DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 19 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-26 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Interpretation
Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art on the basis of structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”) (emphasis in original). Likewise, the “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937 (CCPA 1963). It is firmly rooted that because an apparatus is a structure, an apparatus must be distinguished from prior art on the basis of its structure, and where a prior art structure is inherently “capable of” performing the claimed function of the apparatus, the burden shifts to the applicant to show that the claimed function patentably distinguishes the claimed structure from the prior art structure. See, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Hallman, 655 F.2d 212, 215 (CCPA 1981). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coates (US 2012/0063965).
With respect to claim 1, Coates discloses a system (see Coates, Fig. 7) comprising: (a) one or more condensers (C1, C2) for receiving vapor and oil, the oil cooling the vapor so as to condense at least a portion of the vapor (see Coates, paragraphs [0049] and [0050]); and (b) one or more recirculation loops to supply at least a portion of condensed oil to the one or more condensers (see Coates, Fig. 7; and paragraphs [0049] and [0050]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masemore (US 2002/0119089).
With respect to claim 1, Masemore discloses a system (see Masemore, Fig. 7) comprising: (a) one or more condensers (44) for receiving vapor and oil, the oil cooling the vapor so as to condense at least a portion of the vapor (see Masemore, paragraphs [0036] and [0037]); and (b) one or more recirculation loops to supply at least a portion of condensed oil to the one or more condensers (see Masemore, paragraph [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates (US 2012/0063965).
With respect to claims 2-4, see discussion supra at paragraph 7. Coates discloses wherein the system may comprise second (C2) and third (C3) condensers in fluid communication with the respective first (C1) and second (C2) condensers (see Coates, Fig. 7); wherein the second (C2) and third (C3) condensers have corresponding cooling means (see Coates, paragraphs [0050] and [0051]); wherein a fraction of cooled oil may bring about cooling in at least one condenser (see Coates, paragraph [0049]); and wherein various oil fractions may be collected from the various condensers (see Coates, paragraphs [0049]-[0051]). Each of the condensers (C1, C2, C3) have inlets for a gaseous portion and outlets for a condensed portion (see Coates, Fig. 7).
Claims 2-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masemore (US 2002/0119089).
With respect to claims 2-17, see discussion supra at paragraph 9. Masemore discloses wherein the system may comprise second and third condensers in fluid communication with the respective first and second condensers (see Masemore, paragraphs [0036], [0039], and [0043]); wherein the second and third condensers have corresponding cooling means (see Masemore, paragraphs [0039] and [0043]); wherein a fraction of cooled oil may bring about cooling in at least one condenser (see Masemore, paragraphs [0036]-[0039]); and wherein various oil fractions may be collected from the various condensers (see Masemore, paragraphs [0040]-[0042]). Each of the condensers have inlets for a gaseous portion and outlets for a condensed portion (see Masemore, paragraphs [0036]-[0043]). Condensation in one or more condensers may be effected by means of cooling water from a cooling tower as well as other cooling systems (see Masemore, paragraph [0039]), including cooled recirculated oil (see Masemore, paragraph [0042]), such oil being sprayed by a plurality of spray nozzles positioned appropriately inside of a separator/condenser unit (see Masemore, paragraph [0036]). The system may additionally comprise corresponding feed unit elements including a hopper, feed screw, pyrolysis reactor receiving a feedstock and generating a vapor and solid mass for discharge (see Masemore, paragraphs [0021]-[0032]), the vapor also comprising a particulate constituent (see Masemore, paragraph [0032]). The feed mechanism includes airlocks to limit intrusion of air flow (see Masemore, paragraph [0025]). The system may additionally comprise a flare for combustion of non-condensable vapor (see Masemore, paragraph [0044]). Finally, with respect to claims 9, 10, and 12, the claims do not structurally distinguish over the apparatus disclosed by Masemore.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masemore (US 2002/0119089) in view of Carreira (EP 3627050 A1).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, see discussion supra at paragraph 16.
Masemore does not explicitly disclose wherein the feed mechanism receives a purge gas including a non-condensable portion of the vapor.
However, in a related apparatus, Carreira discloses recirculation of a non-condensable purge gas from the apparatus product recovery sections to the feed section, such purge gas having the function of preheating the feed material thereby reducing the need for supply of an external heat source and also functioning, in part, as an airlock thereby maintaining a seal against oxygen/air intrusion (see Carreira, paragraphs [0004], [0034], and [0043]).
Therefore, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus of Masemore to incorporate a non-condensable purge gas recycle as demonstrated in Carreira in order to achieve the same benefits noted by Carreira.
Finally, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the apparatus of Masemore as described above because both Masemore and Carreira are directed to apparatuses for the pyrolysis of tire shred/crumb material.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masemore (US 2002/0119089) in view of Durai-Swamy (US 4,375,402).
With respect to claim 18, see discussion supra at paragraph 16.
Masemore does not explicitly disclose wherein a stripping column positioned between the separator and flare for the purpose of water treatment.
However, Masemore clearly discloses the use of water cooling systems such as cooling towers. In this regard, Durai-Swamy discloses a pyrolysis plant apparatus in which process water is treated by means of a steam stripper and further purification and treatment means (see Durai-Swamy, Abstract; and column 15, lines 52-58).
Therefore, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus of Masemore to incorporate the steam stripping and purification/treatment means of Durai-Swamy in order to ensure the release of water meeting appropriate environmental standards.
Finally, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the apparatus of Masemore as described above because Masemore and Durai-Swamy are both directed to apparatuses for the pyrolysis of carbonaceous material.
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771