Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the 6/24/2024 communication(s). As per the claims filed 2/21/2024:
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 17 is/are independent claim(s).
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note Regarding AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11, 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Val Marinov et al (US PG Pub No. US 2022/0076983; Published:3/10/2022)(hereinafter: Marinov) in view of Matthew R. Semler et al (US PG Pub No. US 2025/0233002; Priority: 06/11/2020)(hereinafter: Semler).
Claim 1:
As per independent claim 1, Marinov discloses An electronic component transfer system, comprising: an optical light source; [[0045] Referring also to FIG. 2B, the energy of the laser beam 124 is used for concurrent laser-assisted transfer of the multiple discrete components 112 onto a target substrate 128];
a source carrier to hold a source substrate that comprises a plurality of components; [[0038] The term carrier substrate refers generally to, for example, any material including one or more discrete components, for example, a collection of discrete components assembled by a manufacturer, such as a wafer including one or more semiconductor dies];
a target carrier to hold a target substrate that comprises a plurality of target positions at which the components need to be arranged; [[0069] The transfer apparatus can include a target substrate holder 766 for holding the target substrate. In some examples, the target substrate holder 766 can hold multiple target substrates. In some examples, such as in the example apparatus 750 of FIG. 7, the target substrate holder 766 can hold a single target substrate 768′ in position to receive discrete components transferred from the carrier substrate 758];
a first drive unit to move at least one of the source carrier and target carrier to bring a component from the source substrate into alignment with an empty target position of the target substrate; [[0069] The transfer apparatus can include a target substrate holder 766 for holding the target substrate. In some examples, the target substrate holder 766 can hold multiple target substrates…. A transfer rack 770 configured to hold one or more target substrates 768 can be controlled by a controller 772 to move individual target substrates from the transfer rack 770 to the target substrate holder 766.[0067] Referring to FIG. 7, the good-die-only process such as that shown in FIGS. 5A-5C and 6A-6C can be carried out on a transfer apparatus 750 that is capable of switching between multiple-component mode and single-component mode. For instance, the transfer apparatus 750 can include an automated optical element changer 752 that enables various optical systems 754a, 754b, 754c to be moved into alignment with a laser 753, e.g.,];
a controller configured to control the second drive unit to move the optical light source and/or light beam output by the optical light source to change a position at which it has released a component from the source substrate to a position at which it will release a next component from the source substrate. [[0068] The apparatus can be computer-controlled by one or more local or remote computers or controllers 762 such that the end-to-end multiple-transfer process can be automated. For instance, a controller can control the alignment of the laser beam or beamlets with each discrete component to be transferred in the first single-component mode transfer. The controller can control the alignment of the laser beam or beamlets with the discrete components to be transferred in the second multi-component transfer. The controller can control the alignment of the laser beam or beamlets with each of the remaining discrete components to be transferred in the single-component mode third transfer, and can control the alignment of the carrier substrate with the target substrate during the single-component mode third transfer.];
Marinov discloses determining components not yet used and transferring them into empty positions. However, Marinov failed to specifically disclose a second drive unit to move the optical light source and/or to move a light beam output by the optical light source along an x-direction and y-direction in a plane parallel to a surface of the source substrate, comprising a plurality of components.
Semler, in the same field of assembly of discrete components on a target carrier discloses this limitation in that [[0058] light source includes optical elements (beam splitters) that produces a beam pattern, [0052] beam pattern can be offset along the x and y direction [0056] an alignment error can occur between the x-y coordinates of the discrete component 102 and the x-y coordinates of the target position 140. To compensate for such error, the beam pattern 116 can be purposely offset such that the placement error ε matches the alignment error between the x-y coordinates of the discrete component 102 and the x-y coordinates of the target position 140.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marinov’s optical light positioning to a second drive unit to move the optical light source and/or to move a light beam output by the optical light source along an x-direction and y-direction in a plane parallel to a surface of the source substrate, comprising a plurality of components as disclosed by Semler. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten cycle times, thus improving productivity (0009).
Claim 2:
As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose moving the path of the laser beam Marinov (0067). Semler discloses wherein the second drive unit comprises an actuator for moving the optical light source. Marinov [[0011] The controller is configured to move the first optical element into and out of the path of the laser energy. [0067] the transfer apparatus 750 can include multiple optical elements in the path of the laser beam or beamlets, and the automated optical element changer 752 can move one of the multiple optical elements into or out of the path.] An actuator or means for moving the light is implicit since the controller moves the optical element.
Claim 3:
As per claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the second drive unit comprises a light directing system having movable lenses and/or mirrors to allow the light beam output by the optical light source to be moved. Marinov, [[0011] The controller is configured to move the first optical element into and out of the path of the laser energy. [0067] the transfer apparatus 750 can include multiple optical elements in the path of the laser beam or beamlets, and the automated optical element changer 752 can move one of the multiple optical elements into or out of the path.]
Claim 4:
As per claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the controller is configured to: control the first drive unit to mutually move the source carrier and the target carrier to bring the next component in alignment with a target position of the target substrate that is still empty; and control the optical light source to release the next component [[0069] A transfer rack 770 configured to hold one or more target substrates 768 can be controlled by a controller 772 to move individual target substrates from the transfer rack 770 to the target substrate holder 766. As an example, a first target substrate can be held by the target substrate holder 766 to receive a first transfer (e.g., bad die) from the carrier substrate 758. A second target substrate can then be transferred from the transfer rack 770 into the target substrate holder 766 to receive a second transfer (e.g., good die) from the carrier substrate 758.[0070] a transfer rack (not shown) configured to hold one or more carrier substrates can be controlled to move individual substrates from the transfer rack to the carrier substrate holder 774. [0006-0008] optical element designed to release components].
Claim 7:
As per claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the source substrate comprises a semiconductor wafer comprising a plurality of singulated semiconductor dies originating from the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of components corresponds to the plurality of singulated semiconductor dies originating from the semiconductor wafer; or
wherein the source substrate comprises a structured semiconductor wafer comprising a plurality of singulated semiconductor dies originating from different semiconductor wafers, and wherein the plurality of components corresponds to the plurality of singulated semiconductor dies originating from different semiconductor wafers. Marinov, [[0074] Referring to FIG. 9, in an example process for transferring discrete components, singulated discrete components are provided on a temporary substrate, such as a dicing tape; or on a donor substrate such as a wafer, e.g., a silicon wafer or a sapphire wafer (700). [0075] In some examples, components of a singulated wafer are transferred directly to the carrier substrate without the use of a temporary substrate].
Claim 8:
As per claim 8, which depends on claim 2, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the second drive unit comprises a light directing system having movable lenses and/or mirrors to allow the light beam output by the optical light source to be moved. Marinov, [[0011] The controller is configured to move the first optical element into and out of the path of the laser energy. [0067] the transfer apparatus 750 can include multiple optical elements in the path of the laser beam or beamlets, and the automated optical element changer 752 can move one of the multiple optical elements into or out of the path.]
Claim 9:
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 2, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the controller is configured to: control the first drive unit to mutually move the source carrier and the target carrier to bring the next component in alignment with a target position of the target substrate that is still empty; and control the optical light source to release the next component. Marinov, [[0069] A transfer rack 770 configured to hold one or more target substrates 768 can be controlled by a controller 772 to move individual target substrates from the transfer rack 770 to the target substrate holder 766. As an example, a first target substrate can be held by the target substrate holder 766 to receive a first transfer (e.g., bad die) from the carrier substrate 758. A second target substrate can then be transferred from the transfer rack 770 into the target substrate holder 766 to receive a second transfer (e.g., good die) from the carrier substrate 758.[0070] a transfer rack (not shown) configured to hold one or more carrier substrates can be controlled to move individual substrates from the transfer rack to the carrier substrate holder 774. [0006-0008] optical element designed to release components].
Claim 11:
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 7, Marinov and Semler disclose further comprising a mapping unit to create a wafer map including position data of the plurality of semiconductor dies Marinov, [[0060] A mapping indicates a characteristic of each of one or more of the discrete components 550 in the array. For instance, the mapping can be indicative of results of a post-manufacturing test, a quality control test, or an in situ test,[0058] undesired discrete components can be identified based on a wafer map indicating a characteristic of each of one or more of the discrete components on the carrier substrate. In some examples, the wafer map can be created based on testing before the discrete components are adhered to the carrier substrate.]
Claim 14:
As per claim 14, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the electronic component is a material selected from the group consisting of: a solder paste, a glue, an adhesive, an underfill material, and a flux. Marinov [[0085] the device substrate can have an attachment element disposed thereon that serves as a flux during soldering, and the die catching material is activated by heating to facilitate soldering as a process for interconnection of the discrete components.]
Claim 17:
As per independent claim 17, it recited the method performed by the electronic component transfer system of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinov and Semler in view of Yukinori Nakayama et al (US PG Pub No. US 2017/0110342; Published: 4/20/2017)(hereinafter: Nakayama).
Claim 5:
As per claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose wherein the controller is configured to: determine, for at least some of the components that have not yet been released, Marinov [[0063] Referring to FIG. 5C, in some examples, the empty positions in the array of transferred discrete components 550′ on the target substrate are filled in by a third transfer step. In the third transfer step, each of one or more of the remaining discrete components 560 (e.g., a remaining good discrete component) is transferred in a single-component mode transfer process to one of the empty positions (e.g., the empty position 554′, see FIG. 5B) on the target substrate 556.]
Marinov and Semler failed to disclose a distance to be covered and/or an amount of time required by the source carrier and/or target carrier for bringing that component into alignment with a nearest available target position of the target substrate that is still empty; and select a component among the at least some components as the next component based on the determined distance and/or time.
Nakayama, in the same field of component mounting discloses a distance to be covered and/or an amount of time required by the source carrier and/or target carrier for bringing that component into alignment with a nearest available target position of the target substrate that is still empty and [[0042] the control system (the control device of die supply device 12 and/or the control device of component mounter 11), by performing the die transfer position determining program shown in FIG. 16 and described further below each time die transfer operation is completed, determines the next die transfer position such that the longer of the time Ta required for die transfer preparation operation of die supply device 12 and the time Tb required for die mounting operation of component mounter 11 is made shorter, the difference between the two times smaller (this corresponds to the waiting time at the die transfer position), thus shortening the cycle time.]
select a component among the at least some components as the next component based on the determined distance and/or time. [[0055] When calculation of improvement time Tz for each provisional die transfer position has been calculated for all of the provisional die transfer positions, processing continues to step 107, improvement times Tz for each of the provisional die transfer positions are compared, the provisional die transfer position for which improvement time Tz is maximized is selected and determined as the next die transfer position. By this, the next die transfer position is decided each time die transfer operation is completed].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marinov’s component placement to determine an amount of time required by the source carrier and/or target carrier for bringing that component into alignment with a nearest available target position of the target substrate that is still empty and select a component among the at least some components as the next component based on the determined distance and/or time as disclosed by Nakayama. The motivation for doing so would have been to shorten cycle times, thus improving productivity (0009).
Claim 10:
As per claim 10 it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Claim 18:
As per claim 18 it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinov and Semler in view of Francois Henley (US PG Pub No. US 2020/0194616; Published: 06/18/2020)(hereinafter: Henley).
Claim 15:
As per claim 15, which depends on claim 1, Marinov and Semler disclose the source and target carriers being parallel to each other but failed to specifically disclose the limitations of claim 15.
Henley, in the same field of light based transfer of components from a source to a target carrier discloses wherein the source carrier and the target carrier are configured to be moved relative to each other by the first drive unit along a first direction and along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction [[0103] . One example is a scan pattern in one direction (ex. X-axis) while the scan head and target substrate is moved in another direction (ex. Y-axis)]; and wherein the second drive unit is configured to move the optical light source or the light beam output by the optical light source along at least one of the first direction and second direction [[0101] To allow random-access addressing without compromising throughput, a X-Y galvanometer coupled to an optical f-theta lens can be an effective solution for the scan head].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marinov’s system to configure the source carrier and the target carrier to be moved relative to each other by the first drive unit along a first direction and along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction and to configure the second drive unit to move the optical light source or the light beam output by the optical light source along at least one of the first direction and second direction as disclosed by Henley. The motivation for doing so would have been to more accurately and reliably transfer components to a target carrier.
Claim 16:
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 15, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 15 above. Additionally, Marinov, Nakayama and Henley disclose wherein the first drive unit comprises a primary drive to move the source carrier along the first direction and/or second direction, and a secondary drive to move the target carrier along the first direction and/or second direction. Henley[[0101] (ii) a two-dimensional laser scanner such as a galvanometer motor-driven mirror in each of the two scan dimensions]; wherein the first drive and the optical light source are a galvanometer optical scanner, and wherein the first drive comprises one or more linear motors, spindles, or belt drives.Henley, [[0101] To allow random-access addressing without compromising throughput, a X-Y galvanometer coupled to an optical f-theta lens can be an effective solution for the scan head.]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone or in any reasonable combination failed to disclose the limitation of dependent claims 6, 12-13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/HOWARD CORTES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118