DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0233018).
Tanaka et al. discloses a pillar garnish assembly for a vehicle comprising a pillar garnish (50,54,56) provided on a front surface of a vehicle pillar (30,40), as shown in Figures 1-3. The pillar garnish (50,54,56) comprises an inner pillar garnish structure (54,56) adapted to be engaged with the pillar (30,40), as shown in Figure 3. The inner pillar garnish (54,56) has a first portion connected to the pillar by adhesive (52) and covering the front surface of the pillar, as shown in Figure 3. A second portion (56) extends in a lateral direction from the first portion and is arranged at a vertical offset from the first portion defining a step therebetween, as shown in Figure 3. The second portion includes a free edge that extends over a front windshield (18) of the vehicle and defines a chamfer, as shown in Figure 3. An outer garnish (50) overlaps and is supported by at least a portion of the first portion of the inner garnish structure, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 2 and 7, the outer garnish (50) extends from the step in a direction opposite to the extension of the second portion from the step, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 3 and 8, the upper surface of the second portion (56) is aligned with the upper surface of the outer garnish (50), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 4 and 9, a gasket is arranged underneath the inner garnish structure and engaged with the inner garnish structure, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 5 and 10, a first structure of the gasket extends along and connected to the first portion of the inner garnish structure from the step, as shown in Figure 3. The second structure of the gasket extends along the second portion of the inner garnish structure from the step. A free edge contacts the front windshield of the vehicle, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 6, the vehicle comprises a pair of pillars, as disclosed in paragraph [0027]. A windshield (18) is arranged between the pillars, as disclosed in paragraph [0026]. Each pillar is provided a pillar garnish (50,54,56) on its front surface, as shown in Figure 3. The remaining limitations duplicate the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0233018) in view of Inoue et al. (US 2013/0076065).
Tanaka et al. discloses the vehicle has a roof, as disclosed in paragraphs [0025].
However, Tanaka does not disclose the side panels and drip moldings.
Inoue et al. discloses a pair of side panels (11b) arranged on both sides of a roof (11a) and extending in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle, as shown in Figures 1-4. Drip moldings (2) extend in the longitudinal direction along the roof and arranged between the roof (11a) and the side panels (11b), as shown in Figure 4. Each drip molding (2) is arranged between the roof (11a) and the associated side panel (11b) such that a gap is defined between the drip molding (2) and the associated side panel (11b), as shown in Figure 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide side panels and drip moldings along the roof of Tanaka et al., as taught by Inoue et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to manage flow of rain and improve vehicle aerodynamics to lower fuel consumption.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0233018) and Inoue et al. (US 2013/0076065), as applied to claim 11.
Tanaka et al. does not disclose the claimed widths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the drip molding with a width equal to the width of the second portion of the inner garnish structure of Tanaka et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious design choice to improve aesthetics so the visible portions of the drip moldings and the second portion appear continuous from the windshield to the rear of the roof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 15 is the width of the space defined between the step and the outer garnish structure is equal to a width of the gap defined between the associated drip molding and the associated side panel, which is not found in the prior art of record.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 March 4, 2026