DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
. Response to Election/Restrictions
In response to the Restriction Requirement dated 03/17/2026, Applicant hereby elects claims 1-4,7-12 and 16 without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4,7-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Each of claims1-4,7-12 and 16 falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP § 2106.03. For example, each of claims 1-4,7-11 fall within category of process; For example, each of claims 12 and 16 falls within category of manufacture .
Regarding Claims 1-4,7-11
Step 2A – Prong 1
Exemplary claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea of processing the acoustic data.
The abstract idea is set forth or described by the following bold limitations:
1. A method comprising:
recording acoustic data using a floating sensor node that contains a pressure sensor and a motion sensor; and
processing the acoustic data to obtain a velocity model or to generate an image using two-way wave equation propagation, where a directional receiver back propagates a wave in a reverse direction a pressure wave was received at the floating sensor node when the acoustic data was recorded.
The bold limitations above represent a mathematical concepts (i.e., a process that can be performed by mathematical relationships or rules or idea). Therefore, the bold limitations fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
For example, the limitations “processing the acoustic data to obtain a velocity model or to generate an image using two-way wave equation propagation” a mathematical concepts (i.e., a process that can be performed by mathematical relationships or rules or idea, see [0045]-[0048], [0076] of current application PgPub.
Limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea for further analysis. (discussing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010)).
Step 2A – Prong 2
Claims 1 does not include additional elements (when considered individually, as an ordered combination, and/or within the claim as a whole) that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
For example,1st additional first element is “recording acoustic data using a floating sensor node that contains a pressure sensor and a motion sensor; where a directional receiver back propagates a wave in a reverse direction a pressure wave was received at the floating sensor node when the acoustic data was recorded” to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering and or pre solution activity and /or field of use) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The 2nd additional element is “a floating sensor node that contains a pressure sensor and a motion sensor”. This element amounts to mere use of a generic sensor system for particular industry, which is well understood routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and this element individually does not provide a practical application. In view of the above, the “additional element” individually or combine does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. see MPEP 2106.05(d).
In view of the above, the “additional elements” individually do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the “additional elements” in combination amount to a plurality of generic component with software, where such computers and software amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer(s) and/or mere use of a generic computer component(s) as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, these elements in combination do not provide a practical application. The combination of additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, and for this additional reason, the combination of additional elements does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Step 2B
Claims1 does not include additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. For example, the limitation of Claim 1 contains additional elements that are, i.e. “pressure sensor and a motion sensor”, generic device and component, which are well understood, routine and convention (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and MPEP 2106.05(d))The reasons for reaching this conclusion are substantially the same as the reasons given above in § Step 2A – Prong 2. For brevity only, those reasons are not repeated in this section. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(g) and MPEP §§2106.05(II).
.
Dependent claims 2-4 and 7-11
fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 1 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Particularly, claims 2-10 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea (bold) of mathematical concepts or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity(italicized) of data gathering, mere use of instructions and/or generic components and/computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea(under line), and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
For examples:
2. superimposing a monopole corresponding to the pressure sensor and at least one dipole associated with the motion sensor at a location of the directional receiver when performing the two-way wave equation propagation, or
imaging the monopole and the least one dipole individually to generate resulting images, and then summing the resulting images.
3. orienting the dipole to have a first orientation where a negative side faces up and a positive side faces down in response to a first output of the motion sensor and orientating the dipole to have a second orientation that is flipped relative to the first orientation in response to a second output of the motion sensor.
4. an output emitted by one of the negative side or the positive side of the dipole cancels with an output emitted by the monopole while the other side of the dipole combines with the output emitted by the monopole.
7. the two-way wave equation propagation comprises forward propagating a second wave from a source in parallel with the directional receiver back propagating the wave.
8. the floating sensor node is neutrally buoyant or has a slight positive buoyancy.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the floating sensor node is tethered to an anchor.
10. the floating sensor node comprises an in water measurement device that moves through the water and where mechanical vibrations and flow noise have been removed from the acoustic data obtained by the floating sensor node.
11. the image can include a subsurface image, an image of a feature at a floor of a body of water, or an image that indicates a location of an object in the body of water.
Regarding Claims 12 and 16
Claims 12 and 16 contain language similar to claim 1-4,7-11 as discussed in the preceding paragraphs, and for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 12 and 16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101(abstract idea).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whitemore et al. (US 2021/0103065).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12. Whitemore teaches a method comprising(fig. 5-6):
recording acoustic data using a floating sensor node that contains a pressure sensor and a motion sensor (118: fig. 3; receiver 118 may be a multi-component sensor including particle motion sensors and a pressure sensor:[0029]; A particle motion sensor that measures particle acceleration (i.e., accelerometer): [0038]); and
processing the acoustic data to obtain a velocity model or to generate an image using two-way wave equation propagation(RTM: [0093]., [0103]; fig.11), where a directional receiver back propagates a wave in a reverse direction a pressure wave was received at the floating sensor node when the acoustic data was recorded(a pressure sensor and three particle motion sensors that measure particle motion in three orthogonal directions. For example, in addition to having a particle motion sensor that measures particle velocity in the z-direction to give vz. each receiver may include a particle motion sensor that measures the wavefield in the in-line direction in order to obtain the in-line velocity wavefield, vx . and a particle motion sensor that measures the wavefield in the cross-line direction in order to obtain the cross-line velocity wavefield :[0040]).
Regarding Claim 2. Whitemore further teaches superimposing a monopole corresponding to the pressure sensor and at least one dipole associated with the motion sensor at a location of the directional receiver when performing the two-way wave equation propagation(hydrophone, accelerometer:[0028], [0093]), or
imaging (1107: fig.11) the monopole (1104: fig.11) and the least one dipole individually (1105: fig.11)to generate resulting images, and then summing the resulting images(1107, 1109: fig. 11; [0103]).
Regarding Claim 3. Whitemore further teaches processing the acoustic data further comprises: orienting the dipole to have a first orientation where a negative side faces up and a positive side faces down in response to a first output of the motion sensor and orientating the dipole to have a second orientation that is flipped relative to the first orientation in response to a second output of the motion sensor([0038], [0040]).
Regarding Claim 4. Whitemore further teaches an output emitted by one of the negative side or the positive side of the dipole cancels with an output emitted by the monopole while the other side of the dipole combines with the output emitted by the monopole( two other directions,
1 and
2, that are orthogonal to
(i.e.,
·
1=
·
2=0, where “·” is the scalar product) and orthogonal to one another (i.e.,
1·
2=0): [0040]).
Regarding Claim 7. Whitemore further teaches the two-way wave equation propagation comprises forward propagating a second wave from a source in parallel with the directional receiver back propagating the wave(forward propagate a source wavefield and backward propagate reflection events recorded in the seismic data :[0016]-[0017]).
Regarding Claim 8. Whitemore further teaches the floating sensor node is neutrally buoyant or has a slight positive buoyancy(108: fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9. Whitemore further teaches the floating sensor node is tethered to an anchor(102: fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10. Whitemore further teaches the floating sensor node comprises an in water measurement device that moves through the water and where mechanical vibrations and flow noise have been removed from the acoustic data obtained by the floating sensor node([0065], fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11. Whitemore further teaches the image can include a subsurface image, an image of a feature at a floor of a body of water, or an image that indicates a location of an object in the body of water([0026]; fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 16. Whitemore further teaches motion sensor is a three-axis motion sensor, wherein processing the acoustic data further comprises one of(hydrophone, accelerometer:[0028], [0093]):
superimposing a monopole corresponding to the pressure sensor and three dipoles associated with the three-axis motion sensor at a location of the directional receiver when performing the two-way wave equation propagation(1104, 1105, 1107: fig. 11; [0103]), or
imaging the monopole and the least one dipole individually to generate resulting images, and then summing the resulting images(1107, 1109: fig. 11; [0103]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Coates et al. (US 2016/0291184): disclose implementations of various techniques described herein may also be used in connection to a land seismic survey. One method for generating images of the subsurface of the earth from seismic data acquired by a seismic survey as described in FIGS. 6 and 7 is Reverse Time Migration (RTM). RTM may be described as a process in which the seismic wavefield generated by a source in the subsurface is simulated by forward modeling in time the propagation of the wavefield, and the wavefield generated at reflectors in the subsurface is simulated by backward propagating in time the wavefield recorded at the receivers. An image is formed using an imaging conditions, for example a cross correlation, at each point in the subsurface at which the forward propagated wavefield and the reverse propagated wavefield exist at the same point in time.
b) US 2019/0349223: disclose In some embodiments, the sensors may include seismic receivers (e.g., pressure sensors, accelerometers and/or or other suitable receivers), which may be configured to measure acoustic and/or elastic signals from the medium. Suitable pressure sensors include, but are not limited to, borehole receivers and/or surface receivers such as geophones and hydrophones, and the pressure sensors may be configured to measure any suitable type of signal, such as pressure waves and/or shear waves.
c) US 2018/0356547: disclose The present disclosure describes methods and systems, including computer-implemented methods, computer program products, and computer systems, for modeling angle domain common image gathers (ADCIG) from reverse time migration (RTM). One computer-implemented method includes calculating seismic source and receiver wavefields based on seismic data, calculating characteristic source and receiver wavefields from the seismic source and receiver wavefields, calculating propagation angles for the characteristic source and receiver wavefields, applying a wavefield decomposition algorithm on the characteristic source and receiver wavefields to obtain corresponding directional source and receiver wavefields, the wavefield decomposition algorithm decomposing wavefield amplitude of a wavefield in an angle interval centered on a propagation angle of the wavefield, and forming ADCIG by applying an image condition to the obtained directional source and receiver wavefields.
c) US 2018/0275302: disclose Reverse Time Migration bypasses deconvolution by the incident wavefield due to lack of numerical stability and computing cost, which results in inaccurate amplitudes in output migrated gathers. For amplitude compliant offset and angle migrated gathers, a robust scheme is developed that compensates the amplitudes of Reverse Time Migration (RTM) gathers in such a way that the resulting gathers can be utilized for Amplitude Versus Offset (AVO) and/or Amplitude Versus Angle (AVA) analysis. The scheme does not rely on an iterative procedure to correct for the amplitudes. In the case of angle gathers, the method works irrespectively of the angle transformation.
d) US 2016/0377756: disclose theacoustic wavefield, comprising pressure wavefield and fluid particle velocity wavefield components, propagates through the water, into the formation below the sea floor, and a portion of the acoustic energy therein is reflected and propagates back for detection by sensors deployed in the water body or on the sea floor beneath the water body. (The pressure and fluid particle velocity wavefield components may simply be referred to as pressure and fluid particle velocity wavefields, respectively.) Based on the known activation time of the acoustic source, the known velocity of the acoustic signal in the water, and a velocity model of the formation layers below the sea floor, the depth of the various acoustic reflectors can be determined with relatively good accuracy.
e) US 2016/0291184: disclose an individual streamer may include a plurality of seismic receivers 521 that may be distributed at spaced intervals along the streamer's length. The seismic receivers 521 may include hydrophone sensors as well as multi-component sensor devices, such as accelerometers
f) US 2011/0176385: disclose a hydrophone 10 produces a hydrophone signal H. The hydrophone may be realized as a single hydrophone or a group of hydrophones mounted in an underwater sensor cable such as a streamer towed by or an ocean-bottom cable connected to a survey vessel. The hydrophone in this example is an acceleration-canceling hydrophone that is sensitive to pressure variation, but insensitive to accelerations due to sensor cable dynamics. Roughly co-located with the hydrophone in the sensor cable is a second sensor, a particle-motion sensor 14--in this example, a three-axis accelerometer--that measures particle acceleration due to seismic reflections. The particle-motion sensor could be any sensor responsive to particle velocity or acceleration. Accelerometers, geophones, acceleration-sensitive hydrophones, groups of similar such sensors, or combinations of different such sensors are other examples of particle-motion-sensor realizations. The particle-motion sensor 14 produces a raw sensor signal A that includes responses to particle motion due to seismic events and to cable motion.
g) US 2008/0049551: disclose Three-Axis MEMS Accelerometer and hydrophone system.
Contact Information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857