Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 already recites “the first guides,” thus, how does claim 3 further limit the claim? Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van der Zee, US 2012/0292425 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Van der Zee ‘425 discloses a dispensing rack 24 comprising a first stand (a left side of 26), a second stand (a right side of 26), and a movable base 27, wherein the first and second stands are configured to hold multiple rolls 2 and dispense multiple layers (e.g., trellis is intended use of the material, applicant did not invent the material, claim 9) simultaneously from the multiple rolls, see figures 2 and 4.
Regarding claims 2-3, Van der Zee ‘425 discloses the first and second stands each comprise a respective first brace 26 comprising respect first attachment mechanism 29 and configured to hold first guides (i.e., shafts for the rolls) for the multiple rolls 2, and the first and second stands are configured to hold the multiple rolls 2 using the first guides, see figures 2 and 4.
Regarding claims 6-7, Van der Zee ‘425 discloses the movable base comprises four wheels 28 and cross-cross braces (no reference number), see figures 2 and 4.
Claims 1-3, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kostigian, U.S. Patent No. 8099815 B2.
Regarding claims 1 and 10 (i.e., including the limitations explained in claims 2-3 and 5-9), Kostigian ‘815 discloses a dispensing rack 10 comprising a first stand (a left side of 28), a second stand (a right side of 26), and a movable base (102, 112), wherein the first and second stands are configured to hold multiple rolls 52 and dispense multiple layers (e.g., trellis is intended use of the material, applicant did not invent the material, claim 9) simultaneously from the multiple rolls, see figures 1-9.
Regarding claims 2-3, Kostigian ‘815 discloses the first and second stands each comprise a respective first brace 22 comprising respect first attachment mechanism (40, 42) and configured to hold first guides (46, 47) secured at the respective attachment mechanisms using pins 48 rather than cotter pins for the multiple rolls 52, and the first and second stands are configured to hold the multiple rolls 52 using the first guides, see figures 1-9.
Regarding claim 5, Kostigian ‘815 discloses the first and second stands each comprise a respective second brace 24 comprising second attachment mechanism (40, 42) and configured to hold second guides (46, 47, other end) at respective dispensing heights for the multiple layers, see figures 1-9.
Regarding claims 6-8, Kostigian ‘815 discloses the movable base comprises four wheels 124 and cross-cross braces 38 and adjustable using (102, 112, see figure 5), see figures 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostigian, U.S. Patent No. 8099815 B2, in view of Kalies, U.S. Patent No. 5120170.
As stated above, Kostigian ‘815 discloses uses a pin rather than a cotter pin.
Kalies ‘170 discloses the concept of securing the shaft using a cotter pin 37, see figures 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the securing pin of Kostigian ‘815 to include a cotter pin as suggested by Kalies ‘170, in order to secure the shaft. Furthermore, since all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
SK
8/14/25
/SANG K KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654