b), given that the electronic device cuts an image taken by a camera to match a determined aspect ratio of area of the flexible display that is exposed to the outside) of the electronic device(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 12, ¶2, p 16, ¶3; p 19, ¶¶4-6), an area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of a flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the electronic device(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 12, ¶2, p 16, ¶3; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to an outside of the electronic device(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 19, ¶¶4-6);
determining, within the image, a portion of the image corresponding to the identified area(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6); and
displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6), the determined portion of the image(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6),
wherein determining the portion of the image(portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “In the present invention”, p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) comprises:
identifying a horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 18, ¶¶1-2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5),
based on the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) being changed (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part of 1513 either is enlarged or reduced in size; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa), determining, as the portion of the image, an area in the image, the area in the image having a same horizontal and vertical ratio as a horizontal and vertical ratio of the changed area (FIGs. 1-5, FIGs. 9(a), 9(b): portion of image corresponding to 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶4-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6 – area changed, e.g., from 9(a) to 9(b) or vice versa) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): 1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) based on a center of the image (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, the present invention”; p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 17, last ¶ to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶including – “the screen before expansion has 21 to 9…the ratio of the screen become 21 to 10”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 19, ¶¶4-6; claims 4-5).
As to claim 20, Cheong discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 19, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the user input (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) includes a user input for setting an image aspect ratio to a full ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning “The present invention is, according to an embodiment, a frame”, p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”, p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 18, ¶beginning – “for example, if the image acquired”;; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Pub. No. 2021049675 A1 to Cheong et al. (“Cheong”) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Korea Patent Pub. No. 20170062121 A to Yoon et al. (“Yoon”).
As to claim 7, Cheong discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), by when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
identify whether the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(portion of 151 shown as 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is same as an aspect ratio of one of a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3 – if the image of exposed portion of the flexible area corresponds to one of two or three cameras then it is displayed without cropping it otherwise the image is cropped so that the image and exposed area coincide with each other), and
if the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display exposed to the outside is the same as the aspect ratio of the one of the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b), 11; p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”, p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶5; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3), and
wherein the aspect ratio of the one is different from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (p 12, ¶1; p 20, ¶3).
Cheong does not expressly disclose and display, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio, and wherein the aspect ratio of the one is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios.
Yoon discloses and display, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio (FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6), and wherein the aspect ratio of the one(620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios(620a-620c)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios(620a-620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cheong with Yoon to provide an electronic device that allows a user to visually recognize the aspect ratio of the content according to the expansion or contraction of the display area (p 22, ¶6).
As to claim 16, Cheong discloses the method of claim 10, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses further comprising: identifying whether the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area(portion of 151 shown as 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment”; p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is same as an aspect ratio of one of a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3 – if the image of exposed portion of the flexible area corresponds to one of two or three cameras then it is displayed without cropping it otherwise the image is cropped so that the image and exposed area coincide with each other); and
displaying, through the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6), information if the horizontal and vertical ratio of the area of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶beginning – “In addition, according to an embodiment, the present invention”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; and p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b): p 7, ¶beginning – “The sensing unit 140 may include one or more sensors”; p 18, ¶¶7-9; p 19, ¶¶4-6) is the same as the aspect ratio of the one of the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶¶3-4; p 12, ¶1; p 19, ¶beginning – “Specifically, FIG. 12(b)”; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3; p 20, ¶4 to p 21, ¶3 – if the image of exposed portion of the flexible area corresponds to one of two or three cameras then it is displayed without cropping it otherwise the image is cropped so that the image and exposed area coincide with each other),
wherein the image aspect ratio of the one is different from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios (p 12, ¶1; p 20, ¶3).
Cheong does not expressly disclose and displaying, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio,
wherein the image aspect ratio of the one is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios.
Yoon discloses and displaying, through the flexible display, information indicating the designated plurality of image aspect ratios without displaying information indicating a full ratio (FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6),
wherein the image aspect ratio of the one(620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) is displayed to be distinguished from remaining image aspect ratios(620a-620c)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6) among the designated plurality of image aspect ratios(620a-620d)(FIG. 6: 620a-620d; p 21, ¶5 – p 22, ¶6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cheong with Yoon to provide a method for providing an image in an electronic device that allows a user to visually recognize the aspect ratio of the content according to the expansion or contraction of the display area (p 22, ¶6).
14. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Pub. No. 2021049675 A1 to Cheong et al. (“Cheong”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0112667 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 9, Cheong discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above.
Cheong further discloses wherein the instructions (FIG. 1: 170; p 8, ¶beginning – “FIG. 1 in order to drive” and ¶beginning – “At least some of the components may operate”), when executed by the at least one processor(180)(FIGs. 1-2; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3) individually or collectively (FIGs. 1-2: 180; p 8, ¶beginning – “The memory 170 may store”; ¶beginning – “In addition to the operation”; p 11, ¶3), further cause the electronic device (FIGs. 1-5; p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”) to:
receive a user input for selecting one image aspect ratio from among a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3), and
the area(1511 or 1511 and part or all of 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6) of the flexible display(151: 1511, 1512, 1513)(FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 9, ¶3; p 11, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 10, ¶beginning – “The mobile terminal 100”; p 13, ¶beginning – “The first area 1511”; p 19, ¶¶4-6) corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio (FIGs. 9(a), 9(b); p 3, ¶beginning – “The present invention is, according to an embodiment”; p 3, ¶ beginning - ”In addition, according to an embodiment of the present invention”; p 3, last ¶ to p 4, 1st ¶; p 4, ¶6; p 9, ¶¶1, 3; p 16, ¶2; p 17, ¶3 to p 18, ¶2; p 19, ¶¶4-6; p 20, ¶3) is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1-5, 9(a), 9(b); p 4, ¶beginning – “1 is a block diagram” to ¶beginning – “5 is a cross-sectional view”; p 19, ¶¶4-6).
Cheong does not expressly disclose and control such that the area of the flexible display corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio is exposed to the outside.
Park discloses wherein the instructions, by when executed by the processor(270)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0059, 0067, 0250), further cause the electronic device(100)(FIGs. 1a, 1b; ¶¶0052-0056, 0067, 0250) to: receive a user input for selecting one image aspect ratio from among a designated plurality of image aspect ratios (FIGs. 1a, 1b, 6, 8, 10; ¶¶0052, 0053-0056, 0069, 0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0095, 0097, 0167-0173, 0181, 0250 – a user may select, e.g., via a remote controller {FIGs. 6, 10: 300, 615, 1020}, an aspect ratio directly to be applied to displayed content {Fig 10} or indirectly by selecting displayed content having metadata that sets its default aspect ratio and the exposed area is controlled to correspond to this aspect ratio {Fig. 1b; 9}); control such that the area of the flexible display corresponding to the selected one image aspect ratio is exposed to the outside (FIGs. 1a, 1b, 6, 8, 10; ¶¶0052, 0053-0056, 0069, 0088, 0090-0091, 0094-0095, 0097, 0167-0173, 0181, 0250 – a user may select, e.g., via a remote controller {FIGs. 6, 10: 300, 615, 1020}, an aspect ratio directly to be applied to displayed content {Fig 10} or indirectly by selecting displayed content having metadata that sets its default aspect ratio and the exposed area is controlled to correspond to this aspect ratio {Fig. 1b; 9}).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cheong with Park to provide an electronic device that allows a user to more conveniently control select displayed content and its aspect ratio (i.e., by a remote controller).
Other Relevant Prior Art
15. Other relevant prior art includes:
(i) U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0261519 A1 to Park et al. discloses when an electronic device(900)(FIG. 9; ¶0230) determines its flexible display is expanded or shrunk, then it rearranges the content displayed based on the determined aspect ratio of the screen area (FIG. 9: 910, 920; ¶¶0155, 0230, 0376; claim 8).
(ii) U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0380186 A1 to Kim et al. discloses detecting an exposed area of a flexible display(190)(FIG. 5; ¶0069) by using a sensor that is one of a tension sensor, a hall sensor, an illuminance sensor, an image sensor, or a variable resistance sensor (¶¶0089-0090).
(iii) U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0140737 A1 to Cho et al. discloses a display device(1000)(FIG. 1; ¶0030) including a flexible display panel(100)(FIG. 1; ¶0032) the exposed area of which is determined by an area calculation unit(400)(FIG. 1; ¶0038).
(v) U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0202781 A1 to Kim discloses selectively activating the exposed region of a flexible display (0084).
(v) Previously-cited U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0032106 A1 to Yu et al. discloses using light or pressure sensors(PSU, PSD)(FIG. 15; ¶0107), which are either embedded in subpixels of the display panel or in the non-display area (FIG. 15; ¶0105) to sense the rolled and unrolled portion of a display panel (FIGs. 8A, 8B, 15; ¶¶0093, 0107) and compensating image data on the unrolled portion ¶0093).
Conclusion
16. THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/KIRK W HERMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
1 Examiner notes that “at least one sensor” is not limited to being separate from or different from “an image sensor”.