DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 14-16, 19, 21, 23-29, 31-34, 43, 57, 60, 61, 64, 65, 67, 70-72, 76, 78-80, 82-85, and 94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20160306390 to Vertegaal et al (Vertegaal) in view of US Pub. 20190028691 to Hinds et al (Hinds).
Claims 1 and 57. Vertegaal discloses a gaming system comprising:
a gaming application configured to produce holographic video game data for a light field game experience during execution of the gaming application (Fig. 4, and ¶¶48 and 50);
a light field (LF) display assembly configured to present holographic content (¶50); and
a processing engine (¶¶10-13 “processor”) configured to:
receive the holographic video game data; and
generate display instructions for the light field display assembly to present the holographic video game data as holographic content using the LF display assembly, the holographic content representing a scene within the light field game experience (¶¶48 and 50).
However, Vertegaal fails to explicitly disclose:
a light field processing engine;
(as required by claim 57) a network interface configured to:
(as required by claim 57) transmit the plurality of inputs to a gaming server via a network connection, and
receive holographic video game content (as required by claim 57) comprising a plurality of display instructions for presenting the holographic video game content of the light field game experience via the network connection.
Hinds teaches a light field processing engine (Fig. 6, 614, and ¶69);
a network interface configured to:
(as required by claim 57) transmit the plurality of inputs to a gaming server via a network connection (¶¶10 and 121), and
a plurality of display instructions for presenting the holographic video game content of the light field game experience via the network connection (¶¶69, 72, and 83). The system of Vertegaal would have motivation to use the teachings of Hinds in order to provide infrastructure for various users to participate in the same game while at different locations which would encourage a wide range of people to participate in gameplay.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vertegaal with the teachings of Hinds in order to provide infrastructure for various users to participate in the same game while at different locations.
Claims 4 and 60. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein:
the LF processing engine is further configured to determine a geometric orientation of the LF display assembly; and
the LF processing engine is further configured to generate holographic content representing the scene based on the geometric orientation geometric orientation of the LF display system,
(as required by claim 60) the gaming system is further configured to access a geometric orientation of the LF display assembly, and
the network interface is further configured to transmit the geometric configuration of the LF display assembly to the gaming server, and the received holographic content representing the scene is configured for presentation using an LF display assembly having the geometric orientation (see Hinds ¶¶87-89).
Claims 5 and 61. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the geometric orientation includes any of:
a number of display panels of the LF display assembly,
a relative orientation of the display panels,
a height of the display panels,
a width of the display panels, and
a layout of the display panels (see Hinds ¶¶87-89).
Claims 8 and 64. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the holographic video game data for the LF game experience comprises any of: geometry, textures, lighting properties, and material properties corresponding to a scene in the LF game experience (see Hinds ¶¶87-89).
Claims 9 and 65. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the holographic video game data for the LF game experience is rendered as any of:
one or more viewpoints within the scene of the light field game experience,
a light field representing the light field game experience,
a deep image comprising multiple red, green, blue, and alpha samples,
a reflectance determined by a function of illumination geometry and viewing geometry for one or more surfaces in the light field game experience (see Hinds ¶¶99-101).
Claims 11 and 67. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the holographic video game data is rendered as one or more viewpoints within a scene of the light field game experience and at least some of the viewpoints are rendered at lower resolution than other viewpoints (see Hinds ¶13).
Claims 14 and 70. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches further comprising:
an encoder to encode the holographic video game data to encoded video game data (see Hinds ¶71 “real-time encoding unit”); and
a decoder configured to decode encoded holographic video game data when generating the display instructions for the light field display assembly (see Hinds ¶59 “3D content decoding element”).
Claims 15 and 71. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the encoded holographic video game data is in a first format (see Hinds ¶137 “vectorized format”) and the decoded holographic video game data is a second format (see Hinds ¶96 “raster-based representations”).
Claims 16 and 72. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the first format is a vectorized data format (see Hinds ¶137 “vectorized format”) and the second format is a rasterized data format (see Hinds ¶96 “raster-based representations”).
Claim 19. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches further comprising:
a network interface configured to receive global game information from a gaming server via a network connection, and wherein the gaming application is further configured to produce holographic video game data using the global game data received from the server (see Hinds ¶121 “multiple participants being represented by their 3D avatars, and participating in a virtual game in a 3D game space).
Claims 21 and 76. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the gaming server is located at a different location as the gaming system (see Hinds ¶50 in this case, the server is located at service provider location).
Claims 23 and 78. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein a gaming server administers the light field game experience via a network connection (see Hinds Fig. 6 and ¶69).
Claims 24 and 79. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein administering the light field game experience comprises any of:
collecting inputs from all the clients, collecting timestamps from the clients, keeping the world state of the game synchronized between players, making sure all player clients are playing by the rules, verifying and enforcing player movement, or sending regular snapshots of the world state of the game to all clients (see Hinds ¶121).
Claim 25. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches further comprising:
a network interface configured to transmit data of the light field game experience to a gaming server via a network connection (see Hinds Fig. 6 and ¶69).
Claim 26. Vertegaal discloses wherein the data of the light field game experience includes any of:
a position of a player, a timestamp, an action of player, or a status of an object in the light field game experience (¶51).
Claim 27. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches further comprising:
a network interface configured to receive at least some portion of the holographic video game data from a gaming server via a network connection (see Hinds Fig. 6 and ¶69).
Claim 28. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the holographic video game content received from the server is in a first data format, and the gaming system further comprises:
a decoder configured to decode the holographic video game content in the first data format to a second data format, the second data format configured for generating display instructions for a LF display assembly (see Hinds ¶59 “3D content decoding element”).
Claims 29 and 80. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the gaming application is configured to operate in a spectator mode where the gaming application generates video game data for viewing the light field game experience from a spectator viewpoint within the scene (see Vertegaal ¶53 “another viewer”).
Claims 31 and 82. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the gaming application transmits the holographic video game data to one or more additional LF display assemblies via a network connection (see Hinds ¶83).
Claims 32 and 83. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches, wherein the one or more additional LF display assemblies are at a different location than the LF display assembly (see Hinds ¶83)
Claims 33 and 84. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the one or more additional LF display assemblies are located at a home, a theater, a bar, an arena, or a stadium (see Hinds ¶83).
Claims 34 and 85. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the gaming system is located at a home, a theater, a bar, an arena, or a stadium (see Hinds ¶83).
Claims 43 and 94. Vertegaal in view of Hinds teaches wherein the LF display assembly is configured to present acoustic content, and the LF processing engine is further configured to:
receive the holographic video game data; and
generate audio instructions for the light field display assembly to present the holographic video game data as auditory content within the scene of the light field game experience (see Hinds ¶¶80 and 84 “audio elements).
Claims 10, 13, 20, 66, 69, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20160306390 to Vertegaal et al (Vertegaal) in view of US Pub. 20190028691 to Hinds et al (Hinds) as applied to claims 1 and 57 above, and further in view of US Pub. 20110128555 to Rothschild et al (Rotschild).
Claims 10 and 66. Vertegaal in view of Hinds and Rotschild teaches wherein the holographic video game data for the light field game experience is rendered as one or more viewpoints within the scene of the light field game experience and a first viewpoint of the one or more viewpoints corresponds to a center view having a larger resolution than the other viewpoints (see Hinds ¶13 “various HDR formats and optional support of WCG, displays 528, 530 my support various resolutions”; and see Rotschild ¶556 “different perspectives”). The system of Vertegaal in view of Hinds would have motivation to use the teachings of Rotschild in order to expand the capabilities of the light field computing system in doing so would make the system more fun and exciting to use.
Claims 13 and 69. Vertegaal in view of Hinds and Rotschild teaches wherein the holographic video game data is rendered as one or more volumetric (see Hinds ¶¶68 and 87) tactile surfaces (see Rotschild ¶17 “touches a certain protion of the hologram”), the holographic video game data describing the volumetric tactile surfaces as a sound field comprising one or more amplitudes for a sound wave generated at one or more coordinates (see Rotschild ¶38 “projecting a beam of sound, for example, ultrasound, modulated to cause sendsation”). The system of Vertegaal in view of Hinds would have motivation to use the teachings of Rotschild in order to expand the capabilities of the light field computing system in doing so would make the system more fun and exciting to use.
Claims 20 and 75. Vertegaal in view of Hinds and Rotschild teaches wherein the gaming server is located at a same location as the gaming system (see Rotschild Fig. 15, and ¶¶629-631, in this case the server is located at a gaming establishment enabling multiple players).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 19-28, 31-35, 38-42, 44-50, 54-72, 75-79, 82-86, 89-93, 95-101, and 105-107 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-57 of U.S. Patent No. 11938398. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application recite the same limitations as the patented case; also, the instant application is generic to the patented case.
Claim 1. US Pat. 11938398 recites a gaming system comprising:
a gaming application configured to produce holographic video game data for a light field game experience during execution of the gaming application (see patented case claims 1, 40, 41, 44, 48, and 51);
a light field (LF) display assembly configured to present holographic content (see patented case claims 1, 40, 41, 44, 48, and 51); and
a light field processing engine (see patented case claims 1, 40, 41, 44, 48, and 51) configured to:
receive the holographic video game data (see patented case claims 1, 40, 41, 44, 48, and 51); and
generate display instructions for the light field display assembly to present the holographic video game data as holographic content using the LF display assembly, the holographic content representing a scene within the light field game experience (see patented case claims 1, 40, 41, 44, 48, and 51).
Claim 57. US Pat. 11938398 recites a gaming system comprising:
a gaming application configured to generate a plurality of inputs for a light field game experience during execution of the gaming application (see patented case claims 30, 54, 55, 56, and 57);
a network interface (see patented case claims 30, 54, 55, 56, and 57) configured to:
transmit the plurality of inputs to a gaming server via a network connection (see patented case claims 30, 54, 55, 56, and 57), and
receive holographic video game content comprising a plurality of display instructions for presenting the holographic video game content of the light field game experience via the network connection (see patented case claims 30, 54, 55, 56, and 57); and
a light field (LF) display assembly configured to input the display instructions and present the holographic video game content as a scene within the light field gaming experience (see patented case claims 30, 54, 55, 56, and 57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 12, 17, 18, 22, 30, 35-42, 44-56, 58, 59, 62, 63, 68, 73, 74, 77, 81, 86-93, and 95-107 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715