DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter US 5362249 in view of Swanger et al. US 20230046887.
Regarding claim 21, Carter discloses a process of connecting a shield contact system, comprising: providing a first shield (figs. 1-4; 10) having a first shield body (figs. 1-4; 14-16) and a protrusion (figs. 2-4; 18) extending from the first shield body (14-16); providing a second shield (figs. 5-8; 30) having a second shield body (body of 30) and a contact beam (figs. 5-8; 36) extending from the second shield body (body of 30); the contact beam (36) has a contact point (fig. 8; section of 36 contacting 10); and inserting the first shield (10) and the second shield (30) together along an insertion direction (fig. 8; horizontal direction) to a mated state (fig. 8), the contact beam (36) abuts the first shield body (16 of 14-16) in the mated state (fig. 8), the protrusion (18) deflects the contact beam (36) away from the first shield body (10) during insertion in a deflected state (Col 7 Ln 24-28; outward movement of 36 is the deflected state) prior to reaching the mated state (fig. 8).
Carter does not disclose during insertion, the contact point slides along the first shield body by a wiping distance to the mated state that is less than a distance between the contact point and a first leading edge of first shield body in the mated state.
However, Swanger teaches during insertion, the contact point (fig. 2; 156) slides along the first shield body (fig. 6; 300) by a wiping distance (see mark-up below from fig. 6; WD) to the mated state that is less than a distance (see mark-up #2 below from fig. 8; D) between the contact point (156) and a first leading edge (fig. 6; 312) of first shield body (300) in the mated state (fig. 8).
Mark-up Mark-up #2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate during insertion, the contact point slides along the first shield body by a wiping distance to the mated state that is less than a distance between the contact point and a first leading edge of first shield body in the mated state as suggested by Swanger for the benefit of providing improved protection of the contact point due to the shorter travel distance between two shielding bodies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest the contact beam has a pair of contact points, the protrusion passes between the contact points along the insertion direction from the deflected state to the mated state combined with the remaining limitations of the base claim.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest the contact beam has a pair of contact points; the protrusion passes between the contact points during insertion combined with the remaining limitations of the base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831