DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, which discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 17/040,628, filed 09/23/2020, appears to claim subject matter directed to an invention that is independent and distinct from that claimed in the prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application appears to constitute a divisional application.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).,
The disclosure of the prior-filed provisional application, Application No. 62/648,066, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The only reference to “calcined” materials in Applicant’s priority document (62/648,066) distinguishes "activated alumina particles" from other forms of alumina, such a gel alumina, smelter-grade alumina or calcined alumina [0005]. This does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with regard to the claim limitation(s) “calcined alumina, calcined iron oxide, calcined bauxite, calcined clay, calcined kaolin” because the conflicting information does not constitute a written description of the invention in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 and 01/14/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains two sentences. The continuation of claim 36 on page 4 of the claims appears to be a formatting error and for the purposes of examination the first two lines of page 4 of the claims are not considered. Appropriate correction is required to delete the erroneous recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the sub-step drying" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 30-32 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (US Patent No. 6,287,357 B1) (cite no 2 in 02/21/2024 IDS) as evidenced by Huber (Martinswerk GmbH, 2017) (cite no 7 in 02/21/2024 IDS) and Wang et al. (US EPA, 2000) (cite no 6 in 02/21/2024 IDS), regarding claims 22-24 and 37-38.
In regard to claim 21, Lynch et al. disclose a process of plant fertilization (e.g. applying Al-P onto soil to meet the needs of the species of plants) [Column 7, lines 15-22] comprising:
adsorbing phosphorus from an anthropogenic phosphorus source (e.g. effluent from greenhouses or other point sources of phosphorus runoff ) [column 3, lines 37-60; column 4, lines 51-56; column 11, second table] onto a plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. alumina pellets) [Column 3, lines 37-41], wherein the phosphorus adsorbent has a basic pH (e.g. the resulting pH from alumina activation is preferably between 6.0 – 7.5 which overlaps with a basic pH value in amounts greater than 7.0) [column 6, lines 12-13], and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and then
applying the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent to a plant medium (e.g. application to field soils thereby supplying a consistent supply of phosphorous to the plants) [Column 3, lines 65 – Column 4, line 4].
Lynch discloses activated alumina [Column 4, lines 25-35] but does not explicitly recite calcined alumina. Activated alumina is a porous, solid form of aluminum oxide (Al2O3). Calcined alumina is alumina subjected to calcining temperatures to convert it to activated alumina by driving off chemically-bound water molecules [Applicant’s Specification, para. 0022]. Acid-activated alumina is subjected to low pH conditions to also remove chemically-bound water molecules and results in a material which is structurally the same as the claimed heat-activated alumina. Therefore, the claimed (calcined alumina) and prior art (activated alumina) are considered identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, and thus a prima facie case of anticipation has been established [MPEP 2112.01]. To put it another way, “calcined” alumina is considered a product-by-process limitation (e.g. activated alumina obtained by the process of heat treatment) and only the structure implied by the process step (calcination) is considered when compared to the prior art structure.
In regard to claims 22-24, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 21, wherein the activated alumina is, for example, commercially available DD-2 and Compalox [Column 5, lines 22-25], including Compalox AN/V-801 which has a size range from 0.3 mm to 1.0 mm [Huber, pg. 1]. DD-2 is size 14 mesh (1.4 mm) [Wang, pg. 42]. These values overlap and/or lie inside the claimed range.
In regard to claims 25-26, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 1, wherein the adsorbing comprises adsorbing a first amount of phosphorus (e.g. contacting alumina with a solution containing phosphoric acid) [Column 3, lines 44-46], then drying the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent [Column 3, lines 52-54], and then adsorbing an additional amount of phosphorus from the anthropogenic phosphorus source onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. recharging through subsequent fertilizer application) [Column 4, lines 10-15]. It necessarily follows that the first amount and the additional amount is greater than a phosphorus loading capacity of the plurality of particles without the sub-step drying because the material is described as recharged (e.g. an additional amount of phosphorous is introduced).
In regard to claim 30 and 32, Lynch et al. disclose a composition comprising:
a soil amendment (e.g. Al-P for application onto soil to meet the needs of the species of plants) [Column 7, lines 15-22] comprising:
a plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. alumina pellets) [Column 3, lines 37-41], wherein the phosphorus adsorbent has a basic pH (e.g. the resulting pH from alumina activation is preferably between 6.0 – 7.5 which overlaps with a basic pH value in amounts greater than 7.0) [column 6, lines 12-13], and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990);
phosphorus from an anthropogenic phosphorus source (e.g. effluent from greenhouses or other point sources of phosphorus runoff ) adsorbed onto the plurality of particles of the phosphorus adsorbent [column 3, lines 37-60; column 4, lines 51-56; column 11, second table]; and
a plant medium (e.g. application to field soils thereby supplying a consistent supply of phosphorous to the plants) [Column 3, lines 65 – Column 4, line 4].
Lynch discloses activated alumina [Column 4, lines 25-35] but does not explicitly recite calcined alumina (claim 32). Activated alumina is a porous, solid form of aluminum oxide (Al2O3). Calcined alumina is alumina subjected to calcining temperatures to convert it to activated alumina by driving off chemically-bound water molecules [Applicant’s Specification, para. 0022]. Acid-activated alumina is subjected to low pH conditions to also remove chemically-bound water molecules and results in a material which is structurally the same as the claimed heat-activated alumina. Therefore, the claimed (calcined alumina) and prior art (activated alumina) are considered identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, and thus a prima facie case of anticipation has been established [MPEP 2112.01]. To put it another way, “calcined” alumina is considered a product-by-process limitation (e.g. activated alumina obtained by the process of heat treatment) and only the structure implied by the process step (calcination) is considered when compared to the prior art structure.
In regard to claim 31, Lynch et al. disclose the composition of claim 30, wherein the soil amendment is mixed with the plant medium (e.g. the phosphorus bound to the alumina is applied to soils and released into soil) [Column 3, lines 65 – Column 4, line 4].
In regard to claims 37-38, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 21, wherein the activated alumina is, for example, commercially available DD-2 and Compalox [Column 5, lines 22-25], including Compalox AN/V-801 which has a size range from 0.3 mm to 1.0 mm [Huber, pg. 1]. DD-2 is size 14 mesh (1.4 mm) [Wang, pg. 42]. These values overlap and/or lie inside the claimed range.
In regard to claim 39, Lynch et al. disclose the composition of claim 30, wherein the plant medium is selected from the group consisting of a naturally-occurring soil, a soil containing one or more additive, a hydroponic medium, and an aeroponic medium (e.g. naturally occurring earthen soils, as well as earthen soils containing additives, and all combinations or mixtures thereof) [col. 3, lines 17-20].
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (US Patent No. 6,287,357 B1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Malavipthirana et al. (Journal of Geoscience, 2013) (cite no 2 in 02/21/2024 IDS).
In regard to claim 27, Lynch discloses the process of claim 21, including the anthropogenic phosphorous source (e.g. effluent from greenhouses or other point sources of phosphorous runoff) [column 3, lines 37-60; column 4, lines 51-56; column 11, second table]. Lynch does not explicitly disclose a brackish source, including greater than 100 ppm sodium. Malavipathirana discloses brackish, including greater than 100 parts-per-million of sodium (e.g. phosphorus adsorbed from brackish water and subsequent use as a phosphate fertilizer) [Abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Lynch’s greenhouse effluent and/or phosphorous runoff would provide brackish water, including greater than 100 ppm sodium as described by Malavipthirana. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to subject the brackish phosphorus source to the treatment described by Lynch for the benefit of providing recovery of phosphorus that is a limited resource from brackish water for use as a phosphate fertilizer (Malavipathirana; abstract), thus using Lynch's phosphorus adsorbent to recover phosphorus form the anthropogenic source.
In regard to claims 28-29, Lynch discloses, after rinsing the plurality of particles, adsorbing an additional amount of phosphorus from the anthropogenic phosphorus source onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. the phosphorus is adsorbed onto the activated alumina pellets and the process comprises a step of rinsing to remove excess salt wherein the rinse solution is retained and analyzed to check for phosphorus desorption wherein a percent desorbed phosphorus after a rinsing step is 0.013 percent, the amount desorbed after a rinse step is not significant) [column 3, lines 37-60; column 9, lines 1-29; column 11, third table]. Lynch describes after rinsing the plurality of particles (claim 10) adsorbing an additional amount of phosphorus from the anthropogenic phosphorus source onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. recharging phosphorus onto desorbed alumina by percolating a phosphorus containing liquid through the soil such as effluent from greenhouses or other point sources of phosphorus runoff [column 3, lines 37-60; column 4, lines 27-56; column 11, lines 60-67; column 12, lines 59-67].
Claims 33-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (US Patent No. 6,287,357 B1) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Hughes (US Patent Publication No. 2003/0196966 A1) and Clay Minerals (Clay Glossary, 2016)
In regard to claims 33-36 and 40, Lynch et al. disclose the composition of claim 30, wherein the phosphorus adsorbent is alumina [Column 4, lines 25-35], wherein the Al may be supplied various forms, including but not limited to commercially available alumina pellets which have been activated, aluminum hydroxide, clays, and oxide rich soils [Column 3, lines 39-43]. The reference does not explicitly teach wherein the adsorbent includes calcined iron oxide (claim 33), calcined bauxite (claim 34, claim 40), calcined clay (claim 35) or calcined kaolin (claim 36).
Hughes is directed to a composition comprising a material for filtration/purification of contaminated water [abstract]. The absorbent material used for the purification include minerals containing iron, and aluminum [0057]. An example of a suitable material is the commercially available calcined bauxite sold by CE Minerals [0055]. Bauxite is the term for an aluminum ore consisting of primarily hydrous aluminum oxides [gibbsite, Al(OH)3; boehmite, AlO(OH); and diaspore AlO(OH)], often mixed with iron oxyhydroxides (goethite, FeO(OH), and hematite, Fe2O3), kaolinite, and small amounts of anatase (TiO2) [Clay Minerals, pg. 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the activated alumina absorbent of Lynch with calcined bauxite as described by Hughes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the aluminum-oxide based materials because they are equivalents known for the same purpose (e.g. absorbents for removing contaminants from water) [Hughes, para. 0057].
Double Patenting
Claims 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,319. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims being examined are generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent (i.e., the entire scope of the reference claims falls within the scope of the examined claims).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 February 27, 2026