DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24, 26 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the process of claim 23" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination this limitation is interpreted as “the process of claim 22".
Claims 26 and 38 recite the term “predominantly” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “predominantly” orthophosphate is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-32 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. (US Patent No. 6,287,357 B1) (cite no 2 in 02/21/2024 IDS) as evidenced by (Canada, 2001), regarding claims 21 and 30, as evidenced by Huber (Martinswerk GmbH, 2017) (cite no 7 in 02/21/2024 IDS) and Wang et al. (US EPA, 2000) (cite no 6 in 02/21/2024 IDS), regarding claims 22-24 and 37-38, as evidenced by Muby Chem (2021), regarding claim 27.
In regard to claim 21, Lynch et al. disclose a process of plant fertilization (e.g. applying Al-P onto soil to meet the needs of the species of plants) [Column 7, lines 15-22] comprising:
adsorbing phosphorus from an environmental (e.g. in situ sandy Florida field soils) [col. 14, lines 46-55] anthropogenic phosphorus source (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60] (e.g. while phosphorus naturally exists in the Earth's crust as phosphate rock, the concentrated chemical known as phosphoric acid is manufactured by humans through industrial processes) [Canada, pg. 15, last para.; table 3.9] onto a plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. Al-P) [col. 14, lines 58-61], wherein the Al-P absorbent is in the form of alumina pellets [col. 3, lines 37-41], wherein the Al-P phosphorus adsorbent has a basic pH (e.g. the resulting pH from alumina activation is preferably between 6.0 – 7.5 which overlaps with a basic pH value in amounts greater than 7.0) [col. 6, lines 12-13], and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and then
applying the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent to a plant medium (e.g. mum cuttings are planted in soil containing charged Al-P) [col. 14, lines 66-67].
Lynch discloses activated alumina [Column 4, lines 25-35] but does not explicitly recite calcined alumina. Activated alumina is a porous, solid form of aluminum oxide (Al2O3). Calcined alumina is alumina subjected to calcining temperatures to convert it to activated alumina by driving off chemically-bound water molecules [Applicant’s Specification, para. 0022]. Acid-activated alumina is subjected to low pH conditions to also remove chemically-bound water molecules and results in a material which is structurally the same as the claimed heat-activated alumina. Therefore, the claimed (calcined alumina) and prior art (activated alumina) are considered identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, and thus a prima facie case of anticipation has been established [MPEP 2112.01]. To put it another way, “calcined” alumina is considered a product-by-process limitation (e.g. activated alumina obtained by the process of heat treatment) and only the structure implied by the process step (calcination) is considered when compared to the prior art structure.
In regard to claims 22-24, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 21, wherein the activated alumina is, for example, commercially available DD-2 and Compalox [Column 5, lines 22-25], including Compalox AN/V-801 which has a size range from 0.3 mm to 1.0 mm [Huber, pg. 1]. DD-2 is size 14 mesh (1.4 mm) [Wang, pg. 42]. These values overlap and/or lie inside the claimed range.
In regard to claim 25, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 21, wherein the adsorbing comprises adsorbing a first amount of phosphorus (e.g. contacting alumina with a solution containing phosphoric acid) [Column 3, lines 44-46], then drying the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent [Column 3, lines 52-54], and then adsorbing an additional amount of phosphorus from the anthropogenic phosphorus source onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. recharging through subsequent fertilizer application) [Column 4, lines 10-15]. It necessarily follows that the first amount and the additional amount is greater than a phosphorus loading capacity of the plurality of particles without the sub-step drying because the material is described as recharged (e.g. an additional amount of phosphorous is introduced) [see also col. 14-15; Example 8 for recharging Al-P].
In regard to claim 26, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 21, wherein the phosphorus of the environmental anthropogenic phosphorus source is predominantly orthophosphate (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60]. Phosphoric acid is also called orthophosphoric acid and is the acid form of orthophosphate.
In regard to claim 27, Lynch discloses the process of claim 21, including the phosphorous source (e.g. food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 8, lines 56-57]. Lynch does not explicitly disclose a brackish source, including greater than 100 ppm sodium. However, Muby Chem discloses 250 ppm Na (sodium) in reagent grade phosphoric acid [pg. 4] and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand commercial phosphoric acid contains sodium as it is made from treating phosphate rock which contains trace amounts of salts and metals.
In regard to claim 28, Lynch discloses, after rinsing the plurality of particles, adsorbing an additional amount of phosphorus from the anthropogenic phosphorus source onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. the phosphorus is adsorbed onto the activated alumina pellets and the process comprises a step of rinsing to remove excess salt wherein the rinse solution is retained and analyzed to check for phosphorus desorption wherein a percent desorbed phosphorus after a rinsing step is 0.013 percent, the amount desorbed after a rinse step is not significant) [column 3, lines 37-60; column 9, lines 1-29; column 11, third table]. Lynch describes after rinsing the plurality of particles (claim 10) adsorbing an additional amount of phosphorus from the anthropogenic phosphorus source onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. recharging phosphorus onto desorbed alumina by percolating a phosphorus containing liquid through the soil such as effluent from greenhouses or other point sources of phosphorus runoff [column 3, lines 37-60; column 4, lines 27-56; column 11, lines 60-67; column 12, lines 59-67].
In regard to claim 29, Lynch discloses the process of claim 21, wherein the environmental anthropogenic phosphorus source is selected from an anthropogenic pollution source (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60] (e.g. while phosphorus naturally exists in the Earth's crust as phosphate rock, the concentrated chemical known as phosphoric acid is manufactured by humans through industrial processes) [Canada, pg. 15, last para.; table 3.9]
In regard to claim 30 and 32, Lynch et al. disclose a composition comprising:
a soil amendment (e.g. Al-P for application onto soil to meet the needs of the species of plants) [Column 7, lines 15-22] comprising:
a plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus adsorbent (e.g. Al-P) [col. 14, lines 58-61], wherein the Al-P absorbent is in the form of alumina pellets [col. 3, lines 37-41], wherein the Al-P phosphorus adsorbent has a basic pH (e.g. the resulting pH from alumina activation is preferably between 6.0 – 7.5 which overlaps with a basic pH value in amounts greater than 7.0) [col. 6, lines 12-13], and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and then
phosphorus from an environmental (e.g. in situ sandy Florida field soils) [col. 14, lines 46-55] anthropogenic phosphorus source (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60] (e.g. while phosphorus naturally exists in the Earth's crust as phosphate rock, the concentrated chemical known as phosphoric acid is manufactured by humans through industrial processes) [Canada, pg. 15, last para.; table 3.9] absorbed onto the plurality of particles of at least one phosphorus absorbent (e.g. recharged Al-P) [col. 14, line 66];
a plant medium (e.g. soil) [col. 14; Example 8].
Lynch discloses activated alumina [Column 4, lines 25-35] but does not explicitly recite calcined alumina (claim 32). Activated alumina is a porous, solid form of aluminum oxide (Al2O3). Calcined alumina is alumina subjected to calcining temperatures to convert it to activated alumina by driving off chemically-bound water molecules [Applicant’s Specification, para. 0022]. Acid-activated alumina is subjected to low pH conditions to also remove chemically-bound water molecules and results in a material which is structurally the same as the claimed heat-activated alumina. Therefore, the claimed (calcined alumina) and prior art (activated alumina) are considered identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, and thus a prima facie case of anticipation has been established [MPEP 2112.01]. To put it another way, “calcined” alumina is considered a product-by-process limitation (e.g. activated alumina obtained by the process of heat treatment) and only the structure implied by the process step (calcination) is considered when compared to the prior art structure.
In regard to claim 31, Lynch et al. disclose the composition of claim 30, wherein the soil amendment is mixed with the plant medium (e.g. the phosphorus bound to the alumina is applied to soils and released into soil; Al-P in situ in soils) [Column 3, lines 65 – Column 4, line 4; col. 14; Example 8].
In regard to claim 37, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 21, wherein the activated alumina is, for example, commercially available DD-2 and Compalox [Column 5, lines 22-25], including Compalox AN/V-801 which has a size range from 0.3 mm to 1.0 mm [Huber, pg. 1]. DD-2 is size 14 mesh (1.4 mm) [Wang, pg. 42]. These values overlap and/or lie inside the claimed range.
In regard to claim 38, Lynch et al. disclose the process of claim 30, wherein the phosphorus of the environmental anthropogenic phosphorus source is predominantly orthophosphate (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60]. Phosphoric acid is also called orthophosphoric acid and is the acid form of orthophosphate.
In regard to claim 39, Lynch et al. disclose the composition of claim 30, wherein the plant medium is selected from the group consisting of a naturally-occurring soil, a soil containing one or more additive, a hydroponic medium, and an aeroponic medium (e.g. naturally occurring earthen soils, as well as earthen soils containing additives, and all combinations or mixtures thereof) [col. 3, lines 17-20].
Double Patenting
In response to applicant' s request to hold in abeyance a response, it is noted that the rejection cannot be held in abeyance since that filing “is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims”. As filing a terminal disclaimer or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. See MPEP § 804.02, subsection VI., for filing terminal disclaimers required to overcome nonstatutory double patenting rejections in applications filed on or after June 8, 1995. Future responses which fail to fully address the rejection or file a terminal disclaimer will be treated as not fully responsive.
Claims 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,319. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims being examined are generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent (i.e., the entire scope of the reference claims falls within the scope of the examined claims).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-36 and 40 are allowable. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art reference(s) do not teach or render obvious all the cumulative limitations of the claims with particular attention to wherein the phosphorus absorbent includes calcined iron oxide (claim 33), calcined bauxite (claim 34, claim 40), calcined clay (claim 35) or calcined kaolin (claim 36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/14/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims based on the teachings of the Lynch reference have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 7, paras. 1-2) Lynch does not disclose the claim limitation “wherein the adsorbent has a basic pH”. This argument is not persuasive. Lynch’s Example 8 [col. 14] describes adsorbing phosphorus from an environmental (e.g. in situ sandy Florida field soils) [col. 14, lines 46-55] anthropogenic phosphorus source (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60]. The absorbent (described as Al—P) is applied to the field. The method for making the “Al—P” absorbent of Lynch is described in cols. 5-6. The Al-P phosphorus adsorbent has a basic pH (e.g. the resulting pH from alumina activation is preferably between 6.0 – 7.5 which overlaps with a basic pH value in amounts greater than 7.0) [col. 6, lines 12-13]. Applicant’s arguments that the process described in Lynch’s examples does not include adsorbing phosphorus from an anthropogenic phosphorous source are not persuasive in view of Lynch’s Examples teaching an absorption step using the Al—P product. The fertilizer solution (e.g. phosphoric acid) remains in contact with the Al—P amended soil prior to planting [col. 14, lines 64-65]. The preparation step and the use steps of the Al—P product are differentiated by the Lynch method. Here. The Al—P is considered to meet the limitation of “the phosphorous adsorbent”.
Applicant argues (para. bridging pgs. 7-8) Lynch does not teach absorbing phosphorus from an environmental phosphorus source. This argument is not persuasive. Phosphoric acid is an anthropogenic phosphate source when “anthropogenic” is given its plain meaning. Furthermore, the phosphorus described by Lynch is present as phosphoric acid drench through soil plots [col. 14; Example 8; Field Method]. A phosphoric acid soil drench is a direct and potent agricultural source of environmental phosphorus. In the case of Lynch, food grade phosphoric acid is a human-made material (e.g. a produced industrial chemical) and is considered an anthropogenic phosphorus source.
Applicant argues (pg. 8, 1st para.) phosphoric acid is not orthophosphate as required by amended claims 26 and 38. In response to this argument, Lynch is cited as teaching phosphoric acid (e.g. phosphoric acid; food grade phosphoric acid) [col. 14, lines 53-60]. Phosphoric acid is also called orthophosphoric acid and is the acid form of orthophosphate. Food grade phosphoric acid is an aqueous solution made of monomeric orthophosphate units (e.g. phosphoric acid forms orthophosphate ions in water).
Applicant argues (pg. 8, 2nd para.) Lynch only discloses a basic phosphorus absorbent when phosphoric acid is used as the acid activator. This argument is not persuasive. Lynch describes formation of the Al—P product as described in the arguments above. The Al—P is depleted and recharged with phosphoric acid [col. 14, lines 35-65].
Applicant argues (para. bridging pgs. 8-9) Lynch in view of Muby Chem does not disclose a brackish aqueous phosphorus source having a sodium content of at least 100 parts-per-million (ppm). However, Muby Chem discloses 250 ppm Na (sodium) in reagent grade phosphoric acid [pg. 4]. Brackish is further defined in the specification and claims as having a sodium content of at least 100 ppm. Muby Chem is considered to demonstrate this limitation range as present in reagent grade phosphoric acid.
Applicant’s arguments (pgs. 9-11), with respect to the combination of the Lynch and Hughes references has been fully considered. Applicant argues one of ordinary skill in the art would not have substituted Hughes’ activated bauxite for Lynch’s activated alumina for the purpose for which Lynch’s activated alumina is intended because the results of the substitution would not have been predictable. These arguments are persuasive and the rejection of claims 33-36 and 40 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 September 1, 2026