DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1,3-17, 21-22 and 32 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments / Status of Amendments
RE: Objections to claims 6 and 10 for minor informalities:
Applicants have amended claims 6 and 10. The objections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejections of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C.§ 112(b) as being indefinite:
Applicants traverse the rejection on the grounds that the amendment obviates the rejection.
This argument is found to be persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejections of claims 1,3,21-22, and 32 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shapiro et al (WO 2018/134825 A1):
Applicants traverse the rejections on the grounds that Applicants have amended claim 1 such that the nucleic acid scaffold is a DNA molecule that is no longer anticipated by Shapiro et al, as Shapiro et al disclosed a nucleic acid nanoparticle with the nucleic acid molecules were RNA nucleic acid strands.
This argument is found to be persuasive.
The claims as amended are no longer anticipated by Shapiro et al in light of the amendments. The prior rejections of record are withdrawn, and a modified rejection is set forth below.
RE: Rejections of claims 1-4 and 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1):
Applicants traverse this rejection on the grounds that Applicants amended to claim 1 such that the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold comprises a promoter, which is not disclosed by Henderson.
This argument is not found to be persuasive.
Henderson disclosed the scaffold of the nanosystem previously described, was obtained from bacterial virus (bacteriophage) M13 (See, ¶0023). Henderson t al does not disclose that bacteriophage M13 has promoter but Blaber (cited below in rejection) teaches that the M13 bacteriophage is a circular single stranded DNA that encodes for a total of 10 genes and has several promoters throughout (See, p 1 Figure 4.2.1). Therefore, Henderson does teach a nanoparticle of amended claim 1.
The claims as amended are anticipated by Henderson. The prior rejections of record are modified below.
RE: Rejections of claims 4-6 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rendered obvious by Shapiro et al (WO 2018/134825 A1) in view of Sun et al (Science Advances, 2022):
Applicants traverse the rejections on the grounds that Shapiro et al disclosed a ribosomal RNA origami nanostructure with RNA staples and describes the advantages of using RNA (rRNA) instead of DNA to construct nucleic acid origami nanostructures. Applicants state that Shapiro et al teaches away the use of DNA origami nanostructures, such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine the teachings of these references to have the nucleic acid scaffold is a DNA molecule, as in amended claim 1.
This argument is found to be persuasive.
While Shapiro et al teaches the advantages of RNA origami structures over DNA origami structures, Sun et al was used for the teaching of antigen as the protein of interest in the nucleic acid nanoparticle, not for the nucleic acid scaffolds. Yet, Shapiro et al does not teach where the nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules, as set forth above.
Therefore, the rejections of record are withdrawn, and a modified rejection will follow.
RE: Rejections of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rendered obvious by Shapiro et al (WO 2018/134825 A1) in view of Sun and Lu (Pharmaceutical Research, 2023):
Applicants traverse the rejections on the grounds that, Sun and Lu does not overcome the limitations of Shapiro et al with amended claim 1 requiring nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules.
This argument is found to be persuasive.
Neither Shapiro et al nor Sun and Lu does not teach nanoparticles where the nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules, as set forth above.
Therefore, the rejections of record are withdrawn, and a modified rejection will follow.
RE: Rejections of claims 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rendered obvious by Shapiro et al (WO 2018/134825 A1) in view of Boisguerin et al (Biomedicines, 2021):
Applicants traverse the rejections on the grounds that, Boisguerin et al does not overcome the limitations of Shapiro et al with amended claim 1 requiring nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules.
This argument is found to be persuasive.
Neither Shapiro et al nor Boisguerin et al does not teach nanoparticles where the nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules, as set forth above.
Therefore, the rejections of record are withdrawn, and a modified rejection will follow.
RE: Rejections of claims 15 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rendered obvious by Shapiro et al (WO 2018/134825 A1) in view of Agarwal et al (Langmuir: the ACS journal of surfaces and colloids, 2022):
Applicants traverse the rejections on the grounds that, Shapiro et al teaches away the use of DNA origami nanostructures, such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine the teachings of these references to have the nucleic acid scaffold is a DNA molecule, as in amended claim 1. Applicants also traverse on the grounds that, Agarwal et al does not overcome the limitations of Shapiro et al with amended claim 1 requiring nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules.
This argument is found to be persuasive.
Neither Shapiro et al nor Agarwal et al does not teach nanoparticles where the nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules, as set forth above.
Therefore, the rejections of record are withdrawn, and a modified rejection will follow.
RE: Rejections of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being rendered obvious by Shapiro et al (WO 2018/134825 A1) in view of Wang et al (PNAS, 2020):
Applicants traverse on the grounds that, Wang et al does not overcome the limitations of Shapiro et al with amended claim 1 requiring nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules.
This argument is found to be persuasive.
Neither Shapiro et al nor Wang et al does not teach nanoparticles where the nucleic acid scaffolds are DNA molecules, as set forth above.
Therefore, the rejections of record are withdrawn, and a modified rejection will follow.
New/Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4,7-8, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/21/2024); evidenced by Blaber (Florida State University, 2021; https://bio.libretexts.org/Bookshelves/Biochemistry/Supplemental_Modules_(Biochemistry)/4._Biotechnology_2).
Henderson disclosed methods for delivering genetic material with a DNA-based nanosystem into living systems (See, Abstract). The nanosystem reads on nanoparticles.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Henderson disclosed a method of making a DNA complex called DNA origami (See, ¶0023). Henderson disclosed DNA origami has a large single stranded DNA molecule, referred to as scaffold, obtained from bacteriophage M13 or similar, mixed with a large number of small synthetic DNA molecules, referred to staples or helper strands, as they tie together the distal nonadjacent portions of the scaffold into the desired shape (See, ¶0023).
Henderson does not disclose that bacteriophage M13 has promoter, but Blaber teaches that the M13 bacteriophage is a circular single stranded DNA that encodes for a total of 10 genes and has several promoters throughout (See, p 1 Figure 4.2.1).
Thus, the DNA origami reads on a nucleic acid nanoparticle comprising: a single stranded nucleic acid scaffold comprising a promoter,…wherein the nucleic acid scaffold is a DNA molecule, and a plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers, wherein each oligomer is complementary to at least a portion of the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold of claim 1.
Example 1 of Henderson disclosed an embodiment of DNA that contains components of the CRISPR gene editing system, including guide RNAs, nuclease Cas9 or other nucleases, such that it is part of the scaffold of the nanosystem (See, ¶0028). This reads on a nucleic acid nanoparticle comprising a single stranded nucleic acid scaffold encoding one protein of interest,.. of claim 1. This also reads on, wherein the nucleic acid scaffold encodes one or more RNA molecules of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, following the discussion above, Example 1 of Henderson disclosed an embodiment of DNA that contains components of the CRISPR gene editing system, including guide RNAs, nuclease Cas9 or other nucleases, such that it is part of the scaffold of the nanosystem (See, ¶0028). The nuclease Cas9 is a protein of interest in this example. Therefore, this reads on wherein the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold encodes...protein of interest.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, following the discussion above. Henderson disclosed an example with CRISPR/Cas9 nanosystem. This reads on, wherein the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold encodes a gene-editing system of claim 7. This also reads on, wherein the gene editing system is….. CRISPR/Cas of claim 8.
Regarding claim 32, following the discussion above, Example 3 disclosed by Henderson, teaches delivering the DNA-origami nanosystems disclosed to a cell, cells, organ, tissue or other biological entity, and the genetic cargo is converted by normal biological process into gene products. The gene products modify the genes in the targeted entity and result in altered genetic environment (See, ¶0038). This reads on, a method of expressing a heterologous RNA molecule and/or protein of interest in a population of cells, said method comprising contacting a population of cells with a nucleic acid nanoparticle according to claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1,3-4, 7-8, and 32 are anticipated by Henderson.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/21/2024) as applied to claims 1,3-4,7-9,11-12,15, and 32 above, and further in view of Sun et al (Science Advances, 2022).
The teachings of Henderson are set forth above.
Regarding claims 4-6, following the discussion above, Henderson disclosed the DNA-origami nanosystem can comprise a protein of interest. Henderson disclosed that the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified for the purpose of bioavailability, survivability in living systems, recognition of molecular or cellular targets, molecular or cellular binding, nuclear targeting, and membrane or nuclear permeability (See, ¶0029).
Henderson does not disclose one or more proteins of interest comprise one or more antigens or that one or more antigens is derived from a pathogenic microorganism, a tumor-associated antigen, and/ or an allergen.
Sun et al teaches nanosized artificial antigen-presenting cell (aAPCs), created with DNA origami nanostructures with costimulatory ligands at a nanoscale to provide insight to molecular vaccines for cancer immunotherapy (See, Abstract).
Sun et al teaches the design of a fabricated triangular DNA origami nanostructures with multiple functional elements as scaffolds to control the assembly of peptide–major histocompatibility complex (pMHC) ligands and anti-CD28 antibody (See, p2 paragraph 1 and Figure 1). This reads on wherein protein of interest of claim 4, the pMHC reads on…comprise one or more antigens of claim 5, and pMHC can be a tumor associated antigen, which reads on wherein the antigen is…a tumor-associated antigen of claim 6.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the DNA-origami nanosystem such that the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold encoding a protein of interest comprises an antigen that is tumor associated taught by Sun et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to include pMHC as taught by Sun et al to optimize the immune response (T cell) and efficacy of the nanoparticle. Also, Henderson suggest and motivates the modification of the nanosystem to improve efficacy and function. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Sun et al, with using the aAPC in a mouse tumor model.
Regarding claims 21-22, following the discussion above, Henderson disclosed that the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified to reduce or enhance inflammatory response (See, ¶0030). Henderson does not disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising nucleic acid nanoparticle according to claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or a method of eliciting an immune response in subject.
Sun et al evaluated the antitumor activity of optimized DNA origami based aAPCs activated T cells to a B16-OVA mouse tumor model. Mice were injected with splenocytes and/ or aAPC-T12, then the tumor size and mouse survival rate was monitored (See, p4 col 2 paragraph 3 and Figure 5). Sun et al teaches that DNA origami aAPC-T12 successfully activated T cells and aided in achieving optimal antitumor efficacy in adoptive immunotherapy (See, p5 col 2). This reads on, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the nucleic acid nanoparticle….and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier of claim 21 and a method of eliciting an immune response in subject, comprising, administering a nucleic acid nanoparticle…to a subject, wherein the nucleic acid nanoparticle is administered to the subject to elicit an immune response of claim 22.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the modified DNA-origami nanosystem with a pMHC in a pharmaceutical composition and administer it to a subject as taught by Sun et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to include the modified DNA-origami nanosystem as taught by Sun et al to optimize the immune response (T cell) and efficacy of the nanoparticle. Also, Henderson motivates the modification of the nanosystem to improve efficacy and function; and Sun et al teaches the administration of pMHC in a DNA-origami nanosystem induces T cell response and anti-tumor efficacy. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as evidenced by Sun et al, with using the aAPC in a mouse tumor model.
Therefore, claims 4-6 and 21-22 are rendered obvious over Henderson in view of Sun et al.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/21/2024) as applied to claims 1,3-4,7-9,11-12,15, and 32 above, and further in view of Sun and Lu (Pharmaceutical Research, 2023).
The teachings of Henderson are set forth above.
Regarding claims 9-10, following the discussion above, Henderson disclosed that the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified for the purpose of bioavailability, survivability in living systems, recognition of molecular or cellular targets, molecular or cellular binding, nuclear targeting, and membrane or nuclear permeability (See, ¶0029). Henderson discloses that the modifications of the nanosystem to enhance function include addition of chemical moieties (e.g. amphipathic materials) ¶0030). This reads on, wherein the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold and/or the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise a cationic lipid moiety of claim 9.
Henderson does not specify the kind of chemical moiety or cationic lipid moiety.
Sun and Lu teach that stable nucleic acid lipid nanoparticles (SNALP) were created for encapsulating siRNA to facilitate RNAi in vitro and in vivo; such as inhibiting hepatitis B in mice and silencing gene expression in non-human primates (See, p34 col 1 – col 2). Sun and Lu teach that the cationic lipids that are most commonly used are DOTMA and DOTAP to improve in vitro gene transfection efficiency in different cell populations (See, p28 col 2 paragraphs 2-3). This reads on, wherein the cationic lipid moiety is…DOTAP or DOTMA of claim 10.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the DNA-origami nanosystem of Henderson such that the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise a cationic lipid moiety such as DOTMA or DOTAP as taught in Sun and Lu. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to include the cationic lipid moiety to the nanoparticle to improve the transfection efficiency when contacted with cell populations as taught in Sun and Lu. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Henderson disclosed it would be advantageous to the DNA-origami nanosystem to add a chemical moiety to the nanosystem to enhance the function. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Sun and Lu.
Therefore, claims 9 and 10 are rendered obvious over Henderson in view of Sun and Lu.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/21/2024) as applied to claims 1,3-4,7-9,11-12,15, and 32 above, and further in view of Boisguerin et al (Biomedicines, 2021).
The teachings of Henderson are set forth above.
Regarding claims 11-14, following the discussion above, Henderson disclosed that the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified for the purpose of enhancing the function of the nanosystem. Henderson discloses that the modifications of the nanosystem to enhance function include addition of cellular signals (e.g. nuclear targeting protein sequences) (See, ¶0030). This reads on, wherein the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold and/or the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise a targeting peptide sequence of claim 11.
Henderson does not specify the kind of chemical moiety or cationic lipid moiety.
Boisguerin et al teaches how various gene therapies, such as nanomedicine have been applied to skip, repair, or silence genes or to stimulate the immune system to combat diseases in patients (See, Abstract).
Boisguerin et al teaches that there is a subset of CPP used for oligonucleotide delivery with therapeutic applications that have complex with amphipathic MPG peptide and a hydrophobic domain derived from nuclear localization sequence SV40 T-antigen (See, p15 paragraph 4). Boisguerin et al teaches that this complex has been used to develop an effective vaccine against hepatitis C virus (HCV) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) (See, p15-16). Boisguerin et al also teaches that CPPs have a low cell cytotoxicity (See, p21 paragraph 1).
The CPP with amphipathic MPG peptide reads on amphipathic model peptide, which reads on …comprise a targeting peptide sequence of claim 11 and 12; …targeting peptide is CPP … amphipathic model peptide of claim13. The SV40 T-antigen reads on V40 Large T-antigen of claim 14.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the DNA-origami nanosystem of Henderson such that the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise a cell penetrating peptide (CPP) as taught by Boisguerin et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to include the CPP to the nanoparticle to improve the transfection efficiency when contacted with cell populations as taught in Boisguerin et al. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Henderson disclosed it would be advantageous to the DNA-origami nanosystem to enhance the function. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by the use of the nanocomplex in vaccines in Boisguerin et al.
Therefore, claims 11-14 are rendered obvious over Henderson in view of Boisguerin et al.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/21/2024) as applied to claims 1,3-4,7-9,11-12,15, and 32 above, and further in view of Agarwal et al (Langmuir: the ACS journal of surfaces and colloids, 2022).
The teachings of Henderson are set forth above.
Regarding claims 15-16, following the discussion above, Henderson disclosed that the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified for the purpose of enhancing the nanosystem (See, ¶0029). Henderson discloses that the modifications of the nanosystem to enhance function include addition of chemical moieties (See, ¶0030).
Henderson does not teach the biodegradable cationic polymers are PEG-poly-lysine copolymers.
Agarwal et al teaches an approach to stabilize DNA origami nanoparticles by coating the nanoparticles with poly(ethylene glycol) poly-lysine block copolymers (PEG-PLL), that resulted in the nanostructure maintaining shape and protects functional elements on the structure (See, Abstract). Agarwal et al teaches that PEG-PLL is protective with DNA origami that has been functionalized with Cy3/Cy5 dyes (See, Figure 3). Agarwal et al demonstrated that PEG-PLL is a fast method to solubilize DNA origami in various organic solvents while maintaining the structure and function of the DNA origami nanoparticle. This reads on, wherein the single stranded nucleic acid scaffold and/or the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise one or more biodegradable cationic polymers.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the DNA-origami nanosystem of Henderson such that the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise one or more biodegradable cationic polymer such as PEG-PLL as taught by Agarwal et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to include the PEG-PLL oligomer or coating to DNA nanoparticle to protect the nanoparticle from degradation. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Henderson disclosed it would be advantageous to the DNA-origami nanosystem to add a chemical moiety to the nanosystem to enhance the function. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Agarwal et al.
Therefore, claims 15-16 are rendered obvious over Henderson in view of Agarwal et al.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (US2018/0187187 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/21/2024) as applied to claims 1,3-4,7-9,11-12,15, and 32 above, and further in view of Wang et al (PNAS, 2020).
The teachings of Henderson are set forth above.
Regarding claim 17, following the discussion above, Henderson disclosed the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified for the purpose of enhancing function (See, ¶0029). Henderson does not disclose that the DNA-origami nanosystem can be modified such that the scaffold and/ or nucleic acid oligomers comprise one or more peptoids.
Wang et al teaches method of stabilizing DNA origami nanostructures by coating them with synthesized peptoids for biomedical applications (See, Abstract).
Wang et al teaches the design of peptoid sequences that allow for DNA nanostructure interaction and stabilization for use in drug/gene delivery or nanomedicine applications (See, p6340 col 2 paragraph 3). The peptoid structures can be found in Figure 1A (See, p6340) and the oligomer sequences that are used for the nanostructure coating are in Supplemental Methods (OC sequence) (See, p2 supplemental methods). Wang et al showed and concluded that stabilization is dependent on the sequence of peptoids used and that PE2 coating had the best protection on nanoparticle structures that can further be used for targeted drug/therapeutic delivery (See, p6347).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the DNA-origami nanosystem such that the plurality of single stranded nucleic acid oligomers comprise peptoid sequence as taught by Wang et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to include the peptoid oligomer or coating to DNA nanoparticle to protect the nanoparticle and further stabilize the structure. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Henderson disclosed it would be advantageous to the DNA-origami nanosystem to enhance the function One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Wang et al.
Therefore, claim 17 is rendered obvious over Henderson in view of Wang et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLINE M LARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633