DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 2.21.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-4 are now pending in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Electric motor with rotor having magnet poles sequentially rotated by 45 degrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito et al (JP2006320109A English translation), hereinafter Naito in view of Futai et al (JP2020129888A English translation), hereinafter Futai.
Regarding Claim 1, Naito discloses (Figs 1,8) an electric motor (Fig 1) having a rotor (3) with a plurality of magnets (Fig 8, 42-43) arranged on a surface (8 surface) of the rotor, wherein:
when viewed along an axial direction (7) of the rotor,
the plurality of magnets is arranged so that a direction of a magnetic pole of each of the plurality of magnets is rotated by degrees sequentially (42-43) from one (42) to next (43) along a circumferential direction (C) of the rotor; and
a width (W1) of each of the magnets (42) of which the magnet pole direction is inclined by degrees relative to a radial direction (R ) of the rotor is wider (Fig 8) than a width (W2) of each of the magnets (43) of which the magnet pole direction coincides with the circumferential direction (C) or the radial direction. Naito does not explicitly disclose magnet pole direction inclined by 45 degrees.
Futai discloses (Fig 2) magnet pole direction inclined by 45 degrees [Para 0022 discloses “the direction of the radial magnetic poles of the permanent magnet 10 may change in increments of 45°.. “].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Naito with magnet pole direction inclined by 45 degrees as taught by Futai in order to obtain the shape of torque density as required.
Regarding Claim 2, Naito in view of Futai discloses the electric motor of claim 1. Naito in view of Futai further discloses wherein a ratio (Naito,W1/W2) of the width (W1) of each of the magnets (42) of which the magnet pole direction is inclined by 45 degrees relative to the radial direction (R) to the width (W2) of each of the magnets (43) of which the magnet pole direction coincides with the circumferential direction (C) or the radial direction is greater than 1.0 and less than 4.0 (Fig 8).
Regarding Claim 3, Naito in view of Futai discloses the electric motor of claim 1. Naito in view of Futai further discloses wherein a boundary (Naito,423) between the magnet (42) of which the magnet pole direction is inclined by 45 degrees and the magnet (43) of which the magnet pole direction coincides with the circumferential direction (C) or the radial direction overlaps a straight line (R) extending in the radial direction (R) of the rotor.
Regarding Claim 4, Naito in view of Futai discloses the electric motor of claim 2. Naito in view of Futai further discloses wherein a boundary (Naito,423) between the magnet (42) of which the magnet pole direction is inclined by 45 degrees and the magnet (43) of which the magnet pole direction coincides with the circumferential direction (C) or the radial direction overlaps a straight line (R) extending in the radial direction (R) of the rotor.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834