DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/19/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 8 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seyed (US 2018/0175944).
Regarding claim 1, Seyed teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed, a wireless communication device to: receive signaling indicative of first data;
process, using a neural network [para 0072: see “neural networks”] , the first data to generate second data using a first configuration of one or more processing units selected from a set of configurations for the one or more processing units [see fig 1A; data received from image sensing system 170 is processed by imaging processing 135 which is input to proximity & image sensing detection 140; it is noted from fig 1A that first configuration follows the path from image sensing system 170 to image processing 135 to proximity & image detection 145 from a set of second configuration which would be met by path of proximity sensor 125 and secondary sensory 126 to sensor processing 140 to proximity & image detection 145];
process, using the same neural network, the second data to generate a radio frequency (RF) signal using a second configuration of the one or more processing units that comprises a different configuration selected from the set of configurations for the one or more processing units [See fig 1A RF is generated from RF power amplifier via baseband processor [see fig 1A; data received from image sensing system 170 is processed by imaging processing 135 which is input to proximity & image sensing detection 140; it is noted from fig 1A that first configuration follows the path from image sensing system 170 to image processing 135 to proximity & image detection 145 from a set of second configuration which would be met by path of proximity sensor 125 and secondary sensory 126 to sensor processing 140 to proximity & image detection 145]; and
transmit the RF signal that is based on the second data [RF signal is transmitted via transmit antenna 120].
Regarding claim 2, Seyed teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second configuration includes a digital front-end processing stage, a radio frequency processor stage, or a combination thereof [second configuration which would be met by path of proximity sensor 125 and secondary sensory 126 to sensor processing 140 to proximity & image detection 145 baseband processor to RF power amplifier 165].
Regarding claims 3, Seyed teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first configuration includes a source data processor stage [see fig 1a: image processing 135; teaching for first configuration has been provided in rejection of claims 1 and 2], wherein the second configuration includes a baseband processor stage [see baseband processor 150; teaching of second configuration has been provided in rejection of claims 1 and 2].
Regarding claim 4, Seyed teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions further cause the wireless communication device to provide the signaling indicative of the first data from a sensor detecting an environmental characteristic [see para 0069 & para 0070; first data is received from proximity sensor 125 and/or secondary sensor 126 which detects objects proximate to device or environmental characteristic].
Regarding claim 8, Seyed teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the processing using the different configurations is performed using one processing unit [see fig 1A: processing unit 130 process multiple configurations of sensor data received by image processing 135 and sensor processing 140; see fig 1A; first type of sensor data is image data from image sensing system 170 which is processed by image processing 135; second type of sensor data is data from proximity sensor 125 or secondary sensor 126 which is processed by sensor processing 140; it is noted that since the system can process multiple types of sensor data from multiple sources, it is inherently / implicitly taught that configurations are switch to process data received at image processing 135 or first configuration or sensor processing 140 or second configuration].
Regarding claim 9, Seyed teaches non-transitory computer readable medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed, cause a wireless communication device to:
receive signaling indicative of sensor data [see fig 1A: image sensing system 170; proximity sensor 125 and secondary sensor 126; para 0074: see sensor data]; contemporaneously, using a neural network in a first configuration [para 0072: see “neural networks”];
process the sensor data via source data processing to provide first intermediate data [see fig 1A: image processing 135 and sensor processing 140 process input sensor data; see para 0074]; and
process the first intermediate data via baseband processing to provide output data [fig 1A: see baseband processor 150 which processes the intermediate data from processor 130];
and transmit a radio frequency signal that is based at least in part on the output data from the baseband processing [see fig 1A: RF power amplifier 165 which receives data from baseband processor 150].
Regarding claim 10, Seyed teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the sensor data is a first type, wherein the executable instructions further cause the wireless communication device to:
switch configurations of the neural network to a second configuration capable of supporting a second type of the sensor data; and process the sensor data via source data processing using the second configuration [see fig 1A; first type of sensor data is image data from image sensing system 170 which is processed by image processing 135; second type of sensor data is data from proximity sensor 125 or secondary sensor 126 which is processed by sensor processing 140; it is noted that since the system can process multiple types of sensor data from multiple sources, it is inherently / implicitly taught that configurations are switch to process data received at image processing 135 or first configuration or sensor processing 140 or second configuration];
Regarding claim 11, Seyed teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first type of sensor data comprises audio, video, image, temperature, pressure, or acceleration data, and wherein the second type of sensor data comprises another of the audio, video, image, temperature, pressure, or acceleration data [see para 0066 & 0069; image sensing system 170 provides image sensor data and sensor 125 and 126 provide IR, motion, radar, and touch sensing].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seyed et al (US 2018/0175944).
Regarding claim 5, Sayed fails to teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the executable instructions further cause the wireless communication device to transmit the RF signal at a frequency band corresponding to at least one of 1 MHz, 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 700 MHz, 2.4 GHz, or 24GHz.
Official Notice is taken that selecting one of listed frequency band is both well known and an obvious design choice to provide desired RF frequency band for transmission based on the need. For example, using a 10 MHz frequency band is well known to provide higher resolution with a shorter wavelength. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Seyed to include a frequency band corresponding to at least one of 1 MHz, 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 700 MHz, 2.4 GHz, or 24GHz to provide and ideal transmission frequency for what is best for the design or process required.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seyed et al (US 2018/0175944) in view of Azizi et al (US 2019/0364492).
Regarding claim 6, Seyed fails to teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein a time period comprising the receiving, processing, and transmitting, comprises an active time period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) or discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycle.
In analogous art, Azizi teaches wherein a time period comprising the receiving, processing, and transmitting, comprises an active time period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) or discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycle [see para 0861: To assist with reducing power consumption and consequently reduce operating costs, network access node 6502 may utilize discontinuous communication modes such as discontinuous transmission (DTX) and/or discontinuous reception (DRX) depending on which types of terminal devices, e.g., unpredictable and predictable, network access node 6502 is serving. For example, if network access node 6502 is only serving predictable terminal devices at a given time, network access node 6502 may not need to support unpredictable data traffic (as may be needed if unpredictable terminal devices are present) and thus may be able to employ DTX and/or DRX for the predictable terminal devices. For example, network access node 6502 may employ DTX and/or DRX schedule that has relatively sparse transmission and/or reception periods and may be able to schedule all data traffic for the predictable terminal devices within these ‘active’ periods. Network access node 6502 may then be able to power down communication components for the remaining ‘inactive’ periods, thus reducing power consumption]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Seyed based on the teaching of Azizi at the time of the filing of the invention to include the claimed limitations to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 7, Seyed fails to teach the claimed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 6, wherein the DRX or DTX cycle comprises an inactive time period designated for powering down one or more components of a device operation according to the DRX or DTX cycle.
In analogous art, Azizi teaches wherein the DRX or DTX cycle comprises an inactive time period designated for powering down one or more components of a device operation according to the DRX or DTX cycle [see para 0861: To assist with reducing power consumption and consequently reduce operating costs, network access node 6502 may utilize discontinuous communication modes such as discontinuous transmission (DTX) and/or discontinuous reception (DRX) depending on which types of terminal devices, e.g., unpredictable and predictable, network access node 6502 is serving. For example, if network access node 6502 is only serving predictable terminal devices at a given time, network access node 6502 may not need to support unpredictable data traffic (as may be needed if unpredictable terminal devices are present) and thus may be able to employ DTX and/or DRX for the predictable terminal devices. For example, network access node 6502 may employ DTX and/or DRX schedule that has relatively sparse transmission and/or reception periods and may be able to schedule all data traffic for the predictable terminal devices within these ‘active’ periods. Network access node 6502 may then be able to power down communication components for the remaining ‘inactive’ periods, thus reducing power consumption]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Seyed based on the teaching of Azizi at the time of the filing of the invention to include the claimed limitations to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 12, since claim 12 recites the same limitations as claim 6, the same rejection applies [see rejection of claim 6 above].
Regarding claim 13, since claim 13 recites the same limitations as claim 7, the same rejection applies [see rejection of claim 7 above].
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449