Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-10, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Korean Patent Publication No. 10-2091941 to Soo (referring to enclosed machine
translation, "Soo"). Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14, and 16, Soo discloses particles made by
chemical vapor deposition of amorphous silicon onto the surface of graphite plates/flakes, followed by
spheronization to create spherodized particles comprising agglomerations of the graphite flakes having
silicon in the regions between the flakes, and in some embodiments some silicon on the outer surface of
the particles. Soo at paragraphs [0050] and [0056].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the thickness of the silicon coating ranges from 20-500nm, a range
that is fully enclosed by the recited range, thus anticipating the recited range. Id. at paragraph [0075].
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent
Publication No. KR 20200023870 to Jang eg al. ("Jang"). Jang discloses deposition of silicon onto
graphite to create composite graphite-silicon particles where the silicon is dispersed as micron thick
layer within the interior of the graphite/between the layers/flakes making up the graphite portion of the
composite, and also on the surface of the graphite. Jang at paragraphs [0029] - [0031].
Further regarding claim 11, Jang discloses that the particle size of the composite particles is less
than 20 microns, which the Office finds to sufficiently overlap with the recited range of 1 to 20 microns
as to anticipate the range. Id. at paragraph [0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soo. Soo is
applied as described above. As noted above the thickness of the silicon layer ranges from 20 to 500
microns. The spheronization process compacts the coated graphite flakes together. Accordingly, the
Office finds that there will at least two flakes where the silicon coating of one flake is in contact with the
silicon coating of the other particle, thus defining the shortest distance between the two flakes, thus
ranging from 40-1000nm. Because this range overlaps with the recited range, it renders that range
obvious.
Claims 4, 7, 12, 13, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jang. Jang is applied as described above. Regarding claims 4, 7, and 17, Jung does not expressly disclose
the amount of silicon filling the space in the interior of the graphite, or on the surface of the graphite.
However, Jung does disclose that the silicon is included in order to improve the capacity of the graphite
particle when used as an anode active material. Jang at paragraph [0004]. Thus, the person of ordinary
skill in the art at the time of invention would have had reason to maximize the inclusion of silicon into
the interior spaces of the graphite, as well as on the surface of the graphite as a means of maximizing
the capacity gains that adding silicon provides.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Jung discloses incorporation of 10-70% silicon relative to the total
weight of the graphite-silicon composite. Jang at paragraph [0017]. Because this range fully
encompasses the recited range, it is found to render that range obvious.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Jung discloses a specific surface area of its composite particles to
range from 1-20 m²/g. Jang. At paragraph [0013]. Because this range substantially overlaps with the
recited range, it is found to render the range obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,218,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘355 patent recite all-solid batteries that include materials including all limitations recited in the claims of the present application.
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1727