Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is responsive to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 03/19/2026. Claims 9-15 have been withdrawn (please cancel the withdrawn claims 9-15). Claims 1-8 and 16-20 have been elected and are presented for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kavanagh et al. (US 2014/0006638 A1), hereinafter “Kavanagh”.
5. As to claim 1, Kavanagh teaches a cloud compute platform comprising:
platform routing components configured to:
receive a data packet having a data packet header identifying a first IPv6 address as a destination for the data packet ([0085]: the hypervisor 20 of the server 12B hosting VM2 associated with tenant T2 receives the IPv6 packet), the first IPv6 address embedding a first IPv4 address and a virtual network (VNet) identifier uniquely identifying a VNet of a cloud compute platform (TABLE 1, [0073-0075] and [0077]: the IPv6 destination address is [P2 I IPv4 destination address], wherein prefix P2 is a unique prefix which identifies tenant T2 associated with different VMs); and
based on extraction of the VNet identifier and the first IPv4 address from the first IPv6 address, route the data packet to a host node within the cloud compute platform that hosts a first virtual machine (VM) reachable via the first IPv4 address that is within the VNet identified by the VNet identifier ([0086]: the hypervisor 20 extracts the prefix P2 from the IPv6 destination address, looks the extracted prefix up in the mapping table to determine the tenant corresponding to the prefix, and determines the virtual machine associated with the identified tenant. The hypervisor 20 extracts the IPv4 destination address, the IPv4 source address and the payload of the IPv4 packet, then assembles the extracted payload with the header of the IPv4 packet and routes it to VM2/T2).
6. As to claim 3, Kavanagh teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 1, wherein the platform routing components include: a software-defined networking (SDN) appliance configured to: receive the data packet as part of an encapsulated data packet, the encapsulated data packet having an outer header and an encapsulated portion that includes the data packet header identifying the first IPv6 address as the destination of the data packet; extract, from the first IPv6 address, the VNet identifier and the first IPv4 address; use the VNet identifier and the first IPv4 address to retrieve, from a stored mapping, an internet protocol (IP) address of a host node of the cloud compute platform that hosts a virtual machine associated with the first IPv4 address; update the outer header of the data packet to include the IP address of the host node as a new destination for the data packet; and transmit the data packet with the new destination in the outer header to the host node (Fig. 4, [0042] and [0085-0086]: the hypervisor 20 receives the IPv6 data packet, extracts the prefix (P2) from the IPv6 destination address, looks the extracted prefix P2 up in the mapping table to determine the tenant (T2) corresponding to the prefix P2, and determines the virtual machine (VM2) associated with the identified tenant. The hypervisor 20 extracts the IPv4 source and destination addresses from the IPv6 source and destination addresses and extracts the payload of the IPv4 packet from the payload of the IPv6 packet. Then, the hypervisor 20 assembles the IPv4 packet and routes it to (host) VN2/T2).
7. As to claims 16-17, claims 16-17 are corresponding tangible computer-readable storage media claims that recite similar limitations as of cloud compute platform claims 1, 3 and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2, 4-8 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavanagh, in view of WING et al. (US 2019/0319918 A1).
10. As to claim 2, Kavanagh teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 1, wherein the data packet header further identifies a second IPv6 address as a source for the data packet (FIG. 4 and [0047]: the header 122 comprises the IPv6 source address), providing for an update to packet header information that designates the first IPv6 address as a source and the second IPv6 address as a destination (FIG. 4 and [0077]: it creates the IPv6 source address by concatenating the prefix P2 with the extracted IPv4 source address and in the same manner, the IPv6 destination address is created), but does not explicitly teach “assign the data packet to a select port identifier on the first VM assigned to the first IPv4 address extracted from the first Ipv6 address; and based on assignment of the select port identifier, define an address translation rule that is conditionally applied to data packets arriving from the first IPv4 address and from the select port identifier”.
In an analogous art, WING discloses “assign the data packet to a select port identifier on the first VM assigned to the first IPv4 address extracted from the first Ipv6 address; and based on assignment of the select port identifier, define an address translation rule that is conditionally applied to data packets arriving from the first IPv4 address and from the select port identifier” (FIG. 3B-3C, 4B-4C, [0050]: A NAT address translation rule may provide instructions to replace, in a header of a detected packet, a destination IP address with an IP address of a client application, and to replace, in the header, a destination port with an identifier of a redirect port implemented in the particular virtual machine. Examples of the NAT translation rules are described with references to FIG. 3B-3C and FIG. 4B-4C; FIG. 3B and [0077]: Rule 360 provides that, in a header of data packet 304A, a destination IP address 306A of “127.31.42.79” is to be replaced with “172.31.42.79”, which corresponds to the IP address of VM1 Windows client. Rule 360 also provides that, in the header of data packet 304A, a destination port identifier 308A of “80” is to be replace with “8090”, which corresponds to the identifier of the redirect port implemented in VM1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kavanagh and WING to achieve the claimed invention to facilitate redirecting communications exchanged between the client application and server application to be encrypted when exchanged between the corresponding virtual machines (WING, [0009]).
11. As to claim 4, Kavanagh teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 3, further comprising: a decapsulator configured to generate a modified data packet by decapsulating the encapsulated data packet and; a stateful translator configured to: read the first IPv6 address and a second IPv6 address from a header of the modified data packet; extract the first IPv4 address from the first IPv6 address (Fig. 4, [0042] and [0085-0086]: the hypervisor 20 receives the IPv6 data packet, extracts the prefix (P2) from the IPv6 destination address, looks the extracted prefix P2 up in the mapping table to determine the tenant (T2) corresponding to the prefix P2, and determines the virtual machine (VM2) associated with the identified tenant. The hypervisor 20 extracts the IPv4 source and destination addresses from the IPv6 source and destination addresses), but does not explicitly teach “select a first port identifier of the first VM to assign to the modified data packet; store a translation rule mapping the first port identifier and the first IPv4 address to a pair of addresses including the first IPv6 address and the second IPv6 address; and create updated header information specifying a packet destination that identifies both the first IPv4 address and the first port identifier; and transmit the modified data packet with the updated header information to the first VM assigned to the first IPv4 address”.
In an analogous art, WING discloses that Security controller 103 may be a software application configured to communicate with virtual machines hosted on hosts 106A-C, and configured to provide NAT address translation rules to the virtual machines. The NAT address translation rules may be configured on security controller 103 by a system administrator or by SDN manager 102A. A NAT address translation rule may provide instructions to replace, in a header of a detected packet, a destination IP address with an IP address of a client application, and to replace, in the header, a destination port with an identifier of a redirect port implemented in the particular virtual machine. Examples of the NAT translation rules are described with references to FIG. 3B-3C and FIG. 4B-4C (FIG. 3B-3C, 4B-4C, [0049-0050]). WING also discloses that [address translation] Rule 360 provides that, in a header of data packet 304A, a destination IP address 306A of “127.31.42.79” is to be replaced with “172.31.42.79”, which corresponds to the IP address of VM1 Windows client. Rule 360 also provides that, in the header of data packet 304A, a destination port identifier 308A of “80” is to be replace with “8090”, which corresponds to the identifier of the redirect port implemented in VM1 (FIG. 3B and [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kavanagh and WING to achieve the claimed invention to facilitate redirecting communications exchanged between the client application and server application to be encrypted when exchanged between the corresponding virtual machines (WING, [0009]).
12. As to claim 5, Kavanagh-WING teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 4, wherein the stateful translator resides on the host node of the first VM assigned to the first IPv4 address (Kavanagh: Hypervisor 20 of FIG. 2; WING, [0014]: NAT agents 303A and 305B in FIG. 3A and NAT agents 304A and 303B in FIG. 4A).
13. As to claim 6, Kavanagh-WING teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 4, wherein the header of the modified data packet further identifies a second IPv6 address as a source address and the stateful translator is further configured to: replace the source address with a platform address used to communicate with components of the cloud compute platform (WING, FIG. 4A-C and [0090]: Rule 460 describes that, in a header of data packet 404B, a source IP address of “172.31.42.79” is to be replaced with a loopback IP address 415B of “127.0.0.2” and a destination IP address 406B “127.31.36.107” is to be replaced with a loopback IP address 416B of “127.0.0.1”), wherein packets received at the platform address are subject to evaluation against a set of stored translation rules including the translation rule (WING, FIG. 4A-C and [0093-0094]: Rule 470 describes that, in a header of data packet 410A, a source IP address of “127.31.36.107” is to be replaced with the source IP address of “172.31.42.79” of VM3 Windows server, and a destination IP address “127.31.36.107” is to be replaced with a destination IP address of “127.31.36.107 of VM1 Windows client.”)
14. As to claim 7, Kavanagh-WING teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 4, wherein the second IPv6 address is assigned to virtual machine associated with a multi-tenant service (Kavanagh, [0006]: data center having tenants used for cloud computing forms an IPv6 network) and the first IPv4 address is a private IP address of a customer that subscribes to the multi-tenant service (Kavanagh, [0012-0013]: generating the IPv4 packet by assembling the generated header with the generated payload and routing the generate IPv4 packet to the determined virtual machine associated with the tenant).
15. As to claim 8, Kavanagh-WING teaches the cloud compute platform of claim 5, wherein the platform routing components are further configured to: receive a return data packet transmitted by the first VM, the return data packet having a packet header identifying the first IPv4 address and the first port identifier as a source of the return data packet; identify a stored translation rule conditionally applied to traffic originating at the first IPv4 address and the first port identifier, the stored translation rule defining the second IPv6 address as the source of the return data packet and the first IPv6 address as the destination for the return data packet; creating an updated header for the return data packet, the updated header identifying the second IPv6 address as a destination and the first IPv6 address as a source; and transmit the return data packet with the updated header to the second IPv6 address (WING, FIG. 4A-C, [0086-0095]: describing Example Translation of a (Response/Return Data) Packet Sent from a Server Application to a Client Application).
16. As to claims 18-20, claims 18-20 are corresponding tangible computer-readable storage media claims that recite similar limitations as of cloud compute platform claims 4-8 and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
17. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action.
/QUANG N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441