DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to application 18/583,762 filed on February 21, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Please Note: the limitation of “a binder coating portion” has been interpreted as a portion where the claimed binder is located.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 9033407; please see annotated Fig. 4 above for clarity). With regard to claim 1, Ikeda teaches a car panel structure, comprising: an outer panel 16, forming an exterior of the car panel structure; and an inner panel (Fig. 4), fixed on an interior of the outer panel through a binder 66, wherein the inner panel has a recess (Fig. 4) recessed along a direction away from the outer panel, the recess has a binder coating portion 64B, and the binder coating portion is vertically offset relative to a bottom surface of the recess. With regard to claim 2, Ikeda teaches the structure, wherein: the binder coating portion 64B has a concave portion, and the concave portion is recessed in the recess along a direction away from the outer panel (Fig. 4). With regard to claim 3, Ikeda teaches the structure, wherein: the concave portion 64B is hemispherical (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 20050082874). With regard to claim 1, Ikeda teaches a car panel structure, comprising: an outer panel 16, forming an exterior of the car panel structure; and an inner panel 18, fixed on an interior of the outer panel through a binder 32, wherein the inner panel has a recess 19 recessed along a direction away from the outer panel, the recess has a binder coating portion 30, and the binder coating portion is vertically offset relative to a bottom surface of the recess. With regard to claim 4, Ikeda teaches the structure, wherein: the binder coating portion 30 has a convex portion, and the convex portion protrudes from the recess along a direction close to the outer panel (Fig. 1). With regard to claim 5, Ikeda teaches the structure, wherein: the convex portion 30 is hemispherical (Fig. 1).
Suggestions for Applicant
In order to better distinguish between the cited prior art and the present invention, applicant may want to focus in the embodiment shown in Fig. 3C, wherein the outer and inner panels are flush and in contact with each other in the areas outside of the recess.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seksaria (US 5124191) has been cited to show a similar structure comprising: an inner panel 14, and outer panel 12, a recess (Fig. 3; formed left and right of 16), a binder 19, and a binder coating portion vertically offset relative to a bottom surface of the recess (Fig. 1) that is convex.
Ito (US 7140673) has been cited to show a similar structure comprising: an inner panel 14, and outer panel 12, a recess (Fig. 1; formed by 18 and 20), a binder 32, and a binder coating portion 22 vertically offset relative to a bottom surface of the recess (Fig. 1) that is convex and hemi-spherical.
Ishitobi (US 7488031) has been cited to show a similar structure comprising: an inner panel 1, and outer panel 20, a recess (Fig. 2A; formed by A1 left and A1 right), a binder 127, and a binder coating portion 15 (Fig. 13B) vertically offset relative to a bottom surface of the recess that is concave and hemi-spherical (Fig. 13B).
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
February 12, 2026