DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are currently pending and examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “fabricating an immunosensor by a method further comprising”. It is unclear what is intended by the recitation “further comprising”? The recitation “further comprising” indicates some preceding fabrication process steps that are not disclosed for the fabrication and the steps after “further comprising” indicates additional steps of fabrication process without reciting the main process of fabrication. Similar interpretation applies to “further comprising” recitation on lines 6-7.
Claim 1, lines 24-26, recites “loading at least 3ul of the food sample onto the immunosensor, followed by incubating for at least 30 minutes, forming an immunocomplex between a binding agent on the immunosensor and the sample”. The recitation recites immunocomplex between a binding agent on the immunosensor and the sample. However, the immunosensor has not been recited to have any binding agent on the immunosensor and the process as described for the fabrication does not provide any binding agent on the immunosensor. Thus the complex formation on the immunosensor and the sample is vague and indefinite. Claims 2-5 being dependent on claim 1, are rejected based on the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azam et al (Microchimica Acta 2020, published July 18, 2020).
In regards to claim 1, Azam teaches a method of detecting an analyte, the method comprising
fabricating an immunosensor by a method comprising: preparing at least 0.1 mg/mL of an oxidized solution of carbon nanohorns by dispersing the carbon nanohorns in at least 0.1% of Nafion perfluorinated resin solution; synthesizing magnetic nanoparticles simultaneously by a method further comprising: mixing at least 4mL of ultrapure water and at least 10mM of ascorbic acid, preparing a mixture; adding at least 10mM of K2PdCl6 to the mixture; adding at least 4 mL of 0.1% of Fe3O4 nanoparticles dispersed in ultrapure water; stirring the above solution at 700 rpm for t least 1 hour at a temperature of 60oC, followed by magnetic separation for at least 3 minutes and washing with ultrapure water, preparing the magnetic iron oxide-palladium nanoparticles; redispersing the magnetic nanoparticles in at least 2 mL of the ultrapure water; combining the oxidized solution of carbon nanohorns with the iron oxide-palladium nanoparticles, followed by stirring for at least 3 hours at 60oC, synthesizing a nanocomposite film; dropping at least 3µL of the synthesized nanocomposite film onto a screen-printed electrode until completely drying, fabricating the immunosensor; loading at least 3µL of the food sample onto the immunosensor, followed by incubating for at least 30 minutes, forming an immunocomplex between a binding agent on the immunosensor and the sample; washing the electrode with at least 10m-M of Phosphate-buffered saline (PBS) buffer at pH 7.4, removing unreacted proteins from the sample; monitoring an electrical signal developed on the electrode; and detecting the analyte concentration (pages 3-7)
In regards to claim 2, Azam discloses wherein the analyte is tropomysin (page 4, right col.).
In regards to claim 3, Azam discloses wherein the binding agent is antibody specific for tropomycin (page 2)
In regards to claim 4, Azam teaches screen-printed carbon electrode (Abstract and Table 1).
In regards to claim 5, Azam teaches measuring electrical signal by Ru(bpy)3]2+ as luminophore and Tripropylamine as co-reactant (abstract, page 2, left col.).
Therefore, the reference is deemed to anticipate the cited claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al (BMEI 2009) in view of Moreno-Lanceta et al (Pharmaceutics 2020) and further in view of Mohamad et al (Biointerface Tesearch 2019).
In regards to claim 1, Xin discloses immunosensor for determination of chloramphenicol (Title). Xin discloses nanocomposite film comprising nafion, carbon nanotube (CNTs) and Fe3O4/Au nanocomposite (abstract and Fig.1) for immobilization of biomolecule for fabrication of immunosensor:
. Fig 1 discloses Nafion film on which CNTs and Fe3O4 are immobilized. Xin teaches that The choice of Fe3O4 nanoparticles is based in the magnetic feature of Fe3O4 that enables to achieve a rapid separation of the immobilized antigen in a magnetic field, as well as decrease of operation cost (page 2, 1st paragraph of 1st col.).
Xin teaches CNTs but however, does not teach carbon nanohorns for CNTs.
Moreno-Lacenta (hereinafter “Moreno”) that the biomedical applications of SWCNH have increased in the recent years, as well as other carbon-based materials such as carbon nanotubes or fullerene. Moreno teaches that SWCNH have a number of advantages over the use of carbon nanotubes such as the absence of potentially toxic metals as catalysts during the synthesis, unnecessary additional treatment with strong acids that can damage the carbon structure, and the capacity for high yield mass production at room temperature. Moreno teaches that SWCNH do not require metal catalysts for their synthesis and can be produced in industrial quantities. Moreno teaches that conical morphology of SWCNH with a wide apex angle and distorted tubule drastically influences the electronic and magnetic properties and reactivity and conical shape can help to entrap drugs or other substances into the structure and the tip can be chemically functionalized by the attachment of targeting moieties. These properties highlight SWCNH as an attractive alternative to carbon nanotubes and graphene oxide in a wide range of biomedical applications (page 2). Moreno teaches that SWCNH is useful for providing immunosensors for detection (pages 5 and 14).
Therefore, given the fact that SWCNH is a powerful alternative to CNTs for biomedical applications including immunosensors, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage considering SWCNH for CNTs with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of immunosensor of Xin with other carbon nanotubes including SWCNH with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to consider SWCNH in place of CNTs because Moreno teaches that SWCNH as an attractive alternative to carbon nanotubes and graphene oxide in a wide range of biomedical applications and SWCHN is useful for providing various immunosensors. Moreover, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to consider SWCNH because Moreno teaches that SWCNH have a number of advantages over the use of carbon nanotubes such as the absence of potentially toxic metals as catalysts during the synthesis, unnecessary additional treatment with strong acids that can damage the carbon structure, and the capacity for high yield mass production at room temperature and that SWCNH do not require metal catalysts for their synthesis and can be produced in industrial quantities. Furthermore, art-recognized equivalence betweenembodiments provide a strong case of obviousness in substituting one materialfor another. See MPEP 2144.06.
Therefore, Xin in view of Moreno, teaches immunosensor comprising nanocomposite film comprising nafion, carbon nanohorn and Fe3O4.
Xin in view of Moreno teaches nanocomposite film comprising nafion, cabon nanohorn and Fe3O4, but however, do not teach iron oxide (Fe3O4)-palladium nanoparticles and the iron oxide (Fe3O4)-palladium nanoparticles prepared by the process as claimed in claim 1.
Mohamad teaches Biosensor comprising Fe3O4-Pd (Abstract). Mohamad teaches fabricating a highly sensitive label-free electrochemical food biosensor for the detection of a very common food allergens (ovalbumin) on the Fe3O4-Pd/CS nanocomposite modified screen-printed graphene electrode (SPGE). Palladium nanoparticles (Pd-NPs) and Fe3O4 nanoparticles (Fe3O4-NPs) have attracted considerable attention from the researchers due to their unique properties. Pd-NP is a well-known metallic nanomaterial with high conductivity and catalytic performance (page 4655, 2nd col.). Mohamad teaches that using the novel properties of the nanomaterials and polymer fabricated label-free electrochemical food biosensors on the Fe3O4-Pd/CS nanocomposite modified SPGE demonstrated high sensitivity with a lower limit of detection of 0.01 pg/mL and wide linear range of 0.01 pg/mL-1 µg/mL for the detection of the most common food allergens (ovalbumin). Additionally, biosensor portrayed excellent selectivity, repeatability, stability and potential to detect ovalbumin in real food sample. Mohamad teaches that nanomaterials were prepared according to literature with modifications. In brief, 200 mg Fe3O4 was mixed in 25 mL distilled water. Following that, 30 µL of 50 mM ascorbic acid were added into the mixture and mix well. After that, 300 µL of 10 mM K2PdCl6 were added dropwise whilst stirring. The mixture was left to stir for 3 h for the complete synthesis of the nanomaterials. After that, the nanomaterials were magnetically separated for 30 min. The supernatant was removed and the nanomaterials were resuspended in distilled water and stored at 4˚C in a glass vial (page 4656, 2nd col.). Mohamad teaches that nanocomposite comprising Fe3O4-Palladium effectively enhance the electroconductivity of biosensor with excellent stability and selectivity (page 4659; 2nd col.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to envisage other types of magnetic hybrid particles, as for example, Fe3O4-Palladium, in place of Fe3O4/Au with the expectation of providing the Nafion-SWCNH composite film with magnetic and catalyst property for various biochemical applications with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to utilize Mohamad teaches that nanocomposite comprising Fe3O4-Palladium effectively enhance the electroconductivity of biosensor with excellent stability and selectivity.
In regards to claim 2, Xin teaches Nafion concentration of 0.1%, Fe3O4 concentration of CNT concentration of optimal CNT concentration of 0.6 mg/ml which reads on at least 0.1 mg/mL. Xin does not mention regarding the concentration of Fe3O4, but however, since the basic concept of adsorbing magnetic particle on Nafion film has been taught for providing the composite with the ability to separate in magnetic field, the various percentage of Fe3O4 can routinely be optimized by one of ordinary skilled in the art. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 2, Mohamad and Moreno teach immobilization of antibody specific for analyte on nanocomposite film for detection of analyte and since the basic concept of immobilization of antibody specific for analyte on nanocomposite film comprising Fe3O4-Pd and Nafion have been found to be obvious in view of the references, various analytes including tropomyosin would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages of detection of tropomyosin analyte.
In regards to claim 3, Moreno discloses binding agent entrapped on the film via electrostatic interaction and physical adsorption (See Fig.1) wherein the binding agents are BSA and antibody. Mohamad also teaches immobilizing antibody on composite film for using as biosensor for detection of analyte (scheme 2).
In regards to claim 4, Mohamad teaches drop-casting nanocomposite material on a screen-printed graphene electrode and thus drop-casting of nanocomposite film as found to be obvious in view of the references on graphene electrode would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al (BMEI 2009) in view of Moreno-Lanceta et al (Pharmaceutics 2020) and Mohamad et al (Biointerface Tesearch 2019) as described for claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Martinez-Perinan et al (Biosensors 2020).
Xin in view of Moreno-Lanceta and Mohamad has been described above providing obviousness for immunosensor comprising an electrode functionalized with binding partner on a nanocomposite film comprising carbon nanohorns dispersed in Nafion perfluorinated resin stabilized by Fe3O4-Pd nanocomposite.
Xin in view of Moreno-Lanceta and Mohamad do not teach the immunosensor for being a point-of care (POC)-based device and do not teach the immunosensor further comprising engagement with [Ru(bpy)3]2+/TPA electrochemical system as claimed in claim 5.
Martinez-Perinan is directed to electrochemiluminescence (ECL) immunosensor comprising screen-printed electrodes (Title and Abstract). Martinez teaches the electrode functionalized with film composed of Nafion and carbon nanotubes (page 18, para 4). Martinez-Perinan teaches that the ECL biosensor can be adapted to point of care (POC) systems (page 3, last para and page 25, section 4.2). Martinez-Perinan teaches that the nanocomposite can be employed together with the widely used co-reactant tri-n-propylamine (TPrA) (page 7, section 2.1). Martinez-Perinan teaches bioassays engagement with [Ru(bpy)3]2+/TPA electrochemical system having [Ru(bpy)3]2+ as luminophore and Tripropylamine (TPrA) as a co-reactant with the system for detection using EC (page 2 and page 8 and Table 1).
Therefore, given the fact that SPE-based immunosensors can be utilizing as POC system and given the fact that SPE-based ECL immunosensor utilizing luminophore [Ru(bpy)3]2+ with co-reactant TPrA is widely known for generating ECL for detection, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage the biosensor or Xin in view of Moreno-Lanceta and Mohamad for adapting to POC system and engaging [Ru(bpy)3]2+/TPA electrochemical system for ECL detection with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678