DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17, 18, and 20 were previously withdrawn, but due to the amendment will be rejoined and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh et al (US 2016/0185042; herein Toh, already of record), in view of Kuijpers (WO 2022260512; already of record) and Gibson (US 2017/0326773; already of record). Regarding claim 1:
Toh teaches a filament deposition head having a nozzle and where the nozzle has a spout (e.g. Figure 1), and Toh teaches using a linear actuator to raise and lower a nozzle during a print job (paragraph 0036).
Toh is silent to the need for ooze prevention.
In the same field of extrusion through a nozzle in 3D printing, Kuijpers teaches that ooze from the nozzle after printing is a known issue and prevention is needed (page 1, lines 14-28).
However, Toh and Kuijpers are silent to a protective member and the claimed motor.
In the same field of endeavor Gibson teaches a protective member that is rotated by a motor to cover the end of a nozzle to prevent oozing (Figure 8, paragraph 0039, ooze flap 310 and servo motor 315) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the ooze flap and servo motor of Gibson, since it prevents any additional flowing of melt from the nozzle.
Since the combination above teaches that the actuator lowers the nozzle when ready to print, then it would be easily seen that the ooze flap would be moved out of the way in order for the nozzle to print, and vice versa, when the nozzle is done printing and raised, the ooze flap would move to cover the spout of the nozzle.
Regarding claim 2:
Gibson additionally teaches, for the previous reasoning, a biasing member as seen in the annotated Figure 8 below:
Regarding claim 3:
As previously discussed, Gibson teaches a servo motor to rotate the ooze flap, and as seen in the annotated Figure 8, the ooze flap 310 is attached to the biasing member for rotation by the servo motor 315.
Regarding claims 6 and 17:
Since the combination above teaches that the actuator lowers the nozzle when ready to print, then it would be easily seen that the ooze flap would be moved out of the way in order for the nozzle to print, and vice versa, when the nozzle is done printing and raised, the ooze flap would move to cover the spout of the nozzle.
Regarding claim 7:
The ooze flap 310 of Gibson rotates flush against the nozzle (paragraph 0039), thus it has a geometry capable of removing material from the spout as claimed.
Regarding claim 18:
Since the ooze flap 310 slides across the spout of the nozzle it would remove material as claimed due to the viscosity of the melted material.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh, Kuijpers, and Gibson as applied above, and further in view of Chang (US 2015/0158254; already of record). Regarding claim 20:
As previously discussed Gibson teaches the ooze prevention protective member, but is silent to the shape as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor Chang teaches a v-shape cleans nozzles well (paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a v-shaped notch as taught by Chang in the ooze flap of Gibson, since such a shape helps remove material. Additionally, it has been held that the shape of a known structure is obvious absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743