DETAILED ACTION
Specification
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
This application contained polynucleotide and/or polypeptide sequence information. Applicant is required to review the specification for compliance with the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover antibody-urease conjugates.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of conjugates, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify conjugates encompassed by the claims. Applicant fails to disclose any other conjugates, besides those specifically identified by the specification and claims (i.e., SEQ ID NO’s), and in relation to the above, these disclosed species or subgenre do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of conjugates.
With regard to the functional definition of antbodies (e.g., anti-CEACAM6) or urease, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of antibodies and enzymes to see if these peptides can perform the required function. In this connection, the specification contains no generic structural characteristics of those polypeptides which provide the required function, besides those compounds instantly disclosed, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited antibody-urease conjugates.
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially dree” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The criteria of suitable for intravenous injection is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2908475 (CA 475) or CA 2877505 (collectively “Canadian patents”); in view of Chao, Drug Development & Delivery, January 2011, Vol. 11, No.1 (Chao).
The Canadian patents teach preparation of urease-antibody conjugates. The antibodies include single domain antibodies, see CA ‘475:
The Canadian patents teach multiple conjugation sites:
The Canadian patents may fail to explicitly teach compositions substantially free of unconjugated urease. However, the Canadian patents teach purification of the conjugates via size exclusion:
See also page 51+ of CA ‘505:
In this way, compositions of the conjugates substantially-free of urease seem to be within the purview of those of ordinary skill. This same argument was made in the Written Opinion of the counterpart PCT application (“[the Canadian patents] both explicitly teach methods of preparing antibody-urease conjugates comprising combining an activated antibody and the urease and increasing the pH of the reaction mixture to pH 8.0-8.3. The methods taught in these documents differ from the subject matter explicitly defined in the present claims is that [the Canadian patents] both explicitly teach purification by size exclusion chromatography. The need for such a purification step simply rest of the optimization of the conjugation reaction (i.e. selection of appropriate solvent, temperature, pH, etc.) and such optimization falls within the scope of the abilities of the person skilled in the art. In view of the broad scope of the present claims (which define this optimization in terms of the effect to be achieved), an inventive step cannot be acknowledged.”).
Moreover, the examiner joins Chao, describing urease toxicity and the requirements of targeting specificity, therefore providing a reason to minimize unbound urease in pharmaceutical compositions: “Because DOS47 [urease] activity is potentially toxic to any cell in the body, the molecule must have a targeting mechanism that very specifically targets the tumor cell type of interest.”.
Chao also teaches treating NSCLC by targeting CEACAM6, see page 70.
SEQ ID’s of antibodies are also given.
In this way, those of ordinary skill would have preparing an antibody-urease composition substantially free of unconjugated urease for the purpose of providing a pure pharmaceutical composition. Specifically, the Canadian patents teach the recited urease-antibody conjugates, and methods of their purification. Chao is added to emphasize the need for a substantially urease-free pharmaceutical composition. Specifically, the Canadian patents teach that the particular known technique purifying urease conjugates was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique, in order to provide a less toxic, specifically-targeted urease composition, as outlined by Chao, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, providing an antibody-urease antibody composition substantially free of unconjugated urease would have been prima facie obvious.
The claims recite binding affinities to CEACAM6 which may not be explicitly taught by the references. However, the references substantially teach CEACAM6 and its conjugates. In this manner, any observed pharmacology, including the recited binding affinities, would have been an invariable aspect of these conjugates, see MPEP 2112.01 (“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.”).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2908475 (CA 475) or CA 2877505 (collectively “Canadian patents”) in view of Chao, Drug Development & Delivery, January 2011, Vol. 11, No.1 (Chao) in further view of Cheng et al., European Journal of Cancer (2014) 50, 713-721 (Cheng).
Claim 12 requires that the antibody is a single domain antibody. The Canadian patents and Chao may fail to explicitly teach this embodiment. However, it is for that proposition that the examiner joins Chen. Specifically, Cheng teaches a single domain antibody against CEACAM6, which inhibits proliferation, integration, invasion and angiogenesis of pancreatic cancer cells:
The recited IC50 values are taught:
In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying single domain antibodies to the recited conjugates, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, providing an antibody-urease antibody with a single domain antibody would have been prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10316311 in view of the Canadian patents, Chao and Cheng (cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting cover antibody-urease conjugates that anticipates those conjugates covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The conflicting claims may fail to explicitly recite a composition substantially free of unconjugated urease or single-domain conjugates. However, the secondary references demonstrate that providing a pharmaceutical composition substantially free of urease and single-domain conjugates were well within the purview of those ordinary skill, as outlined above.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 6, 17, of U.S. Patent No. 7264800 in view of the Canadian patents, Chao and Cheng (cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting cover antibody-urease conjugates that anticipates those conjugates covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The conflicting claims may fail to explicitly recite a composition substantially free of unconjugated urease or single-domain conjugates. However, the secondary references demonstrate that providing a pharmaceutical composition substantially free of urease and single-domain conjugates were well within the purview of those ordinary skill, as outlined above.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 of U.S. Patent No. 9296819 in view of the Canadian patents, Chao and Cheng (cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting cover antibody-urease conjugates that anticipates those conjugates covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The conflicting claims may fail to explicitly recite a composition substantially free of unconjugated urease or single-domain conjugates. However, the secondary references demonstrate that providing a pharmaceutical composition substantially free of urease and single-domain conjugates were well within the purview of those ordinary skill, as outlined above.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11931422 in view of the Canadian patents, Chao and Cheng (cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting cover antibody-urease conjugates that anticipates those conjugates covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The conflicting claims may fail to explicitly recite a composition substantially free of unconjugated urease or single-domain conjugates. However, the secondary references demonstrate that providing a pharmaceutical composition substantially free of urease and single-domain conjugates were well within the purview of those ordinary skill, as outlined above.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22 and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 10640806 in view of the Canadian patents, Chao and Cheng (cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting cover antibody-urease conjugates that anticipates those conjugates covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The conflicting claims may fail to explicitly recite a composition substantially free of unconjugated urease or single-domain conjugates. However, the secondary references demonstrate that providing a pharmaceutical composition substantially free of urease and single-domain conjugates were well within the purview of those ordinary skill, as outlined above.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646