DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 16-17, 21, 25-26, 30 and 34-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No.18/912,196. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of copending Application No.18/912,196 contain all the limitations of claims 1-3, 5-8, 16-17, 21, 25-26, 30 and 34-35 of the instant application. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 16-17, 21, 25-26, 30 and 34-35 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the claims 1-20 of copending Application No.18/912,196 and as such are unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16-17, 21, 25, 40 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al (US 2023/0421244) in view of Hand et al (US 2022/0014269) and Rockwell (US 6,327,063).
1). With regard to claim 1, Tsunemachi et al discloses an optical router (e.g., relay satellite 2 in Figure 1, and Figure 2) configured to facilitate communication between a satellite communication constellation ([0173], “other satellite”) and a plurality of satellite nodes (user satellites 3A-3C in Figure 1. In Figure 1, Tsunemachi shows that the relay satellite 2 facilitates communication between the ground station 4 and satellites nodes 3A-3C; and Figure 2 does not expressly show “a satellite communication constellation”. However, Tsunemachi also discloses “Although examples in which the communication relay satellite 2 relays communication between the plural user satellites 3 and the ground station 4 have been described in the above exemplary embodiments, there is no limitation thereto. Another Earth station that performs wireless communication with the communication relay satellite (such as a wireless station established on the ground or in the Earth's atmosphere that may be mobile) may be employed instead of the ground station 4. In such cases, the communication relay satellite 2 relays communication between the plural user satellites 3 and the Earth station. For example, employing an Earth station established in the stratosphere has merits such that a timespan for optical communication from the communication relay satellite 2 to the Earth station can be stably secured without being affected by the communication environment on the ground, such as the weather. Alternatively, another user satellite or another communication relay satellite may be employed instead of the ground station 4. In such cases, the communication relay satellite 2 relays communication between the plural user satellites 3 and the other user satellite or the other communication relay satellite. Note that this communication may be by optical communication, in which case the relay communication unit is an optical communication unit”, [0173]. That is, the “other user satellite” can be viewed as “a satellite communication constellation”; and the communication relay satellite 2 facilitate communication between the other satellite and the plural user satellites nodes 3A-3C), the optical router comprising:
an upstream interface (e.g., Relay Optical Communication Unit 21 in Figure 8B) configured to facilitate communication over an upstream communication link (from the ground station or “other satellite” to the relay satellite 2) to the satellite communication constellation (“the other user satellite”; [0095], “An optical transmitter 201 and an optical telescope 203 of a relay optical communication unit 21 then transfers the data that has been multiplexed by the data multiplexer circuit 19A to the ground station 4 using optical communication”, as discussed above, “other satellite” can be used replace the ground station 4; [0183], “a control section configured to control communication between a communication relay satellite and plural satellites such that, when the communication relay satellite relays communication between the plural satellites and other equipment”); and
a downstream interface (“Communication Unit 14” in Figure 1; or 14A in Figure 8B) configured to simultaneously communicate with the satellite nodes (user satellites 3A-3C) over a plurality of downstream optical communication links (from the relay satellite to the user satellites 3A-3C) in different directions (as shown in Figure 1, each of the user satellites is at different positions, or in different directions relative to the relay satellite 2; [0125]-[0134]), the plurality of optical communication links being established via a single optical aperture (Figure 1 and Figures 11-13 show that the relay satellite has one optical aperture, shown as a circle in these figures); and
a controller (Figure 2) to direct operation of the optical router (Abstract, [0045]-[0064] and [0122]-[0171] etc.).
But, in Figure 1 etc., Tsunemachi et al does not expressly show a plurality of other user satellites (or a satellite communication constellation), and Figure 1 and Figures 11-13 also do not expressly show how the single optical aperture are related to the plurality of optical communication links.
Regarding the satellite communication constellation, however, first, as shown in Figures 1-2, a plurality of optical transceiver can be used for downstream communications (between the relay satellite and the user satellite nodes 3A-3C), it is obvious to one skilled in the art that similar structure can be used for upstream communications (between relay satellite and a plurality of “other satellites”). E.g., Hand et al discloses an optical satellite communications system (Figure 6), as shown in Figure 6, the satellite A is a relay satellite or optical router, which facilitates communication between a satellite communication constellation (satellite constellation B-E) and a plurality of satellite nodes (satellite nodes F-I. [0002], “data packets can be relayed between multiple different satellites before being forwarded to its destination”, and [0155]-[0159], “FIG. 6 shows an exchange of data between 9 satellites, in practice, data can be exchanged between any number of satellites. Further, in turn, each of the satellites can exchange data with one or more additional satellites (e.g., to form a chain of communicatively interlinked satellites or a mesh network). For example, the configuration shown in FIG. 6 can be repeated one or more times to form a mesh network of satellites”).
Regarding the single aperture for plurality of optical communication links, it is common in the free-space optical (FSO) communications that a single aperture is used for plurality of optical communication links. E.g., Rockwell discloses a FSO system, Figure 2, in which a single aperture (telescope 64) is used for transmission links l1/ l2 and reception channel lR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hand et al and Rockwell to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al so that the relay satellite can relay signals between one group of satellites (satellite constellation) and another group of satellites (satellite nodes), and signals over a plurality of optical communication links can be transmitted/received via a single aperture of the relay satellite, and the function of the relay is enhanced.
2). With regard to claim 16, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses wherein each of the downstream optical communication links comprises a modulated beam (Tsunemachi: [0049] etc.; Hand: Abstract etc., “modulated optical signals”), the downstream interface comprising a transmitting array (Tsunemachi: 14A-14C; Rockwell: Laser 41-43 and 44-46) comprising a plurality of transmission assemblies (Tsunemachi: 144A, 144B and 144C; Rockwell: Laser 41 and 44) each configured to produce an outgoing one of the beams for transmission over its respective optical communication link (Tsunemachi: channels from the Communication Units 14A – 14C; Rockwell: channels l1 and l2), and an aperture assembly defining the optical aperture (e.g., the telescope aperture in Figure 2 of Rockwell).
3). With regard to claim 17, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 16 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses the optical router according to claim 16, each of the transmission assemblies comprising a laser configured to produce one of the outgoing beams along an outgoing beam path (Tsunemachi: [0046]-[0049]; Hand: [0056] etc.; Rockwell: 41 and 44), and a transmission lens assembly configured to adjust parameters of the outgoing beam (Tsunemachi: lens in telescope 140. Hand: Abstract, and [0052]. Rockwell: the lens in the telescope “adjust parameters of the outgoing beam”).
4). With regard to claim 21, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 16 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses optical router according to claim 16, the downstream interface further comprising a transmitting steering arrangement configured to facilitate determination of positions of the outgoing beams (Tsunemachi: [0046]-[0047], “The optical telescope 140A also includes a beam steering mirror (not illustrated in the drawings). The path of light is adjusted by the beam steering mirror. The optical telescope 140A outputs laser light received from another satellite to the optical receiver 142A through the beam steering mirror. The optical telescope 140A also outputs laser light output from the optical transmitter 144A, described below, to another satellite through the beam steering mirror”; Hand: [0202]-[0203]; Rockwell: 62 and 66), the controller being configured to operate one or more of the transmission assemblies to adjust the position of its respective outgoing beam based on information provided by the transmitting steering arrangement (Tsunemachi: control device 14. Rockwell: Abstract, and Figure 2, the beam steering optics (54, 62, 66) are controlled).
5). With regard to claim 25, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses the optical router according to claim 1, the downstream interface further comprising a receiving array (Tsunemachi: optical receivers 142 in the optical communication unit 14. Hand: the receivers for receiving signals from satellite nodes 3A-3C. Rockwell: Detector 50) comprising a plurality of receptor assemblies (Tsunemachi: beam steering mirror, [0046]-[0047]. Hand: [0060], “a plurality of steering mechanisms operable to direct, through free-space, a corresponding one of a plurality of optical beams to a corresponding one of a plurality transceivers”, and [0202]. Rockwell: 58/62/66) each configured to receive an incoming one of the beams, for receiving a transmission sent over its respective optical communication link (Tsunemachi: “The path of light is adjusted by the beam steering mirror” and “The optical telescope 140A outputs laser light received from another satellite to the optical receiver 142A through the beam steering mirror”. Hand: “one or more motors for controlling the position and orientation of the mirrors, and an electronic control system for controlling the motors” and “the steering mechanisms 1112 can direct incoming free-space optical beams to respective sets of reception optics 1114. Each of the sets of reception optics 1114 can include one or more lens (e.g., culminating and/or focusing lenses), mirrors, and/or other optical components that focus, modify, and/or direct light such that is suitable for interpretation by the transceiver 1102”. Rockwell: Figure 2, controlling the beam steering optics 54/ 62/66).
6). With regard to claim 40, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses the optical router according to claim 1, configured to define a hotspot within which the downstream optical communication links are established (the plurality of user satellites 3A-3C in Figure 1 form a “hotspot”; and the downstream optical communication links are established between the relay satellite 2 and the user satellites 3A-3C within the “hotspot”).
7). With regard to claim 43, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses the optical router according to claim 1, being configured to orbit the Earth and remain within a predefined maximum distance of each of the plurality of satellite nodes (Tsunemachi: [0041] etc.).
Claims 2-3, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cahoy et al (US 2020/0007232) and Walther et al (US 2004/0081466).
1). With regard to claim 2, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses wherein each of the downstream optical communication links comprises a modulated beam (Tsunemachi: [0049] etc.; Hand: Abstract etc., “modulated optical signals”) the downstream interface comprising:
a transmitting array (Tsunemachi: 14A-14C; Rockwell: Laser 41-43 and 44-46) comprising one or more transmission assemblies array (Tsunemachi: 144A, 144B and 144C; Rockwell: Laser 41 and 44) each configured to produce an outgoing one of the beams for transmission over its respective optical communication link (Tsunemachi: channels from the Communication Units 14A – 14C; Rockwell: channels l1 and l2);
an aperture assembly defining the optical aperture (e.g., the telescope aperture in Figure 2 of Rockwell).
But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell do not expressly disclose: a diffusive device comprising an incident surface and a transmission surface, the diffusive device being configured to transmit each of the outgoing beams from its transmission surface toward a predetermined location of the optical aperture, wherein the predetermined location is dependent on the location at which the outgoing beam impinges on the incident surface.
But, a diffuser has been used in the art to control optical beam. E.g., Cahoy et al discloses a beam steering system for a free-space laser communication system in a satellite includes a laser that emits a laser beam, in which a diffusive device “diffuser” (44 in Figure 1A, 148 in Figures 2B and 3A-3B; “the amplifying optic 148 may include a relay lens, a diffuser lens”); as shown in Figures 1A and 3A-3B, the diffusive device has an incident surface and a transmission surface, and the diffuser combined with other components (20 etc.) is used to direct the optical beam to toward a predetermined location of an optical aperture, wherein the predetermined location is dependent on the location at which the outgoing beam impinges on the incident surface. Another prior art, Walther et al, discloses a similar system for free-space optical communications (Figures 6 and 11-12 etc.), which comprises a diffusive device (holographic optical element, HOE, Figure 10, “be used to implement deflectors (HOE deflectors) as an alternative or in addition to wavelength selective reflectors in embodiments of this invention”) comprising an incident surface and a transmission surface, the diffusive device (e.g., 55-57 in Figure 11; 55-57 and 58-60 in Figure 12 being configured to transmit each of the outgoing beams from its transmission surface toward a predetermined location of an optical aperture (e.g., “To Aperture” in Figure 12, or 19/20/210 in Figure 13) wherein the predetermined location is dependent on the location at which the outgoing beam impinges on the incident surface (Figures 10-12; [0070]-[0076], by steering).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a diffusive device as taught by Cahoy et al and Walther et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that the beam size and direction etc. can be conveniently and more precisely controlled.
2). With regard to claim 3, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al further discloses the optical router according to claim 2, the transmitting array being configured to produce a plurality of beams (Tsunemachi: Figure 1, beams for satellite nodes 3A-3C; Hand: Figure 6, the beams to satellite nodes F-I; Rockwell: l1 and l2; Walther: Figures 6, 11-13 etc., a plurality wavelength channels), each in one of several directions (Tsunemachi: Figure 1; Hand: Figure 6; Walther: Figures 6, 11-13 etc.), the transmitting array comprising one or more transmission assemblies (Tsunemachi: 144A-144C etc.; Hand: the transceivers for communicating with the satellite nodes F-I; Rockwell: 41 and 44, l1 and l2; Walther: T1-Tn in Figure 5, Transmitters A and B in Figure 13), each configured to produce one or more of the beams (Tsunemachi: Figure 1; Hand: Figure 6; Rockewell: Figure 2; Walther: Figures 6, 11-13 etc.).
3). With regard to claim 5, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al further discloses the optical router according to claim 2, each of the transmission assemblies comprising a light source (Tsunemachi: 144A-144C etc.; Hand: the transceivers for communicating with the satellite nodes F-I; Rockwell: 41 and 44, for l1 and l2; Walther: T1-Tn in Figure 5, Transmitters A and B in Figure 13) configured to produce one of the outgoing beams, and a steering mechanism (Tsunemachi: [0046]-[0047], “The optical telescope 140A also includes a beam steering mirror (not illustrated in the drawings). The path of light is adjusted by the beam steering mirror. The optical telescope 140A outputs laser light received from another satellite to the optical receiver 142A through the beam steering mirror. The optical telescope 140A also outputs laser light output from the optical transmitter 144A, described below, to another satellite through the beam steering mirror”; Hand: [0202]-[0203]; Rockwell: 62 and 66; Walther: 55-57 in Figure 11, and 55-57 and 58-60 in Figure 12, and 61-64, 65-68 and 203/204/207 in Figure 13) configured to direct the outgoing beam in a predetermined direction.
4). With regard to claim 6, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 and 5 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al further discloses wherein the light source comprises a laser and/or an LED (Tsunemachi: [0046]-[0049]; Hand: [0056] etc.; Rockwell: 41 and 44; Cahoy: Abstract etc. Walther: [0072]).
5). With regard to claim 7, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 and 5 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al further discloses wherein the steering mechanism comprises a steering mirror, a mirror array, a microoptoelectromechanical system assembly, and/or a photonic steering arrangement (Tsunemachi: [0046]-[0047], “The optical telescope 140A also includes a beam steering mirror (not illustrated in the drawings). The path of light is adjusted by the beam steering mirror. The optical telescope 140A outputs laser light received from another satellite to the optical receiver 142A through the beam steering mirror. The optical telescope 140A also outputs laser light output from the optical transmitter 144A, described below, to another satellite through the beam steering mirror”; Hand: [0202]-[0203]; Rockwell: 62 and 66; Walther: 55-57 in Figure 11, and 55-57 and 58-60 in Figure 12, and 61-64, 65-68 and 203/204/207 in Figure 13).
6). With regard to claim 8, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al further discloses wherein the diffusive device is configured to increase the diameter of the beam (Cahoy: Figure 1A, the diameter of the beam is increased after the diffuser 44).
7). With regard to claim 10, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al further discloses wherein the diffusive device comprises an optical diffuser, a holographic diffuser, a metasurface array, a microlens array, and/or ground glass (Cahoy: optical diffuser 44, or diffuser lens 148; Walther: holographic diffuser).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Joseph et al (US 2021/0281320).
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1-2 above. But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell and Cahoy et al and Walther et al do not expressly disclose wherein the diffusive device is configured to transmit a beam toward the optical aperture having near-field characteristics which produce a predetermined far-field pattern.
However, Joseph et al discloses an free-space optical communication system (Figures 1-2 etc.), which can be used for satellite ([0091]); as shown in Figure 1, a diffusive device (102; “such as a holographic optical diffuser”, [0018]-[0019]) is configured to transmit a beam (from VCSEL element 100) toward an optical aperture (lens aperture 104) having near-field characteristics (Figure 1, from the diffuser 102 to lens 104 is a near-field characteristics: diffuse cone, and the diffuser is near the focus of the lens 104, “whose focal length equals that of the distance from the diffusing surface to the principal plane of the lens”) which produce a predetermined far-field pattern (light 106 is a “semi-collimated disc of light”), and for Figure 2, “the transmitter lens is situated after the diffuser such that each different cluster will create its own semi-collimated beam bundle which is angularly shifted from the beam bundles from the other clusters” ([0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Joseph et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that collimated beams can be obtained, and beam divergence and optical energy loss can be reduced.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Cahoy et al (US 2020/0007232).
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 25 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell further discloses the optical router according to claim 25, each of the receptor assemblies comprising a receiver (Tsunemachi: receiver 142A-142C. Hand: receivers for receiving the incoming optical signals. Rockwell: Detector 50) configured to receive one of the incoming beams along an incoming beam path (refer claim 25 rejection above, steering mechanism, e.g., mirror or reflector, are used to adjust the incoming beam).
But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell do not expressly disclose a receptor lens assembly configured to adjust parameters of the incoming beam.
However, to use a receptor lens assembly to adjust parameters of the incoming beam is known in the art. E.g., Cahoy et al discloses a receptor lens assembly (20 in Figure 1A, or 28/32/36 in Figure 1B; or 120 in Figures 2B and 3A-3B), which can be used to adjust parameters of the incoming (or output) beam ([0075]-[0081] etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a receptor lens assembly as taught by Cahoy et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that the beam direction and diameter etc. can be more precisely controlled.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2018/0088280).
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 25 above. But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell do not expressly show the downstream interface further comprising a receiving steering arrangement configured to facilitate determination of positions of the incoming beams, the controller being configured to operate one or more of the receptor assemblies to adjust the position of its respective incoming beam based on information provided by the receiving steering arrangement.
However, to use a receiving steering arrangement, e.g., a quad cell or an array of photodiodes, to determine positions of incoming beams are well known in the art. E.g., Kim et al discloses a free-space optical communication (Figures 5-7), in which a receiving steering arrangement (514 in Figure 5; 614/624 in Figure 6; 716 in Figure 7) facilitates determination of positions of the incoming beams (incoming l1 and l2; associated with positions “A” or “B” on the array of photodiodes 516/616/626/718), the controller being configured to operate one or more of the receptor assemblies(e.g., steering mirror 502/) to adjust the position of its respective incoming beam based on information provided by the receiving steering arrangement (Figures 5-7; via controller 550/650/750. [0110]-[0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that a photodiode array can be used to monitor the relative positions on the receiver of the input beams, and the steering mechanism can be controlled via a feedback mechanism, and the movement of another satellite can be tracked.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Eichenbaum (US 6,252,719) and Cahoy et al (US 2020/0007232).
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 25 above. But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell do not expressly disclose wherein the receiving array comprises a receiving guiding assembly configured to direct each of a plurality of the incoming beams received via the optical aperture from an incoming beam corridor toward a respective one of the receptor assemblies.
However, when a plurality of incoming beams are input, it is common in the art that a plurality of filters/mirrors are used to separate/guide the input beams to individual receiver. E.g., Eichenbaum discloses an optical signal multiplexing/demultiplexing mechanism, Figures 1-3 etc., in which a receiving guiding assembly (mirrors 12/14 etc.) configured to direct each of a plurality of the incoming beams (l1 and l2) received via the optical aperture (20) from an incoming beam corridor toward a respective one of the receiver assemblies (22/24 etc.). In Figure 1 etc., Eichenbaum shows that the individual beam is directed to the receiver via a lens (28/30); but Eichenbaum does not expressly disclose that the lens (28/30) can be a receptor assembly. However, Cahoy et al discloses that a receptor assembly (20 in Figures 1A and 1B, or 28/32/36 in Figure 1B; or 120 in Figures 2B and 3A-3B), which can be used to adjust position/parameters of an incoming (or output) beam ([0075]-[0081] etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Eichenbaum and Cahoy et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that the plurality input beams can be separated conveniently, and sent to individual optical receiver, and a receptor assembly can be used to adjust the individual beam so to impinge on the individual optical receiver accurately.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Eichenbaum (US 6,252,719) and Kim et al (US 2018/0088280)
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 16 above. And the combination of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell teaches/suggests wherein the transmitting array comprises a transmitting guiding assembly (Rockwell: Figure 2, the reflector for l2 and beam combiner 47 and 54) configured to direct a plurality of the outgoing beams (l1 and l2) emitted from the transmission assemblies toward substantially parallel paths along an outgoing beam corridor (Figure 2) of a lateral size no larger than that of the optical aperture (it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the lateral size of the output beam needs be controlled to be no larger than that of the optical aperture to reduce the signal loss).
Rockwell does not expressly state that the lateral size of the outgoing beam is no larger than that of the optical aperture, however, as discussed above, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the lateral size of the output beam needs be controlled to be no larger than that of the optical aperture to reduce the signal loss. Second, Eichenbaum discloses an optical signal multiplexing/demultiplexing mechanism, Figures 1-3 etc., in which a transmitting guiding assembly (mirrors 12/14 etc.) configured to direct a plurality of the outgoing beams (l1 and l2) emitted from the transmission assemblies (28/22’ and 30/24’) toward substantially parallel paths along an outgoing beam corridor (Figure 1) of a lateral size no larger than that of the optical aperture (aperture of the lens 20. Figure 1, the lateral size of the dotted line is no larger than that of the aperture of the lens 20). Also, another prior art, Kim et al, discloses a free-space optical communication (Figures 5-7), in which the transmitting array (542 and 544) comprises a transmitting guiding assembly (512) configured to direct a plurality of the outgoing beams (l1 and l2) emitted from the transmission assemblies toward substantially parallel paths along an outgoing beam corridor (Figure 5-7) of a lateral size no larger than that of the optical aperture (the aperture of the relay optics 506; “collimated beams” are transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Eichenbaum and Kim et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that the plurality outgoing beams can be combined conveniently, and sent to the optical aperture with less loss.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claims 1 and 40 above, and further in view of Segura et al (US 2018/0041279) and Boone et al (US 2004/0258415).
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 40 above. But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell do not expressly disclose the optical router according to claim 40, being further configured to define two or more zones within the hotspot, wherein the wavelength of each of the downstream optical communication links is unique within each of the zones.
However, to further divide a zone into a plurality of sub-zone is known in the art. E.g., Segura et al discloses a free-space optical (FSO) communication system, Figures 1A-1B and 2, as shown in Figures 1A-1B, a plurality of transmit//receive targets 110 form a hotspot (e.g., Figure 1B, 102a), and each transmit/receive target 110 within the hotspot is a sub-zone, wherein the wavelength of each of the downstream optical communication links (20a – 20c) is unique within each of the zones (Figure 2, and [0025] and [0031]-[0033]). Another prior art, Boone et al, discloses a similar FSO used for satellite communications, as shown in Figures 2-3 and 6, a wide field of view can be divided into several narrow field of view, and each narrow field of view can use different wavelength ([0045]-[0059], and Figure 4 etc.); and in Figure 5B, Boone et al discloses that the optical signals having different wavelengths from the laser diodes 513 are sent to the MEM mirror array 542, which controls the directions of the different wavelength channels output from the aperture 550, and the outputs from the aperture 550 are sent to different zones (or narrow field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Segura et al and Boone et al to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that each of the plurality outgoing beams can be sent to a specific target satellite, and different wavelengths are for different sub-zones so to reduce interference.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell as applied to claims 1 and 40 above, and further in view of Segura et al (US 2018/0041279) and Koste (US 2021/0152248).
Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 40 above. But, Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell do not expressly disclose optical router according to claim 40, being further configured to define two or more zones within the hotspot, wherein the downstream optical communication links within each of the zones are time-division multiplexed.
However, to further divide a zone into a plurality of sub-zone is known in the art. E.g., Segura et al discloses a free-space optical (FSO) communication system, Figures 1A-1B and 2, as shown in Figures 1A-1B, a plurality of transmit//receive targets 110 form a hotspot (e.g., Figure 1B, 102a), and each transmit/receive target 110 within the hotspot is a sub-zone, wherein the downstream optical communication links (20d – 20d in Figure 5) within each of the zones (110d – 110f) are time-division multiplexed ([0006], “the system assigns corresponding network interface terminals at the transmit/receive targets a corresponding time slot for transmitting/receiving the optical beams that each share the single wavelength”; and [0030], “the MP-FSO terminals 200 assign the corresponding NITs/ONTs 60 at the transmit/receive targets 110 a corresponding time slot for communicating (i.e., transmitting/receiving) optical signals 22 with the corresponding MP-FSO terminal 220 via the shared wavelength optical signal 20.”). Another prior art, Koste, also discloses an optical router (a central terminal 10 in Figures 1-6 and 10-12 etc.) in a satellite relay communication system (Figures 1-6 and 10-12 etc.), and the downstream optical communication links within each of the zones (12, 14, 16 and 18) are time-division multiplexed ([0033],[0039] and [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Segura et al and Koste to the system/method of Tsunemachi et al and Hand et al and Rockwell so that each of the plurality outgoing beams can be sent to a specific target satellite in time slot, and a shared wavelength can be used for the different zones, and required number of light sources can be reduced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230084166 A1
US 11329728 B1
US 20200403697 A1
US 10020883 B1
US 20120020280 A1
US 7502382 B1
US 7292788 B2
US 20060024061 A1
US 5689354 A
US 5023865 A
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634
March 5, 2026