DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The provisional application PRO 63/532,521 and 63/547,273 filed on 08/14/2023 and 11/03/2023 are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. (US 20240031085 A1), hereinafter referenced as Horn, in view of Gutman et al. (US 20230337026 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gutman.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Horn teaches a computing system, comprising: processing circuitry; and a memory device including instructions embodied thereon, wherein the instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry (Para. [0004-0009]-Horn discloses method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE). The method may include transmitting an indication of a capability of the UE associated with measuring an imbalance between an in-phase component and a quadrature component of a modulated signal, monitoring a wireless channel for a pilot signal associated with measuring the imbalance in accordance with the capability of the UE, and transmitting information corresponding to a measurement of the imbalance at the UE, where the measurement of the imbalance is associated with the pilot signal ... The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit an indication of a capability of the UE ... method for wireless communications at a network entity. The method may include receiving an indication of a capability of a UE associated with measuring an imbalance between an in-phase component and a quadrature component of a modulated signal. Fig. 1, Para. [0030]-Horn discloses network entities 105 may communicate with the core network 130, or with one another, or both. For example, network entities 105 may communicate with the core network 130 via one or more backhaul communication links 120), configure the processing circuitry to perform operations that:
obtain measurements corresponding to wireless communications of a radio access network (RAN) operating with a backhaul (Para. [0162]-Horn discloses method for wireless communication at a network entity, including: receiving an indication of a capability of a UE associated with measuring an imbalance between an in-phase component and a quadrature component of a modulated signal. Para. [0032]-Horn discloses in some implementations, a network entity 105 may be implemented in a disaggregated architecture (such as a disaggregated BS architecture, a disaggregated RAN architecture), which may be configured to utilize a protocol stack that is physically or logically distributed among two or more network entities 105, such as an integrated access backhaul (IAB) network, an open RAN (O-RAN) (such as a network configuration sponsored by the O-RAN Alliance), or a virtualized RAN (vRAN) (such as a cloud RAN (C-RAN))),
the measurements based on in-phase and quadrature (IQ) data of the wireless communications (Para. [0004]-Horn discloses transmitting an indication of a capability of the UE associated with measuring an imbalance between an in-phase component and a quadrature component of a modulated signal, monitoring a wireless channel for a pilot signal associated with measuring the imbalance in accordance with the capability of the UE, and transmitting information corresponding to a measurement of the imbalance at the UE, where the measurement of the imbalance is associated with the pilot signal);
the expected operational state is established from a baseline of the IQ data in the RAN (Fig. 1, Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power and may consume even more power during sub-THz communication ... the network entity 105 may transmit one or more pilots (such as one or more pilots that are dedicated for IQ imbalance measurement) that are located both in in-band subcarriers and out-of-band subcarriers to enable the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Para. [0058]-Horn discloses the UE 115 may measure the pilot signal and transmit information associated with the measurement of the pilot signal to the network entity 105. As such, the network entity 105 may correct for both transmit-side and receive-side impairments, which may reduce power consumption at the UE 115. Para. [0061]-Horn discloses to facilitate more accurate transmit- and receive-side IQ impairment estimation (and, likewise, more accurate compensation), the UE 115-a and the network entity 105-a may support a pilot mapping associated with a relatively larger bandwidth than an allocated downlink bandwidth (such that pilots are transmitted both in-band and out-of-band) and a signaling mechanism according to which the UE 115-a estimates the IQ impairments and reports back to the network entity 105-a for compensation at the network entity 105-a. Para. [0069]-Horn discloses the network entity 105-a may receive the measurement information 225 and may perform an IQ imbalance compensation 230 ... the network entity 105-a may compensate for the IQ impairment (instead of or in addition to the UE 115-a), as IQ impairment compensation at the UE 115-a); and
modify the wireless communications of the backhaul based on the comparison of the measurements to the expected operational state (Fig. 1, Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power and may consume even more power during sub-THz communication ... the network entity 105 may transmit one or more pilots (such as one or more pilots that are dedicated for IQ imbalance measurement) that are located both in in-band subcarriers and out-of-band subcarriers to enable the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Para. [0058]-Horn discloses the UE 115 may measure the pilot signal and transmit information associated with the measurement of the pilot signal to the network entity 105. As such, the network entity 105 may correct for both transmit-side and receive-side impairments, which may reduce power consumption at the UE 115. Para. [0061]-Horn discloses to facilitate more accurate transmit- and receive-side IQ impairment estimation (and, likewise, more accurate compensation), the UE 115-a and the network entity 105-a may support a pilot mapping associated with a relatively larger bandwidth than an allocated downlink bandwidth (such that pilots are transmitted both in-band and out-of-band) and a signaling mechanism according to which the UE 115-a estimates the IQ impairments and reports back to the network entity 105-a for compensation at the network entity 105-a. Para. [0069]-Horn discloses the network entity 105-a may receive the measurement information 225 and may perform an IQ imbalance compensation 230 ... the network entity 105-a may compensate for the IQ impairment (instead of or in addition to the UE 115-a), as IQ impairment compensation at the UE 115-a).
Horn fails to explicitly teach perform a comparison of the measurements to an expected operational state of the RAN,
However, Gutman teaches perform a comparison of the measurements to an expected operational state of the RAN (Para. [0274]-Gutman discloses one or more FDRSB parameters associated with an imbalance between an in-phase component of the first signaling and a quadrature phase component of the first signaling. Fig. 6, Para. [0159]-Gutman discloses network entity 605-a may compare the estimated FDRSB characteristics of the pilot signal with the estimated FDRSB characteristics of the signaling. Additionally, or alternatively, the first network entity 605-b may compare a measured signal metric of the pilot signal with a measured signal metric of the signaling. Para [0012]-Gutman discloses receiving third signaling from the second network entity, the third signaling lacking the one or more FDRSB characteristics, measuring a first metric associated with the third signaling, measuring a second metric associated with the second signaling after decoding the second signaling, and comparing a difference between the first metric and the second metric. Fig. 5, Para. [0143]-Gutman discloses signal metric may be SNR, reference signal received power (RSRP), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), or some other metric. The first network entity 505-a may compare the measured signal metric of the DMRS with the measured signal metric of the data after descrambling the FDRSB characteristics. (See also Para. [0172 and 0265]). Para. [0058-0061]-Gutman discloses an access network (AN) or RAN may include communications between access nodes (e.g., an IAB donor), IAB nodes 104, and one or more UEs 115. The IAB donor may facilitate connection between the core network 130 and the AN (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection to the core network 130). That is, an IAB donor may refer to a RAN node with a wired or wireless connection to core network 130 ... one or more components of the disaggregated RAN architecture may be configured to support communication security based on FDRSB characteristics),
the expected operational state is established from a baseline of the IQ data in the RAN (Para. [0274]-Gutman discloses one or more FDRSB parameters associated with an imbalance between an in-phase component of the first signaling and a quadrature phase component of the first signaling. Fig. 6, Para. [0159]-Gutman discloses network entity 605-a may compare the estimated FDRSB characteristics of the pilot signal with the estimated FDRSB characteristics of the signaling. Additionally, or alternatively, the first network entity 605-b may compare a measured signal metric of the pilot signal with a measured signal metric of the signaling. Para [0012]-Gutman discloses receiving third signaling from the second network entity, the third signaling lacking the one or more FDRSB characteristics, measuring a first metric associated with the third signaling, measuring a second metric associated with the second signaling after decoding the second signaling, and comparing a difference between the first metric and the second metric. Fig. 5, Para. [0143]-Gutman discloses signal metric may be SNR, reference signal received power (RSRP), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), or some other metric. The first network entity 505-a may compare the measured signal metric of the DMRS with the measured signal metric of the data after descrambling the FDRSB characteristics. (See also Para. [0172 and 0265]). Para. [0058-0061]-Gutman discloses an access network (AN) or RAN may include communications between access nodes (e.g., an IAB donor), IAB nodes 104, and one or more UEs 115. The IAB donor may facilitate connection between the core network 130 and the AN (e.g., via a wired or wireless connection to the core network 130). That is, an IAB donor may refer to a RAN node with a wired or wireless connection to core network 130 ... one or more components of the disaggregated RAN architecture may be configured to support communication security based on FDRSB characteristics).
Horn and Gutman are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with frequency domain residual sideband (FDRSB) characteristics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Horn to incorporate the teachings of Gutman on in-phase component and a quadrature component, with a motivation to compare measurement and expected data, and support communication security based on frequency domain residual sideband (FDRSB) characteristics, (Gutman, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11,
Horn further teaches the wireless communications of the backhaul correspond to communications between an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) Donor (IAB-Donor) and an IAB Node (IAB-Node) (Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor. One or more DUs 165 or one or more RUs 170 may be partially controlled by one or more CUs 160 associated with a donor network entity 105 (such as a donor BS 140). The one or more donor network entities 105 (such as IAB donors) may be in communication with one or more additional network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) via supported access and backhaul links (such as backhaul communication links 120). IAB nodes 104 may include an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) controlled (such as scheduled) by DUs 165 of a coupled IAB donor. An IAB-MT may include an independent set of antennas for relay of communications with UEs 115, or may share the same antennas (such as of an RU 170) of an IAB node 104 used for access via the DU 165 of the IAB node 104 (such as referred to as virtual IAB-MT (vIAB-MT)). In some implementations, the IAB nodes 104 may include DUs 165 that support communication links with additional entities (such as IAB nodes 104, UEs 115) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (such as downstream). Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power), and
the expected operational state relates to: channel state information (CSI), interference, physical layer statistics, or backhaul access protocol (BAP) health, for a mobile termination (MT) of the IAB-Node (Para. [0053]-Horn discloses an IQ imbalance may introduce inter-carrier interference (ICI) from an adjacent carrier or sub-carrier. Para. [0056-0057]-Horn discloses in an example of an estimated IQ imbalance with a 7.5 gigahertz (GHz) bandwidth (such that the imbalance is estimated over a full bandwidth of pilots), the IQ impairment response may change significantly across the frequency domain and a noise floor that the IQ impairment causes may reach up to approximately 7 dB in terms of a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). Further, in an SINR plot associated with FDRSM estimation and calibration, an SINR may degrade significantly near the edges or borders of a bandwidth. For example, near the edges of a bandwidth, SINR may degrade from approximately 36 dB to approximately 27 dB ... the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Fig. 5, Para. [0090-0094]-Horn discloses examples of an FDRSB interference canceller based on an estimation, calculation, selection, or determination of a ratio of K.sub.2(f)/K.sub.1(f) (such as for a 7.5 GHz bandwidth). Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor ... IAB nodes 104 may include an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) controlled (such as scheduled) by DUs 165 of a coupled IAB donor ... the IAB nodes 104 may include DUs 165 that support communication links with additional entities (such as IAB nodes 104, UEs 115) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (such as downstream)).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 2 and the method of claim 12,
Horn further teaches to modify the wireless communications of the backhaul includes to change bandwidth allocated to the backhaul to the IAB-Donor with at least one of: use of an alternative channel, use of an alternative radio frame uplink and downlink pattern, or a change in receive/transmit power (Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor. Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power and may consume even more power during sub-THz communication ... the network entity 105 may transmit one or more pilots (such as one or more pilots that are dedicated for IQ imbalance measurement) that are located both in in-band subcarriers and out-of-band subcarriers to enable the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Para. [0058]-Horn discloses the UE 115 may measure the pilot signal and transmit information associated with the measurement of the pilot signal to the network entity 105. As such, the network entity 105 may correct for both transmit-side and receive-side impairments, which may reduce power consumption at the UE 115. Para. [0061]-Horn discloses to facilitate more accurate transmit- and receive-side IQ impairment estimation (and, likewise, more accurate compensation), the UE 115-a and the network entity 105-a may support a pilot mapping associated with a relatively larger bandwidth than an allocated downlink bandwidth (such that pilots are transmitted both in-band and out-of-band) and a signaling mechanism according to which the UE 115-a estimates the IQ impairments and reports back to the network entity 105-a for compensation at the network entity 105-a. Para. [0069]-Horn discloses the network entity 105-a may receive the measurement information 225 and may perform an IQ imbalance compensation 230 ... the network entity 105-a may compensate for the IQ impairment (instead of or in addition to the UE 115-a), as IQ impairment compensation at the UE 115-a).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11,
Horn further teaches the wireless communications of the backhaul correspond to communications between an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) Donor (IAB-Donor) and an IAB Node (IAB-Node) (Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor. One or more DUs 165 or one or more RUs 170 may be partially controlled by one or more CUs 160 associated with a donor network entity 105 (such as a donor BS 140). The one or more donor network entities 105 (such as IAB donors) may be in communication with one or more additional network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) via supported access and backhaul links (such as backhaul communication links 120). IAB nodes 104 may include an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) controlled (such as scheduled) by DUs 165 of a coupled IAB donor. An IAB-MT may include an independent set of antennas for relay of communications with UEs 115, or may share the same antennas (such as of an RU 170) of an IAB node 104 used for access via the DU 165 of the IAB node 104 (such as referred to as virtual IAB-MT (vIAB-MT)). In some implementations, the IAB nodes 104 may include DUs 165 that support communication links with additional entities (such as IAB nodes 104, UEs 115) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (such as downstream). Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power), and
the expected operational state relates to: channel state information (CSI), interference, or physical layer statistics, for a user equipment (UE) connected to the IAB-Node (Para. [0053]-Horn discloses an IQ imbalance may introduce inter-carrier interference (ICI) from an adjacent carrier or sub-carrier. Para. [0056-0057]-Horn discloses in an example of an estimated IQ imbalance with a 7.5 gigahertz (GHz) bandwidth (such that the imbalance is estimated over a full bandwidth of pilots), the IQ impairment response may change significantly across the frequency domain and a noise floor that the IQ impairment causes may reach up to approximately 7 dB in terms of a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). Further, in an SINR plot associated with FDRSM estimation and calibration, an SINR may degrade significantly near the edges or borders of a bandwidth. For example, near the edges of a bandwidth, SINR may degrade from approximately 36 dB to approximately 27 dB ... the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Fig. 5, Para. [0090-0094]-Horn discloses examples of an FDRSB interference canceller based on an estimation, calculation, selection, or determination of a ratio of K.sub.2(f)/K.sub.1(f) (such as for a 7.5 GHz bandwidth). Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor ... IAB nodes 104 may include an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) controlled (such as scheduled) by DUs 165 of a coupled IAB donor ... the IAB nodes 104 may include DUs 165 that support communication links with additional entities (such as IAB nodes 104, UEs 115) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (such as downstream)).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 4 and the method of claim 14,
Horn further teaches to modify the wireless communications of the backhaul includes to change bandwidth allocated to the backhaul to the IAB-Node with at least one of: use of an alternative channel, use of an alternative radio frame uplink and downlink pattern, or a change in receive/transmit power (Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor. Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power and may consume even more power during sub-THz communication ... the network entity 105 may transmit one or more pilots (such as one or more pilots that are dedicated for IQ imbalance measurement) that are located both in in-band subcarriers and out-of-band subcarriers to enable the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Para. [0058]-Horn discloses the UE 115 may measure the pilot signal and transmit information associated with the measurement of the pilot signal to the network entity 105. As such, the network entity 105 may correct for both transmit-side and receive-side impairments, which may reduce power consumption at the UE 115. Para. [0061]-Horn discloses to facilitate more accurate transmit- and receive-side IQ impairment estimation (and, likewise, more accurate compensation), the UE 115-a and the network entity 105-a may support a pilot mapping associated with a relatively larger bandwidth than an allocated downlink bandwidth (such that pilots are transmitted both in-band and out-of-band) and a signaling mechanism according to which the UE 115-a estimates the IQ impairments and reports back to the network entity 105-a for compensation at the network entity 105-a. Para. [0069]-Horn discloses the network entity 105-a may receive the measurement information 225 and may perform an IQ imbalance compensation 230 ... the network entity 105-a may compensate for the IQ impairment (instead of or in addition to the UE 115-a), as IQ impairment compensation at the UE 115-a).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11,
Horn further teaches the comparison of the measurements or the expected operational state is based on results inferred from a trained model (Para. [0100]-Horn discloses for a transmit-side IQ correction, the device may transmit positive tones S(f)=δ(f−f.sub.0) and may transmit negative tones S(f)=δ(f+f.sub.0). The resulting S.sub.Tx(f) values for the positive tones may be defined in accordance with Equation 10 and associated with a first measurement and a second measurement and the resulting S.sub.Tx(f) values for the negative tones may be defined in accordance with Equation 11 and associated with a third measurement and a fourth measurement, ... H may be a common channel and a training signal (such as a spectral plot associated with the training signal) may be illustrated by a series of values across a range of k.sub.0=−k.sub.max . . . k.sub.max).
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. (US 20240031085 A1), hereinafter referenced as Horn, in view of Gutman et al. (US 20230337026 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gutman, and further in view of Milos TESANOVIC (US 20230292359 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tesanovic.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11,
Horn further teaches the wireless communications of the backhaul correspond to communications between an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) Donor (IAB-Donor) and an IAB Node (IAB-Node) (Fig. 1, Para. [0034]-Horn discloses in wireless communications systems (such as wireless communications system 100), infrastructure and spectral resources for radio access may support wireless backhaul link capabilities to supplement wired backhaul connections, providing an IAB network architecture (such as to a core network 130). In some implementations, in an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other. One or more IAB nodes 104 may be referred to as a donor entity or an IAB donor. One or more DUs 165 or one or more RUs 170 may be partially controlled by one or more CUs 160 associated with a donor network entity 105 (such as a donor BS 140). The one or more donor network entities 105 (such as IAB donors) may be in communication with one or more additional network entities 105 (such as IAB nodes 104) via supported access and backhaul links (such as backhaul communication links 120). IAB nodes 104 may include an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) controlled (such as scheduled) by DUs 165 of a coupled IAB donor. An IAB-MT may include an independent set of antennas for relay of communications with UEs 115, or may share the same antennas (such as of an RU 170) of an IAB node 104 used for access via the DU 165 of the IAB node 104 (such as referred to as virtual IAB-MT (vIAB-MT)). In some implementations, the IAB nodes 104 may include DUs 165 that support communication links with additional entities (such as IAB nodes 104, UEs 115) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (such as downstream). Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses in some systems, a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance ... high bandwidth communication may increase model power consumption. For example, IQ imbalance compensation performed in the digital domain may consume a relatively large part of the available digital power).
Horn fails to explicitly teach the expected operational state relates to: congestion determined from an uplink sounding reference signal (UL SRS) for at least one location-designated user equipment (UE) located between the IAB-Donor and the IAB-Node for respective antennas.
However, Tesanovic teaches the expected operational state relates to: congestion determined from an uplink sounding reference signal (UL SRS) for at least one location-designated user equipment (UE) located between the IAB-Donor and the IAB-Node for respective antennas (Fig.3, Para. [0100-0103]-Tesanovic discloses determine that the information from node G on certain logical channels will be delayed and may report this to node B. In certain examples, the determination may be based on one or more of: [0101] Link status (e.g. quality of sounding reference signals sent by node G to node D indicating potential issues with UL transmissions being received correctly at node D; frequent retransmissions; transmission failures; RLF (Radio Link Failure) reports send from node G to node D; link load e.g. how close it is to maximum capacity) [0102] Link status further downstream (e.g. channel quality measured in ways including those described herein and/or load and/or congestion on links from node G to its child nodes and UEs) [0103] Knowledge at node D of when it will be able to give UL grant to node G).
Tesanovic is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with resource scheduling in a multi-hop network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Horn in view of Gutman to incorporate the teachings of Tesaovic on SRS, with a motivation to determine congestion, and guarantee resource scheduling, (Tesanovic, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Horn in view of Gutman teaches the computing system of claim 6 and the method of claim 16,
Horn further teaches to modify the wireless communications of the backhaul includes to adjust a time division duplex (TDD) or frequency division duplex (FDD) pattern used in an uplink, a downlink, or both (Para. [0038]-Horn discloses the UEs 115 and the network entities 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 (such as an access link) using resources associated with one or more carriers … Carrier aggregation may be used with both frequency division duplexing (FDD) and time division duplexing (TDD) component carriers. Para. [0054-0057]-Horn discloses a receiver (such as a direct conversion receiver) may include a local oscillator (LO) that generates both a sine wave at the received carrier frequency and a copy that is delayed by 90 degrees ... a receiver may be designed to control or compensate for an IQ imbalance to limit errors in a demodulated signal ... the network entity 105 may transmit one or more pilots (such as one or more pilots that are dedicated for IQ imbalance measurement) that are located both in in-band subcarriers and out-of-band subcarriers to enable the UE 115 to more accurately estimate an IQ impairment (such as to be able to more accurately measure and compensate for an IQ impairment near the edges of a bandwidth. Para. [0069]-Horn discloses the network entity 105-a may receive the measurement information 225 and may perform an IQ imbalance compensation 230 ... the network entity 105-a may compensate for the IQ impairment (instead of or in addition to the UE 115-a), as IQ impairment compensation at the UE 115-a).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. (US 20240031085 A1), hereinafter referenced as Horn, in view of Gutman et al. (US 20230337026 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gutman, and further in view of Milos TESANOVIC (US 20230292359 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tesanovic, and further in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (US 20240040463 A1), hereinafter referenced as Haustein.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Horn in view of Gutman and Tesanovic teaches the computing system of claim 6 and the method of claim 16,
Horn fails to explicitly teach determine a location of another UE, based on measurements relative to the at least one location-designated UE; wherein operations to determine the location of the another UE are implemented in a location service located at the IAB-Donor or the IAB-Node.
However, Haustein teaches determine a location of another UE, based on measurements relative to the at least one location-designated UE (Para. [0251]-Haustein discloses list may be provided to the UEs via the active IAB-node or via the macro cell base station or it may be relayed from an IAB-node or a macro base station via a sidelink ... UE-A may transmit the primary cell ID, PCID, of its current connection and/or some other identifier to the UE-B. In accordance with further embodiments, additional information may be added, for example in case of a mobile IAB, a speed at which the IAB-node moves, history data on a location of the IAB-node and the like. Based on such additional information, UE-B may evaluate whether it is moving into the same direction, for example, for determining whether it is located within the same vehicle as UE-A. Para. [0229]-Haustein discloses for a UE to find out whether a certain IAB-node is the one the UE wishes to connect to or stay connected to, the IAB-node may signal its position, like a geographical location, for example a GPS position, and the UE may compare this position with its own position ... The information about the positions may also be obtained by the UE indirectly from the CU, for example when asking for information on the cell ID of an IAB-node, and the CU may provide a list of IAB-cell-IDs and positions to the UE);
to determine the location of the another UE are implemented in a location service located at the IAB-Donor or the IAB-Node (Para. [0229]-Haustein discloses for a UE to find out whether a certain IAB-node is the one the UE wishes to connect to or stay connected to, the IAB-node may signal its position, like a geographical location, for example a GPS position, and the UE may compare this position with its own position ... The information about the positions may also be obtained by the UE indirectly from the CU, for example when asking for information on the cell ID of an IAB-node, and the CU may provide a list of IAB-cell-IDs and positions to the UE. Para. [0251]-Haustein discloses list may be provided to the UEs via the active IAB-node or via the macro cell base station or it may be relayed from an IAB-node or a macro base station via a sidelink ... UE-A may transmit the primary cell ID, PCID, of its current connection and/or some other identifier to the UE-B. In accordance with further embodiments, additional information may be added, for example in case of a mobile IAB, a speed at which the IAB-node moves, history data on a location of the IAB-node and the like. Based on such additional information, UE-B may evaluate whether it is moving into the same direction, for example, for determining whether it is located within the same vehicle as UE-A).
Haustein is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with integrated access and backhaul.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Horn in view of Gutman and Tesanovic to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on location service in IAB, with a motivation to determine UE location, and guarantee network connectivity that enables these devices to collect and exchange data across an existing network infrastructure, (Haustein, Para. [0002]).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. (US 20240031085 A1), hereinafter referenced as Horn, in view of Gutman et al. (US 20230337026 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gutman, and further in view of Milos TESANOVIC (US 20230292359 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tesanovic, and further in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (US 20240040463 A1), hereinafter referenced as Haustein, and further in view of HIRZALLAH et al. (US 20230179953 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hirzallah, and further in view of Ernst EBERLEIN (US 20080012768 A1), hereinafter referenced as Eberlein.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Horn in view of Gutman, Tesanovic and Haustein teaches the computing system of claim 8 and the method of claim 18,
Horn fails to explicitly teach to determine the location of the another UE is based on operations that: determine a sounding reference signal (SRS) channel estimation; calculate a channel impulse response based on the SRS channel estimation.
However, Hirzallah teaches to determine the location of the another UE is based on operations that: determine a sounding reference signal (SRS) channel estimation (Para. [0069]-Hirzallah discloses REs carry DM-RS (indicated as R for one particular configuration, but other DM-RS configurations are possible) for channel estimation at the base station ... The SRS may be used by a base station for channel quality estimation to enable frequency-dependent scheduling on the UL. Para. [0084]-Hirzallar discloses Downlink-and-uplink-based positioning methods may include enhanced cell-ID (E-CID) positioning and multi-round-trip-time (RTT) positioning (also referred to as “multi-cell RTT”). In an RTT procedure, an initiator (a base station or a UE) transmits an RTT measurement signal (e.g., a PRS or SRS) to a responder (a UE or a base station), which transmits an RTT response signal (e.g., an SRS or a PRS) back to the initiator. Fig. 4, Para. [0091]-Hirzallah discloses TRP 406 may transmit at least one downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) 410 to the UE 404, and may receive at least one uplink sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) 412 transmitted from the UE 404. Based at least in part on measuring an RTT 414 between the DL-PRS 410 transmitted and the UL-SRS 412 received, a serving base station associated with the TRP 406 or an LMF associated with the TRP 406 may identify the position of UE 404 (e.g., distance) with respect to the TRP 406);
calculate a channel impulse response based on the SRS channel estimation (Figs. 11A-C, Para. [0130]-Hirzallah discloses a CIR or a CFR captured from a reference signal associated with UE positioning (e.g., a PRS or an SRS). Claim [6]-Hirzallar discloses a channel impulse response (CIR) or a channel frequency response (CFR) captured from a positioning reference signal (PRS) or a sounding reference signal (SRS). Para. [0069]-Hirzallar discloses REs carry DM-RS (indicated as R for one particular configuration, but other DM-RS configurations are possible) for channel estimation at the base station ... The SRS may be used by a base station for channel quality estimation to enable frequency-dependent scheduling on the UL).
Hirzallah is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with wireless communications involving positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Horn in view of Gutman, Tesanovic and Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Hirzallah on positioining, with a motivation to determine SRS channel estimation, and guarantee network-based positioning, (Hirzallah, Para. [0004]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
AGNIHOTRI et al. (US 20220322273 A1)-discloses parameter can be a downlink time offset between an IAB node (e.g., an IAB node 330 or an IAB-DU 334) and an IAB donor-DU (e.g., IAB donor-DU 328). In an IAB network, there may be a chain of IAB nodes from the CU (e.g., CU 360) and/or the IAB donor-DU (e.g., DU 328). Thus, for each IAB node, there may be a different downlink time offset of each IAB node relative to DUs of the IAB donor, depending on the chain length and the distance from the IAB donor. Accordingly, the base station (the IAB donor) can provide downlink time offset information between the IAB node and the IAB donor-DU to the LMF (e.g., TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE message at stage 620). As the LMF would receive the UE's positioning measurements for DL signals (e.g., PRS) received by the UE from the IAB node (or from an IAB-DU) and might also or instead receive UL measurements from the IAB node (e.g., relative to IAB node or IAB-DU DL timing) of signals (e.g., SRS) transmitted by the UE, the LMF would need information about IAB node (or IAB-DU) transmission timing…. …Fig. 1-5
Simsek et al. (US 20210058989 A1)-discloses non-integrated node {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the baseline for comparison} may weight a measurement related to the integrated node based on the number of hops the integrated node is from the donor node. For example, the non-integrated node may generate a weighted measurement (e.g., a weighted RSRP) {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to a physical layer statistics} that is then compared to a number of other weighted measurements from other integrated nodes. Based on the comparison, the non-integrated node may select the integrated node with which it would like to connect…. …Fig. 1-5
ORSINO et al. (US 20250392971 A1)-discloses mobile IAB, it is expected to be mounted on public transport vehicles and to move to a large extent in a pre-determined route. Brief reference is now made to FIG. 3, which is a schematic block diagram illustrating a mobile IAB-node that involves intra-donor, inter-donor (same CU) and inter CUs according to some embodiments. As illustrated, one such mobile IAB mounted on a bus travelling on a route from position A to position D and that is covered by 4 different stationary parent IAB nodes (IAB parent node 1 having IAB parent node 1 coverage, IAB parent node 2 having IAB parent node 2 coverage, IAB parent node 3 having IAB parent node 3 coverage, and IAB parent node 4 having IAB parent node 4 coverage) as the bus travels on the route. The parent nodes backhaul their traffic through 2 donor nodes (IAB donor X, IAB donor Y).… …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472