DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
All pending claims 1-4, 6-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the subject matter:
“a data processing unit having a processor and memory and configured to execute instructions to:
receive an electrical signal from the pressure sensor corresponding to the fill height of the fuel in the fuel tank container;
receive tank characteristic data dependent on the particular geometric configuration of the container profile of the fuel tank container;
generate a tank characteristic curve based on the tank characteristic data;
determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container based on the signals from the pressure sensor and the tank characteristic curve; and output a fuel quantity signal to a display unit.”
However, the specification and drawings fail to describe/show the data processing unit configured to at least execute instructions to generate a tank characteristic curve based on the tank characteristic data.
Going forward with examination, claim 1 is interpreted to be (based on application’s specification paragraphs 0030-0031, 0057 and Fig. 7, reproduced below):
--A tank system (10) for fuel of a work vehicle comprising:
a fuel tank container (12) having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration defining an inner volume containing fuel at a fill height (h);
a pressure sensor (18) mounted to the fuel tank container (12) and having a moveable membrane (60);
an air channel (20) coupled to the pressure sensor (18) and having a first channel end (26) open to the membrane (60) of the pressure sensor (18) and having a second channel end (32) disposed within the internal volume of the fuel tank container (12) open to the fuel such that the fill height (h) of the fuel within the fuel tank container (12) effects a pressure of a column of air within the air channel (20) acting upon the movable membrane (20) of the pressure sensor (18); and
a data processing unit having a processor and memory and configured to execute instructions to:
receive an electrical signal from the pressure sensor (18) corresponding to the fill height (h) of the fuel in the fuel tank container (12);
receive tank characteristic data dependent on the particular geometric configuration of the container profile of the fuel tank container (12);
generate a tank characteristic curve (KL; Fig. 7) specific to the tank container (12), the characteristic curve (KL) representing a ratio between the filling height (h) and a volume (vol) of the container internal volume up to the filling height (as shown in fig. 7);
determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (12) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (18) and the tank characteristic curve (KL); and
output a fuel quantity signal to a display unit.--
(APPLICATION’S FIG. 7)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 14-15 (as interpreted above) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (KR 20190130353 A) in view of He et al. (CN 112130594 A), Dietschi et al. (US 9,709,432 B2) and Stevenson et al. (US 11,100,456 B2); and/or Daiki et al. (JP 5066456 B2).
1. Ho teaches a tank system for fuel of a work vehicle (Abstract: “The present invention relates to a level measurement sensor for measuring a liquid fuel level of a liquid fuel tank for a vehicle”) comprising (See figs. 1, 4, reproduced below):
a fuel tank container (2) having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration defining an inner volume containing fuel at a fill height (as is apparent from at least in fig. 1);
a pressure sensor (20) mounted to the fuel tank container (2) and having a moveable membrane (diaphragm 23);
an air channel (10) coupled to the pressure sensor (20) and having a first (upper) channel end (22) open to the membrane (23) of the pressure sensor (20) and having a second (lower) channel end (12, 12’) disposed within the internal volume of the fuel tank container (2) open to the fuel such that the fill height of the fuel within the fuel tank container (2) effects a pressure of a column of air within the air channel (10) acting upon the movable membrane (23) of the pressure sensor (20);
wherein the system determines a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on signals from the pressure sensor (20); and
outputs a fuel quantity signal to a display unit (See previous provided Translation Pars. 0006, 0018, 0022, 0027, 0029, 0037, 0038).
Ho is silent about the system comprising:
a data processing unit having a processor and memory and configured to execute instructions to:
a. receive an electrical signal from the pressure sensor (20) corresponding to the fill height of the fuel in the fuel tank container (2);
b. receive tank characteristic data dependent on the particular geometric configuration of the container profile of the fuel tank container (2);
c. generate a tank characteristic curve specific to the tank container (2), the characteristic curve representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height; and
d. determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20) and the tank characteristic curve.
He teaches a tank system comprising (See fig. 1, reproduced below):
a liquid tank container (1) having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration containing liquid at a fill height (as is apparent from at least in fig. 1);
a pressure sensor (3);
an air channel (2) coupled to the pressure sensor (3) and having a first (upper) channel end open to the pressure sensor (3) and having a second (lower) channel end disposed within an internal volume of the liquid tank container (1) open to a liquid in the liquid tank container (1) such that a fill height of the liquid effects a pressure of a column of air within the air channel (2) acting upon the pressure sensor (3); and
a data processing unit having a processor and memory and configured to execute instructions to (See previous provided Translation Page 10; He claim 17):
A. receive an electrical signal from the pressure sensor (3) corresponding to the fill height of the liquid in the liquid tank container 1 (See Translation Page 10; He claim 17); and
D. determine a liquid quantity in the liquid tank container (1) based on the signals from the pressure sensor 3 (See Translation Page 10; He claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply He teaching to Ho system by having the system comprise a data processing unit having a processor and memory and configured to execute instructions to receive an electrical signal from the pressure sensor (20) corresponding to the fill height of the fuel in the fuel tank container (2); and determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20). The processor and memory would help automate the system.
Ho as modified is silent about:
the data processing unit configured to execute instructions to:
b. receive tank characteristic data dependent on the particular geometric configuration of the container profile of the fuel tank container (2); and
c. generate a tank characteristic curve specific to the tank container (2), the characteristic curve representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height; and
d. determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20) and the tank characteristic curve.
Dietschi teaches a tank system (10) comprising (See fig. 1, reproduced below):
a liquid tank container (12) having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration containing liquid at a fill height (as is apparent from at least in fig. 1);
a pressure sensor (15);
an air channel (14) coupled to the pressure sensor (15) and having a first (upper) channel end open to the pressure sensor (15) and having a second (lower) channel end disposed within an internal volume of the liquid tank container (12) open to a liquid (11) in the liquid tank container (12) such that a fill height of the liquid (11) effects a pressure of a column of air within the air channel (14) acting upon the pressure sensor (15); and
a data processing unit (control unit or processor 31; Fig. 2) configured to execute instructions to:
B. receive tank characteristic data dependent on the particular geometric configuration of the container profile of the fuel tank container 12 (said tank characteristic data may be, for instance, size and capacity of the liquid tank container 12 among a plurality of containers each having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration to be received and stored in the control unit or processor 31; Col. 4, lines 3-18); and
D. determine a liquid quantity within the liquid tank container (12) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (15) and the tank characteristic data (Col. 2, line 60 – Col. 3, line 5).
Col. 4, lines 3-18: “According to the preferred embodiment, the control unit or processor 31 is configured to…calculate the quantity of milk 11 in the container 12 on the basis of the calculated level hl and of the size of the container 12; in particular, preferably, the control unit 31 comprises stored therein a table including, for instance, size/shape and capacity of a plurality of containers.” (Understandably, the control unit or processor 31 receives and stores the size/shape and capacity of the container 12 among a plurality of containers each having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration).
Col. 2, line 60 – Col. 3, line 5: “According to the hydrostatic pressure principle the pressure that the sensor 15 measures can be converted into a height h that is proportional to the distance between the sensor 15 and the liquid surface in the container 12. Then by knowing the height of the sensor hs in respect to the bottom of the container 12, the height of the liquid hl can be determined as well as the quantity of liquid, if the container size/shape and capacity are known.” (Understandably, in addition to the signals from the pressure sensor 15, the received size/shape and capacity of the container 12, being the tank characteristic data, are known and received/stored in advance to be used for determining the height of the liquid hl as well as the quantity of liquid within the liquid tank container 12).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Dietschi teaching to Ho as modified system by having the data processing unit configured to execute instructions to receive tank characteristic data dependent on the fuel tank container (2); and determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20) and the tank characteristic data, in order to the accurately determine the fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2).
Ho as modified is silent about:
the data processing unit configured to execute instructions to:
c. generate a tank characteristic curve specific to the tank container (2), the characteristic curve representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height; and
d. determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20) and the tank characteristic curve.
Stevenson teaches a tank system for fuel of a work vehicle (shown in Fig. 3) comprising:
a fuel tank container (64) having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration containing fuel (1001) at a fill height (as is apparent from at least in fig. 22, reproduced below);
a pressure sensor (104); and
a data processing unit (processor 152; Fig. 23) configured execute instructions to:
C. generate a tank characteristic chart specific to the tank container (64), the characteristic chart representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height (Abstract; Col. 19, lines 41-61); and
D. determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (64) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (104) and the tank characteristic chart (Abstract; Col. 19, lines 41-61).
Abstract and Col. 19, lines 41-61 essentially describe:
“By knowing the depth, or height, of the fuel (1001) in the tank container (64), and the size and shape of the tank container (64), the current fuel quantity/level/volume may be calculated in any of a number of different ways by a suitable processor. By way of example, the sensor (104) pressure output allows fuel volume to be calculated mathematically using well-known equations, given the size and shape of a tank container (64) for a given fuel height/depth. In another example, fluid volume may be calculated mathematically for a number of different fuel heights/depths and a chart generated correlating height/depth to volume; then a specific volume may be determined from the chart for any specific height/depth. In another example, volume amounts or values may be determined by manually pouring fuel into the tank container (64), one unit (e.g., gallon) at a time, and measuring the pressure or fuel height/depth with each unit added and generate a chart from that. In another example, if tanks can be categorized into a few fundamental shapes, the only variable being size, a chart may be generated for each category of shape, and scaled for the size of any particular tank of that shape.”
Evidently, the chart may be generated specifically for the tank container (64), the chart representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height.
Obviously, the tank characteristic chart may be in a form of a characteristic lookup table/graph/curve representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height. For examples:
US 5,379,638 to Denz et al. teaches a tank system for fuel of a motor vehicle. The system comprises a tank container, wherein a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container can be read out from a characteristic curve which is present either as a table or in a form of an equation (Col. 7, lines 30-33).
US 7,721,601 to Yen et al. teaches a tank system for fuel of a hydrogen storage tank. The system comprises a tank container, wherein data from a characteristic curve can be stored in a look-up table providing basis for an algorithm by which an approximated fill level within the tank can be determined (Col. 7, lines 10-15).
US 9,523,600 to Criel et al. teaches a tank system for fuel a motor vehicle. The system comprises a tank container, wherein a mathematical formula/table/curve can be used to determine a volume of fuel in the tank container (Col. 2, lines 16-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Stevenson teaching to Ho system as modified by having the data processing unit configured to execute instructions to generate a tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve specific to the tank container (2), the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height; and determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20) and the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve; in order to better determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2). Evidently, in Ho as modified, the data processing unit may access the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve to ascertain a fuel quantity measurement result that is based on the signals from the pressure sensor (18), and output the fuel quantity signal to the display unit afterwards based on the signals from the pressure sensor (18) and the characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve.
Besides Stevenson, Daiki also teaches a tank system for fuel, comprising (Daiki is a reference with a machine translation listed in an IDS filed on 7/20/2024):
a fuel tank container (2) having a container profile of a particular geometric configuration containing fuel (F) at a fill height (See figs. 1, 2, reproduced below);
a pressure sensor (4); and
a data processing unit (9) configured to execute instructions to:
C. generate a tank characteristic chart 123 (Fig. 2) specific to the tank container (2), the characteristic chart (123) representing a ratio between the filling height (in centimeter or cm) and a volume (in liter or l) of the container internal volume up to the filling height (Abstract; Pars. 0006, 0009, 0021, 0024); and
D. determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (4) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (4) and the tank characteristic chart 123 (Abstract; Pars. 0006, 0009, 0021, 0024).
As such, the system is capable of detecting accurately the fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) regardless of shape or size of the fuel tank container 2 (Abstract; Pars. 0009, 0021, 0024).
Obviously, as discussed above, the tank characteristic chart (123) may be in a form of a characteristic lookup table/graph/curve representing a ratio between the filling height (cm) and a volume (l) of the container internal volume up to the filling height. The data processing unit (9) then determines the fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (104) and the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve 123 (Abstract; Pars. 0009, 0021, 0024).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Daiki teaching to Ho system as modified by having the data processing unit configured to execute instructions to generate a tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve specific to the tank container (2), the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve representing a ratio between the filling height and a volume of the container internal volume up to the filling height; and determine a fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) based on the signals from the pressure sensor (20) and the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve. As such, the system as modified would be capable of detecting accurately the fuel quantity within the fuel tank container (2) regardless of shape or size of the fuel tank container (2). Evidently, in Ho as modified, the data processing unit may access the tank characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve to ascertain a fuel quantity measurement result that is based on the signals from the pressure sensor (18), and output the fuel quantity signal to the display unit afterwards based on the signals from the pressure sensor (18) and the characteristic chart/lookup table/graph/curve.
2. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 1, wherein the second (lower) channel end (12, 12’) of the air channel (10) is part of a lower channel portion of the air channel (10) which runs in a laterally offset manner relative to an upper channel portion in a direction toward a container bottom of the fuel tank container 1 (as seen at least in Ho fig. 4. Moreover, refer to He fig. 1 and teaching, Translation page 4: “In addition, the test tube 2 can vertically extend into the box body 1, also can be inclined into the box body 1 with a certain angle with the side wall of the box body 1”).
3. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor (20) is arranged on an outer side of the fuel tank container 2 (as seen at least in Ho fig. 1).
4. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 1, wherein the first (top) channel end of the air channel is pneumatically connected to the pressure sensor via a coupler.
Note: Refer to He fig. 1 and teaching, Translation page 13: “In one embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG. 1, … the pressure sensor 3 is hermetically connected with the test tube 2.” He further teaches that a term "installation", "connection", "connection", "fixed" and the like, should be understood broadly, for example, the "connection" may be a fixed connection, or a detachable connection, or an integrated connection; "connected" can be directly connected, also can be indirectly connected through an intermediate medium (He Translation pages 19-20).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply He teaching to Ho system by having the first (top) channel end of the air channel (10) pneumatically connected to the pressure sensor (20) via of an intermediate medium, which may be, e.g., a coupler (understood broadly as “an intermediate medium”).
7. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 4, wherein the air channel (10) is fixed to a mounting base 50 (as shown at least in Ho fig. 4), which is configured to close a container opening of the fuel tank container 2 (as is apparent from at least Ho fig. 4).
8. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 7, but is silent about: wherein the mounting base (50) is fixedly connected to the fuel tank container (2) by fasteners.
However, it has been held that making a known structure to be integral, or vice versa, to be multiple parts, is an obvious variation, thus unpatentable. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 967, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Wolf, 251 F.2d 854, 855, 116 USPQ 443, 444 (CCPA 1958). As for the present case, it appears that the mounting base (50) and the tank container (2) may be made to be integral, or vice versa, to be multiple parts without affecting any function of the tank system. The tank system having the tank container (2) as claimed would still be used as well for filling with a fuel and the sensor assembly would still be used as well for determining a current fuel quantity in the tank container (2), regardless whether the mounting base (50) and the tank container (2) are made to be integral, or vice versa, to be multiple parts.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the present application to have the mounting base (50) and the tank container (2) made to be integral, or vice versa, to be multiple parts. Obviously, since the mounting base (50) and the tank container (2) may be made to be multiple parts, the mounting base (50) may be fixedly connected to the tank container (2) by fasteners, which may be in a form of a glue, sealant, and/or screws well known in the art and widely available, so as to close/seal the container opening (as discussed above in claim 7).
Furthermore, as discussed above in claim 4, He teaches that a term "installation", "connection", "connection", "fixed" and the like, should be understood broadly, for example, the "connection" may be a fixed connection, or a detachable connection, or an integrated connection; "connected" can be directly connected, also can be indirectly connected through an intermediate medium. Therefore, it further appears that the mounting base (50) and the tank container (2) made to be integral, or vice versa, to be multiple parts detachable for each other. Obviously, since the mounting base (50) and the tank container (2) may be made to be multiple parts, the mounting base (50) may be fixedly connected to the tank container (2) by fasteners, which may be in a form of a glue, sealant, and/or screws well known in the art and widely available, so as to close/seal the container opening, or to be detachable from each other, for ease of maintenance for example.
9. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 7, wherein the mounting base has a seal on its side that faces the container opening (as is obvious from the discussion above in claim 8).
10. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of one of claims 7, wherein the coupler is arranged on the (upper) side of the mounting base (50) that is remote from the container opening, since the pressure sensor mounting base (50) would close/seal the container opening, and the pressure sensor (20) would be arranged on the outer side of the tank container 2 (as discussed above in claims 3 and 7).
14. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 1, wherein the fuel quantity is a current fuel quantity formed as a mean value from instantaneous fuel quantities determined at different times (“because fuel levels may vary due to motion, vibrations, sloshing in the tank, and the like, it is preferable to use rolling averages of fuel volume calculated from averaging a predetermined number of the most recent volume calculations each time a new measurement is taken.” Stevenson Col. 8, lines 29-33).
15. Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 14, wherein the previous mean value is valid until a new mean value is formed to replace the previous mean value ( “because fuel levels may vary due to motion, vibrations, sloshing in the tank, and the like, [thus] it is preferable to use rolling averages of fuel volume calculated from averaging a predetermined number of the most recent volume calculations each time a new measurement is taken.” Stevenson Col. 8, lines 29-33).
Claim 4 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of He, Dietschi, Stevenson and/or Daiki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan et al. (US 2018/0066973 A1).
Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 1, but doesn’t expressly teach: wherein the first (top) channel end of the air channel (10) is pneumatically connected to the pressure sensor (20) via a coupler.
Pan teaches the tank system comprising a tank container (400) for filling with a liquid and having a sensor assembly (100) for determining a current liquid level in the tank container (400), the system comprising a piezoelectric sensor (9, 10), wherein a first (top) channel end of an air channel (8) is pneumatically connected to the pressure sensor (9, 10) via of a coupler (pressure interface 72; Figs. 2, 6, reproduced below; Pars. 0015-0018).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Pan teaching to Ho system as modified by having the first (top) channel end of the air channel (10) pneumatically connected to the pressure sensor (20) via of a coupler, so as to couple/connect the first (top) channel end of the air channel (10) to the pressure sensor (20).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of He, Dietschi, Stevenson and/or Daiki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hinrich et al. (DE 19747726 C2).
Ho as modified teaches the tank system of claim 1, but is silent about: wherein the membrane (23) is coupled with an electric circuit of the pressure sensor (20), in such a manner that the circuit generates electrical signals which are dependent on a movement of the membrane (23).
Hinrich teaches a tank system (100) comprising a liquid tank container (10); a pressure sensor (17); and an air channel (13) coupled to the pressure sensor (17). The pressure sensor (17) comprises a membrane 18 (made of a piezoelectric material) which is movable against a pressure present in the air channel (13). The membrane (18) enables the pressure sensor (17) to measure a pressure inside the air channel 13 (See fig. 1, reproduced below; Translation page 4). The membrane (18) is coupled with an electric circuit (23, 24; Fig. 1) of the pressure sensor, in such a manner that the circuit generates electrical signals which are dependent on a movement of the membrane 18 (See previous provided Translation page 4).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Hinrich teaching to Ho system as modified by having the membrane (23) coupled with an electric circuit of the pressure sensor (20), in such a manner that the circuit generates electrical signals which are dependent on a movement of the membrane (23), for enabling the pressure sensor (20) to measure a pressure inside the air channel (10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments presented in the RCE have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the new ground of rejection presented above.
As seen, the same previously cited references (Ho, He, Stevenson, Pan, and Hinrich) teach all the features recited in the claims. The newly cited references (Daiki, Denz, Yen, and Criel) are introduced to further point out that the claims are unpatentable.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 August 13, 2026