DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species I, claims 2-4, 10-13, 19-20 in the reply filed on 7-7-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all the elements of the allegedly distinct species are capable of use together, the inventions of the various claims are not independent. This is not found persuasive because MPEP § 806.06 is not the only metric used for restriction. For example, MPEP § 806.05 recites that species capable of been used together can still be restricted, as long the inventions as claimed are distinct; and the species are distinct as disclosed in the restriction of record since they can be used independently.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalyanasundaram 9002634 in view of Macfarlane 20180184395.
As to claim 1, Kalyanasundaram discloses a system comprising:
a memory [510] that stores instructions [515] (see col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 24); and
one or more processors [505] configured by the instructions to perform operations comprising (see col. 9, lines 39-58):
accessing a graph [map] that indicates wireless network connectivity in each of a plurality of regions (see col. 3, lines 5-20);
accessing a map that indicates physical paths among the plurality of regions (see col. 3, lines 21-38); and
selecting a physical path from an origin location to a destination location based on the graph and the map [selected route uses map data with wireless coverage data to avoid dropped communication] (see col. 11, lines 29-46). Kalyanasundaram fails to disclose the details about the graph or map. In an analogous art, Macfarlane discloses the graph comprising a plurality of nodes [A-G] representing each of the plurality of regions, the graph comprising a plurality of edges that connect pairs of nodes (see fig. 1A-1H, 3), each edge having a value that corresponds to a cost [distance time, etc.] between the regions represented by the connected pair of nodes (see par. 0064-0065, 0078-0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings to find the most desired route such as shortest, fastest, best connectivity and/or combinations; thereby, improving customer satisfaction.
As to claims 2-4, Kalyanasundaram discloses everything as claimed above except for wherein the cost corresponds to a distance or travel time between the regions represented by the connected pair of nodes. In an analogous art, Macfarlane discloses wherein the cost corresponds to a distance between the regions represented by the connected pair of nodes or wherein the cost corresponds to a travel time between the regions represented by the connected pair of nodes. (see par. 0064-0065, 0078-0079); wherein: the value is a first value; the cost is a first cost; the graph is a digraph [directed graph] (see par. 0048); and a first edge of the plurality of edges has a second value cost [distance time, etc.] that corresponds to a second cost between the regions represented by the connected pair of nodes, the first cost and the second cost being different (see par. 0064-0065, 0078-0079, 0096-0099).. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings to find the most desired route such as shortest, fastest, best connectivity and/or combinations; thereby, improving customer satisfaction.
Regarding claims 10-13, they are the corresponding method claims of system claims 1-4. Therefore, claims 10-13 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 18-20, they are the corresponding non-transitory machine-readable medium claims of system claims 1-3. Therefore, claims 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647