DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19, 21-23 and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,792,608. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims are fully encompassed and envisaged in the patent claims. It is acknowledged that the patent claims recite and require an air handling unit with an air inlet and mixing chamber, however a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that the fastened-on scrubber of the patent claims is an independent part that is useful on its own. Additionally, no positive connection between the scrubber and air handling unit is recited (only “configured to mate” is used). So we have two distinct elements in the patent claim, one of which is being claimed in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-20, 23 and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chamberlain (2,633,928).
Chamberlain ‘928 teaches an air dehumidifier comprising a housing (10), one side of the housing including an inlet port (21) and an outlet port (22), an adsorbent cartridge (50) in the housing, a fan (39), a heating coil (lamp 47), an outside air inlet (23) for purge air, a purge air outlet (24), and bypass dampers (29,30) for controlling treated air and purge air flows (see figures 1-5, 21, col. 2, lines 24-35, col. 4, lines 12-75, col. 5, lines 56-71). The side of the housing with inlet and outlet ports (21,22) anticipates an interface that is capable of being connected to and external inlet of an HVAC system without conduits for treating air within the system. The interface is also capable of partially or completely covering an opening, depending on the size of the opening. The spacing of the inlet and outlet will minimize re-entry of treated air into the housing and the coupling of the interface supports the weight of the housing (figure 21).
Claim(s) 1-14, 16 and 23, 28, 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neary (2006/0236867 A1).
Neary ‘867 teaches a gas separation vessel comprising a housing (29), one side of the housing including flanged inlet ports (33) and a flanged outlet port (34), air outlets on a perforated inner tube for expelling air from the assembly, and an adsorbent cartridge (60) in the housing (see figure 6, paragraphs 64-66). The side of the housing with inlet and outlet ports anticipates an interface that is capable of being connected to and external inlet of an HVAC system without conduits for treating air within the system. The interface is also capable of partially or completely covering an opening, depending on the size of the opening. The spacing of the inlet and outlet will minimize re-entry of treated air into the housing and one of the inlets can be used as a return air inlet to receive purge air (instant claim 6) or as a separate channel to allow a flow of outside air (instant claim 13). Purging is not disclosed, however the inlets and outlet are inherently capable of receiving purge gas flows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlain ‘928 in view of Schaffhausen (5,443,625).
Chamberlain ‘928 discloses all of the limitations of the claims except that there is a sensor to measure contaminants in the inlet or outlet and measurements are used to control activation or deactivation of the assembly. Schaffhausen ‘625 discloses an air purifier with a contaminant detection device that is used to control operation of the device (see col. 7, lines 7-23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Chamberlain ‘928 by using the detection/control arrangement of Schaffhausen ‘625 in order to provide a means that efficiently controls operation so that the fan is not powered when contamination is below an acceptable level.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First it is noted that the outstanding claim objection, indefiniteness rejection, and statutory rejection have each been overcome and are withdrawn.
Regarding the claim interpretation (paragraph 11 of the non-final office action filed on April 29, 2025), applicant disagrees because the claims contain structural and functional relationships between the scrubber assembly and an external air inlet opening to a chamber of an HVAC system. The examiner agrees with this characterization, but maintains that the HVAC system is not required to anticipate the claim, as long as a prior device is capable of connecting to the system as claimed.
Applicant argues that the non-statutory double patenting rejection is improper in view of the claim amendments and previously claimed subject matter. The examiner disagrees and maintains the previous double patenting rejection with the exception of removing instant claim 20 because the patent claims do not include a bypass damper. It is acknowledged that the patent claims recite and require an air handling unit with an air inlet and mixing chamber, however a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that the fastened-on scrubber of the patent claims is an independent part that is useful on its own. Additionally, no positive connection between the scrubber and air handling unit is recited (only “configured to mate” is used). So we have two distinct elements in the patent claim, one of which is being claimed in the instant application.
Regarding the anticipation rejections over Chamberlain ‘928 and Neary ‘867, applicant argues that the references do not disclose the instant invention because they are silent with respect to how the interface or attachment is capable of performing the claimed features including the physical attachment and air flow capabilities. The examiner agrees that no HVAC system is disclosed in the references, however it is maintained that the prior devices are inherently capable of mating with an air inlet of an air handling system and communicating with air in the system via their inlets and outlets. The instant claims do not give any requirement to the size or structure of the HVAC system or its external air inlet that would make the prior devices incompatible. The only requirement is that the assembly can attach with an opening.
With respect to the obviousness rejection over Chamberlain in view of Schauffhausen, applicant argues that the examiner has not identified any teaching, suggestion or motivation that would have led a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the references, however it is pointed out that paragraph 23 of the final rejection states that the combination would have been made in order to provide a means that efficiently controls operation so that the fan is not powered when contamination is below an acceptable level.
Applicant also argues that the examiner relies on hindsight reconstruction of applicants’ invention, however the Schauffhausen patent is only cited to show the use of sensors with device operation control that can be used in an air purifier.
Conclusion
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl