Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2022/0206339) in view of Matsui (US 2003/0058635).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14, [0034-0106]), adapted to a backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16), wherein the backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16) comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), and the reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14) comprises:
a body (the body of 120/121/122 in Fig. 2-14, [0043], the reflection structure 120 is an integrally arranged mesh structure; multiple first sub-reflection structures 121 are identical in structure and multiple second sub-reflection structures 122 are identical in structure), provided with a top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), a bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), and a plurality of light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14), wherein the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14) is opposite to the bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), each of the light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14) is provided with a light outlet (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), a bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and a reflective portion (the portion of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4, [0050]), the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are formed on (Fig. 3-4) the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are opposite to (Fig. 3-4) the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to arrange the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) are located between the light outlets (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to surround the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprises a first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and a second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4), the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) is located between the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) and the bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is located between the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the light outlet (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4).
Sun teaches that each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprising the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is the plane surface or the curved surface ([0050]). Sun does not explicitly point out that a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface.
Matsui (US 2003/0058635) teaches that (Fig. 1-5, [0025], the reflective surface 5b is formed to have either an angled surface slanted with respect to the horizontal surface or a curved surface; and the reflective surface 5c is formed to have an angled surface slanted with respect to the horizontal reflective surface) a slope of a first reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 5b in Fig. 3 and 5) relative to a bottom surface (Fig. 3-5) is different from (Fig. 3 and 5, [0025], when both 5b and 5c are angled surfaces) a slope of a second reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 5c in Fig. 3 and 5) relative to the bottom surface (Fig. 3-5), or a curvature of the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 5b in Fig. 4) is different from (Fig. 4, [0025], when 5c is an angled surface with a curvature of zero and 5b is a curved surface with a curvature greater than zero) a curvature of the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 5c in Fig. 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Matsui (US 2003/0058635) for the system of Sun such that in the system of Sun, a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface. The motivation is to realize illumination with a high brightness and high uniformity by effectively eliminating deterioration in brightness and uniformity on the surface to be illuminated due to the simplification of the shape of the reflector (Matsui (US 2003/0058635), [0007]).
Regarding claims 2-3, Sun does not teach the following elements.
Matsui (US 2003/0058635) teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 5b in Fig. 3 and 5) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 5c in Fig. 3 and 5) each comprise a plane (Fig. 3 and 5), and the slope of the first reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 5b in Fig. 3 and 5) is less than (Fig. 3 and 5) the slope of the second reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 5c in Fig. 3 and 5).
(Claim 3) the slope of the first reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 5b in Fig. 3 and 5) is between 0 and 1.5 (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5, for example, in picture 1, the slope=H/L, which is between 0 and 1).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Matsui (US 2003/0058635) for the system of Sun in view of Matsui (US 2003/0058635) such that in the system of Sun in view of Matsui (US 2003/0058635),
(Claim 2) the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface each comprise a plane, and the slope of the first reflective surface is less than the slope of the second reflective surface.
(Claim 3) the slope of the first reflective surface is between 0 and 1.5.
The motivation is to realize illumination with a high brightness and high uniformity by effectively eliminating deterioration in brightness and uniformity on the surface to be illuminated due to the simplification of the shape of the reflector (Matsui (US 2003/0058635), [0007]).
Picture 1, from Fig. 5 of Matsui (US 2003/0058635)
Regarding claim 13, Sun also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 13) the bottoms of the light source grooves each is provided with an opening (the opening of 120 for 110 in Fig. 2-4, [0043-0044], the reflection structure 120 is an integrally arranged mesh structure; multiple first sub-reflection structures 121 are identical in structure and multiple second sub-reflection structures 122 are identical in structure, the first sub-reflection structure 121 and the second sub-reflection structure 122 intersect with each other to limit at least a part of edges of the arrangement area of the light-emitting element 110), the opening (the opening of 120 for 110 in Fig. 2-4) faces the light outlet (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and is adapted to arrange the light-emitting element (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), and a shape of the opening (the opening of 120 for 110 in Fig. 2-4, [0043-0044]) comprises a circle or a quadrilateral (Fig. 2, [0043-0044])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Matsui (US 2003/0058635) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsui (JP2002032029A).
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches that the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14) further comprises a curved surface (Fig. 3-4), the curved surface of the top surface is located between the two adjacent light outlets (Fig. 3-4) in the light outlets (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and a curvature radius of the curved surface of the top surface (Fig. 3-4). Sun does not teach the following elements.
Matsui (JP2002032029A) teaches the following elements (Fig. 2-4, Page 5 of English translation of JP2002032029A):
(Claim 12) a curvature radius of a curved surface (8 in Fig. 2-4, Page 5, Paragraph 3-4) of a top surface (8 in Fig. 2-4) is about several mm to 1 cm or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the claimed range of 0.01 mm and 2 mm overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Matsui (JP2002032029A) for the system of Sun in view of Matsui (US 2003/0058635) to try and recognize that in the system of Sun in view of Matsui (US 2003/0058635),
(Claim 12) a curvature radius of the curved surface of the top surface is between 0.01 mm and 2 mm.
The motivation is that the illumination of the high luminance and light uniformity is realized (Matsui (JP2002032029A), Abs).
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2022/0206339) in view of Su (CN112859446A).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14, [0034-0106]), adapted to a backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16), wherein the backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16) comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), and the reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14) comprises:
a body (the body of 120/121/122 in Fig. 2-14, [0043], the reflection structure 120 is an integrally arranged mesh structure; multiple first sub-reflection structures 121 are identical in structure and multiple second sub-reflection structures 122 are identical in structure), provided with a top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), a bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), and a plurality of light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14), wherein the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14) is opposite to the bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), each of the light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14) is provided with a light outlet (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), a bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and a reflective portion (the portion of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4, [0050]), the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are formed on (Fig. 3-4) the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are opposite to (Fig. 3-4) the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to arrange the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) are located between the light outlets (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to surround the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprises a first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and a second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4), the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) is located between the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) and the bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is located between the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the light outlet (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4).
Sun teaches that each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprising the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is the plane surface or the curved surface ([0050]). Sun does not explicitly point out that a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface.
Su teaches that (Fig. 1-2A and 3A, Pages 4-6 of English translation of CN112859446A) a slope of a first reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to S1 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A) relative to a bottom surface (Picture 2, Fig. 3A) is different from (Picture 2, Fig. 3A) a slope of a second reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to S2 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A) relative to the bottom surface (Picture 2, Fig. 3A), or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Su for the system of Sun such that in the system of Sun, a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface. The motivation is to avoid light leakage, avoid generating light halo effect, and improve the light utilization rate (Su, Page 6, Paragraph 2-3).
Picture 2, from Fig. 3A of Su (CN112859446A)
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Sun teaches that the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is adjacent to the light outlet (Fig. 4). Sun does not teach the following elements.
Su teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2A and 3A, Pages 4-6 of English translation of CN112859446A):
(Claim 2) the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to S1 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to S2 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A) each comprise a plane (Picture 2, Fig. 3A), and the slope of the first reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to S1 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A) is less than (Picture 2, Fig. 3A) the slope of the second reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to S2 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A).
(Claim 4) the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to S2 in Picture 2, Fig. 1-2A and 3A) is substantially perpendicular to the bottom surface (Picture 2, Fig. 3A).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Su for the system of Sun in view of Su such that in the system of Sun in view of Su,
(Claim 2) the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface each comprise a plane, and the slope of the first reflective surface is less than the slope of the second reflective surface.
(Claim 4) the second reflective surface is adjacent to the light outlet, and the second reflective surface is perpendicular to the bottom surface.
The motivation is to avoid light leakage, avoid generating light halo effect, and improve the light utilization rate (Su, Page 6, Paragraph 2-3).
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2022/0206339) in view of Matsui (US 2002/0039292).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14, [0034-0106]), adapted to a backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16), wherein the backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16) comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), and the reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14) comprises:
a body (the body of 120/121/122 in Fig. 2-14, [0043], the reflection structure 120 is an integrally arranged mesh structure; multiple first sub-reflection structures 121 are identical in structure and multiple second sub-reflection structures 122 are identical in structure), provided with a top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), a bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), and a plurality of light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14), wherein the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14) is opposite to the bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), each of the light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14) is provided with a light outlet (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), a bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and a reflective portion (the portion of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4, [0050]), the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are formed on (Fig. 3-4) the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are opposite to (Fig. 3-4) the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to arrange the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) are located between the light outlets (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to surround the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprises a first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and a second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4), the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) is located between the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) and the bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is located between the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the light outlet (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4).
Sun teaches that each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprising the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is the plane surface or the curved surface ([0050]). Sun does not explicitly point out that a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface.
Matsui (US 2002/0039292) teaches that (Fig. 2 and Fig. 6, [0043-0050, 0061-0062]) a slope of a first reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 51b in Fig. 2 and Fig. 6, [0043]) relative to a bottom surface (Fig. 2 and 6) is different from (Fig. 2 and 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) a slope of a second reflective surface (the slope of the surface corresponding to 51c in Fig. 2 or 51d in Fig. 6, [0043, 0062]) relative to the bottom surface (Fig. 2 and 6), or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Matsui (US 2002/0039292) for the system of Sun such that in the system of Sun, a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface. The motivation is to obtain a high uniformity of the brightness of an illumination area, even if it is fabricated to have a relatively small internal space ratio and a size as thin as possible (Matsui (US 2002/0039292), [0010, 0050, 0062]).
Regarding claims 5-6, Sun does not teach the following elements.
Matsui (US 2002/0039292) teaches the following elements (Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]):
(Claim 5) the reflective portion (the portion corresponding to 51b, 51c and 51d in Fig. 6) further comprises a third reflective surface (51c in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]), the third reflective surface (51c in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) is located between the first reflective surface (51b in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) and the second reflective surface (51d in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]), and a slope of the third reflective surface (51c in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) relative to the bottom surface (Fig. 6) is different from (Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) the slope of the first reflective surface and the slope of the second reflective surface (Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]).
(Claim 6) the third reflective surface (51c in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) is adjacent to the first reflective surface (51b in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) and the second reflective surface (51d in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]), and the slope of the third reflective surface (51c in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) is greater than or less than (Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) the slope of the first reflective surface (51b in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]) and the slope of the second reflective surface (51d in Fig. 6, [0043, 0061-0062]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Matsui (US 2002/0039292) for the system of Sun in view of Matsui (US 2002/0039292) such that in the system of Sun in view of Matsui (US 2002/0039292),
(Claim 5) the reflective portion further comprises a third reflective surface, the third reflective surface is located between the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface, and a slope of the third reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from the slope of the first reflective surface and the slope of the second reflective surface.
(Claim 6) the third reflective surface is adjacent to the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface, and the slope of the third reflective surface is greater than or less than the slope of the first reflective surface and the slope of the second reflective surface.
The motivation is to obtaining a high uniformity of the brightness of an illumination area, even if it is fabricated to have a relatively small internal space ratio and a size as thin as possible (Matsui (US 2002/0039292), [0010, 0062]).
Claims 1, 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2022/0206339) in view of Mifune (US 2018/0217449).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14, [0034-0106]), adapted to a backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16), wherein the backlight module (the backlight module 10 in Fig. 2-16) comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), and the reflective element (the reflection structure 120 in Fig. 2-14) comprises:
a body (the body of 120/121/122 in Fig. 2-14, [0043], the reflection structure 120 is an integrally arranged mesh structure; multiple first sub-reflection structures 121 are identical in structure and multiple second sub-reflection structures 122 are identical in structure), provided with a top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), a bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), and a plurality of light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14), wherein the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14) is opposite to the bottom surface (the bottom surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), each of the light source grooves (the grooves formed by 120/121/122 for 110 in Fig. 2-14) is provided with a light outlet (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), a bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and a reflective portion (the portion of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4, [0050]), the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are formed on (Fig. 3-4) the top surface (the top surface of 120/122/121 in Fig. 2-14), the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) are opposite to (Fig. 3-4) the light outlets (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to arrange the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) are located between the light outlets (the upper light outlet of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and the bottoms (the bottoms of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4) and are adapted to surround the light-emitting elements (the multiple light-emitting elements 110 in Fig. 2-14), each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprises a first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and a second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4), the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) is located between the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) and the bottom (the bottom of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4), and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is located between the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the light outlet (the upper light outlets of the grooves formed by 120/121/122 in Fig. 3-4).
Sun teaches that each of the reflective portions (the portions of the grooves corresponding to the reflection surface A in Fig. 3-4) comprising the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A1 in Fig. 4) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to A2 in Fig. 4) is the plane surface or the curved surface ([0050]). Sun does not explicitly point out that a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface.
Mifune teaches that (Fig. 4A-4B, [0046-0049]) a slope of a first reflective surface relative to a bottom surface a slope of a second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature (R1 in Fig. 4A or R3 in Fig. 4B, [0048]) of a first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 48a in Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]) is different from ([0048]) a curvature (R2 in Fig. 4A or R4 in Fig. 4B, [0048]) of a second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 48b in Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Mifune for the system of Sun such that in the system of Sun, a slope of the first reflective surface relative to the bottom surface is different from a slope of the second reflective surface relative to the bottom surface, or a curvature of the first reflective surface is different from a curvature of the second reflective surface. The motivation is to obtain the illumination device and the display device capable of improving the efficiency with a high directivity (Mifune, [0060]).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11, Sun does not teach the following elements.
Mifune teaches the following elements (Fig. 4A-4B, [0046-0049]):
(Claim 7) the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 48a in Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]) and the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 48b in Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]) each comprise a curved surface (Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]), and the curvature (R2 in Fig. 4A or R4 in Fig. 4B, [0048]) of the second reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 48b in Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]) is less than ([0048]) the curvature (R1 in Fig. 4A or R3 in Fig. 4B, [0048]) of the first reflective surface (the surface corresponding to 48a in Fig. 4A or 4B, [0048]).
(Claim 10) there is a distance (d in Fig. 4A, [0055]) between the two adjacent light outlets in the light outlets on the top surface (Fig. 4A), and the distance is between 0.01 mm and 2 mm ([0055]).
(Claim 11) there is a plane (the flat top plane of 44 in Fig. 4A-4B) in an area between the two adjacent light outlets on the top surface (Fig. 4A-4B), the plane is adjacent to the two reflective portions of the two adjacent light source grooves (Fig. 4A-4B), and a sharp corner (Fig. 4A-4B) is formed between the plane (the flat top plane of 44 in Fig. 4A-4B) and each of the two reflective portions (Fig. 4A-4B).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Matsui for the system of Sun in view of Matsui such that in the system of Sun in view of Matsui,
(Claim 7) the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface each comprise a curved surface, and the curvature of the second reflective surface is less than the curvature of the first reflective surface.
(Claim 10) there is a distance between the two adjacent light outlets in the light outlets on the top surface, and the distance is between 0.01 mm and 2 mm.
(Claim 11) there is a plane in an area between the two adjacent light outlets on the top surface, the plane is adjacent to the two reflective portions of the two adjacent light source grooves, and a sharp corner is formed between the plane and each of the two reflective portions.
The motivation is to obtain the illumination device and the display device capable of improving the efficiency with a high directivity (Mifune, [0060]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Mifune as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Liu (TWM596875U).
Regarding claim 8, Sun does not teach the following elements.
Liu teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2, Page 3 of English translation of TWM596875U):
(Claim 8) a reflective portion (12 in Fig. 1-2, Picture 3) further comprises a third reflective surface (E1 in Picture 3, Fig. 2), the third reflective surface (E1 in Picture 3, Fig. 2) is located between a second reflective surface (C2 in Picture 3) and a light outlet (Fig. 1-2, Picture 3) and is adjacent to a light outlet (Fig. 1-2, Picture 3), and the third reflective surface (E1 in Picture 3, Fig. 2) is perpendicular to (Fig. 1-2, Picture 3) a bottom surface (the bottom surface of 12 in Fig. 1-2, Picture 3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Liu for the system of Sun in view of Mifune such that in the system of Sun in view of Liu,
(Claim 8) the reflective portion further comprises a third reflective surface, the third reflective surface is located between the second reflective surface and the light outlet and is adjacent to the light outlet, and the third reflective surface is perpendicular to the bottom surface.
The motivation is to control/maintain a gap with a certain distance above, and obtain a better light emitting uniformity (Liu, Page 2, Paragraph 4).
Picture 3, from Fig. 2 of Liu (TWM596875U)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Mifune as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2022/0236609).
Regarding claim 9, Sun does not teach the following elements.
Zhang teaches the following elements (Fig. 23, [0087-0088]):
(Claim 9) a bottom (Fig. 23, Picture 4) is provided with a reflective surface (B1 in Picture 4), the reflective surface (B1 in Picture 4)is provided with an opening (Fig. 23, Picture 4) facing the light outlet (Fig. 23, Picture 4) and adapted to arrange the light-emitting element (101 in Fig. 23, Picture 4), a first reflective surface (R1 in Picture 4) is located between a second reflective surface (R2 in Picture 4) and the reflective surface (B1 in Picture 4), and the reflective surface (B1 in Picture 4) is parallel to (Fig. 23, Picture 4) a bottom surface (Fig. 23, Picture 4) or the curvature of the first reflective surface is less than the curvature of the second reflective surface and a curvature of the reflective surface.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhang for the system of Sun in view of Mifune such that in the system of Sun in view of Liu,
(Claim 9) the bottom is provided with a reflective surface, the reflective surface is provided with an opening facing the light outlet and adapted to arrange the light-emitting element, the first reflective surface is located between the second reflective surface and the reflective surface, and the reflective surface is parallel to the bottom surface or the curvature of the first reflective surface is less than the curvature of the second reflective surface and a curvature of the reflective surface.
The motivation is to improve the luminance and the light emitting uniformity (Zhang, Abs, [0088])
Picture 4, from Fig. 23 of Zhang (US 2022/0236609)
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871